DLRmagazine 157 – A perfect duet

12 April 2018

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • DLRmagazin 157 %2d Schnüffeln im Abgasstrahl
    DLRmagazine 157 - A perfect duet

    The cover of the DLRmagazine 157 shows NASA’s DC-8 chasing DLR’s A320 ATRA in the name of science. The joint ND-MAX / ECLIF 2 (NASA / DLR-Multidisciplinary Airborne Experiments / CLIM Impact of Alternative Fuel) research campaign took place in January 2018 in Ramstein.

A spectacular chase in the sky is featured in the DLRmagazine 157: NASA's DC-8 flies behind the DLR research aircraft ATRA and analyses its wake. In order to be able to successfully analyse the effect of biofuels on aircraft emissions, the ideal circumstances included low temperature and humid air as these allow clear contrails to be formed. By using special forecasting techniques the scientists from NASA and DLR found just the right region over Germany needed for their flight campaign. The aim of the campaign was to learn how biofuels affect aircraft emissions and contrails. The large quantity of data from the flights in the exhaust stream show how the climate impact of aviation can be reduced. Talking about data: the volumes of data involved in creating digital twins of aircraft components are larger than ever before. Modelling these components is a mammoth task, especially if it must display the entire development process and life cycle of an aircraft. The vision: data packets that move through the development like a digital thread. Tomorrow's aircraft will become more economical, efficient and environmentally friendly.

DLR researchers are looking for and discovering new extrasolar planets far beyond the Solar System. Their discoveries sometimes challenge popular theories – like the unlikely pair in which a giant planet orbits a dwarf star.

If you want to learn more about DLR’s research in aeronautics, space, energy, transport, security and digitalisation – please come by our stand at the International Air Show ILA in Berlin (April 25-29) and the Hanover Trade Fair Industry (April 23-27, 2018).

As always, you can have the DLRmagazine conveniently delivered to your doorstep via the free subscription service.

Last modified:
13/04/2018 15:46:09

Contacts

 

Cordula Tegen
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Public Affairs and Communications

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3876

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249

DLRmagazin 157 - Verfolgungsjagd für einen sauberen Himmel

Donnerstag, 12. April 2018

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • DLRmagazin 157 %2d Schnüffeln im Abgasstrahl
    DLRmagazin 157 - Schnüffeln im Abgasstrahl

    Das Cover der zweiten Ausgabe des DLRmagazins aus 2018 zeigt die beiden Flugzeuge NASA DC-8 und den A320 ATRA des DLR im Flug. Die gemeinsame Forschungskampagne ND-MAX/ECLIF 2 (NASA/DLR-Multidisciplinary Airborne eXperiments/Emission and CLimate Impact of alternative Fuel) fand im Januar 2018 in Ramstein statt.

Die Aufnahme einer spektakulären Verfolgungsjagd am Himmel ist das Titelbild des neuen DLRmagazins: Die DC-8 der NASA fliegt hinter dem DLR-Forschungsflugzeug ATRA und sondiert deren Abgasstrahl. Wichtig für das Gelingen der Messflüge mit Biotreibstoffen waren eine niedrige Temperatur und feuchte Luft, beides ideal für ausgeprägte Kondensstreifen. Und die brauchten die Wissenschaftler von NASA und DLR für ihre Flugkampagne. Sie wollen wissen, wie sich Biotreibstoffe auf Emissionen und Kondensstreifen auswirken. Die vielen Daten aus den Flügen im Abgasstrahl weisen Wege, die Klimawirkungen der Luftfahrt zu reduzieren. Noch größer sind die Datenmengen, wenn es um digitale Zwillinge von Flugzeugkomponenten geht. Deren Modellierung ist eine Mammutaufgabe, vor allem wenn am Ende der gesamte Entstehungs- und Lebenszyklus eines Flugzeugs abgebildet sein soll. Die Vision: Datenpakete sich wie ein digitaler Faden durch die Entwicklung ziehen. Das Flugzeug von morgen wird günstiger und fliegt ökoeffizient.

Weit über unser Sonnensystem hinaus blicken DLR-Forscherinnen und -Forscher und entdecken neue extrasolare Planeten. Diese fordern gängige Theorien heraus. So bildet ein Zwergstern mit einem Riesenplaneten in seiner Umlaufbahn ein ungewöhnliches Paar.

Wenn Sie mehr Neues aus der DLR-Forschung in Luftfahrt, Energie und Raumfahrt erfahren wollen – auch auf der Internationalen Luftfahrtausstellung ILA in Berlin (25. bis 29. April 2018) und der Hannover Messe Industrie (23. bis 27. April 2018) haben Sie Gelegenheit dazu.

Das DLRmagazin erhalten Sie wie stets im kostenfreien Abo auch bequem nach Hause geliefert. Und die Ausgabe 157 erscheint auch wieder in Englisch.

Zuletzt geändert am:
13.04.2018 15:46:09 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Cordula Tegen
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Politikbeziehungen und Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3876

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249