On a high-speed train at night – DLR researchers develop train-to-train communication

Verfolgungsjagd bei Höchstgeschwindigkeit

19 April 2016

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Roll2Rail1.jpg
    High-speed runs

    During a measurement campaign conducted in Italy, researchers from the DLR Institute of Communications and Navigation investigated the transfer of information between two high-speed trains. For this purpose, they conducted test runs on a railway line between Naples and Rome on four consecutive nights. This image was acquired from the end of the preceding train and shows an overtaking manoeuvre at a speed of approximately 230 kilometres per hour.

  • Roll2Rail2.jpg
    Radio waves in realistic environment

    With the so-called channel sounder, DLR researchers were able to characterise the properties of the radio channel. This is necessary to develop new safety-related communication systems at a later stage.

  • Roll2Rail3.jpg
    Red arrows

    In order to carry out their measurements, Italian rail company Trenitalia provided DLR researchers with two Frecciarossa (Red arrow) ETR 500 high-speed trains. These trains can reach up to 360 kilometres per hour and have a length of approximately 328 metres. The measurements in Italy were carried out as part of the European Union (EU) Roll2Rail project.

  • Roll2Rail4.jpg
    Wireless communication

    For the measurements, the scientists installed highly specialised communications and navigation technology on the trains. In addition to elaborate cabling inside the train, they also fitted antennas to the roofs of the carriages.

In the course of a measurement campaign conducted in Italy by the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) transmission properties between the individual carriages of high-speed trains and the entire train were measured to develop systems that will enable reliable communication. Such systems will be used in the future so that carriages and trains can autonomously connect to – or, when necessary, disconnect from – larger trains whilst in motion. This process is known as 'dynamic coupling' or 'virtual coupling'.

With virtual coupling, the trains are not connected physically but via a wireless communication link. This has in many cases the advantage that passengers will be able to reach their destinations in a shorter period of time and without having to change trains. In addition, the capacity limits of railway lines can be increased without the need for additional infrastructure. In order to be able to analyse different scenarios, the researchers installed communications and navigation technology throughout the train. For example, DLR scientists fitted directional antennas at the head (nose) of the train for virtual coupling measurements.

Night runs between Naples and Rome

In order to carry out their measurements, the Italian rail company Trenitalia provided DLR researchers with two Frecciarossa high-speed trains during the nights from 15 to 19 April. With these trains, the researchers were able to run through various scenarios and manoeuvres in order to investigate communications between and within the trains. Stephan Sand, Team Leader of the Vehicular Applications Research Group at the Institute of Communications and Navigation, was excited to test the systems developed by the Institute and carrying out the measurements on the high-speed trains with their partner Trenitalia. "The railway between Naples and Rome is particularly well suited for this because it offers both the possibility of carrying out measurements in an urban area at low speed and demonstrating that our systems function just as reliably at very high speed." The preparations started late in the evening each day, as the lines for the measurements were available at night and the trains were used again for public passenger transportation on the next day.

On board: Railway Collision Avoidance System (RCAS)

The Railway Collision Avoidance System (RCAS) was also installed on board for train-to-train communication. This communication and location unit, developed by DLR, sends information on the position, planned route, speed and stopping power to every train in the vicinity in real time, thus helping to identify potential conflict situations. The system has already been successfully tested on regional trains in partnership with the Bayerische Oberlandbahn (BOB). The measurement unit could now be used on high-speed trains for the first time in Italy.

Wireless communication between carriages

DLR researchers are also working on modernising the exchange of information between train carriages. Instead of cable-based connections throughout the train, as is the default today, they installed antennas on the roof of the carriages for the test runs. These antennas transferred the information from one carriage to another, via the roofs of the carriages. Modernising the exchange of information between carriages is of particular interest for the Train Control Monitoring System (TCMS). The TCMS controls and regulates various safety-critical functions, which are needed to ensure the safe operation of the train and the safe transportation of people and goods.

Wireless transmission has huge advantages in terms of maintenance and safety: By transferring information via antennas, the cumbersome, cost-intensive cable replacements can be greatly simplified in the event of malfunctions in carriage-to-carriage communication. Head of the DLR measurement campaign, Paul Unterhuber, explains: "For a wireless connection, it is essential that the system functions just as reliably as a cable-based system. If we want to place some of the communication technology on the roof, we need a thorough understanding of the radio wave propagation in that configuration."

The researchers could lay the foundations for wireless TCMS with their measurements in Italy. In order to model the radio channel, the researchers ran through scenarios involving two high-speed trains at various speeds and various manoeuvres such as overtaking and passing in opposite directions, throughout the four nights. The measurement results allow predicting the effects of a particular environment on the transmitted signals. Once the essential characteristics of the radio channel have been determined, they can be used in the development of new, safety-related communication systems. The team to Paul Unterhuber and Stephan Sand therefore investigated the propagation of radio waves in a realistic environment. "With these measurements and our previous investigations of virtual coupling, we hope to significantly improve the exchange of information in and between trains. Another of our aims is to ensure better utilisation of the tracks," explains Stephan Sand.

Roll2Rail

The measurements in Italy were carried out as part of the European Union (EU) Roll2Rail project. Roll2Rail is one of the lighthouse projects of Shift2Rail within the Horizon 2020 programme. Thirty-one European partners are working on the development of key technologies, increasing reliability in the railway sector and reducing costs. The Roll2Rail project has received funding from the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation program under grant agreement No 636032. The project is closely connected to the DLR Next Generation Train project.

Last modified:
02/05/2016 13:47:47

Contacts

 

Dorothee Bürkle
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Media Relations, Energy and Transport Research

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3492

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr Stephan Sand
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Communications and Navigation

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1464

Fax: +49 8153 28-1871
Julia Heil
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Corporate Communications

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3771

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249

Im Hochgeschwindigkeitszug durch die Nacht - DLR Wissenschaftler entwickeln Zug-zu-Zug-Kommunikation

Verfolgungsjagd bei Höchstgeschwindigkeit

Dienstag, 19. April 2016

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Roll2Rail1.jpg
    Verfolgungsjagd bei Hochgeschwindigkeit

    Bei einer Messkampagne untersuchten Wissenschaftler aus dem DLR-Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation die Informationsübertragung zwischen zwei Hochgeschwindigkeitszügen. Dazu unternahmen sie in vier aufeinanderfolgenden Nächten Messfahrten auf einer Zugstrecke zwischen Neapel und Rom. Dieses Bild wurde vom Ende des vorausfahrenden Zuges aufgekommen und zeigt ein Überhol-Manöver bei einer Geschwindigkeit von ungefähr 230 Kilometern pro Stunde.

  • Roll2Rail2.jpg
    Funkwellen in realistsicher Umgebung darstellen

    Mit dem sogenannten Channel Sounder konnten die DLR-Wissenschaftler die Eigenschaften des Übertragungskanals charakterisieren. Dies ist notwendig, um in einem späteren Schritt neue, sicherheitsrelevante Kommunikationssysteme zu entwickeln.

  • Roll2Rail3.jpg
    Rote Pfeile

    Für die Messungen stellte die italienische Zuggesellschaft Trenitalia den DLR-Wissenschaftlern zwei Züge der Gattung Frecciarossa (Zu deutsch: "roter Pfeil") ETR 500 zur Verfügung. Diese Züge haben eine Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 360 Kilometern pro Stunde und eine Länge von ungefähr 328 Metern. Die Messungen fanden im Rahmen des EU-Projekts Roll2Rail statt.

  • Roll2Rail4.jpg
    Drahtlose Kommunikation

    Für die Messungen rüsteten die Wissenschaftler die Züge mit hochspezialisierter Kommunikations- und Navigationstechnologie aus. Neben einer aufwändigen Verkabelung im Innern des Zuges, brachten sie auch Antennen auf den Waggondächern an.

Bei einer Messkampagne in Italien vermaß das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) die Übertragungseigenschaften zwischen einzelnen Wagen von Hochgeschwindigkeitszügen und ganzen Zugformationen, um damit Systeme entwickeln zu können, die eine zuverlässige Kommunikation ermöglichen. Solche Systeme werden gebraucht, damit sich Wagen und Züge in Zukunft selbstständig zu längeren Zügen während der Fahrt verbinden und bei Bedarf wieder trennen können. Dieses Verfahren wird "dynamisches Flügeln" oder "virtual coupling" genannt.

Beim dynamischen Flügeln sind die Züge nicht physisch, sondern nur über einen drahtlosen Kommunikationslink verbunden. Der Vorteil ist, dass Passagiere vielfach ohne umzusteigen, Ihr Ziel in kürzerer Zeit erreichen können. Zudem kann die Kapazität der Strecken erhöht werden, ohne dass Änderungen an der Gleisinfrastruktur vorgenommen werden müssen. Um verschiedene Szenarien untersuchen zu können, bauten die Forscher im gesamten Zug Kommunikations- und Navigationstechnologie ein. Für die Messungen zum dynamischen Flügeln brachten die DLR-Wissenschaftler beispielsweise gerichtete Antennen an der Spitze des Zuges, der sogenannten Zugnase, an.

Nachtfahrten zwischen Neapel und Rom

Um ihre Messungen ausführen zu können, stellte die italienische Zuggesellschaft Trenitalia den Wissenschaftlern des DLR in den Nächten vom 15. bis zum 19. April zwei Frecciarossa Hochgeschwindigkeitszüge zur Verfügung. Mit diesen konnten die Forscher verschiedene Szenarien und Manöver abfahren und so die Übertragungseigenschaften zwischen und innerhalb der Züge untersuchen. Dr. Stephan Sand, Leiter der Gruppe Landverkehr am Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation, freut sich über die Möglichkeit, die am Institut entwickelten Systeme zusammen mit dem Partner Trenitalia erstmals in Hochgeschwindigkeitszügen zu testen und Messungen durchzuführen: "Die Strecke zwischen Neapel und Rom ist dafür besonders geeignet, denn dort haben wir sowohl die Möglichkeit Messungen im urbanen Raum bei langsamer Fahrt durchzuführen, als auch zu zeigen, dass unsere Systeme auf einer Hochgeschwindigkeitsstrecke zuverlässig funktionieren." Die Vorbereitungen starteten jeweils am späten Abend, da nachts die Gleise für die Messfahrten frei sind und die Züge tagsüber wieder für den öffentlichen Personenverkehr zur Verfügung stehen müssen. 

Mit an Bord: Kollisionsvermeidungssystem RCAS

Für die Zug-zu-Zug-Kommunikation war das Railway Collision Avoidance-System (RCAS) mit an Bord. Diese vom DLR entwickelte Kommunikations- und Ortungseinheit sendet in Echtzeit Informationen über Position, geplante Streckenführung, Geschwindigkeit und Bremsvermögen an alle Züge der näheren Umgebung und hilft so dabei, potenzielle Konfliktsituationen zu identifizieren. Das System wurde bereits in Kooperation mit der bayerischen Oberlandbahn (BOB) in Regionalzügen erfolgreich getestet. In Italien konnte sich die Messeinheit jetzt auch erstmals bei Hochgeschwindigkeitszügen beweisen.

Kabellose Kommunikation zwischen Waggons

Die DLR-Forscher arbeiteten auch daran, den Informationsaustausch zwischen den einzelnen Waggons der Züge zu modernisieren. Statt einer kabelbasierten Verbindung durch die komplette Länge des Zuges, wie es momentan die Regel ist, installierten die Wissenschaftler für ihre Testfahrten Antennen auf den Dächern der Waggons. Diese Antennen übertrugen die Informationen von einem Waggon auf den anderen, über die Waggondächer hinweg. Die Modernisierung des Informationsaustauschs zwischen den einzelnen Waggons ist insbesondere für Funktionen des Train Control Monitoring Systems (TCMS) von Interesse. Das TCMS steuert und regelt verschiedene sicherheitskritische Funktionen, die nötig sind, um eine sichere Bedienung des Zuges und eine sichere Bewegung von Personen und Gütern zu garantieren.

Die kabellose Übertragung bietet auch in puncto Wartung und Sicherheit enorme Vorteile:  Mit einer Informationsübertragung durch Antennen kann bei Störungen in der Waggon-zu-Waggon-Kommunikation der umständliche und kostenintensive Austausch der Kabel extrem vereinfacht werden. DLR-Messkampagnenleiter Paul Unterhuber erläutert: "Für eine kabellose Verbindung ist es essentiell, dass das System genauso zuverlässig funktioniert, wie es auch über Kabel möglich ist. Wenn wir einen Teil der Kommunikation auf das Dach verlegen möchten, benötigen wir ein umfassendes Verständnis über die Ausbreitung von Funkwellen in dieser Konfiguration." 

Mit den Messungen in Italien konnten die Forscher dazu erste Grundlagen schaffen. Um den Funkkanal charakterisieren zu können, fuhren die Wissenschaftler während der vier Nächte mit zwei Hochgeschwindigkeitszügen Szenarien in verschiedenen Geschwindigkeiten sowie diverse Überhol- und Gegenfahr-Manövern ab. Mit den Ergebnissen der Messung sind sie in der Lage, Vorhersagen darüber aufzustellen, wie eine bestimmte Umgebung ein Übertragungssignal beeinflusst. Wenn die wesentlichen Eigenschaften des Übertragungskanals erfasst sind, können darauf basierend neue, sicherheitsrelevante Kommunikationssysteme entwickelt werden. Dabei untersuchte das Team um Paul Unterhuber und Stephan Sand die Ausbreitungsbedingungen der Funkwellen in einer realistischen Umgebung. "Mit diesen Messungen und unseren Voruntersuchungen zum dynamischen Flügeln erhoffen wir uns, den Informationsaustausch in und zwischen Zügen erheblich zu verbessern. Unser Ziel ist es auch, eine bessere Auslastung der Gleise zu gewährleisten", sagt Stephan Sand.

Roll2Rail 

Die Messungen in Italien wurden im Kontext des EU-Projekts Roll2Rail durchgeführt. Bei Roll2Rail handelt sich um ein Leuchtturmprojekt aus der Shift2Rail-Initiative innerhalb des Horizon 2020 Programms. 31 europäische Partner arbeiten daran, Schlüsseltechnologien zu entwickeln und die Zuverlässigkeit im Bereich Zugverkehr zu erhöhen sowie Kosten zu senken. Das Roll2Rail-Projekt wird im Rahmen des Horizon 2020 Programm der Europäischen Union gefördert (Grant Agreement No 636032) und ist eng mit dem DLR-Projekt Next Generation Train verbunden.

Zuletzt geändert am:
02.05.2016 11:35:42 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Dorothee Bürkle
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Media Relations, Energie und Verkehr

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3492

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr. Stephan Sand
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1464

Fax: +49 8153 28-1871
Julia Heil
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Berlin und Neustrelitz

Tel.: +49 30 67055-9639