Aeronautics Research at DLR

Aeronautics research within the scope of German and European aviation strategies

The aviation sector is facing major challenges: Growth and environmental responsibility will both shape the future development. In the coming years, global air traffic will increase by an average of five per cent per year. The leading manufacturers of passenger aircraft expect the global fleet to double within the next 20 years. In view of this massive growth, air transport will be assessed even more than before by its impact on the environment. To ensure the future viability of the air transport system, it will be essential to significantly reduce the negative effects both on a local and on a global scale. In Europe, this issue is of particular importance because of a high population density, capacity bottlenecks faced by all modes of transport and a high degree of environmental awareness shown by the general public.

With the European Commission’s "Flightpath 2050 - Europe’s Vision for Aviation" and the decision to pursue the Strategic Research and Innovation Agenda (SRIA), Europe has given an ambitious answer to these challenges: Carbon dioxide emissions are set to be reduced by 75 per cent and noise levels by 65 per cent - both between the beginning and the middle of the 21st century. Enhancements in the performance of European air traffic are also assumed. The aim is to carry 90 per cent of all air travellers from door to door in less than four hours. A modernised air traffic management system will need to handle 25 million flights within Europe per year, according to calculations by the authors of the European Advisory Council for Aviation Research (ACARE).

To achieve the goals of Flightpath 2050, great efforts in research are required as well as fundamental changes over the current state of technology. European research programmes, such as Clean Sky 2 and SESAR2020, are paving the way for tomorrow’s eco-efficient air transport. The Aviation Strategy of the Federal German Government addresses these ambitions and aims at strengthening the international competitiveness of the German aviation sector through research and development. DLR with its expertise and skills is a major research institution in German aeronautics research and one of the largest research organisations in Europe. Researchers at DLR are making a significant contribution to maintaining and expanding the outstanding position of European aeronautics research in the world.

Credit: DLR (CC-BY 3.0)


DLR develops solutions for current and next generations of technology. With its research expertise in the overall air transport system, DLR is also striving to draft sound proposals for future generations and to open up new perspectives for aviation. Six guiding concepts describe the key challenges facing safe and sustainable air transport within the next 10 years from a product-oriented point of view. DLR’s range of ambitions includes the (virtual) integration of innovative final products, such as a novel type of a short-haul aircraft. The objective is to pursue newly explored key technologies in joint cooperation with industry within the framework of national guiding concepts or international programmes.

Contacts Directorate Aeronautics

Dr.-Ing. Markus Fischer
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Directorate Aeronautics

Linder Höhe

51147 Köln

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3698

Fax: +49 2203 601-2767

Luftfahrt

Luftfahrtforschung im DLR

Nationale und europäische Luftfahrtstrategie

Der Luftfahrtsektor steht vor großen Herausforderungen: Wachstum und ökologische Verantwortung sollen gemeinsam die weitere Entwicklung prägen. In den kommenden Jahren wird der weltweite Luftverkehr pro Jahr um durchschnittlich fünf Prozent zunehmen. Die großen Hersteller von Passagierflugzeugen erwarten in den nächsten 20 Jahren eine Verdopplung der weltweiten Flotte. Angesichts dieses massiven Wachstums wird der Luftverkehr noch mehr als bisher anhand seiner Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt beurteilt werden. Für die Zukunftsfähigkeit des Luftverkehrssystems ist es unumgänglich, belastende Auswirkungen im lokalen wie globalen Maßstab deutlich zu verringern. In Europa ist dieses Thema durch die hohe Bevölkerungsdichte, die Kapazitätsengpässe bei allen Verkehrsträgern und das hohe Umweltbewusstsein der Bürger von besonderer Bedeutung.

Mit der europäischen Luftfahrtvision "Flightpath 2050" und dem Beschluss der europäischen Forschungsagenda "SRIA" (Strategic Research and Innovation Agenda) hat Europa den Herausforderungen eine ambitionierte Antwort gegeben: Um 75 Prozent soll der CO2-Ausstoß, um 65 Prozent der Lärm sinken - beides vom Beginn bis zur Mitte des 21. Jahrhunderts. Dabei wird gleichzeitig auf eine Leistungssteigerung im europäischen Flugverkehr gesetzt, mit dem Ziel, 90 Prozent aller Reisenden in weniger als vier Stunden von Tür zu Tür zu befördern. Ein modernisiertes Luftverkehrsmanagementsystem soll 25 Millionen innereuropäische Flüge pro Jahr ermöglichen; so haben es die Autoren des europäischen Beirats für Luftfahrtforschung ACARE (Advisory Council for Aviation Research) formuliert.

Das Erreichen der Ziele des "Flightpath 2050" erfordert große Anstrengungen in der Forschung und fundamentale Veränderungen gegenüber dem heutigen Stand der Technik. Europäische Forschungsprogramme wie CleanSky und CleanSky 2 ebnen bereits heute den Weg zum ökoeffizienten Fliegen von morgen. Die Luftfahrtstrategie der Bundesregierung greift diese Ambitionen auf und zielt darauf, mit Forschung und Entwicklung die internationale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des deutschen Luftfahrtsektors auszubauen. Das DLR mit seinen Kompetenzen und Fähigkeiten ist die Großforschungseinrichtung in der deutschen Luftfahrtforschung und dabei gleichzeitig eine der größten Forschungseinrichtungen Europas in diesem Bereich. Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des DLR leisten einen entscheidenden Beitrag, die herausragende Stellung der europäischen Luftfahrtforschung in der Welt zu behaupten und auszubauen.

Credit: DLR (CC-BY 3.0)

 

Das DLR erarbeitet Lösungen für die aktuelle und kommende Technologiegeneration. Zudem folgt es mit seiner Forschungskompetenz für das Gesamtsystem Luftfahrt dem Anspruch, fundierte Vorschläge für die übernächste Generation zu entwerfen und damit neue Perspektiven für die Luftfahrt aufzuzeigen. Sechs Leitkonzepte beschreiben produktorientiert die Kernherausforderungen der nächsten zehn Jahre für ein sicheres und umweltverträgliches Fliegen. Bis zur (virtuellen) Integration eines innovativen Zielprodukts, beispielsweise eines neuartigen Kurzstreckenflugzeugs, reicht dabei der Anspruch des DLR. Das Ziel ist es, resultierende Schlüsseltechnologien im Rahmen nationaler Leitkonzepte oder internationaler Programme gemeinsam mit der Industrie weiterzuverfolgen.

Kontakte Programmdirektion Luftfahrt

Dr.-Ing. Markus Fischer
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Programmdirektion Luftfahrt

Linder Höhe

51147 Köln

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3698

Fax: +49 2203 601-2767