Energy systems analysis

Show Info
Hide Info
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.

Decisions made in the energy sector and energy policy generally have far-reaching and long-lasting consequences. Forward-looking analyses allow us to recognise the opportunities of new technologies at an early stage and to minimise the possible negative effects of our current actions on the environment and society. Furthermore, technologies can be examined with regard to their contribution to a future flexible energy system and the technological developments optimised systematically. Other research, such as short-term forecasting for wind and solar radiation, support the controlled operation of energy systems. Precondition for active system control is the knowledge of systems. To generate this knowledge, we develop and use methods and tools of systems analysis and technology assessments that are tailored to specific issues in the field of energy supply. We also provide knowledge to policy makers from the areas of science, the economy and government in order to guide them in developing a long-term research focus and designing framework conditions for the areas of energy, the environment and research policy.

Work on systems analysis combines top-down energy management analyses of the entire energy system at a regional, national and European level, along with bottom-up economic and technology-oriented studies. For this, we use a wide range of synergies with other research topics at DLR, such as analysing the effects of e-mobility on the transport sector, or the use of remote sensing data from space.

Work is undertaken in close collaboration with the DLR Institute of Networked Energy Systems and the DLR Institute of Engineering Thermodynamics, and thematically in collaboration with other DLR institutes, such as the DLR Institute of Solar Research.

Energy meteorology

Knowledge of the potential of renewable energies is very important for a future energy system with a high proportion of renewable energy. To this end, information on energy resources, for example on incident solar radiation, wind potential and even land surface parameters, is obtained from various sources, such as satellite data or ground-based systems. The high spectral and temporal resolution of this data can thus provide high quality data records. These are used for the analysis and forecasting of the system behaviour of renewable energies and the operational management of power plants. Of particular significance for the operation of power grids is short-term forecasting of wind and solar radiation. New methods are being developed and implemented as an addition to existing procedures.

Technological assessment

The economic, ecological and sociological assessment of energy technologies and systems allows us to consider all options and recommend actions. At the same time, these assessments provide the information required for modelling future energy systems and to analyse scenarios. Multicriteria assessment methods and life-cycle analyses are part of this subject area. In addition, questions regarding the acceptance of technologies, i.e. socio-cultural aspects, also play a role.

Scenario analyses

For a sustainable energy supply based on renewable energies, scenario analyses are helpful in developing concepts for a future energy system. Technical, economic and ecological features and framework conditions and the availability of renewable energies and supply structures are all taken into account. Furthermore, the costs of the various scenarios are assessed.

Grid and system modelling at various scales

The development of models, methods and algorithms for the simulation and optimisation of grids and energy systems is an important part of energy systems analysis. Here, networks are depicted at various spatial and temporal scales in order to optimise the network operation and support planning. The effects of a high proportion of renewable energy in the overall system are examined in detail. The development of open-source and open-data solutions should increase the transparency of energy models.

Regulatory instruments

Economic and political aspects also play a large role in the conversion of energy systems. Market introduction strategies for new technologies and structures in the field of energy are therefore examined and developed, as well as business models for various stakeholders. These interact closely with funding mechanisms and other instruments.

Last modified:
24/01/2018 15:19:36

Energie

Energiesystemanalyse

Energiesystemanalyse
Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • systmenanalyse.jpg
    Parabolrinnenanlage auf der Plataforma Solar de Almería

    Mit Wärmespeichern lässt sich die Stromproduktion solarthermischer Kraftwerke von den Schwankungen der Sonneneinstrahlung entkoppeln. Solarthermischer Kraftwerke könnten so auch nachts und bei starker Bewölkung immer gleichmäßig Strom liefern.

  • systmenanalyse_2.jpg
    Systemanalyse

Entscheidungen in der Energiewirtschaft und Energiepolitik haben stets weitreichende und lang wirkende Folgen. Durch vorausschauende Analyse können Chancen neuer Technologien frühzeitig erkannt und mögliche negative Auswirkungen unseres heutigen Handelns auf Umwelt und Gesellschaft minimiert werden. Weiterhin können Technologien auf ihren Beitrag in einem zukünftigen flexiblen Energiesystem untersucht und in diesem Zusammenspiel gezielt bei der Technologieentwicklung optimiert werden. Andere Arbeiten wie die Kurzfristprognose zu Wind und Solarstrahlung unterstützen den gesteuerten Betrieb des Energiesystems. Voraussetzung für ein aktiv gesteuertes System ist systemanalytisches Wissen. Um dieses Wissen zu generieren, entwickeln und nutzen wir Methoden und Werkzeuge der Systemanalyse und Technikbewertung, die auf die spezifischen Fragestellungen im Bereich der Energieversorgung zugeschnitten sind. Wir stellen damit auch Wissen bereit, das Entscheidungsträgern aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik als Orientierung zur Entwicklung langfristiger Forschungsschwerpunkte und zur Gestaltung von energie-, umwelt- und forschungspolitischen Rahmenbedingungen dient.

Die systemanalytischen Arbeiten kombinieren energiewirtschaftliche Top-down-Analysen des gesamten Energiesystems auf regionaler, nationaler und europäischer Ebene mit ökonomischen und technologieorientierten Bottom-up-Studien. Hierbei werden von uns vielfältige Synergien mit den anderen Forschungsthemen im DLR genutzt, zum Beispiel bei der Analyse der Auswirkungen der E-Mobilität auf den Verkehrssektor oder der Nutzung von Fernerkundungsdaten aus der Raumfahrt.

Die Arbeiten erfolgen in enger Abstimmung im DLR-Institut für Vernetzte Energiesysteme und dem DLR-Institut für Technische Thermodynamik, themenbezogen auch in Kooperation mit weiteren DLR-Instituten wie dem DLR-Institut für Solarenergieforschung.

Energiemeteorologie

Für ein zukünftiges Energiesystem mit hohen Anteilen erneuerbarer Energien sind Kenntnisse der Potentiale von Erneuerbaren Energien sehr wichtig. Dafür werden Daten zu Energieressourcen aus verschiedenen Quellen wie Satellitendaten oder bodengestützten Systemen gewonnen, zum Beispiel Solareinstrahlungen, Windpotentiale oder auch Landoberflächenparameter. Durch hohe spektrale und zeitliche Auflösungen dieser Daten können so hochwertige Datensätze gewonnen werden. Diese werden für die Analyse und Vorhersage des Systemverhaltens erneuerbarer Energien und Einsatzsteuerung von Kraftwerken genutzt. Von besonderer Bedeutung für den Betrieb von Stromnetzen ist die Kurzfristprogose von Wind und Solarstrahlung. Hier werden ergänzend zu bestehenden Verfahren neue Methoden entwickelt und implementiert.

Technikbewertung

Die ökonomische, ökologische und soziologische Bewertung von Energietechnologien und -systemen ermöglicht die Bewertung von Optionen und die Entwicklung von Handlungsempfehlungen. Gleichzeitig liefert sie notwendige Informationen für die Modellierung von zukünftigen Energiesystemen und die Szenarioanalyse. Multikriterielle Bewertungsmethoden und Lebenszyklusanalysen sind Teil dieses Themas. Außerdem spielen Fragen der Akzeptanz von Technologien, also sozio-kulturelle Aspekte, eine Rolle.

Szenarioanalysen

Für eine nachhaltige Energieversorgung auf der Basis von erneuerbaren Energien helfen Szenarioanalysen bei der Entwicklung von Konzepten für ein zukünftiges Energiesystem. Dabei werden technische, ökonomische und ökologische Eigenschaften bzw. Randbedingungen sowie Verfügbarkeiten erneuerbarer Energien und Versorgungsstrukturen berücksichtigt. Weiterhin werden die Kosten der verschiedenen Szenarien bewertet.

Netz- und Systemmodellierung auf verschiedenen Skalen

Die Entwicklung von Modellen, Methoden und Algorithmen für die Simulation und Optimierung von Netzen und Energiesystemen sind ein wichtiger Teil der Energiesystemanalyse. Dabei werden Netze in verschiedenen zeitlichen und räumlichen Skalen abgebildet, um den Netzbetrieb zu optimieren und Planungen zu unterstützen. Die Effekte durch hohe Anteile erneuerbarer Energien im Gesamtsystem werden detailliert untersucht. Die Entwicklung von Open Source- und Open Data-Lösungen soll die Transparenz von Energiemodellen erhöhen.

Steuerungsinstrumente

Beim Umbau des Energiesystems spielen auch ökonomische und politische Aspekte eine große Rolle. Es werden daher Markteinführungsstrategien für neue Technologien und Strukturen im Energiebereich und auch Geschäftsmodelle für verschiedene Stakeholder untersucht und entwickelt. Diese stehen in enger Wechselwirkung mit Fördermechanismen und anderen Instrumenten.

Zuletzt geändert am:
06.02.2018 11:23:02 Uhr