Airbus A320-232 "D-ATRA"

The Airbus A320-232 "D-ATRA", the latest - and largest - addition to the fleet, was deployed by the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) in late 2008. ATRA (Advanced Technology Research Aircraft) is a modern and flexible flight test platform which sets a new benchmark for flying test beds in European aerospace research - and not just because of its size.

Modifications

Fuel cell system implemented for auxiliary power supply

Together with its project partner, Airbus, the DLR Institute of Technical Thermodynamics (DLR-Institut für Technische Thermodynamik) has equipped the aircraft with a Michelin fuel cell system. The integrated fuel cell can provide auxiliary power for one hour - and without any carbon dioxide or other pollutant emissions. During emergency operation, the system can operate the pump of one of three hydraulic systems, which move the control surfaces in case the engines shut down.

In order to be able to install the 20-kilowatt fuel cell in the cargo compartment, the DLR research aircraft was first equipped with a cargo loading system. The fuel cell system then needed to be connected to the aircraft and its electricity consuming devices. This involved the difficult tasks of constructing a mobile infrastructure for supplying the system with fuel (hydrogen and oxygen), and of developing and implementing the approved measuring instruments for the flight test, used to monitor and analyse the behaviour of the fuel cell system during flight. Before the aircraft could take off on its first test flight with the fuel cell on board, the system had to undergo rigorous acceptance trials on the ground,  to guarantee the level of safety required for air traffic. 

During the usage phase, the basic configuration will be developed further and ATRA's range of applications will be extended further. Many of the future additions and alterations to the test bed will be linked to specific scientific instruments, and are thereby in part of a temporary nature. The application of widely used standards in the selection of components and structures should ensure that the requirements of modularity, extensibility, simplicity, as well as reliability and durability, are met.

Missions - research focus

ATRA will be deployed for the following fields of research:

  • Testing of aeroelastic measurement techniques 
  • Research into inner space acoustics
  • Airframe noise measurement
  • Measurement of turbulence (laminarisation) at the wing and at the tailplane
  • Testing of new measurement techniques such as PIV (Particle Image Velocimetry), an optical method for measuring velocity fields
  • Measurement of wake vortices: tubes of circulating air which are left behind by the wings as they generate lift
  • Atmospheric and engine measurements

In addition, ATRA will have several cockpit interfaces. An experimental method of driving the cockpit display, additional data links and a head-up display are implemented for this purpose. This opens up another set of research options:

  • Research into flight control commands for passing through wake vortices and for load alleviation, as well as in the fields of autonomous flight, airport surface traffic control, pilot assistance and display technology
  • Research into pilots' workload and division of work
  • Testing cutting-edge navigation and communication technologies for aircraft and low-noise approach and departure procedures

Wake vortex research with ATRA

Air swirls in the wake of aircraft are a result of the lift generated at the wings; as invisible wake vortices, they can persist along the flight path for quite some time. For this reason, strict safety distances are prescribed in civil aviation; these determine the take-off and landing frequencies at major airports, and when the traffic volume is at a peak they can lead to capacity bottlenecks. These in turn lead to aircraft having to fly in holding patterns and to flight delays - unpleasant effects which are undesirable for passengers and airlines alike.

DLR approaches this issue in two different ways. Firstly, using the Lidar laser measurement technique, ATRA can measure the velocity field of the vortex of a preceding aircraft. Secondly, inflow sensors measure the parameters for vortex models, such as intensity and ageing behaviour. This approach has the benefit of allowing the simultaneous modelling and evaluation of the way the encountering aircraft responds to the vortex, in combination with the actual wake vortex properties. The aim of the experiments is to make smaller separation distances possible between aircraft approaching or taking off in succession, through a more precise calculation of the evolution and decay of the wake vortices.

High-lift research with ATRA for efficient take-off and landing phases

Air transport faces a variety of challenges. Due to the global increase in air traffic volume, enhancing the aerodynamic efficiency during the take-off and landing phase, as well reducing the flight noise, will become even more important than before. As a partner in a variety of national and European research projects, DLR is meeting these challenges head on.

The design and development of complex flap and transmission systems with far-reaching effects on the take-off and landing properties as well as the noise emission of aircraft, is therefore one of DLR's core research areas. In cooperation with the high-lift systems department of Airbus in Bremen, DLR explores current research questions.

Technical data

Airbus A320 "D-ATRA"

Length: 37.57 metres
Height: 11.76 metres
Wingspan: 34.10 metres
Cabin length: 29.10 metres
Cabin width: 3.7 metres
Cabin height: 2.4 metres
Seats: maximum 179
Empty weight: 42.3 tonnes
Total weight: maximum 75.5 tonnes
Engines: two International Aero Engine V2500 engines
Thrust: 111 kilonewton each 
Range: 4800 kilometres to 5700 kilometres
Flight altitude: maximum 11,800 metres (39,000 feet)
Speed: maximum 840 kilometres per hour
Endurance: up to 2h 30m for test operation
Fuel tank capacity: 23,858 litres
Original use: civilian use - passenger aircraft
DLR flight facility: Braunschweig

Last modified: 21/08/2012 09:47:13

URL for this article

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10203/339_read-277/

DLR ATRA research aircraft

ATRA_5_1.jpg

The Airbus A320-232 D-ATRA, DLR's largest fleet member, has been in operation since the end of 2008.

DLR research aircraft Airbus A320 "D-ATRA"

ATRA im Landeanflug

DLR's Airbus A320 aircraft "D-ATRA" (Advanced Technology Research Aircraft). The latest and largest member of the fleet, deployed in October 2008, serves as the VFW 614 ATTAS (Advanced Technologies Testing Aircraft System).

Frontal view of ATRA

Vorderansicht von ATRA

The Airbus A320 D-ATRA is 37.57 metres in length, 11.76 metres high and has a wing span of 34.10 metres.

ATRA is baptised

ATRA wird getauft

In April 2010, the DLR research aircraft ATRA was named Otto Lilienthal, after the German aviation pioneer.

DLR research aircraft A320-232 "D-ATRA"

DLR%2dForschungsflugzeug Airbus A320 "D%2dATRA"

ATRA (Advanced Technologies Research Aircraft) is an indispensable part of German and European aeronautics research. The new research aircraft, equipped with a fuel cell system, will help to research the pressing challenges of the future for a clean and efficient air transport.

Exterior view of ATRA

Außenansicht von ATRA

ATRA (Advanced Technology Research Aircraft) is a modern and flexible flight test platform which sets a new benchmark for flying test beds in European aerospace research - and not just because of its size.

The high-lift system of the Airbus A320-232 "D-ATRA"

Das Hochauftriebssystem des Airbus A320%2d232 "D%2dATRA"

Air transport faces a variety of challenges. Due to the global increase in air traffic volume, enhancing aerodynamic efficiency during the take-off and landing phases, as well reducing flight noise, will become even more important than before. As a partner in a variety of national and European research projects, DLR is meeting these challenges head on. The design and development of complex flap and transmission systems with far-reaching effects on the take-off and landing properties as well as the noise emission of aircraft, is therefore one of DLR's core research areas. In cooperation with the high-lift systems department of Airbus in Bremen, DLR explores current research questions.

Links

  • Flight Experiments
    (http://www.dlr.de/fb/en/)
  • Flight Facility Braunschweig
    (http://www.dlr.de/fb/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-3686/)
  • DLR Institute of Aerodynamics and Flow Technology
    (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx)
  • DLR Institute of Flight Guidance
    (http://www.dlr.de/fl/en/desktopdefault.aspx)
  • DLR Institute of Engineering Thermodynamics
    (http://www.dlr.de/tt/en/)
  • Airbus
    (http://www.airbus.com)
  • Lufthansa Technik
    (http://www.lufthansa-technik.com/applications/portal/lhtportal/index2.jsp?action=initial&requestednode=home)

Airbus A320-232 D-ATRA

Das größte Flottenmitglied, der Airbus A320-232 "D-ATRA", ist seit Ende 2008 für das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) im Einsatz. ATRA (Advanced Technology Research Aircraft) ist eine moderne und flexible Flugversuchsplattform, die nicht nur größenmäßig einen neuen Maßstab für fliegende Versuchsträger in der europäischen Luftfahrtforschung setzt. 

Modifikation

Brennstoffzelleneinsatz zur Notstromversorgung

Gemeinsam mit dem Projektpartner Airbus hat das DLR-Institut für Technische Thermodynamik das Flugzeug mit einem Brennstoffzellensystem von Michelin ausgestattet. Die eingebaute Brennstoffzelle übernimmt für eine Stunde die Notstromversorgung – frei von Kohlendioxid- oder anderen Schadstoffemissionen. Im Rahmen der Notfallversorgung betreibt das System die Pumpe eines von drei Hydrauliksystemen, das bei einem Ausfall der Triebwerke die Steuerflächen bewegt.

Um die 20 Kilowatt-Brennstoffzelle im Frachtraum installieren zu können, wurde das DLR-Forschungsflugzeug zunächst mit einem Frachtladesystem ausgestattet. Anschließend musste das Brennstoffzellensystem an das Flugzeug und dessen Verbraucher angebunden werden. Schwierige Aufgaben hierbei waren neben dem Aufbau der mobilen Infrastruktur zur Versorgung mit Kraftstoff (Wasserstoff und Sauerstoff) auch die Entwicklung und Implementierung der für den Flugversuch zugelassenen Messinstrumente, mit denen das Verhalten des Brennstoffzellen-Systems während des Flugs beobachtet und analysiert wird. Bevor das Flugzeug mit der Brennstoffzelle an Bord zum ersten Testflug abheben konnte, musste das System umfangreiche Abnahmetests am Boden bestehen, um die für den Flugbetrieb erforderliche Sicherheit zu gewährleisten.

Im Laufe der Nutzungsphase wird die Grundausstattung weiterentwickelt und das Einsatzspektrum von ATRA erweitert. Viele zukünftige Ein- und Umbauten am Versuchsträger werden stark an spezifische wissenschaftliche Experimente gekoppelt und damit zum Teil nur temporär sein. Durch Nutzung weit verbreiteter Standards bei der Auswahl der Komponenten und Strukturen sollen die Anforderungen hinsichtlich Modularität, Erweiterbarkeit, Einfachheit sowie Zuverlässigkeit und Langlebigkeit erfüllt werden.

Missionen - Forschungsschwerpunkte

ATRA wird künftig auf folgenden Gebieten eingesetzt:

  • Erprobung von aeroelastischen Messverfahren
  • Untersuchungen zur Innenraumakustik
  • Messungen von Umströmungslärm
  • Messungen von Turbulenzen (Laminarisierung) am Flügel und am Leitwerk
  • Erprobung neuester Messverfahren wie PIV (Particle Image Velocimetry), eine optische Methode zur Messung von Geschwindigkeitsfeldern
  • Vermessung von Wirbelschleppen. Dies sind Luftverwirbelungen, die als Folge des an den Tragflächen erzeugten Auftriebs entstehen 
  • Atmosphären- und Triebwerksmessungen

Des Weiteren wird ATRA über mehrere Cockpitschnittstellen verfügen. Hierzu werden eine experimentelle Ansteuerung der Cockpit-Displays, zusätzliche Datenlinks sowie ein Head-up-Display realisiert. Damit ergeben sich Möglichkeiten für Untersuchungen von:

  • Flugsteuerungskommandos für den Wirbelschleppendurchflug und zur Lastabminderung sowie in den Bereichen autonomes Fliegen, Rollverkehrsführung, Pilotenassistenz und Displaytechnologie
  • Untersuchungen zur Arbeitsbelastung und -verteilung von Piloten
  • Erprobung modernster Navigation- und Kommunikationstechnologien für Flugzeuge und lärmarmen An- und Abflugverfahren

Wirbelschleppenforschung mit ATRA

Luftwirbel hinter Flugzeugen entstehen als Folge des an den Tragflächen erzeugten Auftriebs; sie können sich als unsichtbare Wirbelschleppen noch längere Zeit entlang der Flugbahn halten. Daher sind für die zivile Luftfahrt genaue Sicherheitsabstände vorgeschrieben, die die Start- und Landefrequenzen auf großen Flughäfen bestimmen und bei hohem Verkehrsaufkommen zu Kapazitätsengpässen führen können. Die unangenehme, bei Passagieren und Airlines gleichermaßen unerwünschte Folge sind Warteschleifen und Verspätungen. 

Das DLR verfolgt hierzu zwei unterschiedliche Ansätze: Zum einen kann ATRA mit Hilfe der Lasermesstechnik LIDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) das Geschwindigkeitsfeld des Wirbels eines vorausfliegenden Flugzeugs messen. Zum anderen messen Anströmsensoren die Parameter für Wirbelmodelle wie Intensität und Alterungsverhalten. Dieser Ansatz bietet den Vorteil, dass gleichzeitig die Reaktion des einfliegenden Flugzeugs auf die Wirbelströmung im Zusammenhang mit den aktuellen Wirbelschleppeneigenschaften modelliert und bewertet werden. Ziel der Versuche ist, durch eine genauere Berechnung der Ausbreitung und des Abbaus der Wirbelschleppen die möglichen Staffelungsabstände zwischen hintereinander an- oder abfliegenden Flugzeugen zu verringern.

Hochauftriebsforschung mit ATRA für leistungsfähige Start- und Landephasen

Der Luftverkehr steht vor vielfältigen Herausforderungen. Durch den weltweiten Anstieg des Luftverkehrsaufkommens wird eine Steigerung der aerodynamischen Leistungsfähigkeit während der Start- und Landephase gemeinsam mit einer Reduktion des Fluglärms noch wichtiger werden. Das DLR arbeitet in diversen nationalen und europäischen Forschungsprojekten an diesen Herausforderungen.

Die Konzeption und Entwicklung komplexer Klappen- und Übertragungssysteme, die weit reichende Auswirkungen auf die Start- und Landeeigenschaften sowie auf die Lärmemission der Flugzeuge haben, stellt deshalb einen Kernforschungsbereich des DLR dar. In Kooperation mit dem Bereich High-Lift-Systeme der Firma Airbus in Bremen forscht das DLR an aktuellen Fragestellungen.

Technische Daten

Airbus A320 "D-ATRA"

Länge: 37,57 Meter
Höhe: 11,76 Meter
Spannweite: 34,10 Meter
Kabinenlänge: 29,10 Meter
Kabinenbreite: 3,7 Meter
Kabinenhöhe: 2,4 Meter
Sitzplätze: maximal 179
Leergewicht: 42,3 Tonnen
Gesamtgewicht: maximal 75,5 Tonnen
Antrieb: zwei Triebwerke von International Aero Engine V2500
Schub: je 111 Kilonewton
Reichweite: 4800 Kilometer bis 5700 Kilometer
Flughöhe: maximal 11.800 Meter (39.000 Fuß)
Geschwindigkeit: maximal 840 Kilometer pro Stunde
Flugdauer: Für Testbetriebe bis zu 2:30 Stunden
Tankkapazität: 23.858 Liter
Ursprüngliche Nutzung: Zivile Nutzung - Passagierflugzeug
DLR-Flugbetrieb: Braunschweig

 

Zuletzt geändert am: 09.07.2012 14:29:33 Uhr

URL dieses Artikels

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10203/339_read-277/

DLR-Forschungsflugzeug ATRA

ATRA_5_1.jpg

Das größte Flottenmitglied, der Airbus A320-232 "D-ATRA", ist seit Ende 2008 für das DLR im Einsatz.

ATRA im Landeanflug

ATRA im Landeanflug

ATRA (Advanced Technology Research Aircraft) wird ein unverzichtbarer Bestandteil der deutschen und europäischen Luftfahrtforschung werden.

Vorderansicht von ATRA

Vorderansicht von ATRA

Der Airbus A320 "D-ATRA" hat eine Länge von 37,57 Metern und ist 11,76 Meter hoch. Seine Spannweite beträgt 34,10 Meter.

ATRA wird getauft

ATRA wird getauft

Im April 2010 wurde das DLR-Forschungsflugzeug ATRA auf den Namen Otto Lilienthal getauft.

DLR-Forschungsflugzeug Airbus A320 "D-ATRA"

DLR%2dForschungsflugzeug Airbus A320 "D%2dATRA"

Das DLR-Forschungsflugzeug Airbus A320 "D-ATRA" (Advanced Technology Research Aircraft) bei einer Landung am DLR-Standort Braunschweig.

Außenansicht von ATRA

Außenansicht von ATRA

ATRA (Advanced Technology Research Aircraft) ist eine moderne und flexible Flugversuchsplattform, die nicht nur größenmäßig einen neuen Maßstab für fliegende Versuchsträger in der europäischen Luftfahrtforschung setzt.

Das Hochauftriebssystem des Airbus A320-232 "D-ATRA"

Das Hochauftriebssystem des Airbus A320%2d232 "D%2dATRA"

Die Grafik zeigt das leistungsfähige und Lärm reduzierende Landeklappenkonzept. Einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Reduktion des Systemaufwands stellen die in Entwicklung befindlichen Einzelklappenantriebe dar. Der klassische Stellantrieb verfügt über einen zentral im Rumpf des Flugzeugs angebrachte Hydraulikmotor, dessen Leistung über zwei sich in die Flügelhälften erstreckende Wellenstränge und so genannte "Rotary Actuators" an einen Hebelmechanismus übertragen wird. Dieser bewegt dann die daran befestigte Klappe. Durch den zentralen Antrieb fahren alle Klappenelemente des Flügels gleichmäßig aus. Bei dem Konzept der Einzelklappenantriebe erfolgt der Antrieb der Klappen dagegen dezentral über elektromechanische Aktuatoren. Sie bestehen aus einem Elektromotor, dessen Drehbewegung über eineKugelumlaufspindel direkt in die Ausfahrbewegung der Klappe umgesetzt wird.

Links

  • DLR Flugexperimente
    (http://www.dlr.de/fb/)
  • DLR-Flugabteilung Braunschweig
    (http://www.dlr.de/fb/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-3686/)
  • DLR-Institut für Aerodynamik und Strömungstechnik
    (http://www.dlr.de/as)
  • DLR-Institut für Flugführung
    (http://www.dlr.de/fl/)
  • DLR-Institut für Technische Thermodynamik
    (http://www.dlr.de/tt)
  • Airbus
    (http://www.airbus.com)
  • Lufthansa Technik
    (http://www.lufthansa-technik.com/applications/portal/lhtportal/index2.jsp?action=initial&requestednode=home)

Downloads

  • Take-off in eine neue Liga - ATRA (3,57 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/takeof.pdf)
  • Particle Image Velocimetry (PIV) (0,22 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/PIV.pdf)