Space

Double anniversary in Russian-German space history

Two peaceful missions: 25 years MIR'92 and 20 years MIR'97

16 March 2017

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • EwaldFlade1_sn.jpg
    Klaus-Dietrich Flade and Reinhold Ewald, 1992, during MIR training

    The German astronauts Klaus-Dietrich Flade (right) and Reinhold Ewald (back-up) during the training for the mission MIR'92 in the Yuri Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center near Moscow. Twenty five years ago - from 17 to 25 March 1992 - Flade was as a science cosmonaut on the Russian space station. Five years later, in 1997, Reinhold Ewald was a German cosmonaut on the Mir.

  • FladeEinstieg5_sn.jpg
    Klaus-Dietrich Flade ready for launch

    On 17 March 1992, the German astronaut Klaus-Dietrich Flade, together with the two Russian cosmonauts Aleksandr Viktorenko and Alexandr (Sascha) Kaleri, launched on an eight-day mission to the Russian space station Mir on board the Soyuz TM-14 spacecraft from Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. On 19 March 1992, the spacecraft docked with the Mir station and the three cosmonauts 'moved' into the space station.

  • MIR92Crew_sn.jpg
    The MIR'92 crew in the Soyuz simulator

    Klaus-Dietrich Flade (behind), Aleksandr Viktorenko and Aleksandr (Sascha) Kaleri (front) in the Sojus TM simulator. Flade was the first German astronaut to take part in a spaceflight of the former USSR. On 17 March 1992, the then 39-year-old Luftwaffe test pilot, together with Viktorenko and Kaleri, were launched from Baikonur en route to the Russian space station Mir on board the Soyuz TM-14 spacecraft.

  • EwaldTraining977_sn.jpg
    Reinhold Ewald training for MIR'97

    The German spaceflight Reinhold Ewald waves to press representatives, who were invited to observe him on 20 January 1997 during the training in the Russian space center near Moscow.

  • MIRCrew973_sn.jpg
    The crew of MIR'97

    The German astronaut Reinhold Ewald (centre) with his Russian colleagues Vasili Zibliew (left) and Aleksandr Lasutkin in the Mir simulator of the Yuri Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center (photo from 1997). The three cosmonauts were launched en route to the Mir 20 years ago - on 10 February 1997 - from Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan on board the Sojus TM 25. Ewald spent 18 days on the Russian space station, conducting 34 material science and medical experiments.

  • MIREvent_sn.jpg
    MIR anniversary celebration on 16 March 2017 at DLR in Bonn

    25 years after MIR'92 and 20 years after MIR'97, the German and Russian cosmonauts involved in both missions met again at DLR in Bonn (from the left): Gerd Gruppe, Executive Board Member responsible for the DLR Space Administration, Vasili Zibliew and Reinhold Ewald (both MIR'97 crew), Sergei Krikalev and Klaus-Dietrich Flade (both MIR'92 crew) and Alexander Lasutkin (MIR'97 crew).

  • Klaus-Dietrich Flade was the first German cosmonaut on the Russian space station MIR in 1992.
  • Reinhold Ewald lived and worked on the space station for 16 days in 1995.
  • Basis for future cooperation on the International Space Station ISS.

On 19 March 1992, almost 25 years to the day, Klaus-Dietrich Flade became the first German to float into the Russian Mir space station as a cosmonaut. Flade, a trained test pilot and aerospace engineer, spent six days as a scientific cosmonaut on what was at the time the only human outpost in space, as part of the MIR' 92 mission. Reinhold Ewald, a physicist and, since 1990, a German astronaut, was Flade's back-up for MIR '92. Ewald's first flight to the Russian space station as a cosmonaut was during the MIR '97 mission, from 10 February to 2 March 1997.

The German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) was a leading participant in both missions. The then German Agency for Space Affairs (Deutsche Agentur für Raumfahrtangelegenheiten; DARA, now DLR Space Administration) was in charge of project management, including the selection of the science experiments; on the other hand, the German Research Institute for Aviation and Space Flight (Deutscher Forschungsanstalt für Luft- und Raumfahrt) – called DLR from 1989 – took over the task of selecting and training the astronauts.

"Both missions – MIR '92 and MIR '97 – laid the foundations for a fruitful German-Russian cooperation in spaceflight that has lasted until today. Sigmund Jähn was the pioneer on Salyut; Klaus-Dietrich Flade and Reinhold Ewald followed him on MIR. Today, German astronauts and scientists regularly work in mutual respect with their Russian colleagues on the International Space Station (ISS) and on numerous other space projects. The double anniversary we are celebrating this year – 25 years since MIR '92 and 20 years since MIR '97 – is therefore a great occasion to look back on, but also an important moment to look to the future and beyond at shared, peaceful spaceflight – entirely in the spirit of 'Mir', the station of peace," stresses Gerd Gruppe, Member of the DLR Executive Board responsible for the Space Administration.

MIR '92: beginning and point of departure

The MIR '92 mission marks the beginning of the bilateral German-Russian cooperation in space. "The idea arose at a meeting between the then Russian President Mikhail Gorbachev and the German Federal Chancellor Helmut Kohl in mid-July 1990 in the Caucasus. Many people remember the famous photo of Gorbachev and Kohl sitting on tree trunks discussing world politics. Both politicians believed a space mission would impressively underscore the new German-Russian relationship," says Flade, describing the background. On 8 October 1990, a few days after the German Reunification, the cosmonauts were presented in Dresden. "My training for the MIR '92 mission began a few months later, on 12 November 1990. We prepared the 14 experiments for the mission in a very short time, before heading off to MIR aboard a Soyuz launcher on 17 March 1992," the cosmonaut recalls. To date, a particularly vivid and powerful memory for Flade and his crewmate Ewald is meeting Gorbachev in person on Mount Petersberg near Bonn in November 1990.

Of the 14 experiments for the MIR '92 mission, five were provided by DLR. The focus was on medical experiments, for instance the distribution of bodily fluids in microgravity, sleep patterns and the day-night rhythm in space, as well as psychological performance tests. Measurements on radiation protection and materials science research were also part of the programme.

MIR '97 – development and consolidation

While Flade still had to document his work on board MIR in handwriting, by 1997 there was a laptop on board: "There has been a lot of positive development since the days of Mir. Back then, we tested automated procedures that are commonplace today on the ISS. We could only communicate with Earth by radio from Mir for 15 minutes per orbit, when we flew over the Russian ground stations. For example, today data volumes of 50 megabits and more per second are sent down. On Mir, on the other hand, part of the audio frequency spectrum on the radio still had to be blocked out so information could be sent as a fax, at a transfer rate of 1000 bits [per second]," explains Ewald. "However, important groundwork was achieved in the days of Mir, the principles of which are still used on the ISS today. We were also able to get to know each other and build trust in our respective skills."

Ewald, today a professor of astronautics in Stuttgart, spent 16 days on Mir 20 years ago, during which DLR contributed twelve out of a total of 36 experiments. The focus once again was on human medicine, i.e. the effect of microgravity on the human body.  And despite a fire on board the station, Ewald brought a surprising result back to Earth that is still being investigated today – he was the first spacefarer for whom controlled measurements over 20 days showed that the body stores proportionately more salt than water in microgravity.  Until then, it had been assumed that salt-water storage was proportional. It was subsequently discovered that this excess salt is stored directly under the skin. This discovery has also influenced research on bone metabolism and bone loss and our understanding of the immune response in microgravity. Today, we know that higher salt consumption accelerates bone loss – on Earth as well as in space.

Last modified:
16/03/2017 17:23:20

Contacts

 

Elisabeth Mittelbach
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Communications, Space Administration

Tel.: +49 228 447-385

Fax: +49 228 447-386

Raumfahrt

Doppeljubiläum in der russisch-deutschen Raumfahrtgeschichte

Blick zurück: 25 Jahre MIR’92 und 20 Jahre MIR’97

Donnerstag, 16. März 2017

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • EwaldFlade1_sn.jpg
    Klaus-Dietrich Flade und Reinhold Ewald 1992 beim MIR-Training

    Die deutschen Astronauten Klaus-Dietrich Flade (rechts) und Reinhold Ewald (Ersatzmann) beim Training für die Mission MIR’92 im Kosmonauten-Trainingszentrum Jurij Gagarin nahe Moskau. Flade war vor 25 Jahren - vom 17. bis 25. März 1992 - als Wissenschaftskosmonaut auf der russischen Raumstation. Reinhold Ewald war dann fünf Jahre später - 1997 - als deutscher Kosmonaut auf der Mir.

  • FladeEinstieg5_sn.jpg
    Klaus-Dietrich Flade auf dem Weg zum Start

    Am 17. März 1992 startete der deutsche Astronaut Klaus-Dietrich Flade zusammen mit den zwei russischen Kosmonauten Alexander Viktorenko und Alexander Kaleri an Bord der Sojus-Raumkapsel TM-14 vom kasachischen Weltraumbahnhof Baikonur zu einer achttägigen Mission zur russischen Raumstation MIR. Am 19. März 1992 dockte die Raumfähre pünktlich dort an und die drei Kosmonauten stiegen in die Weltraumstation um.

  • MIR92Crew_sn.jpg
    Die MIR’92-Crew im Sojus-Simulator

    Klaus-Dietrich Flade (hinten), Alexander Viktorenko und Alexander Kaleri (vorne) im Simulator der Raumkapsel Sojus TM. Klaus-Dietrich Flade war der erste bundesdeutsche Astronaut, der an einem Raumflug der ehemaligen UdSSR teilnahm. Am 17. März 1992 startete der damals 39-jährige Testpilot der Luftwaffe zusammen mit Viktorenko und Kaleri mit der Raumkapsel Sojus TM-14 von Baikonur zur russischen Raumstation MIR.

  • EwaldTraining977_sn.jpg
    Reinhold Ewald beim Training für MIR’97

    Der deutsche Raumfahrer Reinhold Ewald winkt Pressevertretern zu, die ihn am 20. Januar 1997 während des Trainings im russischen Raumfahrtzentrum bei Moskau beobachten dürfen.

  • MIRCrew973_sn.jpg
    Die Crew von MIR’97

    Der deutsche Astronaut Dr. Reinhold Ewald (Mitte) mit seinen russischen Kollegen Vasili Zibliew (links) und Alexander Lasutkin im MIR-Simulator des russischen Raumfahrt-Ausbildungszentrums "Jurij Gagarin" (Foto von 1997). Die drei Kosmonauten starteten vor 20 Jahren - am 10. Februar 1997 - vom kasachischen Weltraumbahnhof Baikonur mit der Transportkapsel Sojus TM 25 ins All. Ewald war 18 Tage lang auf der russischen Raumstation und führte 34 materialwissenschaftliche und medizinische Experimente durch.

  • MIREvent_sn.jpg
    MIR-Jubiläumsfeier beim DLR in Bonn am 16. März 2017

    25 Jahre nach MIR’92 und 20 Jahre nach MIR’97 trafen sich die an beiden Missionen beteiligten deutschen und russischen Kosmonauten beim DLR in Bonn wieder. Nahmen an der Jubiläumsveranstaltung teil (von links): Dr. Gerd Gruppe, Vorstand des DLR Raumfahrtmanagements, Vasili Zibliew und Reinhold Ewald (beide MIR'97-Crew), Sergei Krikalev und Klaus-Dietrich Flade (beide MIR'92-Crew) und Alexander Lasutkin (MIR'97-Crew).

  • Klaus-Dietrich Flade war 1992 der erste deutsche Kosmonaut auf der russischen Raumstation MIR.
  • Reinhold Ewald lebte und arbeitete 1997 für 16 Tage auf der Raumstation.
  • Basis für spätere Zusammenarbeit auf der Internationalen Raumstation ISS gelegt.

Fast auf den Tag genau vor 25 Jahren, am 19. März 1992, schwebte mit Klaus-Dietrich Flade der erste Deutsche als Kosmonaut in die russische Raumstation MIR ein. Flade ist ausgebildeter Testpilot sowie Luft- und Raumfahrtingenieur und bleibt im Rahmen der MIR’92-Mission sechs Tage lang als Wissenschaftskosmonaut auf dem damals einzigen Außenposten der Menschheit im All. Reinhold Ewald, Physiker und seit 1990 deutscher Astronaut, ist bei MIR’92 Flades Ersatzmann. Ewald selbst fliegt fünf Jahre später, vom 10. Februar bis zum 2. März 1997, mit der Mission MIR’97 zum ersten Mal als Kosmonaut auf die russische Raumstation.

Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) war federführend an beiden Missionen beteiligt: Die Projektleitung inklusive der Auswahl der wissenschaftlichen Experimente hatte die damalige Deutsche Agentur für Raumfahrtangelegenheiten (DARA, heute DLR Raumfahrtmanagement); der Deutschen Forschungsanstalt für Luft- und Raumfahrt - ab 1989 das DLR - oblag demgegenüber die Aufgabe, die Astronauten auszuwählen und zu trainieren. 

"Beide Missionen - MIR’92 und MIR’97 - legten die Basis für eine bis heute anhaltende fruchtbare deutsch-russische Kooperation in der Raumfahrt. Sigmund Jähn war der Pionier auf Saljut, ihm folgten Klaus-Dietrich Flade und Reinhold Ewald auf MIR. Heute arbeiten regelmäßig deutsche Astronauten und Wissenschaftler mit ihren russischen Kollegen auf der Internationalen Raumstation ISS und bei vielen weiteren Raumfahrtprojekten vertrauensvoll zusammen. Das Doppeljubiläum, das wir dieses Jahr begehen - 25 Jahre MIR’92 und 20 Jahre MIR’97 - ist deshalb für uns ein freudiger Anlass, zurückzublicken, aber auch ein wichtiger Auftrag, um in die Zukunft zu schauen und weiter an einer gemeinsamen und friedlichen Nutzung der Raumfahrt zu arbeiten - ganz im Sinne der MIR, der Station für den Frieden", verdeutlicht Dr. Gerd Gruppe, DLR-Vorstand für das Raumfahrtmanagement

MIR’92: Anfang und Aufbruch

Die Mission MIR’92 markiert den Beginn der bilateralen gesamtdeutsch-russischen Kooperation im All. "Die Idee entstand bei dem Treffen zwischen dem damaligen russischen Präsidenten Michail Gorbatschow und dem deutschen Bundeskanzler Helmut Kohl Mitte Juli 1990 im Kaukasus, viele erinnern sich an das berühmte Foto, bei dem Gorbatschow und Kohl auf Baumstämmen hocken und über Weltpolitik sprechen. Beide Politiker waren der Meinung, mit einer Raumfahrt-Mission die neuen deutsch-russischen Beziehungen eindrücklich zu unterstreichen", schildert Klaus-Dietrich Flade den Hintergrund. Am 8. Oktober 1990, wenige Tage nach der deutschen Wiedervereinigung, wurden die Kosmonauten in Dresden vorgestellt. "Einen Monat später, am 12. November 1990, begann mein Training für die MIR’92-Mission. Wir haben dann in sehr kurzer Zeit die Mission mit 14 Experimenten vorbereitet, bevor es am 17. März 1992 an Bord einer Sojus-Trägerrakete zur MIR ging", erinnert sich der Wissenschaftskosmonaut. Bis heute besonders lebhaft und nachdrücklich im Gedächtnis ist Flade und seinem Crewkollegen Reinhold Ewald das persönliche Treffen mit Gorbatschow im November 1990 auf dem Petersberg bei Bonn.

Von den 14 Experimenten der MIR’92-Mission waren fünf vom DLR bereitgestellt. Im Fokus lagen medizinische Experimente zur Verteilung der Körperflüssigkeiten in Schwerelosigkeit, zu Schlaf und Tag-Nacht-Rhythmus im All und psychologische Leistungstests. Messungen zum Strahlenschutz und materialwissenschaftliche Forschung gehörten ebenfalls dazu.

MIR’97: Ausbau und Konsolidierung

Während Klaus-Dietrich Flade seine Arbeit an Bord der MIR noch handschriftlich dokumentieren musste, war 1997 schon ein Laptop an Bord: "Vieles hat sich seit der MIR-Zeit positiv entwickelt. Wir haben damals automatische Prozeduren getestet, die heute auf der ISS Standard sind. Wir konnten nur 15 Minuten pro Umlauf von der MIR zur Erde funken, genau dann, wenn wir die russischen Bodenstationen überflogen haben. Ein Beispiel: heute werden Datenmengen von 50 Megabit und mehr pro Sekunde nach unten geschickt. Auf der MIR hingegen musste noch ein Teil des Sprachfrequenzspektrums im Funk ausgeblendet werden, um uns Informationen mit 1000 Bit Übertragungsrate als Fax zu schicken", erzählt Reinhold Ewald. "In der Zeit der MIR wurden aber wichtige Arbeitsgrundlagen geschaffen, die heute auch noch auf der ISS vom Prinzip her angewendet werden. Wir konnten uns zudem schon kennenlernen und Vertrauen schaffen in die jeweiligen Kompetenzen."

Reinhold Ewald, heute Professor für Astronautik in Stuttgart, war vor 20 Jahren 16 Tage an Bord der MIR, zwölf der insgesamt 36 Experimente wurden vom DLR beigestellt. Der Schwerpunkt lag auch hier auf der Humanmedizin, also der Auswirkung der Schwerelosigkeit auf den menschlichen Körper. Und trotz eines Feuers an Bord der Station brachte Ewald ein überraschendes Ergebnis, das bis heute weiter erforscht wird, zur Erde zurück: Er war der erste Raumfahrer, bei dem durch kontrollierte Messungen über 20 Tage gezeigt werden konnte, dass sein Körper in der Schwerelosigkeit verhältnismäßig mehr Salz als Wasser eingelagert hatte. Bis dahin war man davon ausgegangen, dass die Salz-Wasser-Speicherung proportional erfolgt. Später wurde entdeckt, dass dieses überschüssige Salz direkt unter der Haut gespeichert wird. Diese Erkenntnisse flossen auch in Forschungen zum Knochenstoffwechsel und Knochenabbau sowie in das Verständnis der Immunreaktion in Schwerelosigkeit ein. Heute weiß man: Ein hoher Salzkonsum beschleunigt den Knochenabbau - auf der Erde wie im All.

 

Zuletzt geändert am:
28.03.2017 08:24:55 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Elisabeth Mittelbach
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement, Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 228 447-385

Fax: +49 228 447-386