Missions

Competition: Earth Observation Data Applications for Energy and the Environment

16 April 2014

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • View from Space: the Arctic

    As part of the "Copernicus Masters" DLR is looking for the best idea for an application in the area of environment and climate: In the "DLR Energy & Environmental Challenge", ideas for using earth observation data to further a sustainable energy economy – whether for energy harvesting, distribution or consumption – are wanted above all.

  • Sentinel%2d1A

    Sentinel-1A in orbit

    Sentinel-1A is the first satellite of the European Copernicus Earth observation programme. The rounded structure of the LCT is installed at the upper end of the satellite.

  • Sojus%2dStart

    Launch of Sentinel-1A

    On 3 April 2014 at 23.02 CEST, a Soyuz launch vehicle carried the Sentinel-1A satellite into orbit.

  • Copernicus Masters - the European Earth Monitoring Competition

    Logo.

Since 2011 the "Copernicus Masters" competition has been awarding prizes for outstanding ideas, applications and business models for the innovative use of earth observation data for commercial purposes and projects to benefit society at large. Companies, startups, researchers and students can submit their ideas from now until 13 July 2014. In the category "Energy & Environmental Challenge" the German Aerospace Center (DLR) is looking for the best idea for an application in the area of environment and climate. The DLR winner will receive a prize of 5,000 euro.

In the "DLR Energy & Environmental Challenge", ideas for using earth observation data to further a sustainable energy economy – whether for energy harvesting, distribution or consumption – are wanted above all:

The idea must be based on earth observation data that are already available or expected to be available soon; they can be used together with geoinformation from non-satellite sources. The resulting products or services should either support the work of environmental specialists or energy suppliers, or serve to inform the general population and customer-oriented markets. Local, regional or global perspectives are possible. In addition, ideas which connect services with end users in an innovative way are also particularly sought. The submitted proposals should also draw up a scenario illustrating how the idea can be implemented to benefit the wider public, or be commercially viable.

Assessment criteria

  • Usefulness and Innovation: in the fields of society, environment and climate, conserving natural resources, and/or a better energy economy
  • Copernicus Context: importance of using satellite data, added value from the Sentinel satellites
  • Technologically Realistic: based on available data, data processing algorithms and infrastructure
  • User Acceptance: benefits for customers and/or the general public, time required for implementation
  • Rights and Risks: patent likelihood, possible third parties claims, regulations/laws, required business capital

The entire competition

The "Copernicus Masters" competition allows participation in several "Challenges", and for the first time will be conducted worldwide. The winners of each challenge will be selected by experts from industry and research. The overall winner – the "Copernicus Master 2014" – will receive a prize of 20,000 euro and a satellite data package worth 60,000 euro, made available with the financial support of the European Commission. All winners will be announced in autumn 2014 and honoured in an official award ceremony. The competition is organized by Anwendungszentrum GmbH Oberpfaffenhofen. Information about the various challenges, partners and eligibility is also available at: www.copernicus-masters.com.

Last modified:
22/04/2014 14:11:33

Contacts

 

Bernadette Jung
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Communications Oberpaffenhofen

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2251

Fax: +49 8153 28-1243
Gunter Schreier
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

German Remote Sensing Data Center; Direction

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1375
Dr. Doris Klein
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

German Remote Sensing Data Center

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2438

Missionen

Ideenwettbewerb: Erdbeobachtungsdaten für Energie und Umwelt nutzen

Mittwoch, 16. April 2014

Autoplay
Info An
Info Aus
Bildinformation
Alle Bilder
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
Vorheriges Bild
Nächstes Bild
Bild {{index}}/{{count}}
Tips:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Blick aus dem Weltall: die Arktis

    Blick aus dem Weltall: die Arktis

    Im Rahmen des Ideenwettbewerbs "Copernicus Masters" sucht das DLR die beste Anwendungsidee im Bereich Umwelt und Klima: In der "DLR Energy & Environmental Challenge" sind insbesondere Ideen gefragt, die Erdbeobachtungsdaten für eine nachhaltige Energiewirtschaft nutzen - sei es bei der Energiegewinnung, -Verteilung und/oder dem Verbrauch von Energie.

  • Sentinel%2d1A

    Sentinel-1A im Orbit

    Sentinel-1A ist der erste Satellit des europäischen Erdbeobachtungsprogramms Copernicus. Am oberben Ende des Satelliten ist die runde Struktur des LCT montiert - einer neuartigen Kommunikationstechnologie.

  • Sojus%2dStart

    Start der Sojus-Rakete mit Sentinel-1A

    Am 3. April 2014 startete um 23.02 Uhr Mitteleuropäischer Sommerzeit eine Sojus-Rakete mit dem Erdbeobachtungssatelliten Sentinel-1A an Bord.

  • Copernicus Masters %2d the European Earth Monitoring Competition

    Logo

    Copernicus Masters - the European Earth Monitoring Competition.

Der Wettbewerb "Copernicus Masters" prämiert seit 2011 herausragende Ideen, Anwendungen und Geschäftskonzepte zur innovativen Nutzung von Erdbeobachtungsdaten für kommerzielle Zwecke und gesellschaftlich relevante Projekte. Unternehmen, Start-ups, Forscher und Studenten können ihre Anwendungen ab sofort einreichen, die Frist endet am 13. Juli 2014. In der Kategorie "Energy & Environmental Challenge" sucht das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) die beste Anwendungsidee im Bereich Umwelt und Klima. Der DLR-Gewinner erhält ein Preisgeld von 5.000 Euro.

In der "DLR Energy & Environmental Challenge" sind insbesondere Ideen gefragt, die Erdbeobachtungsdaten für eine nachhaltige Energiewirtschaft nutzen –  sei es bei der Energiegewinnung, -Verteilung und/oder dem Verbrauch von Energie:

Die Idee muss auf bereits vorhandene oder in Kürze verfügbaren Erdbeobachtungsdaten basieren, zusätzlich können weitere nicht-satellitenbasierte Geoinformationen genutzt werden. Die daraus abgeleiteten Produkte oder Dienste sollten entweder Spezialisten in Umweltfragen oder bei der Energieversorgung helfen, oder zur Information der Allgemeinheit und verbraucherorientierten Märkte dienen. Dabei ist eine lokale, regionale oder globale Ausrichtung möglich. Außerdem sind insbesondere Ideen, die Service und Nutzer auf innovative Weise zusammenbringen von Interesse. Der eingereichte Vorschlag sollte auch ein Szenario entwerfen, wie die Idee umgesetzt werden kann, so dass sie für die breite Öffentlichkeit und/oder einen kommerziellen Nutzen hat.

Bewertungskriterien

  • Nutzen und Innovation: in den Bereichen Gesellschaft, Umwelt und Klima, Schonung natürlicher Ressourcen und/oder bessere Energiewirtschaft
  • Copernicus-Kontext: Bedeutung der Verwendung von Satellitendaten, Mehrwert durch Sentinel-Satelliten
  • Technologisch umsetzbar: basierend auf verfügbare Daten, Algorithmen und Infrastruktur zur Datenverarbeitung
  • Nutzerakzeptanz: Nutzen für Kunden und/oder breite Öffentlichkeit, Dauer bis zur Umsetzung
  • Rechte und Risiken: Patentierbarkeit, mögliche Ansprüche durch Dritte, Vorschriften/Gesetze, Geschäftsvermögen

Der Gesamtwettbewerb

Der Wettbewerb "Copernicus Masters" bietet die Möglichkeit, an mehreren "Challenges" teilzunehmen und wird in diesem Jahr erstmals weltweit ausgetragen. Die Gewinner jeder Challenge werden von Experten aus Industrie und Forschung gewählt. Der Gesamtgewinner – der "Copernicus Master 2014" – erhält ein Preisgeld von 20.000 Euro und ein Satellitendatenpaket im Wert von 60.000 Euro, das mit finanzieller Unterstützung der Europäischen Kommission bereitgestellt wird. Alle Gewinner werden im Herbst 2014 bekannt gegeben und im Rahmen einer feierlichen Preisverleihung ausgezeichnet. Der Wettbewerb wird von der Anwendungszentrum GmbH Oberpfaffenhofen organisiert. Informationen zu allen Einzelausschreibungen, Partnern und Teilnahmebedingungen finden Sie auch hier: www.copernicus-masters.com.

Zuletzt geändert am:
22.04.2014 15:21:47 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Bernadette Jung
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation Oberpfaffenhofen, Weilheim, Augsburg

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2251

Fax: +49 8153 28-1243
Gunter Schreier
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum; Leitungsbereich

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1375
Dr. Doris Klein
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2438