Berlin

Surface of Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko too hot for ice

Rosetta-Mission

01 August 2014

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Rosetta%2dMission

    VIRTIS spectrometer

    The VIRTIS spectrometer travels on board ESA’s comet rendezvous spacecraft, Rosetta. Initial measurements have determined that the average temperature of Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko is too high for it to be completely covered with ice. The surface of the nucleus is probably covered with dark, dusty material.

Record cold temperatures on Earth are far from the low point on a comet formed from ice and dust. Researchers using the Visible and InfraRed Thermal Imaging Spectrometer (VIRTIS) on board ESA’s comet rendezvous spacecraft, Rosetta, have determined that the average temperature on Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko is a mere minus 70 degrees Celsius. This is where, in November 2014, the lander Philae – constructed and operated by a consortium led by the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) will touch down. “At this temperature, the surface of the comet is not completely covered with a layer of ice, but with dark, dusty material,” says DLR planetary researcher Gabriele Arnold, who heads the German scientific contributions to this experiment. The temperature was measured during Rosetta’s approach to the comet, where it is due to arrive on 6 August 2014.

The investigations of the nucleus with VIRTIS began in July this year. At this point, the spacecraft was still 14,000–5000 kilometres from the target comet and, at that time, the comet filled only a few pixels of the image. “The temperature therefore represents an average over the visible cometary surface.” Individual regions are not recorded in detail and may well be covered with ice. With the average of minus 70 degrees Celsius, the temperature is 20 to 30 degrees above the value at which a comet would be completely covered with ice. The scientists in the VIRTIS team suspect that the surface is largely covered with a crust of dark dust, which is heated by the Sun; this energy is then reradiated in the infrared wavelength range. DLR comet researcher Ekkehard Kührt, who is also involved in VIRTIS, concludes from the first model calculations that: “The relatively high temperatures suggest that the dusty surface must be very rough.”

Information for selecting the landing site

“As Rosetta approaches the comet, images and the corresponding spectra will be acquired with continuously increasing spatial resolution,” explains Arnold. This will allow scientists to study the detailed structure of the surface of the nucleus, its composition, and physical parameters such as the temperature and thermal inertia of the surface material. This will be especially interesting when Rosetta and VIRTIS accompany the comet on its journey towards the Sun. At the time these measurements were performed, Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko was still 543 million kilometres from the Sun. VIRTIS is designed to measure the composition of the nucleus and the daily changes in its surface temperature over selected regions, to better understand the comet and its structure. VIRTIS will provide information on the thermal conditions and the material structure at possible landing sites and assist, together with other instruments, in the selection of the optimum landing site.

About the mission

Rosetta is a European Space Agency mission with contributions from its Member States and NASA. Rosetta's Philae lander has been contributed by a consortium led by DLR, the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research (Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung; MPS), the French space agency, CNES (Centre National d’Études Spatiales), and the Italian space agency, ASI (Agenzia Spaziale Italiana).

VIRTIS is the visible/infrared spectrometer on board ESA’s Rosetta spacecraft. It will provide information on the composition of the nucleus, and map the distribution of the material on the surface and molecules and gases in the coma. VIRTIS was developed by a consortium under the scientific direction of the Institute for Space Astrophysics and Planetology (Istituto di Astrofisica e Planetologia Spaziali; IAPS) of the National Institute for Astrophysics (Istituto Nazionale di Astrofisica; INAF), in Rome (Italy), which also manages the scientific operations. The consortium includes the Laboratory for Space Studies and Astrophysics Instrumentation (Laboratoire d'Études Spatiales et d'Instrumentation en Astrophysique; LESIA) of the Observatoire de Paris (France) and the DLR Institute of Planetary Research in Berlin (Germany). The development of the instrument was funded and coordinated by the national space agencies ASI, CNES and DLR. The support provided by the Rosetta Science Operations Centre and the Rosetta Mission Operations Centre is appreciated. The calibrated VIRTIS data will be available on the ESA Planetary Science Archive Website: www.rssd.esa.int/index.php?project=PSA&page=index

 

Last modified:
04/08/2014 15:48:18

Contacts

 

Manuela Braun
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Corporate Communications, Editor, Human Space Flight, Space Science, Engineering

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr.rer.nat. Ekkehard Kührt
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Planetary Research, Asteroids and Comets

Tel.: +49 30 67055-514

Fax: +49 30 67055-340

Berlin

Komet Churyumov-Gerasimenkos Oberfläche - zu heiß für Eis

Rosetta-Mission

Freitag, 1. August 2014

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Rosetta%2dMission

    Spektrometer VIRTIS

    An Bord der ESA-Sonde Rosetta befindet sich das Spektrometer VIRTIS. Erste Temperaturmessungen zeigten, dass die Oberfläche von Komet Churyumov-Gerasimenko nicht vollständig von Eis, sondern von einem dunklen Staub bedeckt ist.

Was auf der Erde für Kälterekorde steht, ist für einen Kometen aus Staub und Eis noch längst nicht der Tiefpunkt: Gerade einmal minus 70 Grad Celsius haben die Wissenschaftler des Instruments VIRTIS als durchschnittliche Temperatur für den Kometen Churymov-Gerasimenko gemessen, auf dem im November 2014 das Landegerät Philae unter Leitung des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) aufsetzen soll. "Bei dieser Temperatur ist die Oberfläche des Kometen nicht vollständig mit einer Eisschicht bedeckt, sondern mit einem dunklen, staubigen Material", sagt DLR-Planetenforscherin Dr. Gabriele Arnold, die die deutschen wissenschaftlichen Beiträge zu diesem Experiment leitet. Gemessen wurde die Temperatur von der ESA-Sonde Rosetta aus, die am 6. August 2014 am Kometen ankommt.

Die Untersuchungen des Kometenkerns mit dem visuell-infraroten Spektrometer VIRTIS fingen im Juli dieses Jahres an. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt waren Sonde und Instrument noch zwischen 14.000 und 5000 Kilometer vom Zielkometen entfernt und so füllt der Komet nur wenige Pixel des Bildes aus. "Die Temperatur repräsentiert deshalb einen Mittelwert über die sichtbare Kometenoberfläche." Einzelne Regionen werden dabei nicht im Detail erfasst und können durchaus mit Eis bedeckt sein. Mit dem Durchschnittswert von minus 70 Grad Celsius liegt die Temperatur 20 bis 30 Grad über dem Wert, bei dem ein Komet komplett mit Eis bedeckt wäre. Die Wissenschaftler des VIRTIS-Teams gehen deshalb davon aus, dass die Oberfläche zum großen Teil mit einer Kruste aus dunklem, Staub bedeckt ist, die vom Sonnenlicht erwärmt wird und diese Energie im infraroten Wellenlängenbereich wieder abstrahlt. DLR-Kometenforscher Dr. Ekkehard Kührt, der ebenfalls an VIRTIS beteiligt ist, schlussfolgert aus ersten Modellrechnungen: "Die relativ hohen Temperaturen legen nahe, dass die staubige Oberfläche sehr rau sein muss".

Informationen für die Auswahl des Landeplatzes

"Mit der weiteren Annäherung der Rosetta-Sonde an den Kometen werden von nun an kontinuierlich räumlich immer höher aufgelöste Bilder und die entsprechenden Spektren aufgezeichnet", erläutert Dr. Gabriele Arnold. Dies wird es den Wissenschaftlern ermöglichen, die Feinstruktur der Oberfläche des Kerns, seine Zusammensetzung sowie physikalische Parameter wie Temperatur und thermische Trägheit des Oberflächenmaterials zu untersuchen. Spannend wird es dann vor allem, wenn Rosetta mit dem Instrument VIRTIS an Bord den Kometen auf seinem Weg zur Sonne begleitet - noch ist der Komet Churyumov-Gerasimenko 543 Millionen Kilometer von der Sonne entfernt. Dann soll VIRTIS die Zusammensetzung des Kerns und die täglichen Veränderungen der Oberflächentemperatur in ausgewählten Regionen messen, um den Kometen und seinen Aufbau besser zu verstehen. VIRTIS wird Informationen über die thermalen Bedingungen und die stoffliche Struktur geeigneter Landeplätze liefern und gemeinsam mit anderen Instrumenten helfen, den besten Landeplatz auszuwählen.

Die Mission

Rosetta ist eine Mission der ESA mit Beiträgen von ihren Mitgliedsstaaten und der der NASA. Rosettas Lander Philae wird von einem Konsortium unter der Leitung von DLR, MPS, CNES und ASI beigesteuert.

VIRTIS (Visible, InfraRed and Thermal Imaging Spectrometer) ist das visuell-infrarote Spektrometer an Bord der ESA-Sonde Rosetta. Es wird Informationen zur Zusammensetzung des Kometenkerns liefern und die Verteilung des Materials an der Oberfläche sowie der Gase und Moleküle in der Koma kartieren. VIRTIS wurde von einem Konsortium unter der wissenschaftlichen Leitung des Istituto di Astrofisica e Planetologia Spaziali of INAF in Rom (Italien) gebaut, das auch den wissenschaftlichen Betrieb leitet. Zum Konsortium gehören das Laboratoire d’Études Spatiales et d’Instrumentation en Astrophysique of the Observatoire in Paris (Frankreich) und das Institut für Planetenforschung des DLR (Deutschland). Die Entwicklung des Instruments wurde gefördert und koordiniert durch die nationalen Raumfahrtagenturen: Agenzia Spaziale Italiana (ASI, Italien), Centre National d’Études Spatiales (CNES, Frankreich) und des Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR, Deutschland). Die Unterstützung durch das Rosetta Science Operations Centre und das Rosetta Mission Operations Centre wird dankend gewürdigt. Die kalibrierten VIRTIS-Daten sind über die ESA Planetary Science Archive Webseite erhältlich: (www.rssd.esa.int/index.php?project=PSA&page=index)
 

Zuletzt geändert am:
05.08.2014 13:25:51 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Manuela Braun
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Redaktion Raumfahrt

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr. Gabriele Arnold
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Planetenforschung

Tel.: +49 30 67055-370
Dr. Ekkehard Kührt
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Planetenforschung

Tel.: +49 30 67055-514

Fax: +49 30 67055-340