Berlin

Seeing Hellas Planitia

The Hellas Planitia impact basin on Mars

14 August 2014

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Colour plan view of the northwest of Hellas Planitia

    Colour plan view of the northwest of Hellas Planitia

    Through a telescope, Hellas Planitia is one of the few structures that can be identified relatively easily. The more than 2000-kilometre-wide and up to eight-kilometre-deep basin stands out because of its strikingly light colour, which can be seen on the left side of the image. Over time, winds have brought large amounts of dust into the basin from the Martian Highlands, deposited it there and covered the plain with a light coat of dust.

  • Oblique perspective view of two craters in the northwest of Hellas Planitia

    Oblique perspective view of two craters in the northwest of Hellas Planitia

    The influence of ice and glaciers on the shape of the landscape can be seen in two unnamed craters in Hellas Planitia. In the background, an elongated ‘hose’ covered by rubble and dust stretches from the higher-lying areas in the 4000-metre-high edge of Hellas in the northwest in the direction of the larger crater. In the interior of this crater, an unusually shaped deposit area can also be seen – both these features probably date back to the flow of glacial ice. Glacial flow structures are also visible at the crater edges in the foreground.

  • 3D view of the northwest of Hellas Planitia

    3D view (anaglyph image) of the northwest of Hellas Planitia

    Anaglyph images can be created using data from the nadir channel of the HRSC camera system operated by DLR, which is oriented perpendicular to the surface of Mars, and one of the four stereo channels, providing realistic, three-dimensional views of the landscape using red-blue or red-green glasses. Upon closer inspection of the double crater, the morphology of various unusual glacial structures can be seen in the right half of the image.

  • Topographic context map of the northwest of Hellas Planitia

    Topographic context map of the northwest of Hellas Planitia

    Hellas Planitia is the best preserved and largest known impact basin on Mars. It has a diameter of roughly 2200 kilometres. At its deepest points, the bottom of Hellas is 8000 metres below the level of the Martian southern highlands. The HRSC stereo camera, operated by the DLR on board ESA’s Mars Express spacecraft, imaged the northwest of Hellas in exceptionally good atmospheric conditions on 23 December 2013.

  • Topographic map of the northwest of Hellas Planitia

    Topographic map of the northwest of Hellas Planitia

    Topographic terrain models are derived from the stereo image data acquired by the HRSC camera system operated by DLR. In the absence of ‘sea level’, the elevation data is referenced to an areoid – a modelled equipotential surface on which everything experiences the same gravitational attraction towards the centre of the planet. In these, even small differences in height can be shown and subtle terrain levels detected such as, for example, a striking flow front of a large solidified lava flow which, coming from the South (left) has come to a standstill roughly in the centre. Unusual structures extend in the direction of two craters from the more than 1000-metre-higher regions in the North, which are probably of glacial origin.

When looking at Mars through a telescope, once does not usually recognise many landscape features – especially since observations are often affected by dust storms that rage in the Martian atmosphere. The Hellas Planitia impact basin is, however, visible as a large, light, almost circular area in the southern hemisphere. Images of the deepest parts of this impact basin – with unusually great visibility – have now been acquired with the High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC), operated by the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) on board ESA’s Mars Express spacecraft.

The Hellas basin was formed when a huge asteroid, probably well over 100 kilometres across, impacted the young Martian crust. That happened about 4.1 billion years ago, towards the end of the Noachian period, which lasted until about 3.7 or 3.8 billion years before our time. During this period, the greatest number of asteroid impacts occurred on the Solar System’s inner planets. This is clear from the numerous circular, dark volcanic rock-filled craters on the near side of the Moon. Even Earth was not spared from these heavy cosmic collisions during the ‘Late Heavy Bombardment’. The dynamic nature of Earth’s crust has long erased all traces of these impacts. With a diameter of roughly 2200 kilometres, together with the South Pole-Aitken basin on the far side of the Moon and the Valhalla basin on Jupiter’s moon Callisto, Hellas is one of the largest impact scars in the Solar System.

Water could be stable at the bottom of Hellas

Today, Hellas Planitia is the deepest preserved impact basin on Mars. An altitude of more than 4000 metres separates the floor of the basin from the edge of the innermost of several concentric crater-ring mountains. Moreover, the altitude difference reaches an overwhelming 9000 metres to the peaks of the outermost mountain ranges of the crater rings formed by the impact. Over time, the interior of Hellas Planitia has been greatly altered by geological processes. The wind has blown dust into the basin, glaciers and streams have transported and deposited sediment, and volcanoes have built up layers of low-viscosity lava on the floor of Hellas. Despite its exposure to erosion and coverage by deposits for a long period of time, it is the best-preserved large impact basin on Mars.

The deepest points of Hellas are located in the western part, shown here in the HRSC images acquired on 17 December 2013 during Mars Express orbit 12,690 at 57 degrees east and 33 degrees south. The good visibility conditions from orbit on this day are uncommon because, usually, fierce dust storms that blow from the highlands and the arc of mountains over the plain of Hellas produce a haze of dust and aerosols that partially obscures the surface. At the deepest points of Hellas, the atmospheric pressure is almost twice that at ground level in the adjacent Mars highlands. At times, the pressure and temperature conditions are sometimes above what is known as the ‘triple point’ of water, so that in some places, water on the surface could be stable. At higher elevations on Mars, water rapidly ‘evaporates’ due to the low atmospheric pressure.

The HRSC image data was first processed at the DLR Institute of Planetary Research and the images were prepared by scientists from the Planetary Science and Remote Sensing Department of the Free University of Berlin to produce the results shown here.

Glaciers with thicknesses of up to 450 meters suspected

The form and shape of many landscape features in Hellas Planitia suggest that ice and glaciers have had an effect on the interior of the basin – and perhaps still exist under the thick dust cover. Radar measurements with the SHARAD instrument on board the NASA Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter (MRO) suggest that under the elongated, sinuous debris and rubble structures, glaciers with a thickness of up to 450 metres are still hidden from the gaze of the camera in several smaller craters in Hellas. Large-scale analysis of the images suggests that a thick layer of dust could be covering the entire area. An old crater, 40 kilometres across, in the southern (left) half of the images can only be recognised from its outlines; it has probably been filled by lava flows, whose flow fronts extend from east to west through the centre of the image.

In the images, two other, clearly better preserved, craters are visible; the larger of the two has a diameter of about 25 kilometres. What is striking is the unusual morphology of the craters and their surrounding areas. From the north (top right in images 1, 3 and 4, and top left in image 2) a thick band that looks like a dust covered fire hose extends up to the crater rim.  There is a similarly patterned, oval-shaped structure inside the larger crater. At the southern edge of the crater, there is material whose surface shows flow structures. On closer inspection, it indicates the flow direction that ran parallel to the edges of these structures. It is very likely that debris and rubble-covered glacial ice has produced these phenomena. Looking at image 3 with 3D glasses, you can also recognise layers in the crater edges.

  • Image processing

    The image data were acquired with the High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) during Mars Express Orbit 12,690 on 17 December 2013. The image resolution is approximately 15 metres per pixel. The colour plan view (image 1) was created using the nadir channel, which is directed vertically down onto the surface of Mars and the colour channels; the oblique perspective view (image 2) was calculated from data acquired by the HRSC stereo channels. The anaglyph (image 3), which gives a three-dimensional impression of the landscape when viewed with red-blue or red-green glasses, was derived from data acquired by the nadir channel and one stereo channel. The colour-coded plan view (image 4) is based on a digital terrain model of the region, from which the topography of the landscape can be derived.

  • The HRSC experiment

    The High Resolution Stereo Camera was developed at the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) and built in collaboration with partners in industry (EADS Astrium, Lewicki Microelectronic GmbH and Jena-Optronik GmbH). The science team, which is headed by principal investigator (PI) Ralf Jaumann, consists of 52 co-investigators from 34 institutions and 11 countries. The camera is operated by the DLR Institute of Planetary Research in Berlin-Adlershof. The images presented here were created by the Planetary Sciences Group at the Freie Universität Berlin.

 

Last modified:
14/08/2014 11:16:18

Contacts

 

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Prof.Dr. Ralf Jaumann
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Planetary Research, Planetary Geology

Tel.: +49 30 67055-400

Fax: +49 30 67055-402
Ulrich Köhler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Tel.: +49 30 67055-215

Fax: +49 30 67055-402

Berlin

Klare Sicht auf Hellas Planitia

Das Hellas Planitia-Einschlagsbecken auf dem Mars

Donnerstag, 14. August 2014

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Der Nordwesten von Hellas Planitia

    Der Nordwesten von Hellas Planitia

    Beim Blick durch ein Teleskop von der Erde ist Hellas Planitia eine der wenigen Strukturen auf dem Mars, die relativ leicht identifiziert werden können. Das über 2000 Kilometer große und bis zu acht Kilometer tiefe Becken fällt durch eine auffallend helle Tönung auf, wie sie charakteristisch in der linken Bildhälfte zu sehen ist. Fallwinde haben im Laufe der Zeit vom Marshochland große Mengen an Staub ins Becken getragen, dort abgelagert, und die Tiefebene mit einem hellen Staubmantel bedeckt.

  • Perspektivischer Blick in zwei Krater im Nordwesten von Hellas Planitia

    Perspektivischer Blick in zwei Krater im Nordwesten von Hellas Planitia

    An zwei namenlosen Kratern in Hellas Planitia lässt sich der Einfluss von Eis und Gletschern auf die Gestalt der Landschaft auf dem Mars ablesen. Aus den höher gelegenen Gebieten im 4000 Meter hohen Rand von Hellas im Nordwesten erstreckt sich im Bildhintergrund ein von Gesteinsschutt und Staub bedeckter, länglicher "Schlauch" in Richtung des größeren Kraters. Im Innern dieses Kraters ist ebenfalls eine ungewöhnlich geformte Ablagerungsfläche zu sehen - beide gehen vermutlich auf das Fließen von Gletschereis zurück. Auch an den Kraterrändern im Vordergrund hat es derartige glaziale Fließstrukturen.

  • 3D%2dAnsicht auf den Nordwesten von Hellas Planitia

    3D-Ansicht auf den Nordwesten von Hellas Planitia

    Aus dem senkrecht auf die Marsoberfläche gerichteten Nadirkanal des vom DLR betriebenen Kamerasystems HRSC und einem der vier Stereokanäle lassen sich sogenannte Anaglyphenbilder erstellen, die bei Verwendung einer Rot-Blau- oder Rot-Grün-Brille einen realistischen, dreidimensionalen Blick auf die Landschaft ermöglichen. Bei näherer Betrachtung des Doppelkraters in der rechten Bildhälfte lässt sich die Morphologie von verschiedenen, ungewöhnlichen glazialen Strukturen erkennen.

  • Topographische Übersichtskarte des Nordwestens von Hellas Planitia

    Topographische Übersichtskarte des Nordwestens von Hellas Planitia

    Hellas Planitia ist das am besten erhaltene und auch das größte bekannte Einschlagsbecken auf dem Mars. Sein Durchmesser beträgt mehr als 2200 Kilometer. An den tiefsten Stellen befindet sich der Grund von Hellas 8000 Meter unterhalb der Ebenen des südlichen Marshochlandes. Die vom DLR betriebene Stereokamera HRSC auf der ESA-Sonde Mars Express fotografierte den Nordwesten von Hellas bei außergewöhnlich guten atmosphärischen Bedingungen am 23. Dezember 2013.

  • Topographische Bildkarte des Nordwestens von Hellas Planitia auf dem Mars

    Topographische Bildkarte des Nordwestens von Hellas Planitia auf dem Mars

    Aus den Stereobilddaten des vom DLR betriebenen Kamerasystems HRSC werden topographische Geländemodelle abgeleitet. Darin lassen selbst geringe Höhenunterschiede darstellen und subtile Geländestufen wie beispielsweise eine markante Fließfront eines großen erstarrten Lavastroms erkennen, der von Süden (links) kommend etwa in der Bildmitte zum Stillstand gekommen ist. Dabei wurde ein etwa 40 Kilometer großer Lavastrom (links oben) von der dünnflüssigen Lava geflutet, so dass er nur noch an seinen Umrissen erkennbar ist. Von den über tausend Meter höher gelegenen Regionen im Norden erstrecken sich ungewöhnliche Strukturen in Richtung zweier Krater, die vermutlich glazialen Ursprungs sind.

Blickt man mit einem Teleskop von der Erde zum Mars, so erkennt man meist nicht viele Landschaftsmerkmale. Zumal die Beobachtungen häufig durch Staubstürme beeinträchtigt sind, die sich in der Marsatmosphäre austoben. Das Einschlagsbecken Hellas Planitia jedoch ist als große, fast kreisrunde Fläche von über 2200 Kilometern Durchmesser leicht als heller Fleck auf der Südhalbkugel zu sehen. Mit der vom DLR betriebenen hochauflösenden Stereokamera HRSC auf der ESA-Raumsonde Mars Express gelangen nun Aufnahmen der tiefsten Stellen dieses Einschlagsbeckens bei ungewöhnlich guten Sichtverhältnissen.

Das Hellas-Becken entstand durch den Einschlag eines riesigen, vermutlich weit über 100 Kilometer großen Asteroiden in die junge Marskruste. Das geschah vor etwa 4,1 Milliarden Jahren, gegen Ende der Noachischen Periode, dem "Mars-Altertum", das bis vor etwa 3,7 oder 3,8 Milliarden Jahren vor unserer Zeit andauerte. In dieser frühen Zeit ereigneten sich auf den Planeten des inneren Sonnensystems die heftigsten Asteroideneinschläge, wovon beispielsweise auch die zahlreichen kreisrunden, von dunklem Vulkangestein angefüllten Becken auf der Mondvorderseite zeugen. Auch die Erde blieb nicht von diesen schweren kosmischen Treffern während der Phase des sogenannten "späten, schweren Bombardements" verschont. Durch die vielen dynamischen Prozesse in der Erdkruste sind die Spuren dieser Einschläge bei uns jedoch längst ausgelöscht. Mit über 2000 Kilometern Durchmesser gehört das Hellas-Becken mit dem Südpol-Aitken-Becken auf der Mondrückseite oder dem Valhalla-Becken auf dem Jupitermond Callisto zu den größten Kollisionsereignissen in unserem Sonnensystem.

Wasser könnte auf dem Grund von Hellas stabil sein

Heute ist Hellas Planitia das tiefste erhaltene Einschlagsbecken auf dem Mars. Von seinem Grund bis zum Rand des innersten von mehreren konzentrischen Kraterrand-Ringgebirgen werden mehr als 4000 Meter Höhenunterschied gemessen. Bis zu den Gipfeln auf den weiter außen gelegenen Bergketten der beim Einschlag aufgeschobenen Kraterringe sind es zum Teil mehr als 9000 Meter Höhenunterschied. Im Laufe der Zeit wurde das Innere von Hellas Planitia durch geologische Prozesse stark verändert. Der Wind wehte Staub in das Becken,  Gletscher und Wasserläufe haben Sedimente mit sich geführt und abgelagert und  Vulkane haben auf dem Boden von Hellas mit dünnflüssiger Lava Schichten gebildet. Trotz der langen Zeit, die Hellas Planitia der Erosion ausgesetzt war und durch Ablagerungen verändert wurde, ist es das am besten erhaltene große Einschlagsbecken auf dem Mars.

Die tiefsten Punkte von Hellas befinden sich im westlichen Teil, in dem auch die hier gezeigten HRSC-Aufnahmen am 17. Dezember 2013 während des Mars Express-Orbits 12690 bei 57 Grad östlicher Länge und 33 Grad südlicher Breite entstanden. Die an diesem Tag herrschenden guten Sichtbedingungen aus dem Orbit sind ungewöhnlich, denn meist wehen vom Hochland und aus den Ringgebirgen heftige Staubstürme über die Hellas-Tiefebene und machen es dann unmöglich, durch diesen Dunst aus Staub und Aerosolen die Oberfläche zu sehen. An den tiefsten Stellen von Hellas ist der atmosphärische Druck fast doppelt so hoch wie auf dem Nullniveau im angrenzenden Marshochland. Die Druck- und Temperaturbedingungen liegen stellenweise sogar über dem sogenannten "Tripelpunkt" des H2O-Moleküls, so dass mancherorts sogar Wasser auf der Oberfläche stabil sein könnte. An allen höher gelegenen Regionen auf dem Mars würde Wasser wegen des zu niedrigen Atmosphärendrucks rasch "verdunsten".

Die am DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung systematisch prozessierten HRSC-Bilddaten wurden von Wissenschaftlern der Fachgruppe Planetologie und Fernerkundung an der Freien Universität Berlin zu den hier gezeigten Produkten aufbereitet.

Gletscher von bis zu 450 Metern Mächtigkeit vermutet

Form und Gestalt von zahlreichen Landschaftsmerkmalen in Hellas Planitia deuten an, dass Eis und Gletscher im Innern des Beckens wirkten - und vielleicht noch heute unter der dicken Staubbedeckung existent sind. So lassen Radarmessungen mit dem Instrument SHARAD an Bord des Mars Reconnaissance Orbiters der NASA vermuten, dass unter den länglichen, gewundenen Schutt- und Geröllstrukturen in einigen kleineren Kratern in Hellas noch heute Gletscher mit bis zu 450 Meter Eismächtigkeit vor den Blicken der Kameras verborgen sind. Die großräumige Betrachtung der Bilder legt nahe, dass das gesamte Gebiet von einer dicken Staubschicht bedeckt sein muß. Ein 40 Kilometer großer alter Krater ist in der südlichen (linken) Bildhälfte nur noch an seinen Umrissen zu erkennen: Vermutlich wurde er von Lavaströmen angefüllt, deren Fließfront sich von Ost nach West, quer durch die Bildmitte, erstreckt.

Auf den Bildern sind noch zwei deutlich besser erhaltene Krater zu erkennen. Der größere der beiden hat einen Durchmesser von etwa 25 Kilometern. Auffallend ist die ungewöhnliche Morphologie in den Kratern und in ihrer Umgebung. Von Norden (rechts oben in den Bildern 1, 3 und 4, links oben auf Bild 2) erstreckt sich ein dickes Band, das aussieht wie ein staubbedeckter Feuerwehrschlauch, bis zum Kraterrand. Im Innern des größeren Kraters befindet sich eine ähnlich gemusterte ovale Struktur. Und am südlichen Kraterrand gibt es Material, dessen Oberfläche Fließstrukturen zeigt. Bei genauerer Betrachtung zeigt es die Fließrichtung an, die parallel zu den Rändern dieser Strukturen verlief. Es ist sehr wahrscheinlich, dass von Geröll und Gesteinsschutt bedecktes Gletschereis diese Phänomene erzeugt hat. Bei Betrachtung von Bild 3 mit einer 3D-Brille lassen sich zudem Schichtungen in den Kraterrändern erkennen.

  • Bildverarbeitung

    Die Aufnahmen mit der HRSC (High Resolution Stereo Camera) entstanden am 17. Dezember 2013 während Orbit 12.690 von Mars Express. Die Bildauflösung beträgt etwa 15 Meter pro Bildpunkt (Pixel). Die Farbdraufsicht (Bild 1) wurde aus dem senkrecht auf die Marsoberfläche gerichteten Nadirkanal und den Farbkanälen der HRSC erstellt; die perspektivische Schrägansicht (Bild 2) wurde aus den Stereokanälen der HRSC berechnet. Das Anaglyphenbild (Bild 3), das bei Betrachtung mit einer Rot-Blau- oder Rot-Grün-Brille einen dreidimensionalen Eindruck der Landschaft vermittelt, wurde aus dem Nadirkanal und einem Stereokanal abgeleitet. Die in Regenbogenfarben kodierte Draufsicht (Bild 4) beruht auf einem digitalen Geländemodell der Region, von dem sich die Topographie der Landschaft ableiten lässt.

  • Das HRSC-Experiment

    Die High Resolution Stereo Kamera wurde am Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) entwickelt und in Kooperation mit industriellen Partnern gebaut (EADS Astrium, Lewicki Microelectronic GmbH und Jena-Optronik GmbH). Das Wissenschaftsteam unter Leitung des Principal Investigators (PI) Prof. Dr. Ralf Jaumann besteht aus 52 Co-Investigatoren, die aus 34 Institutionen und elf Nationen stammen. Die Kamera wird vom DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung in Berlin-Adlershof betrieben.

 

Zuletzt geändert am:
14.08.2014 11:46:21 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Prof. Dr. Ralf Jaumann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Planetenforschung, Planetengeologie

Tel.: +49 30 67055-400

Fax: +49 30 67055-402
Ulrich Köhler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung

Tel.: +49 30 67055-215

Fax: +49 30 67055-402