The DLR site in Berlin

DLR research into disaster control

Indian minister visits DLR

29 May 2017

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Der Indische Minister für Wissenschaft, Technologie und Erdwissenschaften, Dr. Vardhan zu Besuch im DLR%2dBerlin
    The Indian Minister for Science, Technology and Earth Sciences visits DLR in Berlin

    The Minister was given detailed insight into research at DLR during his visit to Berlin Adlershof on 29 May 2017. As a token of his appreciation, he presented Heinz-Wilhelm Hübers, Director of the DLR Institute of Optical Sensor Systems, with an Indian publication on the topics of science and technology. (From left to right: Harsh Vardhan, Indian Minister, Heinz-Wilhelm Hübers, Director of the DLR Institute of Optical Sensor Systems, and Nicolas Peter from the Department of Strategy and International Relations).

  • Blick in die Weltraumsimulationsanlage
    A glimpse into the space simulation facility

    The Indian Minister takes a look at the space simulation system together with Institute Director Hübers. The system is used for the thermal-vacuum testing of individual components and complete systems for aerospace applications.

  • Faszination BIROS
    Fascination with BIROS

    Heinz-Wilhelm Hübers uses a model to show the Indian Minister how the BIROS satellite works.

  • The visit focused on research into disaster control
  • Various projects and work from the DLR Institutes of Optical Sensor Systems and Transportation Systems were presented
  • Focus: aerospace and environmental monitoring

Harsh Vardhan, Union Minister of Science and Technology, Earth Sciences of the Government of India, visited the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) on 29 May 2017 as part of the German-Indian Intergovernmental Consultations.

During his visit to the DLR site in Berlin, Dr Vardhan was initially introduced to the diverse research activities at DLR as a whole and those in Berlin specifically. This focused in particular on research in the field of disaster control. Among other things, the camera system MACS (Modular Airborne Camera System) was presented at the DLR Institute of Optical Sensor Systems . MACS is a system that has been installed in an unmanned aerial vehicle in order to contribute rapid reconnaissance of disaster areas during international rescue operations. In situations in which every minute counts, it is capable of providing emergency services with up-to-date situational pictures, almost in real time.

Dr Vardhan also attended a presentation of the FireBIRD mission. Its two microsatellites TET-1 and BIROS are currently engaged in a joint Earth observation mission to detect forest fires and so-called high-temperature events from their position in orbit. The innovative infrared sensor system delivers high-quality data that enables precise measurements of the spread and heat development of fires. DLR cooperated with Indian partners on this mission as well: fitted to a PSLV launcher (Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle), the BIROS (Bispectral InfraRed Optical System) satellite was launched successfully from the Indian Satish Dhawan Space Centre in June 2016.

The DLR Institute of Transportation Systems then presented its Vabene++ project, which is short for 'Verkehrsmanagement bei Großereignissen und Katastrophen' (transportation management for significant events and disasters). This project develops high-performance support tools that help government agencies/organisations entrusted with security tasks and transportation authorities to manage disasters and significant events. The project aims to devise efficient rescue logistics and organise the flow of traffic in the surrounding vicinity, hence enabling the rapid deployment of emergency services at the rescue site, even under extreme conditions. The project involves collaboration between scientists from various DLR institutes, supported by DLR's flight operations.

Other Indo-German collaborations

In addition to the launch of the BIROS microsatellite, DLR and India have already cooperated in other areas as well.

The PSLV-D3 launch vehicle brought the Modular Optoelectronic Scanner (MOS) into Earth orbit in March 1996 as payload on the Indian satellite IRS-P3 as part of the Indo-German Science & Technology cooperative programmes. The main purpose of the imaging spectrometer was to map seasonal changes of water constituents (chlorophyll, sediment, light-absorbing substances) in the open seas and the far more productive coastal waters, to record the condition of land-based vegetation and investigate atmospheric influence on remote sensing data.

The successful launch of the DLR satellite BIRD in October 2001, on board the PSLV-C3, was yet another milestone in the Indo-German collaboration. BIRD was the first satellite in space to be specifically designed to detect and analyse fires. It used radiation in the infrared wavelength range to detect flames. For this purpose, DLR developed a new generation of infrared sensors that were tailored to the needs of remote fire sensing and designed specifically for use on microsatellites. Before their final deployment, a series of laboratory and in-flight tests were successfully carried out.

In June 2014, the AISat satellite also took off from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre on board a PSLV-C23 rocket. AISat is used to receive AIS signals (Automatic Identification System) from seafaring vessels to pinpoint their precise location. In addition, a number of Indian satellites use the DLR ground stations in Weilheim and Neustrelitz to transmit their data.

Last modified:
01/06/2017 15:14:44

Contacts

 

Melanie-Konstanze Wiese
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Tel.: +49 30 67055-639

Fax: +49 30 67055-102
Marc Jochemich
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Strategy and International Relations, International Cooperation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3752
Nicolas Peter
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

International Cooperation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2141

Der DLR-Standort Berlin

DLR-Forschung zum Thema Katastrophenschutz

Indischer Minister zu Besuch im DLR

Montag, 29. Mai 2017

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Der Indische Minister für Wissenschaft, Technologie und Erdwissenschaften, Dr. Vardhan zu Besuch im DLR%2dBerlin
    Der Indische Minister für Wissenschaft, Technologie und Erdwissenschaften zu Besuch im DLR-Berlin

    Bei seinem Besuch am 29. Mai 2017, erhielt der Minister einen umfangreichen Einblick in die Forschungsarbeit des DLR in Berlin Adlershof. Als Dankeschön überreichte er dem Leiter des DLR-Instituts für Optische Sensorsysteme Prof. Dr. Heinz-Wilhelm Hübers eine indische Publikation zum Thema Wissenschaft und Technologie.
    (Von links nach rechts: Indischer Minister Dr. Harsh Vardhan, Leiter des DLR-Instituts für Optische Sensorsysteme Prof. Dr. Heinz-Wilhelm Hübers und Nicolas Peter, Leiter der Abteilung Strategie und Internationale Beziehungen im DLR.)

  • Blick in die Weltraumsimulationsanlage
    Blick in die Weltraumsimulationsanlage

    Gemeinsam mit dem Institutsleiter Prof. Dr. Hübers wirft der interessierte Minister einen Blick in die Weltraumsimulationsanlage. Dort werden sowohl Einzelkomponenten als auch Gesamtsysteme von Raumfahrtanwendungen einem Thermal-Vakuum-Test unterzogen.

  • Faszination BIROS
    Faszination BIROS

    Prof. Dr. Heinz-Wilhelm Hübers demonstriert dem Indischen Minister ein Modell des BIROS-Satelliten.

  • Im Fokus des Besuchs stand die Forschungsarbeit zum Thema Katastrophenschutz.
  • Vorstellung verschiedener Projekte und Arbeiten aus den DLR-Instituten für Optische Sensorsysteme und Verkehrssystemtechnik.
  • Schwerpunkt: Raumfahrt und Umweltmonitoring

Im Rahmen der Deutsch-Indischen Regierungskonsultationen besuchte am 29. Mai 2017 der indische Minister für Wissenschaft, Technologie und Erdwissenschaften, Dr. Harsh Vardhan das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR).

Bei seinem Besuch am DLR-Standort Berlin erhielt Dr. Vardhan zunächst einen Einblick in die vielfältigen Forschungstätigkeiten des DLR und des Standorts. Hierbei standen insbesondere Forschungsarbeiten zum Thema Katastrophenschutz im Fokus. Im DLR-Institut für Optische Sensorsysteme wurde dem Minister unter anderem das Kamerasystem MACS (Modular Airborne Camera System) vorgestellt, das in einem unbemannten Luftfahrtzeug installiert wurde, um zur schnellen Aufklärung von Schadensgebieten bei internationalen Rettungseinsätzen beizutragen. In Situationen, wo jede Minute zählt, können somit aktuelle Lagebilder nahezu in Echtzeit den Rettungskräften zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Darüber hinaus wurde Dr. Vardhan die Mission FireBIRD präsentiert. Ihre beiden Kleinsatelliten TET-1 und BIROS sind gemeinsam auf Erdbeobachtungsmission und haben die Aufgabe, Waldbrände sowie sogenannte Hochtemperaturereignisse aus dem Weltraum aufzuspüren. Das neuartige Infrarot-Sensorsystem liefert Daten in einer hohen Qualität, die Ausbreitung und Hitzeentwicklung sehr genau messen lassen. In dieser Mission kooperierte das DLR auch mit indischen Partnern: Der Satellit "BIROS" (Bispectral InfraRed Optical System) wurde im Juni 2016 vom indischen Weltraumbahnhof Satish Dhawan Space Centre an Bord einer PSLV-Trägerrakete (Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle) erfolgreich ins All gestartet.

Im Anschluss daran stellte das DLR-Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik das Projekt Vabene++, kurz für "Verkehrsmanagement bei Großereignissen und Katastrophen", vor. In diesem Projekt werden leistungsfähige Unterstützungswerkzeuge für Behörden und Organisationen mit Sicherheitsaufgaben und Verkehrsbehörden für den Umgang mit Katastrophen und Großveranstaltungen entwickelt. Ziel des Projektes ist, sowohl die notwendige Rettungslogistik als auch die umliegenden Verkehrsströme selbst unter extremen Bedingungen effizient zu leiten und somit Einsatzkräfte schnell an ihren Einsatzort zu bringen. Hierbei arbeiten Wissenschaftler verschiedener DLR-Institute zusammen und werden durch die Flugbetriebe des DLR unterstützt.

Weitere Deutsch-Indische Kooperationen

Neben dem Start des Kleinsatelliten BIROS gibt es weitere Kooperationen des DLR mit Indien.

Im Rahmen des Deutsch-Indischen Abkommens über wissenschaftlich-technische Zusammenarbeit wurde bereits im März 1996 der Modulare Optoelektronische Scanner (MOS) als Payload auf dem indischen Satelliten IRS-P3 mit PSLV-D3 in die Erdumlaufbahn gebracht. Hauptziel des abbildenden Spektrometers war die saisonale Kartierung von Wasserinhaltsstoffen (Chlorophyll, Sediment, Gelbstoff)  im offenen Ozean und den weit produktiveren Küstengewässern, die Erfassung des Zustands der Vegetation an Land und die Erforschung des Atmosphäreneinflusses auf die Fernerkundungsdaten.

Ein weiterer Meilenstein in der Deutsch-Indischen Zusammenarbeit war der erfolgreiche Start des DLR-Satelliten "Bird" im Oktober 2001 auf PSLV-C3. BIRD war der erste Satellit im Weltraum, der speziell für die Erkennung und Untersuchung von Bränden ausgelegt war. Er erkannte Feuer über die Strahlung im infraroten Wellenlängenbereich. Das DLR entwickelte dazu eine neue Generation von Infrarotsensoren, die auf die Feuerfernerkundung zugeschnitten sowie für den Einsatz auf Kleinsatelliten geeignet sind und zuvor erfolgreich im Labor und auf Flugzeugen erprobt wurden.

Im Juni 2014 startete der Satellit AISat mit einer PSLV-C23-Rakete vom indischen Satish Dhawan Space Center ins All. Mit AISat werden AIS-Signale (Automatic Identification System) der Schiffe empfangen, wodurch sich diese präzise orten lassen.
Darüber hinaus nutzen diverse indische Satelliten die Satellitendatenempfangsstationen des DLR in Weilheim und Neustrelitz.

 

Zuletzt geändert am:
31.05.2017 12:07:09 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Melanie-Konstanze Wiese
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Berlin und Neustrelitz

Tel.: +49 30 67055-639

Fax: +49 30 67055-102
Marc Jochemich
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Internationale Zusammenarbeit

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3752
Nicolas Peter
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Internationale Zusammenarbeit

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2141