The DLR site in Berlin

Heike Rauer appointed Head of the DLR Institute of Planetary Research

01 November 2017

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Prof. Dr. Heike Rauer
    Heike Rauer

    Heike Rauer has been Head of the Institute of Planetary Research of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) since 1 November 2017.

  • Heike Rauer succeeds Tilman Spohn as Head of the DLR Institute of Planetary Research on 1 November 2017.
  • Focus: Planetary research

Heike Rauer will be Head of the Institute of Planetary Research of the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) from 1 November 2017. She follows in the footsteps of Tilman Spohn, who had held the position since 2004. Rauer has worked as a physicist in the DLR Institute of Planetary Research since 1997 and has been responsible for the Extrasolar Planets and Atmospheres Department since 2005.

Research focus: Extrasolar planets

Rauer's scientific work focuses on the search for and characterisation of extrasolar planets through use of the transit method with space telescopes and ground-based observation campaigns. She also conducts research into the modelling of 'exoplanet' atmospheres and their spectroscopic analysis. One of the aims is to characterise these planets with regard to their habitability, and hence to potentially identify traces of life in future. Another focus of her research is to be able to draw some conclusions on the nascent periods of the Solar System, at the time when life first emerged on Earth.

Curriculum vitae

Heike Rauer earned her degree in Physics from the University of Hannover in 1986. She completed a doctorate at the University of Göttingen in 1991 with a research paper on cometary plasma tails, which she wrote at the former Max Planck Institute for Aeronomics (now called the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research) in Katlenburg-Lindau. Awarded a research fellowship by the European Space Agency (ESA), she worked at the Observatoire de Paris – Meudon from 1995 to 1997. During her subsequent period at DLR, Heike Rauer completed her post-doctoral qualification (Habilitation) at the Technical University of Berlin in 2004, where she taught at the Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics as professor for Planetary Physics. She moved to the Department of Geosciences at the Freie University of Berlin on 1 November 2017, where she specialised in planetology.

Since 2013, Rauer has been Head of the instrument consortium for the ESA space telescope PLATO, which will survey the Milky Way for planets, in particular Earth-like planets, from 2026. She is a member of the science team in the Next Generation Transit Survey (NGTS), a network of 12 automatically operating telescopes that search for exoplanets at Paranal Observatory, which is part of the European Southern Observatory (ESO) in Chile. She was Germany’s representative and co-investigator in the space telescope project CoRoT of CNES and ESA from 2006 to 2014. She was also part of the team for the MIRO microwave spectrometer on the Rosetta mission that was used to identify cometary gases.

Last modified:
01/11/2017 11:01:59

Contacts

 

Julia Heil
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Corporate Communications

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3771

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Heike Rauer
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Planetary Research

Tel.: +49 30 67055-430

Fax: +49 30 67055-384

Der DLR-Standort Berlin

Prof. Dr. Heike Rauer ist neue Leiterin des DLR-Instituts für Planetenforschung

Prof. Dr. Heike Rauer

Mittwoch, 1. November 2017

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Prof. Dr. Heike Rauer
    Prof. Dr. Heike Rauer

    Seit dem 1. November 2017 ist Prof. Dr. Heike Rauer die Leiterin des DLR-Instituts für Planetenforschung

  • Ab dem 1. November 2017 ist Prof. Dr. Heike Rauer die Direktorin des DLR-Instituts für Planetenforschung und damit die Nachfolgerin von Prof. Dr. Tilman Spohn.
  • Schwerpunkt(e): Planetenforschung

Ab dem 1. November 2017 übernimmt Prof. Dr. Heike Rauer die Leitung des Instituts für Planetenforschung des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR). Sie folgt auf Prof. Dr. Tilman Spohn, der das Amt seit 2004 innehatte. Rauer arbeitet seit 1997 als Physikerin in der DLR-Planetenforschung und leitete dort ab 2005 die Abteilung Extrasolare Planeten und Atmosphären. "Zwölf Jahre lang hat Prof. Spohn die DLR-Planetenforschung gestaltet und dafür möchte ich ihm herzlich danken. Entscheidend hat er Missionen wie InSight, Rosetta und Dawn mitgeprägt", sagt die DLR-Vorstandsvorsitzende Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund und ergänzt: "Mit der Übernahme der Institutsleitung durch Prof. Heike Rauer eröffnen sich neue Perspektiven für die wissenschaftliche Forschung in Berlin-Adlershof. Prof. Rauer wünsche ich alles erdenklich Gute und viel Erfolg bei der neuen Aufgabe."

Forschungsschwerpunkt: Extrasolare Planeten

Der Schwerpunkt von Rauers wissenschaftlicher Arbeit ist die Suche und Charakterisierung von extrasolaren Planeten durch die sogenannte Transitmethode mit Weltraumteleskopen und erdgestützten Beobachtungskampagnen. Darüber hinaus beschäftigt sie sich mit der Modellierung der Atmosphären von Exoplaneten und deren spektroskopische Untersuchung. Ziel ist es einerseits, diese Planeten hinsichtlich ihrer Habitabilität, also der Möglichkeit, Leben zu beherbergen, zu klassifizieren, um in Zukunft möglicherweise sogar Spuren von Leben nachweisen zu können. Diese Forschung zielt außerdem darauf, Aussagen über die Frühzeit des Sonnensystems treffen zu können, zu jener Zeit, als das Leben auf der Erde seinen Anfang nahm.

Vita

Heike Rauer erwarb ihr Diplom in Physik 1986 an der Leibniz-Universität in Hannover. 1991 wurde sie mit einer am damaligen Max-Planck-Institut für Aeronomie in Katlenburg-Lindau durchgeführten Forschungsarbeit zu Plasmaschweifen von Kometen an der Georg-August-Universität in Göttingen promoviert. Von 1995 bis 1997 arbeitete sie als Forschungsstipendiatin der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA am Observatoire de Paris – Meudon. 2004 habilitierte Heike Rauer an der Technischen Universität Berlin und lehrte dort als Professorin für Planetenphysik am Zentrum für Astronomie und Astrophysik. Zum 1. November 2017 wechselt sie an die Freie Universität Berlin in den Fachbereich Geowissenschaften, Fachrichtung Planetologie.

Seit 2013 leitet Heike Rauer das Instrumentenkonsortium für das ESA-Weltraumteleskop PLATO, das ab 2026 in der Milchstraße nach Planeten, insbesondere erdähnlichen, suchen wird. Sie ist Mitglied des Wissenschaftsteams des Next Generation Transit Survey (NGTS), ein Netzwerk aus zwölf automatisch operierenden Teleskopen, das am Paranal-Observatorium der Europäischen Südsternwarte ESO in Chile nach Exoplaneten sucht. Darüber hinaus ist Rauer Koordinatorin des DFG Schwerpunktprogramms 1992 "Exploring the Diversity of Extrasolar Planets". Von 2006 bis 2014 war sie Repräsentantin für Deutschland und Co-Investigatorin des französisch-europäischen Weltraumteleskops CoRoT. Ferner arbeitete Heike Rauer im Wissenschaftlerteam des Mikrowellenteleskops MIRO auf der ESA-Mission Rosetta, das der Identifikation von Kometengasen diente.

Zuletzt geändert am:
01.11.2017 15:31:30 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Julia Heil
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Berlin und Neustrelitz

Tel.: +49 30 67055-9639
Prof. Heike Rauer
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung

Tel.: +49 30 67055-430

Fax: +49 30 67055-384