Bonn

Searching for life in the depths of Enceladus

22 February 2012

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Testing the IceMole on Morteratsch glacier

    Scientists at FH Aachen tested the IceMole on the Morteratsch glacier in Switzerland, where it melted the ice successfully.

  • The IceMole on its way to the subglacial lake

    The IceMole is put into operation and, slowly makes its way to the lake underneath the Morteratsch glacier as it melts through various layers of ice.

  • Artist's impression of IceMole on its way through the glacial ice

    The IceMole in its element: the probe melts its way through the ice of the Morteratsch glacier with no problems.

  • Cryovolcanic activity on Enceladus

    Cryovolcanism at the south pole of Enceladus: a plume, possibly emanating from a near body of liquid water, emanates from a series of jets located within the 'tiger stripes'. Enceladus Explorer will find out whether there are traces of life deep in the ocean of liquid water below the icy crust.

DLR leads the Enceladus Explorer project

Is there life under the icy crust of Enceladus? The Cassini spacecraft has confirmed the existence of active ice-spewing fissures on the surface of Enceladus. Giant jets of water ice are shot into space by these 'cryovolcanoes'.  Flying through these icy fountains, Cassini detected organic compounds that could hint to the possibility of life. If Europe's plans for a future mission to Enceladus do become reality, German researchers would like to study this water source for traces of life. In support of that endeavour, the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) is sponsoring a collaborative project entitled 'EnEx – Enceladus Explorer', which was launched on 22 February 2012.

But the researchers are immediately faced with several problems. Firstly, landing directly on a cryovolcano is too risky. Secondly, these possible traces of life could already have been destroyed during their forceful ejection from the fissure and subsequent exposure to the hostile conditions of outer space. For this reason, the researchers are interested in obtaining samples from the depths of Enceladus. 

Ice volcanoes on Saturn's moon

Cryovolcanic activity on Saturn's moon is – according to current theory – powered by liquid water located in gigantic reservoirs deep below the icy surface; it is even possible that a giant ocean of liquid salt water exists. This water rises to the surface through crevasses and fissures in the ice where it evaporates explosively and freezes instantly. The resulting ice fountains can shoot up to altitudes of several hundred kilometres before the ice particles slowly fall back to the moon's surface. The microorganisms that could have evolved in the hypothetical ocean of liquid salt water under Enceladus' icy crust, and have been swept away by the water spouting through the crevasses in the ice, would be extremely unlikely to survive; they would explode at the surface, and all that would remain are the organic compounds whose existence was verified by the Cassini spacecraft.

The IceMole melts through the icy crust

The researchers on this collaborative project wish to analyse the rising water jets by taking samples while the water is still in a liquid state for this reason. To accomplish this, German engineers have already devised the initial concept for a technical solution; from a base station on the surface of Enceladus, an ice drill probe would be inserted into the ice crust to a depth of 100 to 200 metres, melting its way through the ice to a water-bearing crevasse. At this point, the probe will be able to obtain a sample of the liquid water and examine it in situ for the presence of microorganisms.

The Enceladus Explorer, comprising a base station for power generation and the IceMole ice drill probe, would land at a safe distance from an active crevasse or fissure. The IceMole would be powered by a cable run from the base station. This cable would also provide the communication link between the two units. The IceMole would melt and drill its way down through the ice to a depth of about 100 metres before encountering a crevasse containing liquid water whereupon, in contrast to previous thermal deep-drilling probes, it would be possible to drive the IceMole in any direction.

Smart navigation

But just how does that probe find its way through the ice to that crevasse? This calls for a most ingenious navigation system. This is a difficult undertaking. Enceladus does not possess a global navigation satellite system, nor does it have any of the other external reference points like those here on Earth, such as a clearly defined and stable magnetic field or the stars. But this probe must be capable of, on its way down to the water, establishing its location and position, the distance to its objective, and calculating an optimum route. It will also be required to include factors into the equation such as operating range and power consumption, the transmission of data to the ground station as well as to take evasive action to avoid obstacles in the ice such as cavities and embedded rocky meteorites.

EnEx is currently working on this complex navigation solution in a collaborative project with scientists from the German Armed Forces University in Munich, the Technical University in Braunschweig, FH Aachen, RWTH Aachen, BU Wuppertal and the University of Bremen. The IceMole is being constructed and its navigation payload is being installed under the management of the Aerospace Technology department at FH Aachen. Further to this, a scenario for subsequent deployment on Enceladus is being developed at the German Armed Forces University in Munich.

IceMole testing on a glacier

But before the IceMole is allowed to start drilling its way into the ice on Saturn’s moon, it will be subjected to stringent trials under realistic conditions here on Earth. The IceMole has already melted its way successfully through the ice of the Morteratsch glacier in the Swiss canton of Graubünden. In the Antarctic, in cooperation with an international research team, it is now going to navigate down to a fissure in the ice as autonomously as possible. Once there, and this will be a first in the history of science, it will be able to obtain a water sample in entirely uncontaminated conditions from a lake located far below the glacier.

Last modified:
23/02/2012 11:18:13

Contacts

 

Martin Fleischmann
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Space Administration

Tel.: +49 228 447-120

Fax: +49 228 447-386
Dr Oliver Funke
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Space Administration, Navigation

Tel.: +49 228 447-485

Fax: +49 228 447-703

Bonn

Saturnmond Enceladus: Dem Leben im Wasser auf der Spur

Mittwoch, 22. Februar 2012

  • Test des IceMole auf dem Morteratschgletscher

    Wissenschaftler der FH Aachen haben den IceMole bereits auf dem Morteratschgletscher in der Schweiz getestet. Nachdem sie den Eismaulwurf in die Startvorrichtung gesetzt hatten, schmolz sich die Sonde in das Gletschereis.

  • Eis-Maulwurf auf dem Weg zum subglacialen See

    Der Eis-Maulwurf auf dem Weg ins Eis: Die Eisschmelzsonde wurde abgesetzt und schmilzt sich nun durch die Schichten des Morteratschgletscher auf dem Weg zu einem See, der verborgen unter dem Eispanzer liegt.

  • Künstlerische Darstellung des IceMole auf seinem Weg durch das Gletschereis

    Der IceMole in seinem Element: Die Sonde schmilzt sich ohne Probleme ihren Weg durch das Gletschereis des Morteratschgletschers.

  • Kryovulkanische Aktivität auf Enceladus

    Kryovulkanismus am Südpol von Enceladus: Von Ozeanen tief unter dem Eismond steigt Wasser in den sogenannten „Tigerspalten“ auf und schießt in Fontänen ins Weltall. Ob es in diesen Ozeanen tief unter dem Eispanzer Lebensspuren gibt, soll Enceladus-Explorer herausfinden.

loading
 

DLR fördert das Projekt "EnEx - Enceladus-Explorer"

Gibt es Leben unter dem Eispanzer des Enceladus? Die amerikanische Raumsonde Cassini konnte die Existenz von aktiven eisspeienden Spalten auf der Oberfläche des Enceladus nachweisen: Aus diesen sogenannten Kryovulkanen schießen riesige Wassereisfontänen ins All. Als Cassini durch diese Fontänen flog, entdeckte die Sonde darin organische Verbindungen und damit eine Chance auf Leben. Sollten Europas Pläne für eine zukünftige Enceladus-Mission Wirklichkeit werden, wollen deutsche Forscher die Wasservorkommen auf Enceladus genauer auf Lebensspuren untersuchen. Dafür fördert das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) ein entsprechendes Verbundvorhaben mit dem Namen "EnEx - Enceladus Explorer", das mit dem Kick-Off am 22. Februar 2012 begonnen wurde.

Doch die Forscher werden gleich mit mehreren Herausforderungen konfrontiert: Zum einen ist eine Landung direkt an einem Kryovulkan  zu risikoreich. Zum anderen könnten mögliche Lebensspuren schon zerstört sein, sobald sie aus der Spalte hinausgeschleudert werden und somit den lebensfeindlichen Bedingungen des Weltraums ausgesetzt sind. Darum interessieren sich die Forscher für Proben aus der Tiefe. 

Eisvulkane auf dem Saturnmond 

Der Kryovulkanismus des Saturnmondes wird - so die derzeitige Theorie - von flüssigem Wasser gespeist, das tief unter der Eisoberfläche in großen Reservoiren, womöglich sogar in einem riesigen Flüssigsalzwasserozean, vorhanden ist. Das Wasser steigt durch Spalten und Risse im Eis bis zur Oberfläche auf, wo es explosionsartig verdampft und sofort gefriert. Die so entstehenden Eisfontänen können einige hundert Kilometer hoch schießen, bevor sich die Eispartikel langsam wieder auf die Mondoberfläche niederschlagen. Mikroorganismen, die sich unter dem Eispanzer des Enceladus in dem vermuteten Salzwasserozean entwickelt haben könnten und von dem durch die Eisspalten aufsteigenden Wasser mitgerissen werden, würden dies nicht überstehen: sie würden an der Oberfläche zerplatzen, übrig blieben allein solche durch die Raumsonde Cassini nachgewiesenen organischen Verbindungen.

Eissonde schmilzt sich durch den Eispanzer

Die Forscher des Verbundprojektes wollen daher das aufsteigende Wasser analysieren, so lange es noch flüssig ist. Dazu haben deutsche Ingenieure den ersten Ansatz für eine technische Lösung bereits parat: von einer Basisstation auf der Oberfläche des Enceladus soll sich eine Eisbohrsonde in etwa 100 bis 200 Meter Tiefe unter dem Eispanzer bis zu einer wasserführenden Spalte ins Eis schmelzen. Aus dieser soll dann direkt eine Flüssigwasserprobe entnommen und vor Ort auf das Vorhandensein von Mikroorganismen untersucht werden.

Der Enceladus Explorer, bestehend aus einer Basisstation zur Energieversorgung und der Eisbohrsonde IceMole (englisch Eis-Maulwurf), landet dazu in sicherer Entfernung von einer aktiven Spalte. Der IceMole wird über ein Kabel mit Energie von der Station versorgt. Über dieses Verbindungskabel erfolgt auch die Kommunikation zwischen beiden Einheiten. Der IceMole schmilzt und bohrt sich in eine Tiefe von etwa 100 Metern in das Eis bis zu einer wasserführenden Spalte vor, wobei er im Gegensatz zu bisherigen Einschmelzsonden auch in beliebige Richtungen gesteuert werden kann.

Navigation mit Hindernissen

Doch wie findet die Sonde ihren Weg durch das Eis zur Spalte? Dafür wird ein ausgeklügeltes Navigationssystem benötigt. Allerdings ist dieses Unterfangen schwierig: Auf dem Enceladus existiert weder ein globales Navigationssatellitensystem noch sonstige von der Erde gewohnte externe Bezugspunkte, wie zum Beispiel ein ausgeprägtes und stabiles Magnetfeld oder die Gestirne.

Trotzdem soll die Sonde auf dem Weg zum Wasser fortlaufend ihre Lage und Position bestimmen, den Abstand zum Ziel messen, einen optimalen Weg errechnen, dabei Reichweite und Energieaufwand mit in die Rechnung einbeziehen, diese Daten zur Oberflächenstation senden und außerdem noch Hindernissen im Eis, wie zum Beispiel Hohlräumen und eingeschlossenem Meteoritengestein, ausweichen.

An dieser komplexen Navigationslösung arbeiten im Vorhaben EnEx nun Wissenschaftler der Universität der Bundeswehr München, der TU Braunschweig, der FH Aachen, der RWTH Aachen, der BU Wuppertal und der Universität Bremen. Unter Federführung des Fachbereichs Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik der FH Aachen wird der IceMole gebaut und die Navigationsnutzlast eingesetzt. An der Universität der Bundeswehr München wird zudem ein Szenario für den späteren Einsatz auf Enceladus entwickelt.

Eis-Maulwurf im Gletschertest

Doch bevor sich der "Eis-Maulwurf" in das Eis des Saturnmondes bohren darf, wird er unter möglichst realistischen Bedingungen hier auf der Erde getestet. Durch das Eis des Morteratsch-Gletschers im schweizerischen Kanton Graubünden hat sich der IceMole schon erfolgreich geschmolzen. In der Antarktis soll er nun in Kooperation mit einem internationalen Forschungsteam weitestgehend selbständig zu einer Eisspalte navigieren, um dort erstmalig in der Wissenschaftsgeschichte kontaminationsfrei eine Wasserprobe aus einem unter dem Gletscher liegenden See zu entnehmen.

Zuletzt geändert am:
23.02.2012 09:51:29 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Martin Fleischmann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement, Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 228 447-120

Fax: +49 228 447-386
Dr. Oliver Funke
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement, Navigation

Tel.: +49 228 447-485

Fax: +49 228 447-703