The DLR site in Oberpfaffenhofen

FireBIRD monitors forest fires in California

Waldbrände in Kalifornien

19 December 2017

Show Info
Hide Info
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Forest fires in California: infrared images of the US Pacific coast

    Over the course of several days, the TET-1 (Technology Experiment Carrier) satellite operated by DLR observed the development of a large seat of fire near the town of Ventura, north of Los Angeles. The largest contiguous area of fire that emitted a radiation energy of 18 megawatts was recorded on 10 December. From the image taken on 15 December scientists were able to calculate a radiation energy of 11 megawatts for individual areas. Together with the BIROS satellite, TET-1 is part of DLR’s FireBIRD mission, which detects high-temperature events, such as forest fires, from space.

  • Die Übersichtskarte des ZKI
    The ZKI overview map

    The Center for Satellite-Based Crisis Information (ZKI) created an overview map of forest fires in California.

  • FireBIRD zur Waldbrandfrüherkennung
    FireBIRD for early detection of forest fires

    The small satellite BIROS (Bispectral InfraRed Optical System) and TET-1 (Technology Experiment Carrier) form a highly efficient pair for the early detection of forest fires in the FireBIRD (Fire Bispectral InfraRed Detector) mission. Their innovative infrared sensor system allows the satellites to precisely measure the spatial expansion and heat development of fires.

  • The TET-1 satellite has been recording the seat of a fire on the US Pacific coast for several days
  • The precise sensor systems of FireBIRD's satellite mission allow the spread and radiation energy of the fire to be measured with accuracy
  • Focus: earth observation, remote fire sensing, climate protection

Emergency services in the US state of California are still fighting fierce forest fires. Severe drought and strong winds have allowed the fires to spread. The FireBIRD (Fire Bispectral InfraRed Detector) mission run by the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) consists of a pair of satellites – TET-1 (Technology Experiment Carrier) and BIROS (Bispectral Infrared Optical System). These detect high-temperature events from space. On Sunday 10 December TET-1 registered a major seat of fire near the town of Ventura, north of Los Angeles, on the US Pacific coast. Further data was recorded over the days that followed. "FireBIRD's precise systems allow us to detect incipient changes to fires with accuracy," says Winfried Halle, FireBIRD project manager at the DLR Institute of Optical Sensor Systems, adding, "This can help us predict the behaviour and development of major fires more effectively in future."

Energetic fires

After analysing initial imagery, DLR researchers realised that in central areas the fire burned more intensely and thus radiated more energy than was the case with the major forest fires that occurred in Chile, Portugal and British Columbia in 2016 and 2017. Scientists calculated a radiation energy of up to 18 megawatts for individual zones within the overall area affected by fires in California. The radiation energy of the aforementioned fires elsewhere in the world was only around half as high.

The data showed that over the course of the week the individual fire zones varied greatly in intensity and spatial extent. The largest contiguous area of fire was recorded on 10 December, while the largest number of individual, intensely burning fires was registered on 12 December. Over subsequent days the areas of intense fire declined. However, smaller fires increasingly flared up in other places. The recordings showed that, put together, the fires devastated a large area, hampering fire-fighting operations. "In Europe there is no other comparable satellite mission that is capable of measuring the radiation energy of fires with such precision," notes Halle.

For large fire events such as the forest fires that raged in Chile in January 2017, the DLR Center for Satellite-Based Crisis Information (Zentrum für Satellitengestützte Kriseninformation; ZKI) provides data from FireBIRD to local authorities. In crisis situations the ZKI puts the relevant satellite data together in such a way that it can be optimally used by situation centres, public authorities, relief organisations and policy makers. The ZKI created an overview map of forest fires in California using FireBIRD data.

About the FireBIRD mission

The DLR FireBIRD mission consists of two satellites, TET-1 and BIROS (Bispectral Infrared Optical System). They are both based on the small satellite BIRD (operational from 2001 to 2004), which was developed by the DLR Institute of Optical Sensor Systems. A similar system of infrared cameras is fitted to both of these satellites. TET-1 has been orbiting Earth since 2012, searching for fires and other high-temperature events. TET-1's 'brother', the small satellite BIROS, built in Berlin Adlershof, has also been in orbit since 2016, adopting an open constellation to support TET-1 on its important mission.

The satellite data is mainly received at the DLR ground station in Neustrelitz and then processed, archived and made available worldwide for scientific purposes by the German Remote Sensing Data Center (DFD). The FireBIRD satellites are operated and controlled by the German Space Operations Center (GSOC) within DLR's Space Operations in Oberpfaffenhofen.

Unlike other current satellites, FireBIRD has the capability to detect smaller fires in particular. This enables more precise mapping, and therefore analysis of their impact on the climate. Moreover, exact registration of forest and bush fires is highly relevant due to the economic loss they entail.

Construction of the BIROS satellite was funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung; BMBF).

Last modified:
08/01/2018 09:37:38



Julia Heil
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Corporate Communications

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3771

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr Christian Fischer
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Optical Sensor Systems

Tel.: +49 30 67055-9612
Dr. Monika Gähler
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

The German Remote Sensing Data Center (DFD), DLR Center for Satellite-Based Crisis Information (ZKI)

Tel.: +49 8153 28-3309

Der DLR-Standort Oberpfaffenhofen

FireBIRD beobachtet Waldbrände in Kalifornien

Waldbrände in Kalifornien

Dienstag, 19. Dezember 2017

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Waldbrände in Kalifornien: Infrarot%2dAufnahmen der amerikanischen Pazifikküste
    Waldbrände in Kalifornien: Infrarot-Aufnahmen der amerikanischen Pazifikküste

    Der Satellit TET-1 (Technologieerprobungsträger) des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) beobachtete an mehreren Tagen die Entwicklung eines großen Brandherds in der Nähe der Stadt Ventura, nördlich von Los Angeles. Die größte zusammenhängende Feuerfläche mit einer Strahlungsenergie von 18 Megawatt wurde am 10. Dezember erfasst. Für die Aufnahme vom 15. Dezember berechneten die Wissenschaftler für einzelne Flächen eine Strahlungsenergie von 11 Megawatt.
    TET-1 ist zusammen mit dem Satelliten BIROS Teil der FireBIRD Mission des DLR, die Hochtemperaturereignisse wie Waldbrände vom All aus detektiert.

  • Die Übersichtskarte des ZKI
    Die Übersichtskarte des ZKI

    Zu den Waldbränden in Kalifornien erstellte das Zentrum für Satellitengestützte Kriseninformation (ZKI) des DLR eine Übersichtskarte.

  • FireBIRD zur Waldbrandfrüherkennung
    FireBIRD zur Waldbrandfrüherkennung

    Die Kleinsatelliten BIROS (Bispectral InfraRed Optical System) und TET-1 (Technologie-Erprobungsträger) bilden in der Mission FireBIRD (Fire Bispectral InfraRed Detector) ein hocheffizientes Tandem zur Waldbrandfrüherkennung. Mit ihrem neuartigen Infrarot-Sensorsystem lassen sich die Ausbreitung und Hitzeentwicklung von Feuern sehr genau messen.

  • Der Satellit TET-1 hat über mehrere Tage einen Brandherd an der amerikanischen Pazifikküste aufgenommen.
  • Die präzisen Sensorsysteme der Satellitenmission FireBIRD ermöglichen es, die Ausbreitung und die Strahlungsenergie des Feuers genau zu messen.
  • Schwerpunkt(e): Erdbeobachtung, Feuerfernerkundung, Klimaschutz

Noch immer kämpfen Einsatzkräfte im amerikanischen Bundesstaat Kalifornien gegen heftige Waldbrände. Große Trockenheit und starke Winde haben dafür gesorgt, dass sich die Feuer immer weiter ausbreiten konnten. Die Mission FireBIRD (Fire Bispectral InfraRed Detector) des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) besteht aus dem Satellitenduo TET-1 (Technologie-Erprobungsträger) und BIROS (Bi-Spektral Infrared Optical System). Sie detektieren Hochtemperaturereignisse vom All aus. Am Sonntag den 10. Dezember erfasste TET-1 einen großen Brandherd in der Nähe der Stadt Ventura, nördlich von Los Angeles, an der amerikanischen Pazifikküste. In den folgenden Tagen konnten weitere Daten aufgenommen werden. "Mit den präzisen Systemen von FireBIRD können wir auftretende Veränderungen der Brände genau erkennen", sagt Winfried Halle, Projektleiter von FireBIRD vom DLR-Institut für Optische Sensorsysteme und ergänzt: "Dies kann helfen, das Verhalten und die Entwicklung von Großbränden in Zukunft besser vorauszusagen."

Feuer mit enormer Energiemenge

Schon nach der Analyse der ersten Aufnahme erkannten die DLR-Forscher, dass das Feuer in den zentralen Brandflächen wesentlich intensiver brannte und damit im Vergleich größere Energiemengen ausstrahlte, als dies bei den größeren Waldbränden in Chile, Portugal und British Columbia in 2016 und 2017 der Fall war. Die Wissenschaftler berechneten für einzelne Bereiche innerhalb der großen Feuerfläche in Kalifornien eine Strahlungsenergie des Feuers von bis zu 18 Megawatt. Die Strahlungsenergie der zuvor genannten Brände war nur etwa halb so groß.

Die Daten zeigten, dass sich im Laufe der Woche die einzelnen Feuerflächen in ihrer Intensität und in ihrer räumlichen Ausbreitung stark veränderten. Die größte zusammenhängende Feuerfläche wurde am 10. Dezember erfasst, die größte Anzahl an einzelnen, intensiven Feuern am 12. Dezember. In den folgenden Tagen nahmen die intensiven Flächen ab. Allerdings flammen kleinere Feuer an weiteren Orten immer wieder auf. Die Aufnahmen zeigten, dass die Brände zusammen eine große Fläche verwüsteten, was die Löscharbeiten vor Ort erschwerte. "Es gibt in Europa keine vergleichbare Satellitenmission, die in der Lage ist, die Strahlungsenergie von Bränden so präzise zu messen", bemerkt Halle.

Bei großen Feuerereignissen, wie beispielweise den Waldbränden in Chile im Januar dieses Jahres, stellt das Zentrum für Satellitengestützte Kriseninformation (ZKI) des DLR die Daten von FireBIRD den lokalen Behörden zur Verfügung. Das ZKI bereitet in Krisensituationen die relevanten Satellitendaten so auf, dass sie von Lagezentren, Behörden, Hilfsorganisationen oder politischen Entscheidungsträgern optimal genutzt werden können. Zu den Waldbränden in Kalifornien wurde vom ZKI mit den FireBIRD-Daten eine Übersichtskarte erstellt.

Die Mission FireBIRD

Die DLR FireBIRD-Mission besteht aus den zwei Satelliten TET-1 und BIROS (Bispectral Infrared Optical System). Beide basieren auf dem vom DLR-Institut für Optische Sensorsysteme entwickelten Kleinsatelliten BIRD (operationell betrieben von 2001 bis 2004) und sind mit einem ähnlichen Infrarot-Kamerasystem an Bord ausgestattet. Bereits seit 2012 umkreist TET-1 die Erde auf der Suche nach Feuern und anderen Hochtemperaturereignissen. Seit 2016 ist TETs "Bruder", der in Berlin Adlershof gebaute Kleinsatellit BIROS, ebenfalls im All, um in einer offenen Konstellation mit TET-1 dessen wichtige Mission zu unterstützen.

Die Daten werden hauptsächlich von den Bodenstationen des DLR in Neustrelitz empfangen und im Deutschen Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum des DLR verarbeitet, archiviert und einer weltweiten wissenschaftlichen Nutzung zugänglich gemacht. Die FireBIRD-Satelliten werden durch das Deutsche Raumfahrtkontrollzentrum (GSOC) der DLR-Einrichtung Raumflugbetrieb in Oberpfaffenhofen betrieben und kontrolliert.

FireBIRD ist im Gegensatz zu aktuellen anderen Satellitensystemen in der Lage, insbesondere auch kleinere Feuer zu erkennen. Damit können diese genauer erfasst und somit auch ihr Einfluss auf das Klima besser untersucht werden. Eine genaue Erfassung von Waldbränden und Buschfeuern ist nicht zuletzt aufgrund der wirtschaftlichen Schäden hoch relevant.

Zuletzt geändert am:
09.01.2018 17:43:11 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Julia Heil
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Berlin und Neustrelitz

Tel.: +49 30 67055-9639
Dr. Christian Fischer
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Optische Sensorsysteme

Tel.: +49 30 67055-9612
Dr. Monika Gähler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum: Zentrum für satellitengestützte Kriseninformation (ZKI)

Tel.: +49 8153 28-3309