The DLR site in Oberpfaffenhofen

A 67-million-pixel floating Matterhorn

Exhibition 'The Call of the Mountains' opens at the Gasometer Oberhausen

15 March 2018

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Der Nanga Parbat.
    Nanga Parbat

    Nanga Parbat is a member of the select group of mountains that are over 8000 metres high. It is the ninth highest mountain on Earth at 8125 metres. This image will be displayed in the exhibition ‘The Call of the Mountains’ in the Gasometer Oberhausen. DLR is participating in the exhibition with an animation of the Matterhorn created from images acquired during satellite and aircraft overflights.

  • Die Faszination der Berge.
    The fascination of the mountains

    With the exhibition ‘The Call of the Mountains’ in the Gasometer Oberhausen, which opened on 16 March 2018, the fascination that mountains hold for humans is put front and centre. The highlight of the exhibition is a replica of the Matterhorn, for which DLR has created a projection with 67 million pixels.

  • Die Ausstellung "Der Berg ruft".
    The exhibition ‘The Call of the Mountains’

    A replica of the Matterhorn hangs upside down in the 100-metre-high central space of the Gasometer, as the highlight of the exhibition ‘The Call of the Mountains’, which opened on 16 March 2018.

Focus: Space, Earth Observation

At 4478 metres tall, the Matterhorn is not one of Earth's highest mountains – not even the highest mountain in the Alps. However, its striking triangular shape makes it unique. The German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) has measured this 'rock pyramid' with the help of satellite and aircraft overflights and, from the data, generated a precise terrain model that now brings the mountain to Gasometer Oberhausen as a 3D projection on a 17-metre-high reproduction of the Matterhorn. There, it floats upside down in the 100-metre-high airspace of the Gasometer as the highlight of the exhibition 'The Call of the Mountains', which was inaugurated on 16 March 2018. A mirror on the floor reflects the mountain, enabling a bird's eye view.

Over flanks and snow fields

Just under 3000 images provided the foundation to construct the animation, which was done by the scientists at DLR's Earth Observation Center (EOC). To collect them, a Pléiades satellite recorded the Matterhorn for a few seconds from three different angles during one overflight. These data were supplemented with measurements made from DLR's twin-engine DO-228 research aircraft. With the 3K camera developed at DLR the researchers photographed the mountain from all sides with its 2000-metre steeply falling flanks and continuous alternating bright snow surfaces and dark shadows. With the help of an algorithm that originally gave robots spatial vision at DLR, the images were used to produce a three-dimensional terrain model of the mountain. On the computer at the Earth Observation Center DLR scientists combined the acquired elevation data and textures into a likeness of the Matterhorn. They then had hundreds of virtual cameras circle the mountain to produce 3D animations that brought the sculpture to life. At 67 million pixels, the resolution of the animation is eight times that of a high-resolution film production.

"The expertise used to produce the Matterhorn sculpture for the 'The Call of the Mountains' exhibition is put to work on a daily basis in the course of our Earth observation activities", says Hansjörg Dittus, DLR Executive Board Member responsible for Space Research and Technology. "With remote sensing from space we provide and process data to monitor and investigate changes to Earth's surface and atmosphere, as well as global change. For us, the Matterhorn project was a testbed for trying out and evaluating our methodologies."

The Matterhorn challenge

Emergency support workers, city planning authorities, climate researchers and also archaeologists are the usual beneficiaries of Earth observation. Data from space can be used for numerous applications – among others it can be employed to record ground movement with millimetre accuracy, investigate the quality of water, or estimate glacier masses. Now, viewers of 'The Call of the Mountains' exhibition can also find out how Earth observation data is used.

"On the projection surface we show the Matterhorn with the progression of days and seasons, the ascent routes that mountaineers have opened up over the course of 150 years, and the extreme topography of the mountain," explains Nils Sparwasser of DLR's Earth Observation Center. "To do this we have to record, process and analyse large amounts of data – which we are of course well able to do." With this elaborate animation, 17 projectors display the details on the 2033 square metre surface of the Matterhorn reproduction.

But the exhibition at the Gasometer Oberhausen does not only present the Matterhorn. In unique film excerpts and photographs, it shows habitats at ice-cold altitudes with thin air, helps visitors appreciate the legendary first ascents, and reports about triumphs and failures. "In ‘The Call of the Mountains’ we describe wonderful locations that have always fascinated mankind", says Peter Pachnicke, curator of the exhibition.

Last modified:
15/05/2018 14:01:57

Contacts

 

Manuela Braun
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Media Relations Section

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Nils Sparwasser
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

German Remote Sensing Data Center (DFD), Department Science Communication and Visualization

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1316

Fax: +49 8153 28-1313

Der DLR-Standort Oberpfaffenhofen

Mehr über das DLR

Schwebendes Matterhorn aus 67 Millionen Pixeln

Ausstellung "Der Berg ruft" im Gasometer Oberhausen eröffnet

Donnerstag, 15. März 2018

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Der Nanga Parbat.
    Der Nanga Parbat.

    Der Nanga Parbat gehört zu den 8000ern im Himalaya und ist der neunthöchste Berg der Erde mit 8125 Metern. Dieses Foto wird auf der Ausstellung "Der Berg ruft" im Gasometer Oberhausen gezeigt. Das DLR beteiligt sich an der Ausstellung mit einer Animation des Matterhorn – erstellt aus Aufnahmen von Satelliten- und Flugzeugüberflügen.

  • Die Faszination der Berge.
    Die Faszination der Berge.

    Mit der Ausstellung "Der Berg ruft" im Gasometer Oberhausen, die am 16. März 2018 beginnt, wird die Faszination der Berge auf den Menschen in den Mittelpunkt gestellt. Höhepunkt der Ausstellung ist eine Nachbildung des Matterhorn, für die das DLR eine Projektion mit 67 Millionen Pixeln erstellt hat.

  • Die Ausstellung "Der Berg ruft".
    Die Ausstellung "Der Berg ruft".

    Die Nachbildung des Matterhorns hängt kopfüber im 100 Meter hohen Luftraum des Gasometers, als Höhepunkt der Ausstellung "Der Berg ruft", die am 16. März 2018 eröffnet.

Schwerpunkt(e): Raumfahrt, Erdbeobachtung

Das Matterhorn ist mit 4478 Metern nicht einer der höchsten Berge der Welt - und noch nicht einmal der höchste Berg der Alpen. Doch seine markante, dreieckige Form macht es einzigartig. Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) hat die Fels-Pyramide mit Satelliten- und Flugzeugüberflügen vermessen und mit diesen Daten ein präzises Geländemodell erstellt, das nun als 3D-Projektion auf einer 17 Meter hohen Nachbildung des Matterhorns den Berg in den Gasometer Oberhausen holt. Dort schwebt es als Höhepunkt der Ausstellung "Der Berg ruft", die am 16. März 2018 eröffnet, kopfüber im 100 Meter hohen Luftraum des Gasometers. Ein Spiegel auf dem Boden reflektiert den Berg und ermöglicht so den Blick aus der Vogelperspektive.

Über Flanken und Schneefelder

Knapp 3000 Bilder sind die Grundlage, mit der die Wissenschaftler des Earth Observation Centers (EOC) des DLR die Animation erstellten. Dafür nahm ein Pléiades-Satellit das Matterhorn innerhalb eines Überflugs in nur wenigen Sekunden aus drei verschiedenen Perspektiven auf. Ergänzt wurde die Daten durch Messungen aus dem zweimotorigen DLR-Forschungsflugzeug DO-228. Mit der vom DLR entwickelten 3K-Kamera nahmen die Forscher den Berg mit seinen 2000 Meter steil abfallenden Flanken und dem steten Wechsel von hellen Schneeflächen und dunklen Schatten von allen Seiten auf. Daraus entstand - mit Hilfe eines Algorithmus, der am DLR ursprünglich Robotern das räumliche Sehen ermöglichte - ein dreidimensionales Geländemodell des Bergs. Im Earth Observation Center kombinierten DLR-Wissenschaftler die gewonnenen Höhendaten und Texturen am Computer zu einem Abbild des Matterhorns und ließen anschließend hunderte virtuelle Kameras über dem Berg in 3D kreisen - so entstanden Animationen, die die Skulptur lebendig werden lassen. Mit 67 Millionen Pixeln entspricht die Auflösung der Animation dem Achtfachen einer hochaufgelösten Kinoproduktion.

"Die Kompetenzen, die wir für die Matterhorn-Skulptur in der Ausstellung "Der Berg ruft" eingesetzt haben, verwenden wir in unserer täglichen Arbeit in der Erdbeobachtung", sagt Prof. Hansjörg Dittus, Vorstand für Raumfahrtforschung und -technologie im Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR). "Mit der Fernerkundung aus dem All liefern und verarbeiten wir die Daten, um die Veränderung der Erdoberfläche, der Atmosphäre oder den globalen Wandel zu beobachten und zu erforschen. Das Matterhorn war für uns eine Experimentierfeld, an dem wir unsere Methoden testen und bewerten konnten."

Herausforderung Matterhorn

Normalerweise profitieren Krisenhelfer, Stadtplaner, Klimaforscher oder auch Archäologen von der Erdbeobachtung. Mit den Daten aus dem All können unter anderem Bodenbewegungen millimetergenau erfasst, Wasser und Luft in ihrer Qualität untersucht oder auch Gletschermassen eingeschätzt werden. Mit der Ausstellung "Der Berg ruft" erfahren nun auch deren Besucher, wie Daten der Erdbeobachtung eingesetzt werden können.

"Wir zeigen auf der Projektionsfläche das Matterhorn im Wechsel der Tages- und Jahreszeiten, die Aufstiegsrouten, die die Bergsteiger in den vergangenen 150 Jahren erschlossen haben, und die extreme Topographie des Berges", erläutert Nils Sparwasser vom Earth Observation Center des DLR. "Dafür mussten wir große Datenmengen erfassen, verarbeiten und auswerten - daran sind wir natürlich auch gewachsen." 17 Projektoren bringen mit der aufwendigen Animation die Details auf die 2033 Quadratmeter Oberfläche des Matterhorn-Nachbaus.

Die Ausstellung des Gasometer Oberhausen zeigt aber nicht nur das Matterhorn: In einzigartigen Filmausschnitten und Fotos zeigt sie die Lebenswelten in eisiger Höhe und dünner Luft, bringt den Besuchern die legendären Erstbesteigungen nahe und berichtet von Triumphen und Niederlagen. "Mit "Der Berg ruft" erzählen wir von wundervollen Orten, die seit jeher die Menschen fasziniert haben", sagt Prof. Peter Pachnicke, Kurator der Ausstellung.

Zuletzt geändert am:
16.03.2018 14:05:03 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Manuela Braun
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Media Relations, Redaktion Raumfahrt

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Nils Sparwasser
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum, Wissenschaftskommunikation und Visualisierung

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1316

Fax: +49 8153 28-1313