DLR Weilheim site

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • DLR%2dStandort Weilheim
    DLR Weilheim site

    The satellite ground station in Weilheim is operated by the DLR German Space Operations Center (GSOC).

  • DLR%2dStandort Weilheim
    Ground station in Weilheim - Link between Earth and its orbiting satellites

    Aerial view of the DLR ground station in Weilheim. The individual antenna stations at Weilheim can be operated independently – which means that the Weilheim ground station can support several missions simultaneously (multi-mission operation). All antennas and station facilities are monitored and controlled from one common control room.

In order to be able to communicate with spacecraft, antenna systems are needed. The DLR ground station in Weilheim, 60 kilometres south-west of Munich, was established in 1969 (start of construction November 1967) and is one of the links between Earth and its orbiting satellites. It helps establish communication links with a satellite during its trajectory, thereby allowing simultaneous two-way data transmission. The data exchange with the spacecraft takes place via a variety of different antennas (ranging from 4.5 to 30 metres in diameter). The satellite ground station in Weilheim is operated by the DLR German Space Operations Center (GSOC).

Data from the satellite is called telemetry and can be divided into two categories: ‘housekeeping’ data that gives information on the satellite's condition and attitude (its position and orientation in space) and science data originating from scientific instruments.

This telemetry data is received and processed by the ground station and forwarded in digital form to the GSOC control centre in Oberpfaffenhofen. Data in the opposite direction – i.e. from the ground to the satellite – is known as telecommands. These contain control commands to the satellite – examples are switching scientific devices on/off or correcting the satellite's attitude. These are generated in the GSOC control room and transmitted directly to Weilheim.

A further function of the ground station is the on-going determination of the satellite's orbit. Satellite orbits are subject to disturbances, by the residual atmosphere, micro-meteorites and solar radiation pressure, for example. The satellite's direction, range (i.e. distance from the Earth) and speed – its so-called tracking data – are therefore measured during its trajectory. Using these readings, orbit predictions for the coming days are calculated in the control centre.

Multi-mission operation, around the clock

According to the Consultative Committee for Space Data Systems (CCSDS), Weilheim is classified both as a Deep Space Network and a Non-Deep Space Network (Near Earth Network) and can support space missions in the L, S, X, Ku and Ka frequency bands.

The individual antenna stations at Weilheim can be operated independently – which means that the Weilheim ground station can support several missions simultaneously (multi-mission operation). All antennas and station facilities are monitored and controlled from one common control room. New software developed at GSOC allows the necessary sequences to be standardised, regardless of the particular mission, frequency range and orbit type, which considerably simplifies the operation.

The Weilheim ground station is operated 24 hours a day, seven days a week. A total of 44 people work here.

To ensure maximum availability, the antenna stations are equipped with redundant devices. All systems vital to satellite operation at Weilheim's ground station are fed by an uninterruptible power supply (UPS) that draws its power from a battery during short-term failures of the energy grid and from a 1250 kVA Diesel generator during long-term failures.

Weilheim and Oberpfaffenhofen in the global network

Weilheim ground station is connected with the GSOC in Oberpfaffenhofen via a redundant communication link. GSOC coordinates the antenna operations, generates the control commands for the satellites and receives and processes the satellite data from Weilheim (telemetry and tracking data).

In addition, other space agencies or external customers regularly lease 'antenna time' for their missions. Weilheim is therefore embedded in a worldwide communication network via GSOC. GSOC thereby ensures that all the necessary operational data connections between Weilheim and other integrated ground stations and the respective satellite control room are available and correctly configured. Various interfaces and protocols must be implemented and antennas, facilities and systems must be planned, configured and serviced, along with the network infrastructure.

Last modified:
03/08/2017 14:03:59

Der Standort Weilheim des DLR

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • DLR%2dStandort Weilheim
    DLR-Standort Weilheim

    Am Standort Weilheim betreibt das DLR die Zentralstation des Deutschen Bodensegments (ZDBS).

  • DLR%2dStandort Weilheim
    Antennenanlagen: Verbindung zwischen Erde und Satellit

    Luftaufnahme des DLR-Standorts Weilheim: Mit Hilfe der Antennen wird während eines Satellitenüberflugs die Kommunikationsverbindung zwischen Satellit und Kontrollzentrum hergestellt. Sie ermöglichen den gleichzeitigen Datenverkehr in beide Richtungen.

Um mit Raumfahrzeugen kommunizieren zu können, benötigt man Antennenanlagen. Die 1969 am Standort Weilheim, 60 km südwestlich von München, in Betrieb genommene (Baubeginn November 1967) Bodenstation des DLR ist das Verbindungsglied zwischen Erde und Satellit. Mit ihrer Hilfe werden während eines Satellitenüberflugs Kommunikationsverbindungen zu diesem hergestellt, die einen gleichzeitigen Datenverkehr in beide Richtungen ermöglichen. Der Datenaustausch mit den Raumfahrzeugen findet über eine Vielzahl von unterschiedlichen Antennen statt (von 4,5 bis 30 m Durchmesser). Die Satellitenbodenstation wird vom Deutschen Raumfahrtkontrollzentrum (GSOC) des DLR betrieben.

Daten, die vom Satelliten kommen, werden Telemetrie genannt und können in zwei Kategorien eingeteilt werden: „House-Keeping“-Daten, die den Zustand und die Lage des Satelliten übermitteln sowie Nutz-Daten, die von wissenschaftlichen Geräten stammen.

Diese Telemetrie-Daten werden von der Bodenstation empfangen, aufbereitet und in digitaler Form an das Kontrollzentrum des GSOC in Oberpfaffenhofen weitergeleitet. Daten in der Gegenrichtung – also vom Boden zum Satelliten – werden Telekommandos genannt. Diese enthalten Steuerbefehle an den Satelliten – Beispiele sind das Ein- / Ausschalten von wissenschaftlichen Geräten oder eine Lagekorrektur des Satelliten. Sie werden im Kontrollraum im GSOC generiert und direkt nach Weilheim weitergeleitet.

Eine weitere Funktion der Bodenstation ist die laufende Bestimmung der Flugbahn des Satelliten. Die Satelliten-bahnen sind Störungen unterworfen, zum Beispiel durch die Restatmosphäre, Mikrometeoriten und Sonnendruck. Deshalb werden während der Satellitenüberflüge Richtung, Entfernung und Geschwindigkeit des Satelliten, sogenannte Tracking-Daten gemessen. Aus diesen Messwerten werden im Kontrollzentrum Bahnvorhersagen für die nächsten Tage berechnet.

Multimissionsbetrieb rund um die Uhr

Weilheim ist gemäß CCSDS (Consultative Committee for Space Data Systems) sowohl als Deep Space Network als auch als Non Deep Space Network (Near Earth Network) klassifiziert und kann Raumfahrtmissionen in den Frequenzbändern L-, S-, X-, Ku- und Ka-Band unterstützen.

Die einzelnen Antennenkomplexe können unabhängig voneinander betrieben werden, d.h. Weilheim kann mehrere Missionen gleichzeitig unterstützen (Multimissionsbetrieb). Dazu werden alle Antennen und Stationseinrichtungen von einem gemeinsamen Kontrollraum aus gesteuert und überwacht. Dabei kommt eine am GSOC neu entwickelte Software zum Einsatz, mit der die notwendigen Abläufe unabhängig von den jeweiligen Missionen, Frequenzbändern und Orbittypen vereinheitlicht werden konnten, was den Betrieb erheblich vereinfacht.

Die Bodenstation Weilheim wird im 24 Stunden-Schichtdienst an sieben Tagen pro Woche betrieben. Insgesamt sind hier 44 Mitarbeiter beschäftigt.

Zur Sicherstellung einer hohen Verfügbarkeit sind die Antennenanlagen mit redundanten Geräten ausgestattet. Alle für den Satellitenbetrieb wichtigen Systeme der Bodenstation Weilheim werden von einer unterbrechungsfreien Stromversorgungsanlage (USV) gespeist, die ihre Energie bei kurzzeitigen Ausfällen der öffentlichen Stromversorgung aus einer Batterie, bei langzeitigen Ausfällen aus einem 1.250 kVA-Diesel-Aggregat bezieht.

Weilheim und Oberpfaffenhofen im weltweiten Netzwerk

Die Bodenstation Weilheim ist über eine redundante Kommunikationsverbindung mit dem GSOC in Oberpfaffenhofen verbunden. Dieses koordiniert den Betrieb der Antennen, generiert die Steuerbefehle für die Satelliten und empfängt von Weilheim die Daten der Raumfahrzeuge (Telemetrie und Tracking-Daten) und verarbeitet diese weiter.

Auch andere Raumfahrtagenturen oder externe Kunden mieten regelmäßig "Antennenzeit" für ihre Missionen an. Weilheim ist daher über das GSOC in ein weltweites Kommunikationsnetzwerk eingebettet. Das GSOC stellt dabei sicher, dass die zum Betrieb jeweils notwendigen Datenverbindungen zwischen Weilheim sowie anderen eingebundenen Bodenstationen und dem jeweiligen Satelliten-Kontrollraum bereitstehen und korrekt konfiguriert sind. Verschiedene Schnittstellen und Protokolle müssen dafür implementiert werden, außerdem die Antennen, Anlagen und Systeme sowie die Netzwerkinfrastruktur geplant, konfiguriert und gewartet werden.

Zuletzt geändert am:
31.07.2017 19:00:04 Uhr