Braunschweig

Tracking sound with lasers – DLR noise research for quieter aircraft engines

23 September 2013

  • DLR%2dForschungsflugzeug ATRA in der Lärmschutzhalle DLR%2dForschungsflugzeug ATRA in der Lärmschutzhalle

    DLR ATRA research aircraft in the Lufthansa Technik soundproof hangar

    In the DLR SAMURAI (Synergy of Advanced Measurement techniques for Unsteady and high Reynolds number Aerodynamic Investigations) project, DLR noise researchers will use the DLR research aircraft A320-ATRA for a series of engine tests in the Lufthansa Technik soundproof hangar at Hamburg Airport.

  • ATRA vor einem Hangar auf dem Weg in die Lärmschutzhalle ATRA vor einem Hangar auf dem Weg in die Lärmschutzhalle

    ATRA passing a hangar on the way to the soundproof test facility

    The tests are being performed in the Lufthansa Technik soundproof hangar at Hamburg Airport. Both partners are supporting DLR in this research project.

  • Lärmschutzhalle mit lamellenartigen Schallschutztoren Lärmschutzhalle mit lamellenartigen Schallschutztoren

    The test hangar and its soundproof doors

    The biggest soundproof hangar in Europe measures 95 by 92 metres beneath a 23-metre-high roof and two doors, each 56 metres wide and weighing 300 tons, close the hangar.

  • Blick aus dem geschlossenen Schallschutztor in die Halle Blick aus dem geschlossenen Schallschutztor in die Halle

    View from the closing soundproof doors of the hangar

    The solid construction of the soundproof building absorbs the noise of the engine tests.

loading
 

The sound of aircraft engines starting up – an everyday occurrence in many towns close to airports. To help develop quieter aircraft engines, scientists from the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) are going to use contactless laser metrology and microphones for the very first time to investigate the sources of noise inside jet engines and on the main fan. A sophisticated measurement campaign will be conducted between 23 and 28 September 2013; during this time the DLR noise researchers will use the DLR research aircraft A320-ATRA for a series of engine tests in the Lufthansa Technik soundproof hangar at Hamburg Airport. Both partners are supporting DLR in this research project.

Using laser light to investigate noise zones

"What we have planned in Hamburg is globally unique," says Andreas Schröder from the DLR Institute of Aerodynamics and Flow Technology. "It has never been seen before; the jet engines of a commercial aircraft in operation while being analysed by an array of microphones and laser-optic metrology techniques." Using laser light, the researchers are intent on finding the regions of turbulent flow that cause noise around the intake and exhaust areas: "We want to locate the zones within the engine where large, turbulent fluctuations in velocity and density produce noise," Schröder explains. The surrounding microphones will provide the scientists with information about the noise levels to match the flow phenomena being visualised using laser light.

A foundation for quieter engines

In the DLR SAMURAI (Synergy of Advanced Measurement techniques for Unsteady and high Reynolds number Aerodynamic Investigations) project, the Institute of Aerodynamics and Flow Technology is working alongside the DLR Institute of Propulsion Technology. The multidisciplinary venture also employs the expertise of the DLR Institute of Aeroelasticity and the DLR Institute of Structures and Design. Andreas Schröder is leading the project and has a clear objective in mind: “If our measurements help us acquire a better understanding of where noise is produced within an engine, we will be able to develop improved computer simulations of engine noise generation. In the long term, digital design processes will yield substantially quieter engines.” The researchers intend to deliver improved simulations of jet engines and their noise-producing flow structures by the end of the project in summer 2014.

The Advanced Technology Research Aircraft (ATRA), which DLR uses in a variety of aeronautics projects, is an Airbus A320 airliner. "This medium-range passenger aircraft, refitted as an airborne test centre, is an ideal and representative research object for scientists, particularly as it is fitted with V2500 series engines, which are found throughout the world on thousands of aeroplanes and were developed in a cooperation between MTU, Pratt & Whitney, Rolls Royce and Japanese Aero Engines Corporation," says Oliver Brieger, Head of Flight Operations at the DLR Flight Experiments Facility, which is responsible for operating ATRA.

Inside Europe's largest soundproof hangar

A fully enclosed and soundproof hangar has been available since 2002 for engine tests on all the aircraft types that Lufthansa Technik services in Hamburg. The delicate measurement equipment is ideally protected in this building, which measures 95 by 92 metres beneath a 23-metre-high roof and can accommodate a jumbo jet. It is a stroke of luck for the DLR scientists that the Lufthansa subsidiary is able to provide the hangar, and the tests will not disturb the residents of nearby towns. For many years now, Lufthansa has cooperated closely with DLR in research on aircraft noise sources. The numerous joint projects have provided a wealth of knowledge that has since been incorporated into the production of new aircraft or the retrofitting of existing models. Over recent years, technical innovations have led to a substantial reduction in the noise associated with engines in particular.

The soundproof hangar in Hamburg, a model for similar facilities in Leipzig, Zurich and Geneva, was constructed on the initiative of Flughafen Hamburg GmbH, which is also working with DLR on the measurement campaign. At the same time as the DLR tests, the airport operator will be conducting its own microphone measurements outside the hangar; these are intended to provide additional data on the soundproofing performance of the building. To conduct the tests, the DLR ATRA research aircraft will be reversed into the facility before two doors, each 56 metres wide and weighing 300 tons, close the hangar for the noise measurements.

Last modified:
23/09/2013 14:47:08

Contacts

 

Falk Dambowsky
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Corporate Communications, Editor Aeronautics

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959
Dr.rer.nat. Andreas Schröder
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Aerodynamics and Flow Technology, Department Experimental Methods

Tel.: +49 551 709-2190

Fax: +49 551 709-2830
Oliver Brieger
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Flight Experiments facility

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2966
Thomas Erich
Lufthansa Technik

Corporate Communications

Tel.: +49 40 5070-3895
Stefanie Harder
Hamburg Airport

Press and Public Relations

Tel.: +49 40 5075-3611

Braunschweig

Dem Schall mit Lasern auf der Spur: DLR-Lärmforschung für leisere Flugzeugtriebwerke

Montag, 23. September 2013

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • DLR%2dForschungsflugzeug ATRA in der Lärmschutzhalle

    DLR-Forschungsflugzeug ATRA in der Lärmschutzhalle

    In der aufwendigen Messkampagne des Projekts SAMURAI ((Synergy of advances measurement techniques for unsteady and high Reynolds number aerodynamic investigations) nutzen die Lärmforscher das DLR-Forschungsflugzeug A320-ATRA für eine Reihe von Triebwerksstandläufen.

  • ATRA vor einem Hangar auf dem Weg in die Lärmschutzhalle

    ATRA vor einem Hangar auf dem Weg in die Lärmschutzhalle

    Die Testläufe werden in der Lärmschutzhalle der Lufthansa Technik auf dem Gelände des Hamburger Flughafens durchgeführt. Beide Partner unterstützen das DLR-Forschungsprojekt.

  • Lärmschutzhalle mit lamellenartigen Schallschutztoren

    Lärmschutzhalle mit lamellenartigen Schallschutztoren

    Die größte Lärmschutzhalle Europas hat eine Größe von 95 mal 92 Metern und einer Höhe von 23 Metern und wird von zwei großen Toren mit lamellenartiger Struktur verschlossen.

  • Blick aus dem geschlossenen Schallschutztor in die Halle

    Blick aus dem geschlossenen Schallschutztor in die Halle

    Die massive Konstruktion schallschluckender Materialien fängt den Lärm der Triebwerksstandläufe auf.

Triebwerke beim Start. Für viele Flughafenanwohner ist das Alltag. Damit die Antriebsmaschinen des Luftverkehrs zukünftig leiser konstruiert werden können, vermessen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) vom 23. bis 28. September 2013 erstmals mit Lasertechnik und Mikrofonen die Lärmquellen im Triebwerksstrahl und am Hauptrotor. In der aufwendigen Messkampagne nutzen die Lärmforscher das DLR-Forschungsflugzeug A320-ATRA für eine Reihe von Triebwerksstandläufen. Die Testläufe werden in der Lärmschutzhalle der Lufthansa Technik auf dem Gelände des Hamburger Flughafens durchgeführt. Beide Partner unterstützen das DLR-Forschungsprojekt.

Blick in die Lärmzonen mit Laserlicht

"In Hamburg haben wir weltweit einmaliges vor", sagt Dr. Andreas Schröder vom DLR-Institut für Aerodynamik und Strömungstechnik. "Noch nie wurden die montierten Triebwerke eines Verkehrsflugzeugs im Betrieb zeitgleich mit einem Array von Mikrophonen und laseroptischen Feldmessverfahren untersucht." Die Forscher sind mittels Laserlicht den schallverursachenden turbulenten Strömungen im Ansaug- und Abstrahlbereich auf der Spur: "Wir wollen herausfinden, an welchen Stellen der Triebwerksströmung der Lärm durch große turbulente Geschwindigkeits- und Dichteschwankungen verursacht wird", erklärt Schröder. Die umliegend aufgebauten Mikrofone liefern den Wissenschaftlern dabei den Lautstärkepegel zu den im Laserlicht sichtbar werdenden Strömungsphänomenen.

Grundstein für leisere Triebwerke

Im DLR-Projekt SAMURAI (Synergy of advances measurement techniques for unsteady and high Reynolds number aerodynamic investigations) arbeitet das Institut für Aerodynamik und Strömungstechnik Hand in Hand mit dem DLR-Institut für Antriebstechnik. Darüber hinaus sind das DLR-Institut für Aeroelastik und das DLR-Institut für Bauweisen und Konstruktionsforschung an diesem multidisziplinären Vorhaben beteiligt. Dr. Andreas Schröder ist Leiter des Projekts mit einem klaren Ziel vor Augen: "Wenn wir durch unsere Messungen genauer wissen, wo am Triebwerk der Lärm entsteht, lässt sich der Triebwerkslärm besser am Computer simulieren. Langfristig können dann deutlich leisere Triebwerke am digitalen Reißbrett entstehen." Bis zum Projektende im Sommer 2014 wollen die Forscher verbesserte Simulationen des Treibwerksfreistrahls und seiner schallerzeugenden Strömungsstrukturen vorlegen.

Das DLR-Forschungsflugzeug ATRA (Advanced Technology Research Aircraft) ist ein ausgewachsener Airliner vom Typ Airbus A320, der im DLR für vielfältige Projekte der Luftfahrtforschung eingesetzt wird. "Der zum Flugversuchsträger umgebaute Mittelstrecken-Passagierjet ist ein ideales repräsentatives Forschungsobjekt für die Wissenschaftler mit seinen weltweit tausendfach eingesetzten Triebwerken der Baureihe V2500, die in einer Kooperation von MTU, Pratt & Whitney, Rolls Royce und Japanese Aero Engines Corporation entwickelt wurden", sagt Oliver Brieger, Leiter des DLR-Flugbetriebs in der DLR-Einrichtung Flugexperimente, die für den Betrieb des ATRA verantwortlich ist.

Im Bauch der größten Lärmschutzhalle Europas

Seit Anfang 2002 steht für Triebwerksprobeläufe aller Flugzeugtypen, die die Lufthansa Technik in Hamburg wartet, eine geschlossene Lärmschutzhalle zur Verfügung. Für die DLR-Wissenschaftler ist die Bereitstellung dieser Halle durch die Tochter der Lufthansa ein Glücksfall. Denn die filigranen Messaufbauten sind in dem Gebäude, das mit einer Größe von 95 mal 92 Metern und einer Höhe von 23 Metern sogar Jumbojets aufnehmen kann, bestens geschützt. Anwohner werden durch die Versuchsläufe nicht gestört. Lufthansa arbeitet seit Jahren eng mit dem DLR an der Erforschung von Lärmquellen am Flugzeug zusammen. In zahlreichen gemeinsamen Forschungsprojekten konnten so schon Erkenntnisse gewonnen werden, die später in die Produktion neuer Flugzeuge oder Umrüstlösungen für bestehende Modelle eingeflossen sind. Technische Neuerungen insbesondere an den Triebwerken haben in den vergangenen Jahren zu einer erheblichen Lärmreduktion geführt.

Die Hamburger Lärmschutzhalle, die Vorbild für solche Einrichtungen an den Flughäfen in Leipzig, Zürich und Genf war, wurde auf Initiative der Flughafen Hamburg GmbH gebaut, die sich nun auch für die Durchführung der DLR-Messkampagne engagierte. Parallel zu den DLR-Versuchen führt die Flughafen-Gesellschaft eigene Mikrofon-Messungen außerhalb der Halle durch, um weitere Daten über die Lärmschutzwirkung des Baus zu sammeln. Das DLR-Forschungsflugzeug ATRA wird für die Standläufe rückwärts in die Einrichtung geschoben, bevor zwei 56 Meter breite und 300 Tonnen schwere Tore die Halle für die Lärmmessungen schließen.

Zuletzt geändert am:
23.09.2013 13:20:04 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Falk Dambowsky
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Redaktion Luftfahrt

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr.rer.nat. Andreas Schröder
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Aerodynamik und Strömungstechnik, Abteilung Experimentelle Verfahren

Tel.: +49 551 709-2190

Fax: +49 551 709-2830
Oliver Brieger
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Flugexperimente

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2966
Thomas Erich
Lufthansa Technik

Unternehmenskommunikation

Tel.: +49 40 5070-3895
Stefanie Harder
Hamburg Airport

Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Tel.: +49 40 5075-3611