MAPHEUS-4: X-rays in microgravity

15 July 2013

DLR launches sounding rocket with materials physics experiments

Close to four minutes of microgravity prevailed in the sounding rocket MAPHEUS-4, which was launched on 15 July 2013 at 07:53 local time, from the Esrange Space Center in northern Sweden. The German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) had two materials physics experiments on board the rocket. For the first time, the diffusion of aluminium and nickel was recorded under space conditions using X-ray analysis. The scientists at the DLR Institute of Materials Physics in Space examined the behaviour of granular gases in microgravity. The launch was conducted by the team of DLR's Mobile Rocket Base (MORABA).

The right conditions for the experiments were reached just 83 seconds after launch – the experiments MIDAS (Measuring Interdiffusion in Alloys and Semiconductors) and MEGraMA (Magnetically Excited Granular Matter) could thus be initiated without the disturbing influence of gravity. The rocket reached an altitude of about 154 kilometres.

Experiments in weightlessness

Before the launch, a small furnace containing the six samples containing various proportions of aluminium and nickel was preheated to 900 degrees Celsius. The furnace had already had its premiere in November 2012, when the scientists tested it on board the sounding rocket MAPHEUS-3. During microgravity, the different metal samples were moved into contact with each other inside the furnace, and thus diffuse the molten aluminium-nickel samples. The compact X-ray system, which is fully shielded to prevent the egress of radiation, was able to acquire one image per second in real time. "At present, the diffusion of liquefied metals is not completely understood," says Florian Kargl, Project Leader for the MAPHEUS-4 mission. The data acquired during microgravity is compared with model calculations and data from the terrestrial laboratory. The results can then contribute, among other things, to optimising industrial casting processes such as those used to produce turbine blades.

To better understand the behaviour of granular gases, researchers from the Institute subjected small metal balls to microgravity conditions. During the flight, four magnets placed the balls in motion and two high-speed cameras, which acquired up to 500 high-resolution images per second, recorded the particles as they pushed against each other and determined the velocity distribution. With the results, the researchers can analyse how granular gases – for example bulk goods like pills – can be packed more densely and in a more stable way. "The microgravity flight of the sounding rocket allows us to study these processes, without the particles being influenced by gravity."

Rescue by helicopter

After the 10-minute flight, the container that carried the experiments landed about 60 miles from the launch site and was retrieved by a helicopter. The DLR Mobile Rocket Base department was responsible for the design of the single-stage launcher and mission operations. Following the success of the previous flights, MAPHEUS-1 to MAPHEUS-3, they adapted the Brazilian-German S30 rocket motor for MAPHEUS-4 to significantly increase the payload capacity and flight altitude. "With a total payload mass of 272 kilograms, MAPHEUS-4 reached an altitude of 154 kilometres," said Frank Scheuerpflug, responsible for the MAPHEUS mission at MORABA, after the flight.

The scientists and engineers of the MAPHEUS teams can now look back on the results and experiences of four fruitful flights. "MAPHEUS is an excellent example of the most up-to-date material research under microgravity conditions, benefiting from the efficiency and flexibility of rockets," said project leader Martin Siegl from the DLR Institute of Space Systems. The MAPHEUS programme will continue next year.

Last modified: 16/07/2013 09:46:57

URL for this article

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10277/384_read-7599/year-all/

Contacts

Manuela Braun
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Corporate Communications, Editor, Human Space Flight, Space Science, Engineering

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Martin Siegl
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Space Systems, Project manager MAPHEUS

Tel.: +49 421 244201-124

Fax: +49 421 244201-120
Dr Florian Kargl
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Space Systems

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2064
Frank Scheuerpflug
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR's Mobile Rocket Base (MORABA)

Tel.: +49 8153 28-3649

Launch of the MAPHEUS-4 sounding rocket

Mapheus%2d4

Close to four minutes of microgravity prevailed in the sounding rocket MAPHEUS-4, which was launched on 15 July 2013 at 07:53 local time, from the Esrange Space Center in northern Sweden. During the four minutes of microgravity, researchers from the DLR Institute of Materials Physics conducted various experiments.

Experiments on board the sounding rocket

Mapheus%2d4

The DLR Institute of Materials Physics had two experiments on board the MAPHEUS-4 sounding rocket – MIDAS, to study the diffusion of aluminium and nickel, and MEGraMA, to learn about the behaviour of granular gases.

Related Articles

  • MAPHEUS-3: Flight-testing furnaces in microgravity
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10081/151_read-5707/)

Mapheus-4: Röntgenaufnahmen aus der Schwerelosigkeit

Montag, 15. Juli 2013

DLR startet Höhenforschungsrakete mit Experimenten der Materialphysik

Fast vier Minuten Schwerelosigkeit herrschten in der Höhenforschungsrakete Mapheus-4, die am 15. Juli 2013 um 7.53 Uhr vom schwedischen Raketenstartplatz Esrange startete. An Bord: zwei materialphysikalische Experimente des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR). Unter Weltraumbedingungen zeichnete erstmals eine Röntgenröhre die Diffusion von Aluminium und Nickel noch während des Flugs auf. Zudem untersuchten die Wissenschaftler des DLR-Instituts für Materialphysik im Weltraum, wie sich granulare Gase in der Schwerelosigkeit verhalten. Durchgeführt wurde der Start vom Team der Mobilen Raketenbasis (MORABA) des DLR.

Gerade einmal 83 Sekunden nach dem Start waren die richtigen Bedingungen für den Experimentstart erreicht - im Inneren der Höhenforschungsrakete konnten von nun an die Experimente MIDAS (Measuring InterDiffusion in Alloys and Semiconductors) und MEGraMA (Magnetically Excited Granular Matter) ohne die störenden Einflüsse der Gravitation ablaufen. Die Rakete flog dabei bis in eine Höhe von über 154 Kilometern.

Experimente in der Schwerelosigkeit

Bereits vor dem Start hatte ein kleiner Ofen die sechs Materialproben, die aus unterschiedlichen Anteilen von Aluminium und Nickel bestanden, auf  900 Grad Celsius vorgeheizt. Seine Premiere hatte der Ofen bereits auf der Mapheus-3-Mission im November 2012, bei dem die Wissenschaftler seinen Einsatz auf einer Höhenforschungsrakete testeten. Nach Eintritt der Schwerelosigkeit wurden unterschiedliche Metallproben durch eine Bewegung im Inneren des Ofens miteinander in Kontakt gebracht, um so die geschmolzenen Aluminium-Nickel-Proben diffundieren zu lassen. Die kompakte und vollständig gegen Strahlungsaustritt abgeschirmte Röntgenradiographieanlage nahm dabei pro Sekunde eine Aufnahme in Echtzeit auf. "Die Diffusion in metallischen Flüssigkeiten ist ein Prozess, der bis heute noch nicht zu 100 Prozent verstanden ist", sagt Dr. Florian Kargl, wissenschaftlicher Projektleiter für die Mapheus-4-Mission. Die gewonnenen Daten aus der Schwerelosigkeit werden mit Modellrechnungen und Daten aus dem irdischen Labor verglichen; diese Ergebnisse können unter anderem dazu beitragen, in der Industrie Gießprozesse beispielsweise von Turbinenschaufeln zu optimieren.

Um das Verhalten von granularen Gasen besser zu verstehen, schickten die Wissenschaftler des DLR-Instituts für Materialphysik im Weltraum kleine Metallkügelchen in die Schwerelosigkeit. Während des Fluges wurden diese von vier Magneten zur Bewegung angeregt - zwei  Hochgeschwindigkeitskameras zeichneten anschließend mit zu bis 500 hochaufgelösten Bildern pro Sekunde auf, wie die Teilchen gegeneinander stießen und welchen zeitlichen Verlauf die Geschwindigkeitsverteilung nahm. Mit den Ergebnissen können die Forscher analysieren, wie granulare Gase - zum Beispiel Schüttgut wie Pillen - dichter und stabiler gepackt werden können. "Die Schwerelosigkeit beim Flug mit der Höhenforschungsrakete erlaubt es uns, diese Vorgänge zu untersuchen, ohne dass sich die Teilchen durch den Einfluss der Schwerkraft ablagern."

Bergung mit dem Hubschrauber

Nach dem insgesamt zehnminütigen Flug landete der Behälter mit den Experimenten an Bord in rund 60 Kilometern Entfernung vom Startplatz und wurde mit einem Hubschrauber geborgen. Für die Konzeption der einstufigen Trägerrakete und den Missionsbetrieb war die Abteilung Mobile Raketenbasis des DLR verantwortlich. Nach den erfolgreichen Vorgängerflügen Mapheus-1 bis Mapheus-3 hatte sie den brasilianisch-deutschen Raketenmotor S30  für Mapheus-4 adaptiert, um die Nutzlastkapazität und die Flughöhe deutlich zu steigern. "Bei einer Gesamtnutzlastmasse von 272 Kilogramm erreichte Mapheus-4 eine Flughöhe von 154 Kilometern" berichtet Frank Scheuerpflug, verantwortlich für die Mapheus-Mission bei der MORABA,  nach dem Flug.

Die Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure des Mapheus-Teams können nun bereits auf die Resultate und Erfahrungen von vier ergebnisreichen Flügen zurückblicken. "Mapheus ist ein hervorragendes Beispiel für hochaktuelle Materialforschung unter Schwerelosigkeit, die von der Effizienz und Flexibilität der Forschungsraketen profitiert", betont Projektleiter Martin Siegl vom DLR-Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme. Das Mapheus-Programm wird im kommenden Jahr fortgesetzt.

Zuletzt geändert am: 15.07.2013 15:06:38 Uhr

URL dieses Artikels

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10277/384_read-7599/year-all/

Kontakte

Manuela Braun
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Redaktion Raumfahrt

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Martin Siegl
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

DLR-Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme

Tel.: +49 421 244201-124

Fax: +49 421 244201-120
Dr. Florian Kargl
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Materialphysik im Weltraum

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2064
Frank Scheuerpflug
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Mobile Raketenbasis (MORABA)

Tel.: +49 8153 28-3649

Start der Höhenforschungsrakete Mapheus-4

Mapheus%2d4

Am 15. Juli 2013 um 7.53 Uhr hob die Höhenforschungsrakete Mapheus-4 vom schwedischen Raketenstartplatz Esrange ab. Während des Flugs herrschten vier Minuten Schwerelosigkeit, in der die Wissenschaftler des DLR-Instituts für Materialphysik Experimente durchführten.

Experimente auf der Höhenforschungsrakete

Mapheus%2d4

Das Institut für Materialphysik des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) schickte mit der Höhenforschungsrakete Mapheus-4 zwei Experimente durch die Schwerelosigkeit: Das Experiment MIDAS untersucht die Diffusion von Aluminium und Nickel, das Experiment MEGraMA das Verhalten von granularen Gasen.

Artikel zum Thema

  • Mapheus-3: Fliegende Öfen in der Schwerelosigkeit
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10081/151_read-5707/)