Using the centrifuge for space tourism

20 August 2013

DLR researchers analyse blood coagulation under increased gravity

The first tickets have already been sold to space tourists – the passengers, however, will not be as fit or healthy as astronauts, but rather people with greatly varying health conditions. This is why scientists at the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) and physicians from Witten/Herdecke University have come together to analyse the prevalent risks in a pilot study. Using a long-arm centrifuge, they subject participants to 15 minutes of the forces that space tourists would encounter during takeoff and landing. The aim of the study is to determine the influence of increased gravity on blood coagulation.

Each of the 20 test subjects will be placed in a cabin attached to a six-metre arm and accelerated to 22 revolutions per minute. The male participants aged between 25 and 40 will be subjected to three times the force of gravity just 15 seconds after the start. "Breathing is more difficult, so you must get used to it," explains candidate Max Schneider after his ride in the long-arm centrifuge. Ulrich Limper and Peter Gauger from the DLR Institute of Aerospace Medicine took blood samples before the acceleration started, to be able to compare the results to afterwards. Hartmut Fredrich, the centrifuge machine operator, and physician Jürgen Wenzel monitor the test subjects’ response during the phase of threefold gravity. A camera transmits images of the candidate's face to the control room. Regular measurements of blood pressure and heart rate show that the candidate is fine despite the stress. The next blood samples are taken once the 15 minutes are up and the cabin comes to a halt. "This allows us to identify the immediate repercussions of increased gravity," Ulrich Limper explains. As some responses are triggered with a certain delay, the last blood samples are taken half an hour later.

Tourists with health risks

"We have to assume that space tourists could be older, and may have previously had conditions such as a heart attack or deep vein thrombosis – but are nevertheless keen to fly to space and willing to shoulder the physical stress this entails," says Limper. Commercial providers of this kind of flight will be intent on offering these trips with several minutes of zero gravity to as broad a public as possible. "For this to happen, we need to know the risks, define precisely how we will conduct effective medical checkups before the launch or whether we may even have to introduce solutions to certain risks." For instance, whether passengers with a history of strokes or pulmonary embolism are being prescribed medication that reduces the capacity for the blood to clot, as the effectiveness of these drugs may be restricted for the duration of the flight. "We need to define this risk – so that it can be minimised," says the physician Ulrich Limper, defining the joint research project between DLR and the University of Witten/Herdecke.

Interaction between blood coagulation and the vascular system

The study has already revealed a preliminary trend: "It appears probable that increased gravity raises the capacity of the blood to clot." Until now, this effect had only been investigated on human blood cells in centrifuges or on animals. Working with human beings helps scientists perform even more precise investigations: "Among other things, blood coagulation is closely related to the human vascular system – and you can't take a look at that in a centrifuge."

To ensure that the results would be as unambiguous as possible, test subjects were selected according to strict criteria: only those who passed the check-up at the DLR Aerospace Medicine Examination Centre and whose blood coagulation results showed no abnormalities were admitted to the study. It was important that the candidate group should be as homogeneous as possible, so that the observed results of blood coagulation would be exclusively due to the ride on the centrifuge. But there were some failures here: "We had to stop the test for some of the candidates – even with a healthy body, some people are unable to cope with the effects of increased gravity."

Last modified: 22/08/2013 12:34:33

URL for this article

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10283/415_read-7903/year-all/

Contacts

Manuela Braun
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Corporate Communications, Editor, Human Space Flight, Space Science, Engineering

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Ulrich Limper
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Aerospace Medicine

Long-arm centrifuge at DLR

Langarmzentrifuge

Candidates sit in a sealed cabin attached to a six-metre structure in the long-arm centrifuge at the German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Preparing for the centrifuge ride

Vorbereitungen

Peter Gauger from the German Aerospace Center (DLR) wires up the candidates before they get into the long-arm centrifuge, allowing the scientists to measure factors such as blood pressure and heart rate during the ride.

Keeping an eye on the participants

Kontrollraum

In the control room, scientists and physicians monitor the candidates’ response during the ride under increased gravity, helped among other things by a camera transmitting images of the candidate in the cabin.

Blood samples for space tourism

Blutentnahme

Ulrich Limper, a physician from the German Aerospace Centre (DLR), draws blood from the candidates immediately after they step out of the long-arm centrifuge.

In die Zentrifuge für den Weltraumtourismus

Dienstag, 20. August 2013

DLR-Wissenschaftler untersuchen Blutgerinnung unter erhöhter Schwerkraft

Die ersten Tickets an Weltraumtouristen sind bereits verkauft - die Passagiere werden dabei aber keine trainierten und körperlich durchweg gesunden Astronauten sein, sondern oftmals Menschen mit sehr unterschiedlichen gesundheitlichen Voraussetzungen. Wissenschaftler des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) untersuchen deshalb zusammen mit Medizinern der Universität Witten/Herdecke in einer ersten Pilotstudie, welche Risiken bestehen: In einer Langarmzentrifuge setzen sie Probanden über 15 Minuten den Kräften aus, die durchschnittlich bei Start und Landung auf die Weltraumtouristen zukommen. Ziel der Studie ist es, den Einfluss der erhöhten Schwerkraft auf die Blutgerinnung zu erforschen.

Insgesamt 20 Probanden werden dabei in einer Kabine an einem sechs Meter langen Arm mit 22 Umdrehungen pro Minute beschleunigt. Bereits 15 Sekunden nach dem Anfahren erleben die Männer zwischen 25 und 40 Jahren die dreifache Schwerkraft. "Das Atmen fällt schwerer, da muss man sich erst daran gewöhnen", erläutert Proband Max Schneider nach seiner Fahrt an der Langarmzentrifuge. Schon vor der Fahrt hatten Ulrich Limper und Peter Gauger vom DLR-Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrtmedizin die ersten Blutproben genommen, um den ursprünglichen Zustand analysieren zu können. Während die dreifache Schwerkraft auf Max Schneider wirkt, überwachen Zentrifugen-Operator Hartmut Friedrich und Arzt Jürgen Wenzel die Reaktionen des Probanden. Eine Kamera überträgt das Gesicht des Probanden in den Kontrollraum. Regelmäßige Messungen von Blutdruck und Herzschlag zeigen: Dem Probanden geht es trotz der Belastung gut. Sobald die Kabine nach 15 Minuten stoppt, muss er die nächsten Blutproben abgeben. "Damit können wir die ganz unmittelbaren Auswirkungen der erhöhten Schwerkraft feststellen", erläutert Ulrich Limper. Eine halbe Stunde später werden die letzten Blutabnahmen durchgeführt - weil einige Reaktionen im Blut erst mit einer Zeitverzögerung ausgelöst werden.

Touristen mit Gesundheitsrisiko

"Bei einem Weltraumtouristen müssen wir davon ausgehen, dass er älter ist, vorher vielleicht Erkrankungen wie Herzinfarkt oder Beinvenen-Thrombosen hatte - aber dennoch ins Weltall fliegen möchte und sich dafür den körperlichen Belastungen aussetzt", sagt Mediziner Limper. Die privaten Anbieter der Flüge werden dabei einem möglichst breiten Publikum die Reise in die mehrminütige Schwerelosigkeit anbieten wollen. "Dafür muss man die Risiken kennen, ein effektives medizinisches Durchchecken vor dem Start festlegen oder in einem nächsten Schritt auch Lösungen für die Risiken anbieten." Nehmen Passagiere beispielsweise Medikamente, die nach einem Schlaganfall oder einer Lungenembolie die Fähigkeit zur Blutgerinnung heruntersetzen, könnte deren Wirkung während des Flugs vermindert werden. "Dieses Risiko muss definiert werden - damit es minimiert werden kann", sagt Arzt Ulrich Limper über das gemeinsame Forschungsprojekt von DLR und der Universität Witten/Herdecke.

Interaktion zwischen Blutgerinnung und Gefäßsystem

Eine erste Tendenz der Studie liegt bereits vor: "Die erhöhte Schwerkraft erhöht sehr wahrscheinlich die Gerinnbarkeit des Blutes." Bisher wurde dieser Effekt lediglich an menschlichen Blutzellen in einer Zentrifuge oder auch an Tieren untersucht. Die Arbeit mit Probanden ermöglicht den Wissenschaftlern allerdings genauere Untersuchungen: "Die Blutgerinnung steht unter anderem in einem engen Zusammenhang mit dem menschlichen Gefäßsystem - das kann man mit Blutproben in einer Zentrifuge nicht berücksichtigen."

Um möglichst eindeutige Ergebnisse zu erhalten, wurden die Probanden nach einem strikten Schema ausgewählt: Nur wer die Untersuchung der Fliegerärztlichen Untersuchungsstelle des DLR bestand und keine Auffälligkeiten bei der Blutgerinnung hatte, wurde zur Studie zugelassen. Die Probandengruppe soll möglichst einheitlich sein, so dass die festgestellten Ergebnisse zur Blutgerinnung auch ausschließlich auf die Zentrifugenfahrt zurückzuführen sind. Ausfälle gibt es aber auch hier: "Bei einigen müssen wir die Fahrt abbrechen - auch wer einen gesunden Körper hat, kann manchmal nicht mit seinem Kreislauf die Auswirkungen der erhöhten Schwerkraft ausgleichen."

Zuletzt geändert am: 20.08.2013 13:07:42 Uhr

URL dieses Artikels

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10283/415_read-7903/year-all/

Kontakte

Manuela Braun
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Redaktion Raumfahrt

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Ulrich Limper
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrtmedizin

Langarmzentrifuge am DLR

Langarmzentrifuge

In der Langarmzentrifuge des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) sitzen die Probanden in einer geschlossenen Kabine an einem sechs Meter langen Arm.

Vorbereitungen für die Zentrifugenfahrt

Vorbereitungen

Bevor der Proband in die Langarmzentrifuge einsteigt, wird er von Peter Gauger vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) verkabelt. So können die Wissenschaftler zum Beispiel Messungen von Blutdruck oder Herzschlag während der Fahrt durchführen.

Den Probanden im Blick

Kontrollraum

Im Kontrollraum der Langarmzentrifugen verfolgen Wissenschaftler und Ärzte, wie der Proband die Fahrt mit erhöhter Schwerkraft verträgt. Dafür dient unter anderem ein Kamerabild, dass den Probanden in der Kabine zeigt.

Blutproben für den Weltraumtourismus

Blutentnahme

Mediziner Ulrich Limper vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) entnimmt einem Probanden unmittelbar nach der Fahrt in der Langarmzentrifuge Blut.