ISS
Earth's outpost in space
International Space Station ISS
theme

New 'room' for the ISS - ATV-3 now docked

29 March 2012

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Image Information
All Images
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
Previous Image
Next Image
Image {{index}}/{{count}}
Tips:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Artist's impression of the ATV 3-docking manoeuvre

    Artist's impression of ATV 3, ‘Edoardo Amaldi’, approaching the Zvezda module on the International Space Station (ISS). The cargo carrier was assisted by a wireless link to the Russian module, referred to as the 'proxy link', and relative GPS measurements. For these, the satellite-based global navigation system position data obtained from the ISS and ATV on-board computers is evaluated and compared; the results are used for making fine adjustments to the position of ATV-3. The Russian KURS radar supports navigation from a distance of about 3.5 kilometres. Over the last 250 metres, an optical sensing system sent laser pulses to four reflectors on the Zvezda module and calculated distance, relative position and approach speed on the basis of the reflected signals. For the final 50 meters, ATV-3 navigated using a video system. The docking manoeuvre took a total of three and a half hours.

  • 'Edoardo Amaldi' will raise the ISS orbit on a regular basis

    ATV 3 is expected to remain docked with the Zvezda module in the International Space Station (ISS) until 27 August 2012. Over the coming months, the space transporter will regularly raise the orbit of the ISS.

Rendezvousing at 28,000 kilometres per hour at an altitude of about 380 kilometres is hardly routine – even for experienced spaceflight engineers and astronauts, which is why applause broke out in the European Space Agency (ESA) Automated Transfer Vehicle (ATV) Control Centre in Toulouse when the third European space transporter, 'Edoardo Amaldi', docked with the International Space Station (ISS) at 00:31 CEST (22:31 UTC) on 29 March 2012.

"If everything goes to plan, ATV-3 will leave the ISS on 27 August 2012 and burn up during a controlled re-entry into Earth's atmosphere," explains Volker Schmid, Head of the ISS Division at the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) Space Administration, who is responsible for coordinating the German contributions to the ESA ATV programme. The third model in the ATV series, named after Italian physicist and space flight pioneer Edoardo Amaldi, was launched six days ago, on 23 March 2012, from Europe's Spaceport in French Guiana. The 20-ton ATV 3 navigated autonomously and docked with the Space Station automatically. ESA astronaut André Kuipers monitored the process with his colleagues on the ISS.

ATV is the European supply and propulsion spacecraft for the ISS. Compared to its predecessors, 'Jules Verne' (2008) and 'Johannes Kepler' (2011), 'Edoardo Amaldi' has some 600 kilograms of additional payload on board. In total the ATV 3 is bringing almost seven tons of payload to the ISS. "Besides food and clothing, water and air, experiments and medical equipment, this mainly consists of fuel for the Russian Svezda module – which the ATV 3 is docked to – and for the nine planned ISS orbital corrections that will be carried out between now and August," says Schmid. These manoeuvres are necessary at regular intervals to compensate for the ISS being slowed by drag due to the residual atmosphere and the resulting loss of altitude.

From a scientific perspective, the valuable cargo includes a Re-entry Break-up Recorder (REBR). This device will record the accelerations experienced by the ATV 3 during re-entry and will not burn up. Says Volker Schmid: "The recorder will transmit data to a ground station via an Iridium communications satellite during the final flight phase. This will enable us to draw conclusions about the forces exerted on the ATV during re-entry." The ATV 3 has also brought nine experiments and hardware subsystems to the ISS, including two experiment modules for the US space agency, NASA, nine samples for ESA's ALTEA-Shield radiation dosimetry experiment, material for taking samples of human excreta for ESA's ENERGY experiment, replacement electronic components for the BIOLAB laboratory in the European Columbus ISS module and measuring equipment for the NASA VO2max experiment, which deals with changes in lung capacity during weightlessness. ATV 3 also carried a special fluid-management pump to the ISS, which is part of a system that the astronauts can use to convert urine into drinking water.

'Edoardo Amaldi' consists of a propulsion module with four main engines and 28 small thrusters for attitude control, an avionics module with the electronics required for the mission, and the integrated cargo space. It has docked directly with the Zvezda module and will gradually be emptied by the astronauts on board the space station over the coming months. The docking itself took around three and a half hours to complete, and was carried out using four optical sensors over the final 250 metres prior to docking. Laser pulses were directed at reflectors on the Zvezda module, in order to measure the distance, relative position and approach speed. ATV 3 first came to a halt some 40 kilometres behind the ISS before slowly approaching the Space Station.

Last modified:
29/03/2012 01:26:34

Contacts

 

Elisabeth Mittelbach
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Communications, Space Administration

Tel.: +49 228 447-385

Fax: +49 228 447-386
Volker Schmid
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Space Administration, Human Spaceflight, ISS and Exploration

Tel.: +49 228 447-305

Fax: +49 228 447-737

Int. Raumstation ISS
"Außenposten" im All
Internationale Raumstation ISS
theme

Willkommen auf der ISS, Edoardo Amaldi: ATV-3 an Internationaler Raumstation angedockt

Donnerstag, 29. März 2012

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Künstlerische Darstellung des ATV-3-Ankopplungsmanövers an die ISS

    Künstlerische Darstellung der Annäherung von ATV-3 "Edoardo Amaldi" an das Swesda-Modul der Internationalen Raumstation ISS. Unterstützt wurde der Raumtransporter von einer Funk-Verbindung zum russischen Modul, dem sogenannten Proxy-Link, und dem relativen GPS. Hierbei werden die über das satellitengestützte globale Navigationssystem gewonnenen Positionsdaten von ISS und ATV vom ATV-Bordrechner ausgewertet und verglichen. Sie dienen zur Feinjustierung der ATV-3 Position. Das russische KURS-Radar unterstützt die Navigation ab einer Entfernung von etwa 3,5 Kilometern. Auf den letzten 250 Metern zur ISS sendet ein Lasersystem Impulse an die Reflektoren des Swesda-Moduls und berechnet die Lage anhand der reflektierten Signale. Auf den letzten 50 Metern navigierte ATV-3 schließlich noch mit einem Videosystem. Insgesamt dauerte das Manöver dreieinhalb Stunden.

  • "Edoardo Amaldi" hebt die ISS regelmäßig an

    Voraussichtlich bis zum 27. August 2012 bleibt das ATV (Automated Transfer Vehicle) mit dem russischen Swesda-Modul der Internationalen Raumstation (ISS) verbunden. In den nächsten Monaten hebt der Raumtransporter "Edoardo Amaldi" die ISS immer wieder in ihrer Umlaufbahn an.

Ein Rendezvous bei 28.000 Stundenkilometern in rund 380 Kilometern Höhe ist auch für erfahrene Raumfahrtingenieure und Astronauten keine Routine: Applaus brandete deshalb nicht nur im ATV-Kontrollzentrum der Europäischen Weltraumagentur ESA in Toulouse auf, als der dritte europäische Raumtransporter mit dem Namen "Edoardo Amaldi" am 29. März 2012 um 0.31 Uhr Mitteleuropäischer Sommerzeit (22.31 Uhr Coordinated Universal Time, UTC) an der Internationalen Raumstation ISS angedockt ist.

"Läuft alles planmäßig, wird ATV-3 am 27. August 2012 die Internationale Raumstation wieder verlassen und auf seinem Rückflug beim Wiedereintritt in die Erdatmosphäre verglühen", erklärt Volker Schmid, Leiter der ISS-Fachgruppe beim Raumfahrtmanagement des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und zuständig für die Koordination der deutschen Beiträge des ATV-Programms der ESA. Das dritte Exemplar der ATV (Automated Transfer Vehicle)-Reihe, benannt nach dem italienischen Physiker und Weltraumpionier Edoardo Amaldi, war vor sechs Tagen, am 23. März 2012, vom Europäischen Weltraumbahnhof in Kourou zur Internationalen Raumstation ISS gestartet. Das 20 Tonnen schwere ATV-3 kann selbständig navigieren und ist automatisch an der Raumstation angedockt. ESA-Astronaut André Kuipers hat den Vorgang mit seinen Kollegen von der ISS aus überwacht.

Das ATV ist das europäische Versorgungs- und Antriebsraumschiff für die ISS. Im Vergleich zu seinen Vorgängern "Jules Verne" (2008) und "Johannes Kepler" (2011) hat Edoardo Amaldi rund 600 Kilogramm zusätzliche Trockenfracht an Bord. Insgesamt bringt ATV-3 knapp sieben Tonnen Nutzlast zur ISS. "Neben Nahrung und Kleidung, Wasser und Luft, Experimenten und medizinischer Ausstattung ist das vor allem Treibstoff für das russische Swesda-Modul - hier dockt ATV-3 an - und für die neun geplanten ISS-Bahnkorrekturen, die bis August vorgesehen sind", sagt DLR-Experte Schmid. Diese Manöver sind in regelmäßigen Abständen notwendig, um das Abbremsen der ISS durch den Widerstand der Atmosphäre und den damit einhergehenden Höhenverlust auszugleichen.

Zur wertvollen Fracht gehört aus wissenschaftlicher Sicht auch ein so genannter Re-entry Break-up Recorder (REBR). Dieses Gerät zeichnet die Beschleunigungen von ATV-3 beim Wiedereintritt auf und verglüht nicht. Volker Schmid: "Der Rekorder sendet in seiner letzten Flugphase die Daten über einen Iridium-Kommunikationssatelliten zur Bodenstation. Daraus lassen sich für uns Rückschlüsse über die Kräfte ziehen, die beim Wiedereintritt auf das ATV wirken." Zudem hat ATV-3 neun Experimente und Hardware zur ISS gebracht, darunter z. B. zwei Experimentmodule für die amerikanische Weltraumbehörde NASA, neue Proben für das ALTEA-Shield-Strahlendosimetrie-Experiment der ESA, Material zur Aufnahme von Proben menschlicher Ausscheidungen für das ENERGY-Experiment der ESA, Elektronikersatzteile für das BIOLAB-Labor im europäischen Columbus-Modul der ISS und Messgeräte für das NASA-Experiment VO2Max, das sich mit Veränderungen des Lungenvolumens in Schwerelosigkeit befasst. Außerdem transportiert ATV-3 eine besondere Pumpe zur Flüssigkeitsregulierung zur ISS; diese gehört zu einem System, mit dem die Astronauten Urin in Trinkwasser umwandeln können.

Edoardo Amaldi besteht aus einem  Antriebsmodul mit vier Haupttriebwerken und 28 kleinen Triebwerken für die Lagekontrolle, einem Avionikmodul mit der Elektronik, die für die Mission notwendig ist, und dem integrierten Frachtraum. Dieser hat direkt am Swesda-Modul der ISS angedockt und kann in den nächsten Monaten nach und nach von den Astronauten an Bord der Raumstation entladen werden. Das Andocken selbst dauerte etwa dreieinhalb Stunden und wurde auf den letzten 250 Metern vor der Kopplung von vier optischen Sensoren ausgeführt. Diese zielten mit Laserimpulsen auf Reflektoren am Swesda-Modul, um Abstand, relative Lage und Geschwindigkeit der Annäherung zu messen. ATV-3 stoppte zunächst rund 40 Kilometer hinter der ISS und näherte sich dann peu à peu an die Raumstation an. 

Zuletzt geändert am:
29.03.2012 00:50:36 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Elisabeth Mittelbach
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Raumfahrtmanagement

Tel.: +49 228 447-385

Fax: +49 228 447-386
Volker Schmid
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement, Bemannte Raumfahrt, ISS und Exploration

Tel.: +49 228 447-305

Fax: +49 228 447-737