About the ISS
Earth's outpost in space
International Space Station ISS
theme

The International Space Station ISS

The International Space Station ISS
Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Die ISS entfernt sich vom Space Shuttle Endeavour, Februar 2010

    The ISS moves away from Space Shuttle Endeavour, February 2010

    Image of the International Space Station (ISS) on 19 February 2010 after the undocking of Space Shuttle Endeavour. ISS with Earth in the background.

The International Space Station (ISS) is the largest technology project of all time: an outpost of humanity in space. At the same time, it is a flying laboratory with outstanding possibilities for scientific and industrial research.

The ISS proves that peaceful international use of space is to the advantage of all its partners, in spite of the initial delays and technical problems. On the contrary, this ambitious project is continuing with enormous commitment from all taking part. It has been crewed now since 2 November 2000.

The huge orbiting laboratory which is the ISS includes contributions from the USA, Russia, Canada, Japan and the member states of the European Space Agency (ESA).

Germany is the foremost ISS partner of ESA in Europe. As largest financial contributer, the Federal Republic contributes 41 per cent of the European infrastructure and to the scientific use of the space station. The German Aerospace Center (DLR) coordinates the German ESA activities within the ISS programmes related to structure, enterprise and use of the station.

Germany contributes, among other things:

  • The Columbus Laboratory
  • The developement of the ATV (Automated Transfer Vehicle)
  • The planning and execution of the operations/logistics programme, including how the astronauts are used
  • The operation of the Columbus Contol Centre in Oberpfaffenhofen
  • The data management for the Russian module Zarya
  • The robotic arm (ERA) for the Russian part of the ISS

German scientists have been active since the beginning of the scientific use of the space station in 2001. Since that time they have accomplished numerous experiments onboard the ISS. These include in particular the investigation of the human equilibrium system, the breeding of protein crystals, basic physics (plasma research) and radiation-biological questions

Last modified:
28/06/2011 09:34:10

Über die ISS
"Außenposten" im All
Internationale Raumstation ISS
theme

Die Internationale Raumstation ISS

Die Internationale Raumstation ISS
Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Die ISS entfernt sich vom Space Shuttle Endeavour, Februar 2010

    Die ISS entfernt sich vom Space Shuttle Endeavour, Februar 2010

    Die Internationale Raumstation ISS am 19. Februar 2010 nach dem Abdockmanöver des Space Shuttles Endeavour. Das Bild zeigt die ISS vor blau-weißer Erde.

Die Internationale Raumstation ISS ist das größte Technologieprojekt aller Zeiten: ein "Außenposten" der Menschheit im All, zugleich ein fliegendes Labor mit exzellenten Möglichkeiten für Wissenschaft und industrielle Forschung.

Die ISS beweist, dass eine friedliche internationale Nutzung des Weltraums zum Vorteil aller Partner möglich und sinnvoll ist. Daran haben auch zeitliche Verzögerungen und technische Probleme nichts geändert. Im Gegenteil: Das ambitionierte Projekt wird mit großem Engagement fortgeführt. Seit dem "Erstbezug" am 2. November 2000 forschen Astronauten aus verschiedenen Ländern zusammen auf der ISS.

Das "Großforschungslabor" ISS wird derzeit gemeinsam von den USA, Russland, den Mitgliedsstaaten der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA, Kanada und Japan betrieben.

Deutschland ist der wichtigste ISS-Partner der ESA in Europa. Als größter Beitragszahler finanziert die Bundesrepublik 41 Prozent der europäischen Infrastruktur und trägt maßgeblich zur wissenschaftlichen Nutzung der Raumstation bei. Das DLR Raumfahrtmanagement koordiniert die deutschen Beiträge zu den ISS-Programmen der ESA bezogen auf Aufbau, Betrieb und Nutzung der Station. Hierzu gehören unter anderem:

  • das Forschungslabor Columbus,
  • die Entwicklung des Logistik-Fahrzeugs ATV (Automated Transfer Vehicle),
  • die Planung und Durchführung des Nutzungs- und Betriebsprogramms, einschließlich des Astronauteneinsatzes,
  • der Betrieb des Columbus-Kontrollzentrums in Oberpfaffenhofen,
  • das Datenmanagementsystem für das russische Modul Zarya,
  • der Roboterarm (ERA) für den russischen Teil der Station.

Für Deutschland ist die Raumstation Gegenwart und Zukunft zugleich. Deutsche Wissenschaftler sind seit Beginn der wissenschaftlichen Nutzung der Raumstation im Jahr 2001 dabei. Mit der Forschung auf der ISS verfolgt das DLR drei übergeordnete Ziele: die Erforschung der Natur auf der Erde, die Eröffnung von neuen Anwendungspotentialen in der Forschung und das Schaffen einer Grundlage für zukünftige Explorationen wie Langzeitmissionen zum Mond oder Mars.

Zuletzt geändert am:
26.03.2014 10:23:42 Uhr