Pascale Ehrenfreund - Chair of the DLR Executive Board

Pascale Ehrenfreund

Curriculum vitae

Pascale Ehrenfreund has been Chair of the DLR Executive Board since 17 August 2015.

Born in 1960, Ehrenfreund obtained degrees in Astronomy and Biology at the University of Vienna, where she also earned her doctorate in 1990. Ehrenfreund was appointed as a Fellow of the European Space Agency (ESA) at the Leiden Observatory in the Netherlands, upon completion of her doctoral studies.

  Pascale Ehrenfreund

She was awarded an APART fellowship from the Austrian Academy of Sciences (from 1996 to 1999), which she used to complete her professorial thesis, ‘Cosmic Dust’, at the University of Vienna.

Between 2001 and 2005, Ehrenfreund held a professorship in Astrobiology at the University of Amsterdam and the University of Leiden, where she remains a Visiting Professor today. In addition, between 2005 and 2008 she was a Distinguished Visiting Scientist at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, USA, which is part of the California Institute of Technology.

Ehrenfreund obtained a Master of Arts in Management and Leadership in 2008. Since then, she has been Professor of Space Policy and International Affairs at the Elliott School of International Affairs, George Washington University, and Lead Investigator at the NASA Astrobiology Institute.

She accepted the honorary position of President of the Austrian Science Fund (FWF) in 2013, from which she stepped down upon her appointment at DLR. Ehrenfreund is married with two children.

Last modified:
07/10/2015 10:27:01

Contacts

 

Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Chair of the Executive Board

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4202

Fax: +49 2203 64190

Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund - Vorsitzende des Vorstands

Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund

Lebenslauf

Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund ist seit dem 15. August 2015 die Vorstandsvorsitzende des DLR.

Frau Ehrenfreund, Jahrgang 1960, studierte an der Universität Wien Astronomie und Biologie. 1990 folgte die Promotion an der Universität Wien. Nach absolviertem Doktoratsstudium ging Frau Ehrenfreund als Fellow der Europäischen Weltraumagentur ESA an das Observatorium Leiden in den Niederlanden.

  Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund

Von 1996 bis 1999 erhielt sie ein APART-Stipendium der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, das sie für die Erarbeitung ihrer Habilitationsschrift in Astrochemie an der Universität Wien zum Thema "Kosmischer Staub" nutzte.

Von 2001 an war Frau Ehrenfreund vier Jahre lang Professorin für Astrobiologie an der Universität Amsterdam sowie der Universität Leiden. Hier ist sie nach wie vor Visiting Professor. Zudem war sie zwischen 2005 und 2008 auch als Distinguished Visiting Scientist an dem zum California Institute of Technology gehörende Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, USA tätig.

2008 absolvierte Ehrenfreund ein Masterstudium in Management und Internationale Beziehungen. Ebenfalls seit 2008 ist sie Professorin für Space Policy and International Affairs am Space Policy Institute der George Washington University sowie Lead Investigator am NASA Astrobiology Institute.

Ihr Ehrenamt als Präsidentin des österreichischen Fonds zur Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung (FWF) übernahm sie 2013 und endet mit ihrem Wechsel zum DLR. Frau Ehrenfreund ist verheiratet und hat zwei Kinder.

Zuletzt geändert am:
07.03.2016 07:36:57 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Prof. Dr. Pascale Ehrenfreund
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Vorstandsvorsitzende

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4202

Fax: +49 2203 64190