Rolf Henke - Member of the Executive Board

Curriculum vitae

 

Rolf Henke
  Rolf Henke

Rolf Henke joined the DLR Executive Board on 1 November 2010 and is responsible for Aeronautics research. Henke was born in Lüdenscheid in 1956 and studied Aerospace Technology between 1975 and 1980 at the Technical University of Berlin (Technische Universität Berlin; TU Berlin). In 1981, he received a scholarship in the form of a postgraduate bursary from the British Council for a research placement at the Cranfield Institute of Technology (now Cranfield University) in the UK.

From 1980 to 1985, with some interruptions, he worked as a research fellow at the TU Berlin Aerospace Institute. From 1985 to 2006, Henke worked at MBB (Messerschmitt-Bölkow-Blohm, now Airbus Operations). From 1985 to 1992, he was Test Manager for Special Projects, with particular emphasis on laminar flow technology, and went on to take charge of all laminar flow programmes at Airbus between 1992 and 1998. This work also included flight-testing of the Airbus A320. Alongside his work at Airbus, Henke was a lecturer in Aerospace Engineering at Bremen University of Applied Sciences (Hochschule Bremen) from 1992 to 1996. In addition, he worked as Airbus Transnational Coordinator for the 'Technology Area Aerodynamics' during this time. From 1998, he was in charge of the German national concept for Adaptive Wing Technology (Adaptive Flügeltechnologie; ADIF) before becoming Head of Airbus High-Lift Technology in 2000. From 2002 to 2006, he also headed the EU technology platform AWIATOR (Aircraft Wing with Advanced Technology Operation), and was involved in wing technology development, and was a Senior Project Manager and a member of the Airbus Research and Technology Management team. During this time, he was also a co-initiator and founding member of the Steering Committee at the German High-Lift Center (Lenkungskreises Hochauftriebszentrum Deutschland; LHD), set up to safeguard the German work share, and was also Head of the Cluster for Conceptual Aircraft Design (CCAD) at LHD.

In 2006, Henke became Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics at the Technical University of Rhineland Westphalia (Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule; RWTH) in Aachen and Head of the Institute of Aerospace Technology (Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrt; ILR) there. At RWTH Aachen, Henke was involved in design, evaluation and simulation capabilities as well asin the development of a facility for conducting field measurements on aircraft noise emissions. He founded new courses on aircraft design and aircraft systems technology and was a member of various bodies such as the Faculty Council, the Teaching Committee and the RWTH Ethics Commission.

Alongside his work at Airbus and at RWTH Aachen, Henke was also engaged in various other assignments. For example, from 2002 to 2006, he was spokesperson for Germany’s national Fluid Mechanics Working Group (Strömungsmechanische Arbeitsgemeinschaft; STAB) and, since 2004, has been Vice President and a Member of the Senate of the German Society for Aeronautics and Astronautics Lilienthal –Oberth (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Luft- und Raumfahrt – Lilienthal-Oberth; DGLR). Since 2009, he has been a member of the Programme Committee of the International Council of the Aeronautical Sciences (ICAS) as well as a member of the Editorial Board of the Aeronautical Journals of the Council of European Aerospace Societies (CEAS).

Henke will continue to teach through a special professorship at RWTH Aachen.

Last modified: 29/01/2013 09:41:41

URL for this article

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10329/510_read-201/

Links

  • Deutsche Gesellschaft für Luft- und Raumfahrt - Lilienthal - Oberth e.V.
    (http://www.dglr.de/)
  • International Council of the Aeronautical Sciences
    (http://www.icas2006.org)
  • Council of European Aerospace Societies (CEAS)
    (http://www.ceas.org/)

Prof. Rolf Henke - Mitglied des Vorstands

Lebenslauf

 

 

Rolf Henke
  Rolf Henke

Prof. Rolf Henke ist seit dem 1. November 2010 im Vorstand des DLR zuständig für den Bereich Luftfahrt. Henke wurde 1956 in Lüdenscheid geboren und studierte von 1975 bis 1980 Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik an der Technischen Universität Berlin (TUB). 1981 erhielt er ein Stipendium für ein Post Graduate Bursary des British Council für einen Forschungsaufenthalt am Cranfield Institute of Technology (heute Cranfield University), England.

Von 1980 bis 1985 war er außerdem mit Unterbrechungen Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrt der TUB. Von 1985 bis 2006 arbeitete Henke bei MBB (Messerschmitt-Bölkow-Blohm, heute Airbus Operations GmbH). Er war von 1985 bis 1992 Versuchsleiter für Sondervorhaben, insbesondere zur Laminartechnologie, und leitete von 1992 bis 1998 bei Airbus alle Programme zur Laminarhaltung, zu der auch die Flugerprobung auf dem Airbus A 320 gehörte. Neben seiner Tätigkeit bei Airbus lehrte Henke von 1992 bis 1996 als Lehrbeauftragter für Flugzeugbau an der Hochschule Bremen. Zusätzlich arbeitete er in diesem Zeitraum als Transnationaler Airbus-Koordinator der "Technology Area Aerodynamics". Ab 1998 leitete er das nationale Leitkonzept Adaptiver Flügel (ADIF), bevor er 2000 Leiter der Airbus-Hochauftriebstechnologie wurde. Zusätzlich war er von 2002 bis 2006 Leiter der EU-Technologieplattform AWIATOR (Aircraft Wing with Advanced Technology Operation) zur Flügeltechnologieentwicklung sowie Senior Project Manager und Mitglied des Airbus Forschungs- und Technologie-Managements. In diesem Zeitraum war er unter anderem Mit-Initiator und Gründungsmitglied des Lenkungskreises Hochauftriebszentrum Deutschland (LHD) zur Absicherung des deutschen Workshare und Leiter des Clusters Conceptual Aircraft Design (CCAD) im LHD.

2006 wechselte Henke als Professor für Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik an die Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule (RWTH) Aachen und leitete das Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrt (ILR). Henke baute an der RWTH Aachen Entwurfs- und Bewertungs- und Simulationsfähigkeiten sowie eine Anlage zu Flugzeuglärm-Feldmessungen auf und initiierte neue Lehrveranstaltungen zum Flugzeugentwurf und zur Flugzeugsystemtechnik. Er war Mitglied in verschiedenen Gremien wie dem Fakultätsrat, Kommission für Lehre und der RWTH - Ethik-Kommission.

Neben seiner Arbeit bei Airbus und an der RWTH Aachen nahm Henke unterschiedliche Aufgaben war: So war er von 2002 bis 2006 Sprecher der nationalen Strömungsmechanischen Arbeitsgemeinschaft (STAB) und ist seit 2004 Vizepräsident und Mitglied des Senats der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Luft- und Raumfahrt – Lilienthal-Oberth e.V. (DGLR). Seit 2009 ist er Mitglied des Programme Committee (PC) des International Council of the Aeronautical Sciences (ICAS) sowie Mitglied im "Editorial Board" des Aeronautical Journals des Council of European Aerospace Societies (CEAS).
Henke wird seine Lehrtätigkeit im Rahmen einer außerplanmäßigen Professur an der RWTH Aachen weiter fortführen.

Zuletzt geändert am: 23.01.2012 16:30:23 Uhr

URL dieses Artikels

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10329/510_read-201/

Links

  • Deutsche Gesellschaft für Luft- und Raumfahrt - Lilienthal - Oberth e.V.
    (http://www.dglr.de)
  • International Council of the Aeronautical Sciences
    (http://www.icas2006.org)
  • Council of European Aerospace Societies (CEAS) (engl.)
    (http://www.ceas.org/)