Karsten Lemmer – Member of the Executive Board

Curriculum vitae

Karsten Lemmer
  Karsten Lemmer

Karsten Lemmer is the DLR Executive Board Member responsible for the areas of Energy and Transport. The electrical engineer pursued a career in academia and the railway industry before joining DLR as Institute Director in 2001.

In his role as Executive Board Member for Energy and Transport, Karsten Lemmer is responsible for the strategic orientation and ongoing development of research conducted by roughly 1200 scientists, whose broad spectrum of expertise contributes to research in the fields of energy and transport.

After graduating in electrical engineering, Karsten Lemmer (*1964) worked as a research assistant and tutor at TU Braunschweig, where he also completed his doctorate in 1994. He went on to lead a broad variety of national and international projects in research, consultancy and industry. In 1997, he joined Siemens AG as manager for European Projects and was later named director for New Business Development. In 2001, after a joint appointment with TU Braunschweig, he joined DLR as the founding Director of the DLR Institute of Transportation Systems, which is now home to over 170 researchers. He accepted the position as DLR Executive Board Member for Energy and Transport in March 2017.

Lemmer is an appointed member of the German Academy of Science and Engineering (acatech) and the national delegate on the European Rail Research Advisory Council (ERRAC), where he represents the interests of the Federal Republic of Germany. Moreover, he sits on the Round Table 'Automated Driving' initiated by the German Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure and is a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the National Organisation Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technology (NOW).

Last modified:
05/04/2017 16:02:46

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karsten Lemmer - Mitglied des Vorstands

Lebenslauf

  Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karsten Lemmer

Im Vorstand des DLR ist Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karsten Lemmer verantwortlich für die Bereiche Energie und Verkehr. Der Elektrotechniker arbeitete an der Universität und in der Bahnindustrie, bevor er 2001 als Institutsdirektor ins DLR kam.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karsten Lemmer vertritt die Bereiche Energie und Verkehr im Vorstand des DLR. Er verantwortet die strategische Ausrichtung und Weiterentwicklung der Forschungsarbeiten von rund 1200 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern, die mit einem breiten Spektrum an Kompetenzen zur Energie- und Verkehrsforschung beitragen.

Karsten Lemmer (*1964) war nach dem Studium der Elektrotechnik als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Akademischer Rat an der Technischen Universität Braunschweig tätig, wo er 1994 auch promovierte. Im Anschluss leitete er vielfältige nationale und internationale Forschungs-, Beratungs- und Industrieprojekte. 1997 wechselte er zur Siemens AG als Leiter für europäische Projekte und später Director New Business Development. 2001 kam er nach einer gemeinsamen Berufung mit der Technischen Universität Braunschweig ins DLR als Gründungsdirektor des Instituts für Verkehrssystemtechnik, in dem heute über 170 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter forschen. Im März 2017 übernahm er im DLR die Aufgabe als Fachvorstand für Energie und Verkehr.

Lemmer ist ordentlich berufenes Mitglied der Deutschen Akademie der Technikwissenschaften (acatech). Er vertritt im European Rail Research Advisory Council (ERRAC) als Nationaler Vertreter die Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Er ist Mitglied des Runden Tisches für automatisiertes Fahren im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur und gehört zum wissenschaftlichen Beirat der Nationalen Organisation Wasserstoff- und Brennstoffzellentechnologie (NOW).

Zuletzt geändert am:
03.04.2017 15:51:59 Uhr