Experiments
Earth's outpost in space
International Space Station ISS
theme

Life sciences – human physiology

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • André Kuipers trainiert mit dem Eye Tracking Device

    André Kuipers trains with the Eye Tracking Device

    ESA Astronaut André Kuipers trains with the Eye Tracking Device.

Hormonal and immunological changes in astronauts during and after spaceflight - IMMUNO

Scientists have long been aware that spending time in space affects an astronaut’s immune system, but the exact reason for this, and the mechanisms at work, are not well understood. A variety of stress factors, such as isolation, workload and disrupted sleep pattern, are probably some of the triggers. But living in space is also associated with a number of special conditions such as weightlessness and radiation, which also play a part. Seriously ill people on Earth have to contend with similar immunological problems. In both cases, there needs to be a sufficient ability to fight off disease but at the same time the immune system must not be overtaxed.

Scientists at the Ludwig-Maximilian University in Munich are studying the changes in the immune systems of the permanent ISS crew using a wide range of biochemical analyses combined with psychological testing. Using comparisons with isolation and bed rest studies, they hope to draw conclusions about the contribution of individual factors and the immune defence mechanism. This research is important to the development of new preventive and therapeutic treatment for astronauts and seriously ill patients in intensive care.

Coordinator: A. Chouker (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Munich)

Human orientation in space during extended periods of weightlessness - ETD

The symptoms of motion sickness, also known as ‘kinetosis’, include skin pallor, cold sweats, nausea and vomiting. Sufferers also frequently complain of lethargy and fatigue. This phenomenon often occurs on board ships, which is why it is also known as seasickness or travel sickness. When astronauts suffer from these same symptoms in space because of altered gravity, the condition is known as space sickness.

Nowadays, kinetosis is generally recognised to be the result of a sensory conflict, with two different systems of the body ‘competing’ with each other: the body’s sense of balance (controlled by the vestibular system in the inner ear), which continually detects the orientation of the head compared with the force of gravity, and the sense of sight.

If these systems transmit contradictory information to the brain, this can result in sensory conflict. For example, in zero gravity the eyes may continue to transmit the usual information to the brain, but the inner ear is no longer receiving any stimuli to tell it how the body is oriented against gravity.

As yet there are no satisfactory solutions for treating or preventing kinetosis. It is possible to alleviate certain symptoms with medication, but this does not address the actual problem. Onboard the ISS, a new device called 3-D ETD (Eye Tracking Device) is being used to measure astronauts’ eye movements in order to study the sense of balance.

Researchers hope that this will help them understand the processes that can lead to kinetosis, making it possible to make better diagnoses and offer better therapy for balance and motion disorders both in space and in clinical practice.

The Eye Tracking Device has now also been successfully marketed by two spin-off companies in Berlin in a number of commercial ventures. The range of potential applications is very broad. Such applications might include detecting fatigue in lorry and bus drivers, process control in laser eye surgery to correct short-sightedness and diagnose a variety of neurological conditions such as dizziness, or even tracking the movements of the head and eyes in test individuals for research into advertising effectiveness.

German scientists are also involved in two other human physiology experiments: the CARD experiment for the cardiovascular system and the EDOS experiment for bone metabolism.

Coordinator: A. Clarke (Charité Berlin)

Last modified:
24/06/2011 10:29:36

Experimente
"Außenposten" im All
Internationale Raumstation ISS
theme

Lebenswissenschaften - Humanphysiologie

  • André Kuipers trainiert mit dem Eye Tracking Device André Kuipers trainiert mit dem Eye Tracking Device

    André Kuipers trainiert mit dem Eye Tracking Device

    ESA-Astronaut André Kuipers trainiert mit dem Eye Tracking Device.

loading
 

Hormonelle und immunologische Veränderungen von Astronauten während und nach Weltraumflügen - IMMUNO

Es ist seit langem bekannt, dass das Immunsystem von Astronauten durch den Weltraumaufenthalt beeinträchtigt wird. Die genauen Ursachen und Mechanismen sind jedoch weitgehend unbekannt. Vielfältige Stressfaktoren, wie Isolation, Arbeitsbelastung und Störungen des Schlafrhythmus gehören wahrscheinlich zu den Auslösern. Aber auch die besonderen Bedingungen des Weltraums wie Schwerelosigkeit und Strahlung tragen zu dieser Beeinträchtigung bei. Mit vergleichbaren Problemen des Immunsystems haben Schwerkranke auf der Erde zu kämpfen. In beiden Fällen muss einerseits eine ausreichende Abwehrkraft zum Schutz vor Krankheitskeimen vorhanden sein, andererseits darf das Immunsystem auch nicht überbeansprucht werden.

Mit umfangreichen biochemischen Analysen, ergänzt durch psychologische Tests, untersuchen Wissenschaftler der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München die Veränderungen des Immunsystems der ISS Langzeit-Crews. Aus Vergleichen mit Isolations- und Bettruhestudien erwarten sie Aufschlüsse über die Rolle der einzelnen Faktoren sowie über den Mechanismus der Immunabwehr. Dies ist die Voraussetzung für die Entwicklung neuer vorbeugender oder therapeutischer Maßnahmen für Astronauten und Schwerkranke in der Intensivmedizin.

Koordinator: A. Chouker (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, München)

Orientierung des Menschen im Raum während längerer Schwerelosigkeit - ETD

Die Probleme der Bewegungskrankheit, auch Kinetose genannt, bestehen aus einer Reihe von Symptomen, wie etwa Hautblässe, kaltem Schweißausbruch, Übelkeit und Erbrechen. Zusätzlich stellt sich oft ein Gefühl von Lethargie und Müdigkeit ein. Diese Phänomene treten häufig bei Schiffsreisen auf und werden daher auch als See- oder Reisekrankheit bezeichnet. Bei Astronauten, bei denen gleiche Symptome aufgrund von veränderten Schwerkraftbedingungen auftreten können, spricht man von Raumkrankheit.

Die heutzutage allgemein anerkannte Ursache für die Kinetose ist dabei ein sensorischer Konflikt, bei dem vorwiegend zwei verschiedene Systeme des Körpers "konkurrieren". Da ist einerseits der Gleichgewichtssinn (vestibuläres System im Innenohr), der zu jeder Zeit die Orientierung des Kopfes zur Schwerkraft erfasst, und andererseits das visuelle, optische System.

Liefern uns die beiden Systeme widersprüchliche Informationen, kann es zu einem sensorischen Konflikt kommen. So übermittelt das visuelle System beispielsweise in der Schwerelosigkeit die gleichen Informationen wie bisher, während das Gleichgewichtsorgan keine Reizung über unsere gewohnte Ausrichtung zur Schwerkraft erfährt.

Eine angemessene Behandlung beziehungsweise Vermeidung der Kinetose ist ein noch immer ungelöstes Problem. Zwar ist es möglich, gewisse Symptome teilweise durch Medikamente zu unterdrücken, eine Lösung stellt dies jedoch nicht dar.

Zur Untersuchung des Gleichgewichtssystems werden auf der Internationalen Raumstation ISS Messungen der Augenbewegungen mit dem für die ISS neu entwickelten 3-D ETD (Eye Tracking Device) vorgenommen. Die Forscher lernen hierdurch die Vorgänge, die zu einer Kinetose führen können, genauer zu verstehen, um sowohl im Weltraum als auch im klinischen Alltag bessere Diagnose- und Therapiemöglichkeiten von Gleichgewichts- und Bewegungsstörungen einsetzten zu können.

Inzwischen wird das Eye-Tracking-Device in verschiedenen kommerziellen Ausgestaltungen von zwei Firmenausgründungen in Berlin erfolgreich vermarktet. Die Anwendungen sind höchst unterschiedlich. Sie reichen von der Feststellung der Müdigkeit von LKW- und Busfahrern über die Verlaufskontrolle bei der Laser-Hornhautabtragung zur Behandlung von Kurzsichtigkeit und zur Diagnose einer Vielzahl von neurologischen Erkrankungen, etwa auch von Schwindel, bis hin zur Verfolgung der Kopf- und Augenbewegung von Probanden bei der Werbewirkungsforschung.

Deutsche Wissenschaftler sind zudem an zwei weiteren Experimenten der Humanphysiologie beteiligt: an CARD zur Herz-Kreislauf-Regulation und an EDOS zum Knochenstoffwechsel.

Koordinator: A. Clarke (Charité Berlin)

Zuletzt geändert am:
27.07.2011 10:36:27 Uhr