German Astronauts
Earth's outpost in space
International Space Station ISS
theme

Klaus-Dietrich Flade

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Klaus%2dDietrich Flade mit der Maus aus der "Sendung mit der Maus"

    Klaus-Dietrich Flade with the mouse from 'Sendung mit der Maus' (Mouse TV)

    Flade travelled into orbit on 17 March 1992 for seven days. Alongside his colleagues there was an additional guest – the mouse from popular television show 'Die Sendung mit der Maus' (literally, 'The programme with the mouse' – renamed 'Mouse TV' for English-speaking audiences) accompanied the crew on their mission Dressed in a silver space suit, she floated through the Russian Mir space station. This event was beamed live to viewers on Earth and the tradition was continued five years later on the Mir '97 mission, when Reinhold Ewald brought along 'Hein Blöd' – a character from the same programme.

Klaus-Dietrich Flade was born on 23 August 1952 in Büdesheim, near the Belgian border. He served in the military from 1974 to 1976 where he completed both his officer and aircraft mechanics training. He then studied for a degree in Aerospace Engineering at the University of the Federal Armed Forces in Munich (Universität der Bundeswehr München).

Prior to commencing his training as a test pilot in England in 1988, Flade had been a pilot of both single and multi-engine high-performance aircraft for eight years. Flade became a member of the German astronaut team in October 1990 and was involved in the preparation of the Mir '92 mission, where biomedical experiments were to be performed.

Flade lifted off on 17 March 1992 for a week-long stay in orbit with his colleagues and a special guest. The mouse from popular children's television programme 'Die Sendung mit der Maus' (literally, 'The programme with the mouse', renamed 'Mouse TV' for English-speaking audiences) accompanied the crew on their mission. Dressed in a silver space suit, she floated through the Russian Mir space station. This event was beamed live to viewers on Earth and the tradition was continued five years later on the Mir '97 mission, when Reinhold Ewald brought along 'Hein Blöd', a character from the same programme.

DLR assumed all payload operation and astronaut supervision duties for the Mir '92 mission.

Flade became an Airbus test pilot following the successful conclusion of the mission. He lives and works in Toulouse, France.

Last modified:
23/06/2011 16:20:41

Deutsche Astronauten
"Außenposten" im All
Internationale Raumstation ISS
theme

Klaus-Dietrich Flade

  • Klaus%2dDietrich Flade mit der Maus aus der "Sendung mit der Maus" Klaus%2dDietrich Flade mit der Maus aus der "Sendung mit der Maus"

    Klaus-Dietrich Flade mit der Maus aus der "Sendung mit der Maus"

    Am 17. März 1992 startete Flade für sieben Tage in den Orbit. Mit an Bord war neben seinen Kollegen noch ein weiterer Gast: Die Maus aus der "Sendung mit der Maus" begleitete die Kosmonauten mit auf ihre Mission. Ausgestattet mit einem silbernen Raumanzug schwebte sie durch die russische Raumstation MIR. Per Liveschaltung erreichte das Ereignis die Zuschauer auf der Erde. Diese Tradition wurde mit der MIR '97 Mission fünf Jahre später fortgesetzt, als Reinhold Ewald "Hein Blöd" mit auf die Mission nahm.

loading
 

Klaus-Dietrich Flade wurde am 23. August 1952 in Büdesheim nahe der belgischen Grenze geboren. Von 1974 bis 1976 absolvierte er eine militärische Offiziersausbildung und Ausbildung als Flugzeugmechaniker. Im Anschluss nahm er sein Studium der Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik an der Universität der Bundeswehr in München auf.

Bevor Flade 1988 seine Ausbildung zum Testpiloten in England begann, war er acht Jahre Flugzeugführer in ein- und mehrstrahligen Hochleistungsflugzeugen. Im Oktober 1990 wurde Flade Mitglied des Deutschen Astronautenteams und war in die Vorbereitungen für die Mir '92 Mission involviert, auf der 14 biomedizinische und materialwissenschaftliche Experimente durchgeführt wurden. Flades Ausbildung fand auch im Sternenstädtchen bei Moskau statt.

Am 17. März 1992 startete Flade für sieben Tage in den Orbit. Mit an Bord war neben seinen Kollegen noch ein weiterer Gast: Die Maus aus der "Sendung mit der Maus" begleitete die Kosmonauten mit auf ihre Mission. Ausgestattet mit einem silbernen Raumanzug schwebte sie durch die russische Raumstation Mir. Per Liveschaltung erreichte das Ereignis die Zuschauer auf der Erde. Diese Tradition wurde mit der Mir '97 Mission fünf Jahre später fortgesetzt, alsReinhold Ewald "Hein Blöd" mit auf die Mission nahm.

Im Rahmen der Mir '92 Mission übernahm das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) alle Aufgaben des Nutzlastbetriebes und der Astronautenbetreuung.

Nach dem erfolgreichen Abschluss der Mission wurde Flade Testpilot bei Airbus. Er lebt und arbeitet in Toulouse, Frankreich.

Zuletzt geändert am:
20.03.2014 14:12:37 Uhr