German Astronauts
Earth's outpost in space
International Space Station ISS
theme

Hans Schlegel

  • Hans Schlegel Hans Schlegel

    Hans Schlegel

    German astronaut Hans Schlegel donning his helmet shortly before liftoff.

  • D2%2dMission mit Hans Schlegel 1993 D2%2dMission mit Hans Schlegel 1993

    D2 mission with Hans Schlegel in 1993

    German ESA astronaut Hans Schlegel first flew into space in 1993, working within the Spacelab module as part of the German D2 mission.

    Many of the lessons learned in the development and building of Spacelab have led to the rules and procedures used to this day in the development and building of space equipment both in Germany, within DLR, and in Europe as a whole. For the first time, Spacelab converted the shuttle from being purely a space transporter into being a platform for scientific research in orbit.

loading
 

Hans Schlegel became Germany's sixth astronaut in orbit when he lifted off on 26 April 1993 as part of the second German Spacelab mission (D2). With him were German Ulrich Walter and five American astronauts. The multidisciplinary mission hosted 88 experiments in the fields of materials and life sciences, technology development, automation and robotics, as well as Earth and space observation. Some 11 nations participated in the experiments that were performed.

Hans Schlegel was born on 3 August 1951 in Überlingen/Friedrichshafen. On completion of his university entrance examinations in 1970, he served for two years in the German Federal Defence Force (Bundeswehr), where he trained in the parachute regiment. Thereafter he studied physics at the RWTH (Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule) Aachen University, graduating in 1979. He also took his first career steps at RWTH by becoming a research assistant in experimental solid-state physics. He worked as a process specialist in non-destructive materials testing at the Research and Development Department of the 'Institut Dr. Friedrich Förster GmbH & Co. KG' in Reutlingen between 1986 and 1988.

In 1988 Schlegel began his astronaut training at DLR. He can look back at about 1300 parabolic trajectories flown aboard a KC-135, while he was performing various experiments. In 1990 he was appointed payload specialist aboard the D2 mission. His preparatory training for the scientific experiments took place at both DLR in Cologne and the Johnson Space Center (JSC) in Houston, Texas.

In 1998, five years after his first space flight, Schlegel was assimilated into ESA's European Astronaut Corps and trained as a mission specialist at JSC with NASA's yearly astronaut intake. However, his first flight was not to be his last; 15 years after his first space flight, Schlegel, now a senior ESA astronaut at JSC, flew into space again on 7 February 2008. He received almost two years of training in order to be optimally prepared for the mission. The objective of the STS-122 mission was to attach ESA's Columbus laboratory module onto the International Space Station (ISS). Columbus, with a planned lifespan of 10 years, is the first European space laboratory intended for long-term research in space. Columbus was transported to the ISS by the Space Shuttle Atlantis.

Hans Schlegel continues to work in his capacity as chief ESA astronaut.

Last modified:
06/06/2013 14:57:29

Deutsche Astronauten
"Außenposten" im All
Internationale Raumstation ISS
theme

Hans Schlegel

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Hans Schlegel

    Hans Schlegel

    Der deutsche Astronaut Hans Schlegel kurz vor dem Start beim Aufsetzen seines Helms

  • D2%2dMission mit Hans Schlegel 1993

    D2-Mission mit Hans Schlegel 1993

    1993 flog der deutsche Astronaut Hans Schlegel mit dem Spacelab im Rahmen der D2-Mission ins All. Vieles von dem, was an Regeln und Prozeduren bei der Entwicklung und beim Bau des Spacelab entwickelt wurde, hat Eingang gefunden in die Verfahren, nach denen bis heute in Deutschland, beim DLR und in Europa Weltraumgeräte entwickelt und gebaut werden.

Am 26. April 1993 flog Hans Schlegel im Rahmen der zweiten deutschen Spacelab-Mission (D2) als fünfter deutscher Astronaut in den Weltraum. Mit an Bord waren neben dem Deutschen Ulrich Walter noch fünf amerikanische Astronauten. Die multidisziplinäre Mission umfasste 88 Experimente auf den Gebieten Material- und Lebenswissenschaften, Technologie, Automatisierung, Robotik sowie Erd- und Weltraumbeobachtung. Insgesamt hatten elf Nationen Anteil an den durchgeführten Experimenten.

Hans Schlegel wurde am 3. August 1951 in Überlingen/Friedrichshafen geboren. Nach dem Abitur 1970 verbrachte er zwei Jahre bei der Bundeswehr, wo er zum Fallschirmjäger ausgebildet wurde. Im Anschluss studierte er Physik an der Rheinisch-Westfälischen Technischen Hochschule (RWTH) Aachen und schloss 1979 mit dem Diplom ab. Auch seine ersten beruflichen Schritte machte Schlegel an der RWTH, wo er als wissenschaftlicher Angestellter mit der Fachrichtung experimentelle Festkörperphysik tätig war. Von 1986 bis 1988 arbeitete er als Verfahrensspezialist für zerstörungsfreie Werkstoffprüfung in der Forschungs- und Entwicklungs-Abteilung der Firma 'Institut Dr. Friedrich Förster GmbH & Co. KG' in Reutlingen.

1988 begann Schlegel seine Ausbildung zum Wissenschaftsastronauten beim Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR). Schlegel blickt unter anderem auf etwa 1300 geflogene Parabeln an Bord einer KC-135 zurück, während derer er zahlreiche Experimente durchführte. Schlegels Ernennung zum Nutzlastspezialisten für die D2-Mission erfolgte 1990. Seine Ausbildung an wissenschaftlichen Experimenten fand sowohl im DLR in Köln als auch im Johnson Space Center (JSC) in Houston, Texas, statt.

1998, fünf Jahre nach seinem ersten Weltraumflug, wurde Schlegel ins Europäische Astronautenkorps der ESA aufgenommen und im JSC zum Missionsspezialisten mit dem NASA-Astronautenjahrgang ausgebildet. Doch sein erster Flug sollte nicht sein letzter gewesen sein: 15 Jahre nach seiner ersten Mission flog Schlegel, mittlerweile leitender ESA-Astronaut im Johnson Space Center, am 7. Februar 2008 erneut ins All. Zuvor hatte er ein knapp zweijähriges Training absolviert, um optimal auf den Einsatz vorbereitet zu sein. Ziel der Mission STS-122 war es, das ESA-Raumlabor Columbus an der Internationalen Raumstation ISS zu montieren. Columbus ist mit einer geplanten Lebenszeit von zehn Jahren das erste europäische Raumlabor für die Langzeitforschung unter Weltraumbedingungen. Transportiert wurde Columbus mit dem Space Shuttle Atlantis.

Heute arbeitet Hans Schlegel weiter in seiner Funktion als leitender ESA-Astronaut.

Zuletzt geändert am:
20.03.2014 16:49:32 Uhr