German astronauts and their missions
Earth's outpost in space
International Space Station ISS
theme

Alexander Gerst

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Alexander Gerst beim Training
    Alexander Gerst during training

    For his six-month stay on the ISS, Alexander Gerst trained at the Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center in Star City, Russia.

  • Alexander Gerst
    The 14th German astronaut: Alexander Gerst

    Alexander Gerst is the 14th German to be selected for the European Space Agency (ESA) Astronaut Corps. He and five other candidates were selected from a pool of 8413 applicants. He has been based at the European Astronaut Center (EAC) in Cologne since September 2009, where he has been receiving basic astronaut training.

In May 2009 Alexander Gerst was presented as one of six new ESA astronauts, overcoming stiff competition by 8,413 applicants from 20 member states. After completing his two-year basic training at the Russian space corporation Rocosmos in Moscow and graduating from the European Astronaut Centre in Cologne, he was appointed to become the third German astronaut to visit the International Space Station (ISS).

There were good reasons to select Alexander Gerst as a candidate for future projects in orbit.

Born 3 May 1976 in Künzelsau in the Swabian region of south Germany, Gerst was fascinated by our universe, the origins of the moon and what might be hiding behind the horizon from a young age. After finishing secondary school, he studied geosciences at the University of Karlsruhe, before completing his Master of Science in the same subject in Wellington, New Zealand. He was a summer scholar at the German Aerospace Center in 2006. Gerst completed his doctorate at the University of Hamburg in 2010, submitting a thesis on the eruption dynamics of the Arctic volcano Mount Erebus. Pursuing his childhood dream, he applied for acceptance to the ESA Astronaut Training Division in 2008.

The time finally arrived in August 2011: Alexander Gerst was named to be crew member for the Blue Dot mission to the International Space Station ISS, joining Maxim Surayev from Russia and Reid Wiseman from the United States. Specific preparations for the mission in the areas of medicine, aerospace engineering, cosmic research and the Russian language lasted two years, after which Gerst and his two colleagues took off on their space mission from the Baikonur spaceport on board a Soyuz launch vehicle on 28 May 2014. During his six-month stay Gerst spent working as a board engineer on ISS expedition 40/41. Besides numerous experiments in the areas of material physics, human physiology, radiation biology and astrophysics, among others, Alexander Gerst was also responsible for the docking manoeuvre of the European transport vehicle ATV-5, as well as a spacewalk. After 165 days and eight hours of living and working on the research station, Gerst returned to Earth on 10 November 2014. After touch-down, Gerst has received health check-ups and medical support at the German Aerospace Center in Cologne and elsewhere. At the same time the evaluation of the experiments carried out in space started and continues to the present day.

German president Joachim Gauck awarded Alexander Gerst the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany, First Class, on 13 January 2015, in recognition of his contribution to science and his achievements on board the ISS. In addition, minister-president Winfried Kretschmann also presented him with the Order of Merit of Baden-Württemberg on 25 April 2015.

The European Space Agency ESA is keen for Alexander Gerst to continue his extra-terrestrial career. Tentative plans for voyages to the moon or a return to the ISS are in the pipeline.

Last modified:
23/05/2017 11:52:57

Deutsche Astronauten
"Außenposten" im All
Internationale Raumstation ISS
theme

Alexander Gerst

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Alexander Gerst beim Training
    Alexander Gerst beim Training

    Alexander Gerst trainiert im Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center im Sternenstädtchen in Russland für seinen sechsmonatigen Aufenthalt auf der ISS

  • Der 14. deutsche Astronaut Alexander Gerst

    Als 14. Deutscher wurde Alexander Gerst im Mai 2009 in das Astronautenkorps der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA berufen. Zusammen mit fünf weiteren Kandidaten konnte Gerst sich gegen 8413 Mitbewerber durchsetzen. Seit September 2009 ist er im Europäischen Astronautenzentrum (EAC) in Köln stationiert und durchläuft die Grundausbildung zum Astronauten.

Im Mai 2009 wurde Alexander Gerst als einer der sechs neuen ESA-Astronauten vorgestellt. Er setzte sich gegen 8413 Bewerber aus 20 Mitgliedsstaaten durch. Im Anschluss an die zwei-jährige Grundausbildung in der russischen Raumfahrttechnik in Moskau, sowie die Raumfahrerausbildung im europäischen Astronautenzentrum in Köln, folgte die Ernennung zum dritten deutschen Astronauten der die internationale Raumstation ISS besuchen wird.

Die Wahl, Alexander Gerst als neuen Anwärter für zukünftige Projekte im Orbit zu benennen war nicht unbegründet.

Der am 3. Mai 1976 in Künzelsau geborene Schwabe hatte schon immer großes Interesse an unserem Universum, der Entstehung des Mondes und was sich hinter dem Horizont, in unserer kosmischen Umgebung verbirgt. Er studierte nach seinem Abitur Geowissenschaften an der Universität Karlsruhe und erlangte dort sein Diplom. Im Anschluss absolvierte er in Wellington, Neuseeland, seinen Master of Science in Geophysik. 2006 war er als Sommerstipendiat im Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt tätig. 2010 promovierte Gerst mit seiner Dissertation über die Eruptionsdynamik des arktischen Vulkans Mount Erebus an der Universität Hamburg. Schließlich bewarb er sich 2008 um eine Aufnahme in die Astronautenabteilung der ESA und ließ seinen Kindheitstraum wahr werden. 

Im August 2011 war es soweit: Alexander Gerst wurde neben dem Russen Maxim Surajew und dem Amerikaner Reid Wiseman als neues Besatzungsmitglied auf der Internationalen Raumstation ISS für die Mission "Blue Dot" benannt. Nach zwei Jahren missionsspezifischer Vorbereitungen in den Bereichen Medizin, Raumfahrttechnik, Weltraumforschung und der russischen Sprache, startete Gerst mit seinen zwei Kollegen am 28. Mai 2014 vom Weltraumbahnhof Baikonur in einer Sojus-Trägerrakete ins All. Hier arbeitete er sechs Monate als Bordingenieur der ISS-Expedition 40/41. Neben zahlreichen Experimenten unter anderem in den Bereichen der Materialphysik, Humanphysiologie, Strahlenbiologie und Astrophysik, war Alexander Gerst verantwortlich für das Andocken des europäischen Raumfrachters ATV-5 und eines Außenbordeinsatzes. Nach 165 Tagen und 8 Stunden leben und arbeiten auf der Forschungsstation kehrte er am 10. November 2014 wieder auf die Erde zurück. Von da an folgten zahlreiche Auswertungen der im All durchgeführten Experimente, sowie Gesundheitschecks und medizinische Betreuung unter anderem im Deutschen Zentrum für Luft-und Raumfahrt in Köln, die bis heute andauern.

Auf Grund seiner wissenschaftlichen Arbeit und seines Engagements auf der ISS, verlieh Bundespräsident Joachim Gauck, Alexander Gerst am 13. Januar 2015 das Bundesverdienstkreuz 1. Klasse. Des Weiteren überreichte ihm Ministerpräsident Winfried Kretschmann am 25. April 2015 den Verdienstorden des Landes Baden-Württemberg.

Wenn es nach der Europäischen Weltraumagentur ESA geht, ist die außerirdische Karriere von Alexander Gerst noch nicht zu Ende. Raumfahrten zum Mond oder erneut zur ISS sind in Überlegung.

Zuletzt geändert am:
03.03.2016 14:23:57 Uhr