System configuration

The approximately 1.3-ton TerraSAR-X spacecraft is based on the EADS Astrium Flexbus-concept and has an extensive heritage from the successful CHAMP and GRACE missions. The 5 metre long and 2.4 metre wide satellite bus features a structure with a hexagonal cross-section. One of the six sides carries the 5-metre-long and 80-centimetre-wide radar antenna. The electronics boxes of the SAR instrument and the satellite bus are also fitted on the side faces of the structure, as is the satellite’s solar generator, 5.25 square metres in area, which supplies energy using gallium arsenide solar cells.

System components of the TerraSAR%2dX satellite
  System components of the TerraSAR-X satellite

The data recorded by the SAR instrument are transferred via a downlink antenna to the ground receiving station. The downlink antenna is attached to a 3.3-metre mast, to avoid interference from the radar antenna. The mast was folded up during the launch and extended after the satellite reached orbit. This arrangement allows simultaneous acquisition of new data by the radar and transmission of previously stored data to the ground.

The high-accuracy pointing of the satellite is implemented by means of star sensors that are installed near the radar antenna, so that the required accuracy of antenna alignment (65 arcseconds) can be achieved. A GPS receiver located on board enables precise determination of the orbit.

Secondary payloads

Alongside the SAR instrument, two secondary payloads are being flown on TerraSAR-X:

  • The Laser Communication Terminal (LCT)
    The LCT is a technology demonstrator that is used for in-orbit verification of rapid optical data transfer in space. Using the instrument, financed by DLR and built by Tesat, a link can be established between TerraSAR-X and a ground station.
  • The Tracking, Occultation and Ranging Experiment (TOR)
    The TOR experiment was prepared by the German Research Centre for Geosciences (GeoForschungsZentrum; GFZ) in Potsdam, in collaboration with the Center for Space Research of the University of Texas (UT-CSR) for a flight on TerraSAR-X. It consists of the IGOR dual frequency GPS receiver together with a laser reflector unit. IGOR allows determination of the satellite’s orbit with an accuracy of down to 10 centimetres.
TerraSAR-X at a glance:
Launch date:15 June 2007
Launch site:Baikonur, Kazakhstan
Carrier:Dnepr-1
Orbit altitude:514 kilometres
Inclination:97.44 degrees
Satellite mass:about 1230 kilograms
Satellite size:5 metre height x 2,4 metre diameter
Radar frequency:9.65 GHz
Power consumption:800 Watt (mean)
Data reception, Mission operation:DLR, Neustrelitz, Oberpfaffenhofen, Weilheim
Lifetime:at least 5 years

Last modified: 07/07/2011 17:53:43

URL for this article

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10381/569_read-432/

Contacts

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr Stefan Buckreuß
DLR Microwaves and Radar Institute

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2344

Fax: +49 8153 28-1449

Links

  • EADS Astrium
    (http://www.astrium.eads.net)
  • DLR Space Administration
    (http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/desktopdefault.aspx)
  • DLR Space Operations and Astronaut Training
    (http://www.dlr.de/rb/en/desktopdefault.aspx)
  • DLR Microwaves and Radar Institute
    (http://www.dlr.de/hr/en/)
  • DLR Remote Sensing Technology Institute
    (http://www.dlr.de/caf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5279/8913_read-16239/)
  • German Remote Sensing Data Center (DFD)
    (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5278/8856_read-15911/)
  • TerraSAR-X: Science Team Portal
    (http://sss.terrasar-x.dlr.de/)

Systemauslegung

 

Der etwa 1,3 Tonnen schwere Satellit TerraSAR-X baut auf dem Flexbus-Konzept der EADS Astrium GmbH auf und nutzt weitestgehend die Erfahrungen aus den erfolgreichen Missionen CHAMP (CHAllenging Mini-satellite Payload) und GRACE (Gravity Recovery And Climate Experiment). Der circa 5 Meter hohe und 2,4 Meter durchmessende Satellitenbus weist eine Struktur mit sechseckigem Querschnitt auf. Eine der sechs Seiten trägt die 5 Meter lange und 80 Zentimeter breite Radarantenne. Die Elektronikboxen des SAR-Instruments (Synthetic Apertur Radar) sowie des Satellitenbusses sind ebenfalls auf den Seitenflächen der Struktur untergebracht, genauso wie der 5,25 Quadratmeter große Solargenerator des Satelliten, der die Energieversorgung über Gallium-Arsenit-Solarzellen sicherstellt.

Systemkomponenten des Terra%2dSAR%2dX%2dSatelliten
  Systemkomponenten des Terra-SAR-X-Satelliten

Die vom SAR-Instrument aufgezeichneten Daten werden über eine Downlink-Antenne zu einer Empfangsstation am Boden übertragen. Diese ist an einem 3,3 Meter langen Mast befestigt, um Störungen durch die Radar-Antenne zu vermeiden. Dieser Mast war während des Starts eingeklappt und wurde erst nach Aussetzen des Satelliten in der Umlaufbahn ausgefahren. Er erlaubt die gleichzeitige Datenaufnahme und -weiterleitung zum Boden.

Die hochgenaue Lageregelung des Satelliten wird über Sternsensoren realisiert, die nahe der Radarantenne montiert sind, sodass die geforderte hohe Ausrichtgenauigkeit der Antenne von 65 Bogensekunden erreicht werden kann. Eine präzise Orbitbestimmung wird über einen an Bord befindlichen GPS-Empfänger (Global Positioning System) ermöglicht.

 

 

Sekundäre Nutzlasten

Neben dem SAR-Instrument fliegen zwei sekundäre Nutzlasten auf TerraSAR-X:

  • Das Laser Communication Terminal (LCT)
    Das LCT ist ein Technologie-Demonstrator, der zur In-Orbit-Verifikation einer schnellen optischen Datenübertragung im Weltraum eingesetzt wird. Mit dem vom DLR finanzierten und von der Firma TESAT gebauten Instrument wurde eine Verbindung zwischen TerraSAR-X und einer Bodenstation hergestellt.
  • Das Tracking, Occultation and Ranging Experiment (TOR)
    Das TOR-Experiment wurde vom GeoForschungsZentrum Potsdam (GFZ) in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Center for Space Research der Universität Texas zum Mitflug auf TerraSAR-X bereitgestellt. Es besteht aus dem Zweifrequenz-GPS-Empfänger IGOR sowie einer Laser-Reflektor-Einheit. IGOR erlaubt eine hochexakte Bahnbestimmung des Satelliten mit bis zu zehn Zentimetern Genauigkeit.

 

TerraSAR-X auf einen Blick:  
Start: 15. Juni 2007
Ort: Baikonur, Kasachstan
Trägerrakete: Dnepr 1 (ehemals SS-18)
Orbithöhe: 514 Kilometer
Inklination : 97,44 Grad
Satellitenmasse: circa 1.230 Kilogramm
Satellitengröße: 5 Meter Höhe mal 2,4 Meter Durchmesser
Radarfrequenz: 9,65 Gigahertz
Energieverbrauch: 800 Watt (gemittelt)
Datenempfang, Missionsbetrieb: DLR (Neustrelitz, Oberpfaffenhofen, Weilheim)
Lebensdauer: mindestens fünf Jahre

Zuletzt geändert am: 17.01.2012 11:52:52 Uhr

URL dieses Artikels

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10381/569_read-432/

Kontakte

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr. Stefan Buckreuß
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2344

Fax: +49 8153 28-1449

Links

  • EADS Astrium
    (http://www.astrium.eads.net)
  • DLR Raumfahrtmanagement
    (http://www.dlr.de/rd/)
  • DLR Raumflugbetrieb und Astronautentraining
    (http://www.dlr.de/rb/)
  • DLR-Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme
    (http://www.dlr.de/hr)
  • DLR-Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung
    (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5279/8913_read-16239/)
  • DLR Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum (DFD)
    (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5278/)
  • TerraSAR-X: Science Team Portal
    (http://sss.terrasar-x.dlr.de/)