Ground segment
Earth Observation
theme

The ground segment

The ground segment
Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Netzwerk der Bodenstationen

    Network of ground stations

    Map showing the network of ground stations and regions where data reception is possible.

The radar data recorded by TerraSAR-X and TanDEM-X is downlinked from orbit to a global network of ground receiving stations. After reception it is forwarded to a data centre in Oberpfaffenhofen, Germany for processing into products such as elevation models. Finally it will be made available to customers worldwide. This complex data transfer and processing operation is handled by the ground segment that has been developed and is being operated by four DLR institutes: the Microwaves and Radar Institute (Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme; HR), the Remote Sensing Technology Institute (Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung; IMF), the German Remote Sensing Data Center (Deutsche Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum; DFD) and the German Space Operations Center (Deutsche Raumfahrt-Kontrollzentrum; GSOC).

The ground segment, which was originally developed by a DLR team for TerraSAR-X, has been extended for the TanDEM-X mission to accommodate the operation of two satellites. It also has extensive new features such as safe formation flying, precise baseline determination, and a high-performance data reception and processing chain. Additional specific features have been added for TanDEM-X operations.

A key issue in operating the missions jointly is the different image acquisition scenarios. While TerraSAR-X requests are typically for single scenes that will be used by individual scientific and commercial customers, the global digital elevation model requires a global mapping strategy. This strategy has to also account for the formation geometry in use at any given time, which, in turn, depends on the helix parameters selected. This is because any given helix permits the acquisition of digital elevation model data only within a certain range of latitudes.

In addition, the two satellites have to be available for individual use during the three-year tandem phase. For this purpose, a reference mission scenario has been developed under which first priority is accorded to digital elevation model images. This scenario leaves enough space for planning TerraSAR-X images around those taken by TanDEM-X.

The two satellites will downlink their data to a network of three ground stations: Kiruna in Sweden, Inuvik in Canada and O'Higgins in the Antarctic. The global acquisitions for digital elevation models alone will consume a data storage volume of more than 350 terabytes, which corresponds to the capacity of around 45,000 DVDs. After a brief quality check, the data will be recorded on tape and forwarded to the DLR Remote Sensing Data Centre for processing and archiving.

Last modified:
27/06/2011 16:09:22

Contacts

 

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr Stefan Buckreuß
DLR Microwaves and Radar Institute

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2344

Fax: +49 8153 28-1449

Bodensegment
Erdbeobachtung
theme

Das Bodensegment

Das Bodensegment
Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Netzwerk der Bodenstationen

    Netzwerk der Bodenstationen

    Das Netzwerk der Bodenstationen. In den markierten Regionen ist ein Datenempfang möglich.

Die über TerraSAR-X und TanDEM-X gewonnenen Messdaten müssen aus der Umlaufbahn zum Boden übermittelt, dort empfangen, an ein Datenzentrum weitergeleitet und zu fertigen Produkten wie den Höhenmodellen verarbeitet werden. Dann stehen sie den Kunden weltweit zur Verfügung. Dieser Datentransfer und die aufwändige Verarbeitung geschieht im Bodensegment, für das vier DLR-Einrichtungen verantwortlich sind: Das Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme (HR), das Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung (IMF), das Deutsche Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum (DFD) und das Deutsche Raumfahrt-Kontrollzentrum (GSOC).

Das DLR hat bereits für TerraSAR-X ein Bodensegment aufgebaut, das für die TanDEM-Mission auf den Betrieb mit zwei Satelliten und um umfangreiche Neuerungen wie zum Beispiel den "Sicheren Formationsflug", die "Hochgenaue Bestimmung der Basislinien" und die "hochperformante Datenempfangs- und Verarbeitungskette" erweitert worden ist. Darüber hinaus gibt es weitere Besonderheiten für den TanDEM-X-Betrieb.

Während bei TerraSAR-X überwiegend Einzelszenen für individuelle wissenschaftliche oder kommerzielle Anwendungen angefragt werden, bedarf die Aufnahme eines globalen Geländemodells einer globalen Datenaufnahmestrategie. Diese muss sich vor allem an der jeweiligen Formation der beiden Satelliten orientieren, die wiederum durch die Wahl des Helix-Orbits definiert ist. So lässt sich für eine feste Helix das digitale Höhenmodell nur in einem bestimmten Breitengradbereich erstellen.

Außerdem sollen in der dreijährigen TanDEM-Phase die Satelliten auch wie bisher als Einzelinstrumente verfügbar sein. Hierfür existiert ein Referenz-Missionsszenario, in dem zunächst die Aufnahmen zur Erstellung des DEM Priorität haben. Dieser Plan lässt genug Spielraum für Terra-SAR-X-Aufnahmen, die um die TanDEM-X-Aufnahmen herum geplant werden können.

Die Daten der beiden Satelliten werden über ein Netz von drei Bodenstationen empfangen: Kiruna in Schweden, Inuvik in Kanada und O'Higgins in der Antarktis. Allein das digitale Höhenmodell erfordert eine Datenmenge von mehr als 350 Terabyte. Das entspricht dem Speichervermögen von rund 45.000 DVDs. Nach einer kurzen Qualitätsprüfung werden die Daten auf Magnetbändern aufgezeichnet und zur Verarbeitung und Archivierung an das Deutsche Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum beim DLR verschickt.

Zuletzt geändert am:
09.02.2012 13:56:22 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr. Stefan Buckreuß
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2344

Fax: +49 8153 28-1449