Further information for schools and young people

Weitere Infos für Kinder und Jugendliche

Being the largest natural and engineering science institute in Germany, The German Aerospace Center (DLR) capitalises on the fascination for aeronautics and Space exploration to get children and young people interested in science and technology. DLR has a sense of social duty to promote young researchers and, for this reason, offers a wide spectrum of student and youth programmes:

DLR_School_Lab – Out of school and… into the lab!

DLR_School_Lab familiarises students at non-vocational secondary schools with the practical aspects of natural and engineering science through interesting experiments, the idea being that this will motivate them to pursue their interest in these areas.

Space Camp

Space Camp

Germany is a partner of NASA's international Space Camp in Huntsville, Alabama, where students and teachers alike from more than 30 countries can take part in a ten-day long 'official astronaut training camp'. What they get is an introduction to the technology involved in space exploration; they have the chance to complete a practical training programme and take a tour of the Marshall Space Flight Center. DLR identifies the German participants each year – a female and a male student – and finances their journey.



Young Scientists

The "Jugend forscht" (Young Scientists) competition has been embellished for several years with two special prizes offered by DLR. The prizes in question are, firstly, the "Special Space Exploration Prize", for work which has a particular bearing on space exploration and, secondly, the “Robotics Prize” for entries to do with this technology of the future.

Girls'Day

Girls'Day - annually at DLR

As part of a worldwide social initiative, DLR is involved with Girls’Day, a day showcasing future prospects for girls, and gives information on training options and job profiles/perspectives in the aeronautics and space exploration industries.

On Girls'Day, young women can spend their time 'at the coalface' of the day-to-day activities of a technical research institute. This initiative aims to get girls and young women interested in technical subjects in particular and show them that there is a wide-ranging spectrum of professions outside the jobs that were 'traditionally' the preserve of women. It is an attempt to draw the attention of the public to the strengths and capabilities of young women. Girls’Day is supported by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), the Confederation of German Trade Unions (DGB) and the D21 Initiative, a public/private partnership headed by captains of German industry and business.

Last modified:
14/06/2011 11:42:01

Contacts

 

Dr. Volker Kratzenberg-Annies
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Education, Outreach

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3930

Weitere Infos für Kinder und Jugendliche

Weitere Infos für Kinder und Jugendliche

Als eine der größten Forschungseinrichtung in Deutschland nutzt das DLR die Faszination von Luft- und Raumfahrt, um Kinder und Jugendliche für Naturwissenschaften und Technik zu begeistern. Das DLR versteht die Nachwuchsförderung als soziale und gesellschaftliche Verpflichtung und bietet aus diesem Grunde ein breites Spektrum von Kinder- und Jugendprogrammen an:

DLR_School_Lab - Raus aus der Schule - rein ins Labor!

In den DLR_School_Labs werden Schülerinnen und Schüler der Mittel- und Oberstufe allgemein bildender Schulen anhand interessanter Experimente mit den praktischen Aspekten der Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften vertraut gemacht und zu weiterem Engagement in diesen Bereichen motiviert.

Space Camp

Space Camp

Deutschland ist Partner beim internationalen Space Camp der NASA in Huntsville, Alabama. Dort nehmen Schüler und Lehrer aus mehr als 30 Ländern zehn Tage lang an einem offiziellen Astronauten-Trainingscamp teil. Sie bekommen eine Einführung in die Raumfahrttechnik, absolvieren ein praxisbezogenes Trainingsprogramm und nehmen an einer Tour des Marshall Space Flight Centers teil. Das DLR ermittelt jährlich die deutschen Teilnehmer - eine Schülerin, einen Schüler, eine Lehrerin oder einen Lehrer - und finanziert deren Reise. Diese Aktion wird unterstützt von der Parlamentsgruppe Luft- und Raumfahrt des Deutschen Bundestages (PGLR).



Jugend forscht

Der Wettbewerb "Jugend forscht" wird seit mehreren Jahren um zwei vom DLR ausgelobte Sonderpreise erweitert. Dabei handelt es sich zum ersten um den "Sonderpreis Luft- und Raumfahrt", mit dem Arbeiten ausgezeichnet werden, die einen besonderen Bezug zur Luft- und Raumfahrt haben. Der zweite Sonderpreis des DLR ist der Robotik gewidmet und würdigt Beiträge, die diese Zukunftstechnologie behandeln.

Girls'Day

Girls'Day - alljährlich auch beim DLR

Im Rahmen einer weltweiten Gemeinschaftsinitiative beteiligt sich das DLR am Girls'Day, dem "Mädchen-Zukunftstag", und informiert über Ausbildungschancen sowie Berufsbilder und -perspektiven in der Luft- und Raumfahrt. Die Mädchen können am Girls'Day einen Tag lang "hautnah" den Arbeitsalltag einer technischen Forschungseinrichtung kennen lernen. Diese Aktion soll dazu beitragen, Mädchen insbesondere für technische Inhalte zu begeistern und ihnen das breite Berufswahl-Spektrum außerhalb der traditionellen Frauenberufe aufzuzeigen. Getragen wird der Aktionstag vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF), dem Deutschen Gewerkschaftsbund (DGB) und der Initiative D21 der Deutschen Wirtschaft.

Zuletzt geändert am:
14.06.2011 11:42:01 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Dr. Volker Kratzenberg-Annies
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Vorstandsbeauftragter für Nachwuchsförderung

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3930