Mars Express

Mars Express: Tharsis Tholus, a collapsed 8000-metre peak

04 November 2011

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Perspektivischer Blick auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus

    Perspective view of the south west of Tharsis Tholus

    Between 28 October and 13 November 2004, the High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) on board Mars Express acquired a series of images during orbits 0997, 1019, 1041 and 1052, which have been combined to form this mosaic image showing the Martian volcano Tharsis Tholus. With a base measuring 155 by 125 kilometres, the 8000-metre Tharsis Tholus may only be a ‘mid-range’ volcano, but when measured against terrestrial standards, it is truly gigantic. The false-colour image is based on digital terrain models of the region, from which the topography of the landscape can be derived. The illustration shows the caldera at its centre, which has a depth of more than 2500 metres.

  • Perspektivischer Blick auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus

    Perspective view from the north east to the summit of Tharsis Tholus

    Tharsis Tholus differs from many of the other volcanoes on Mars in that its edifice has undergone extensive modification. The complex has not developed in the usual way, for example as a cone or a shield surrounding the volcanic centre; instead, it shows signs of substantial deformation. At least two major collapses on the western and eastern flanks have taken place in the course of its four billion year history. Evidence of these events is still visible, taking the form of the steep flanks some several kilometres in height, as well as concentric and ring faults. The false-colour image is based on digital terrain models of the region, from which the topography of the landscape can be derived.

  • Perspektivischer Blick auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus

    Perspective view from the south east of the caldera at Tharsis Tholus

    The main feature of Tharsis Tholus is the size of its central caldera. This slightly elongated collapse crater at the summit of the volcano, measuring roughly 32 by 34 kilometres, extends over an area almost as large as Berlin and the base is as much as 2.7 kilometres below the red-coloured rim.

    Between 28 October and 13 November 2004, the High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) on board Mars Express acquired a series of images during orbits 0997, 1019, 1041 and 1052, which have been combined to form this mosaic image.

  • Perspektivischer Blick auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus

    Perspective view into the caldera at Tharsis Tholus

    The main feature of Tharsis Tholus is, however, the size of its central caldera. This slightly elongated collapse crater at the summit of the volcano, measuring roughly 32 by 34 kilometres, extends over an area almost as large as Berlin and the base is as much as 2.7 kilometres below the rim. The caldera may have formed when a shallow magma chamber under the volcano emptied, primarily through volcanic eruptions – during which the magma emerged at the surface in the form of lava. This emptying process caused a large cavity to form inside the volcano. As lava accumulated over this cavity, there came a point when it could no longer support the additional weight and it collapsed, forming a depression known as a ‘collapse caldera’.

    Between 28 October and 13 November 2004, the High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) on board Mars Express acquired a series of images during orbits 0997, 1019, 1041 and 1052, which have been combined to form this mosaic image. The colour scheme is based on topographical height values derived from HRSC stereo data.

  • Perspektivischer Blick auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus

    Perspective view of Tharsis Tholus

    Between 28 October and 13 November 2004, the High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) on board Mars Express acquired a series of images during orbits 0997, 1019, 1041 and 1052, which have been combined to form this mosaic image showing the Martian volcano Tharsis Tholus. With a base measuring 155 by 125 kilometres, the 8000-metre Tharsis Tholus may only be a ‘mid-range’ volcano, but when measured against terrestrial standards, it is truly gigantic. The false-colour image is based on digital terrain models of the region, from which the topography of the landscape can be derived. The illustration shows the caldera at its centre, which has a depth of more than 2500 metres.

  • Senkrechte Draufsicht auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus in Schwarzweiß

    Black and white top view of Tharsis Tholus

    The impressive size of Tharsis Tholus is easily visible in this top view. The base of Tharsis Tholus measures 155 by 125 kilometres. As the nadir image shows, the volcano is surrounded by numerous solidified lava flows, hiding the original base of the volcano. Taking into account the number and massive extent of these lava flows, it is possible that Tharsis Tholus is ‘submerged’ in lava to a depth of several kilometres.

    The High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) acquired images of Tharsis Tholus over the course of several orbits, which have been combined to form a mosaic image with a resolution of 14 metres per pixel.

  • Topographische Übersichtskarte des Vulkankomplexes Tharsis Tholus

    Topographical map of the Tharsis Tholus volcano complex

    This map shows the location of the Tharsis Tholus volcano to the northeast of the Tharsis volcanic region on Mars. The image mosaic was generated using a single image strip. The High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) obtained these images between 28 October and 13 November 2004 from an altitude of nearly 300 kilometres above the Martian surface.

  • Anaglyphenbild des Vulkankomplexes Tharsis Tholus

    Anaglyph image of the Tharsis Tholus volcanic complex

    This anaglyph image of Tharsis Tholus was acquired using the nadir channel and one of the four stereo channels of the High Resolution Stereo Camera on board Mars Express, which are directed obliquely towards the planet’s surface. When viewed using red-cyan glasses, the landscape can be seen in 3-D. The distinctive two and a half kilometre deep caldera and the partially collapsed flanks of the volcano are visible in this 3-D view. The image also shows the numerous lava flows on the Red Planet. Taking into account the number and massive extent of these lava flows, it is possible that Tharsis Tholus is ‘submerged’ in lava to a depth of several kilometres.

  • Topographische Bildkarte des Vulkankomplexes Tharsis Tholus

    Topographical map of the Tharsis Tholus volcano complex

    Digital terrain models can be generated using data acquired by several of the nine channels of the High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) on ESA's Mars Express spacecraft, which image the planetary surface from different angles. These allow the landscape profile to be represented pictorially and can be used to create topographic maps. North is to the right in this image. In the absence of ‘sea level’, the height information (see key at the top of the full-size image) is referenced to what is known as an areoid, a modelled equipotential surface on which everything experiences the same gravitational attraction towards the centre of the planet.

The volcanoes on Mars are true giants. As well as being home to the largest volcano in our Solar System, the 24-kilometre-high Olympus Mons, and its three neighbouring shield volcanoes Arsia, Pavonis and Ascraeus, there are a number of less-frequently observed volcano complexes on the Tharsis bulge near the Martian equator that also reach impressive heights. With a base measuring 155 by 125 kilometres, the 8000-metre Tharsis Tholus may only be a ‘mid-range’ volcano, but when measured against terrestrial standards, this volcano is truly gigantic. The High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) operated by the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) on board ESA’s Mars Express spacecraft acquired images of Tharsis Tholus over the course of several orbits, which have been combined to form a mosaic image with a resolution of 14 metres per pixel. The images show an area located at 13 degrees north and 268 degrees east.

Just as on Earth, volcanoes on Mars played an important role in both its climatic history and the thermal evolution of its interior. Volcanic eruptions fed ‘fresh’ gases into the atmosphere, thereby affecting the density and composition of this gaseous envelope. Whether a water cycle existed on Mars or whether it once rained are some of the most exciting questions addressed by Mars exploration. Closely related to this is the question of whether conditions were ever favourable for the development of life on the now dry planet.

A caldera two and a half kilometres deep and the size of Berlin

Tharsis Tholus differs from many of the other volcanoes on Mars in that its edifice has undergone extensive modification. The complex has not developed in the usual way, for example as a cone or a shield surrounding the volcanic centre; instead, it shows signs of substantial deformation. At least two major collapses on the western and eastern flanks have taken place in the course of its four billion year history. Evidence of these events is still visible, taking the form of the steep flanks some several kilometres in height, as well as concentric and ring faults.

The main feature of Tharsis Tholus is, however, the size of its central caldera. This slightly elongated collapse crater at the summit of the volcano, measuring roughly 32 by 34 kilometres, extends over an area almost as large as Berlin and the base is as much as 2.7 kilometres below the rim. The caldera may have formed when a shallow magma chamber under the volcano emptied, primarily through volcanic eruptions – during which the magma emerged at the surface in the form of lava. This emptying process caused a large cavity to form inside the volcano. As lava accumulated over this cavity, there came a point when it could no longer support the additional weight and it collapsed, forming a depression known as a ‘collapse caldera’.

But the true size of Tharsis Tholus is concealed. As the nadir image shows, the volcano is surrounded by numerous solidified lava flows, hiding the original base of the volcano. Taking into account the number and massive extent of these lava flows, it is possible that Tharsis Tholus is ‘submerged’ in lava to a depth of several kilometres.

The image data used to create the images shown here were acquired using the HRSC between 28 October and 13 November 2004 during orbits 0997, 1019, 1041 and 1052. The images were produced by the Department of Planetary Sciences and Remote Sensing in the Institute for Geological Sciences of the Freie Universität Berlin. The perspective views were computed from the HRSC stereo channels. The anaglyph was derived from one stereo channel and the nadir channel, which captures image data at the highest resolution of all the channels. The black-and-white detail image was acquired with the nadir channel. The false-colour images are based on digital terrain models of the region, from which the topography of the landscape can be derived.

November 2011 – Mars in the spotlight

Mars continues to be one of the most important targets for planetary research. On 25 November, NASA’s Mars Science Laboratory, a lander carrying a rover named Curiosity, will be launched on its journey to the Red Planet. Curiosity is five times heavier than the two ‘veteran’ rovers, Spirit and Opportunity, which have been exploring the Martian surface since 2004. Equipped with the most comprehensive and sophisticated suite of experiments, Curiosity will continue the quest to find evidence for the existence, past or present, of organic molecules on Mars.

Even the Russian space programme will again contribute to the exploration of Mars; on 5 8 November 2011 at 22:16 CET, the Phobos Grunt spacecraft will embark on its journey to Phobos, the larger of Mars’ two moons. Once it lands in 2013, the small lander will collect samples for roughly a year. The loaded return vehicle will then blast off from Phobos and arrive back at Earth in 2014. DLR is participating in this mission by developing digital terrain models derived from HRSC image data, to support the Russians in the selection of the landing sites. Though manned missions to Mars are in the distant future, the Mars500 long-term experiment will help with preparations. In this experiment, the subjects embarked on a 520-day virtual flight to Mars inside a simulated spaceship. This journey will come to an end on 4 November, when they will ‘return to Earth’.

The High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) experiment on the European Space Agency’s Mars Express mission is led by the Principal Investigator (PI) Prof. Dr Gerhard Neukum, who was also responsible for the technical design of the camera. The science team for the experiment consists of 40 co-investigators from 33 institutions and 10 nations. The camera was developed at DLR under the leadership of the PI and it was built in cooperation with industrial partners EADS Astrium, Lewicki Microelectronic GmbH and Jena Optronik GmbH. The instrument is operated by the DLR Institute of Planetary Research, through ESA/ESOC. The systematic processing of the HRSC image data is carried out at DLR. The scenes shown here were processed by the PI-group at the Institute for Geological Sciences of the Freie Universität Berlin.

Last modified:
04/11/2011 11:26:25

Contacts

 

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Prof.Dr. Ralf Jaumann
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Planetary Research, Planetary Geology

Tel.: +49 30 67055-400

Fax: +49 30 67055-402
Ulrich Köhler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Tel.: +49 30 67055-215

Fax: +49 30 67055-402

Mars Express

Der Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus – ein kollabierter Achttausender

Der Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus

Freitag, 4. November 2011

  • Perspektivischer Blick auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus
Perspektivischer Blick auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus

    Perspektivischer Blick von Südwesten auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus

    Die hochauflösende Stereokamera (HRSC) auf Mars Express nahm zwischen dem 28. Oktober und dem 13. November 2004 während der Orbits 0997, 1019, 1041 und 1052 Bildstreifen auf, die zu einem Mosaik zusammengefügt wurden. Es zeigt den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus. Mit einer Grundfläche von 155 mal 125 Kilometern ist der 8.000 Meter hohe Vulkan nach irdischen Maßstäben ein wahrhaftiger Riese. Die perspektivische Darstellung zeigt den Vulkankomplex in einer Farbkodierung für die topographischen Höhen: Tharsis Tholus ragt etwa 8000 Meter aus der leicht geneigten Ebene der Umgebung heraus. Aus der Darstellung wird deutlich, dass der Krater über dem vulkanischen Förderzentrum, die Caldera, eine Tiefe von mehr als 2.500 Metern hat.

  • Perspektivischer Blick auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus
Perspektivischer Blick auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus

    Perspektivischer Blick von Nordosten auf den Gipfel des Marsvulkans Tharsis Tholus

    Tharsis Tholus unterscheidet sich von vielen anderen Vulkanen auf dem Mars dadurch, dass das so genannte Vulkangebäude stark in Mitleidenschaft gezogen worden ist. Der Vulkankomplex ist nicht ebenmäßig kegel- oder schildförmig über einem Förderzentrum gewachsen. Es weist stattdessen erhebliche Deformationsspuren auf. Mindestens zwei große Kollapse an der West- und Ostflanke – die hier im Vordergrund zu sehen ist – ereigneten sich in seiner vier Milliarden Jahre langen Entwicklung. Zeugen dieser Ereignisse sind die noch sichtbaren, teilweise mehrere Kilometer hohen Steilkanten im Bildhintergrund, aber auch ringförmige Störungsstrukturen links der Bildmitte. Die Falschfarben geben die topographischen Höhenwerte wieder. Die hochauflösende Stereokamera (HRSC) auf Mars Express nahm zwischen dem 28. Oktober und dem 13. November 2004 während der Orbits 0997, 1019, 1041 und 1052 Bildstreifen auf, die zu diesem Mosaik zusammengefügt wurden.

  • Perspektivischer Blick auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus
Perspektivischer Blick auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus

    Perspektivischer Blick von Südosten auf die Caldera des Marsvulkans Tharsis Tholus

    Das Hauptmerkmal von Tharsis Tholus die Dimension seiner zentralen Caldera. Dieser leicht elliptische Einsturzkessel ist mit einer Ausdehnung von ungefähr 32 mal 34 Kilometern fast so groß wie Berlin. Der Boden der Caldera befindet sich bis zu 2,7 Kilometer unterhalb der rot eingefärbten Abbruchkante.
    Die hochauflösende Stereokamera (HRSC) auf Mars Express nahm zwischen dem 28. Oktober und dem 13. November 2004 während der Orbits 0997, 1019, 1041 und 1052 Bildstreifen auf, die zu diesem Mosaik zusammengefügt wurden. Aus den Stereobilddaten lässt sich ein topographisches Geländemodell des Vulkankomplexes ableiten, dessen Höhenwerte in verschiedenen Farben wiedergegeben werden.

  • Perspektivischer Blick auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus
Perspektivischer Blick auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus

    Perspektivischer Blick in die Caldera des Marsvulkans Tharsis Tholus

    Das Hauptmerkmal von Tharsis Tholus ist die Dimension seiner zentralen Caldera. Die Bildung des Einsturzkessels kann man sich wie folgt vorstellen: Eine flach unter dem Vulkan lagernde Magmenkammer entleert sich größtenteils infolge vulkanischer Ausbrüche, das Magma tritt vorwiegend als Lava an der Oberfläche aus. Die Entleerung der Magmenkammer hat zur Folge, dass ein größerer Hohlraum im Inneren des Vulkans entsteht. Das sich darüber befindliche Dachgestein kann die Auflast des Vulkans nicht mehr tragen und es kommt zum Kollaps. Als Resultat entsteht ein großer Einsturzkessel oder Caldera. Die hochauflösende Stereokamera (HRSC) auf Mars Express nahm zwischen dem 28. Oktober und dem 13. November 2004 während der Orbits 0997, 1019, 1041 und 1052 Bildstreifen auf, die zu diesem Mosaik zusammengefügt wurden. Die Farbgebung beruht auf topographischen Höhenwerten, die aus den Stereobilddaten der HRSC abgeleitet werden können.

  • Perspektivischer Blick auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus
Perspektivischer Blick auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus

    Perspektivischer Blick auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus

    Die hochauflösende Stereokamera (HRSC) auf Mars Express nahm zwischen dem 28. Oktober und dem 13. November 2004 während der Orbits 0997, 1019, 1041 und 1052 Bildstreifen auf, die zu einem Mosaik zusammengefügt wurden. Es zeigt den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus. Mit einer Grundfläche von 155 mal 125 Kilometern ist der 8.000 Meter hohe Vulkan nach irdischen Maßstäben ein wahrhaftiger Riese. Die perspektivische Darstellung zeigt den Vulkankomplex in einer Farbkodierung für die topographischen Höhen: Tharsis Tholus ragt etwa 8000 Meter aus der leicht geneigten Ebene der Umgebung heraus. Aus der Darstellung wird deutlich, dass der Krater über dem vulkanischen Förderzentrum, die Caldera, eine Tiefe von mehr als 2.500 Metern hat.

  • Senkrechte Draufsicht auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus in Schwarzweiß
Senkrechte Draufsicht auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus in Schwarzweiß

    Senkrechte Draufsicht auf den Marsvulkan Tharsis Tholus in Schwarzweiß

    Die wahre Ausdehnung von Tharsis Tholus ist in diese Nadiraufnahme (der senkrechten Draufsicht auf den Vulkankomplex in Schwarzweiß) zu erkennen. Aus seiner Umgebung erhebt sich Tharsis Tholus auf einer Grundfläche von etwa 125 mal 135 Kilometern Durchmesser. Der Vulkan wurde von zahlreichen Lavaströmen umflossen. Dies hatte zur Folge, dass der ursprüngliche Fuß des Vulkans nicht mehr erkennbar ist. Gemessen an der Vielzahl und Mächtigkeit der Lavaströme ist es möglich, dass Tharsis Tholus bis zu mehreren Kilometern Tiefe in Lava "ertrunken" ist. Der senkrecht auf die Marsoberfläche gerichtete Nadirkanal der Stereokamera HRSC auf Mars Express erzeugt die höchste Bildauflösung, die bei diesen Aufnahmen etwa 14 Meter pro Bildpunkt (Pixel) beträgt.

  • Topographische Übersichtskarte des Vulkankomplexes Tharsis Tholus
Topographische Übersichtskarte des Vulkankomplexes Tharsis Tholus

    Topographische Übersichtskarte des Vulkankomplexes Tharsis Tholus

    Die Karte zeigt die Lage des Vulkans Tharsis Tholus im Nordosten der Tharsis-Vulkanprovinz auf dem Mars sowie die einzelnen Bildstreifen, aus denen das Bildmosaik zusammengesetzt wurde. Die hochauflösende Stereokamera (HRSC) auf Mars Express nahm diese zwischen dem 28. Oktober und dem 13. November 2004 auf aus einer Höhe von knapp 300 Kilometern über der Marsoberfläche auf.

  • Anaglyphenbild des Vulkankomplexes Tharsis Tholus
Anaglyphenbild des Vulkankomplexes Tharsis Tholus

    Anaglyphenbild des Vulkankomplexes Tharsis Tholus

    Aus dem senkrecht auf den Mars blickenden Nadirkanal des Kamerasystems HRSC auf der ESA-Sonde Mars Express und einem der vier schräg auf die Marsoberfläche gerichteten Stereokanäle lassen sich so genannte Anaglyphenbilder erzeugen, die bei Verwendung einer Rot-Blau-(Cyan)- oder Rot-Grün-Brille einen dreidimensionalen Eindruck der Landschaft vermitteln. Vor allem die markante Caldera, der zweieinhalb Kilometer tiefe Einsturzkessel über dem einstigen Förderzentrum des Vulkans, so wie die zum Teil eingestürzten Flanken des Vulkans sind in der 3D-Betrachtung beeindruckend. In dieser Draufsicht ist aber auch gut zu erkennen, dass der Marsvulkan von zahlreichen Lavaströmen umflossen wurde. Gemessen an der Vielzahl und Mächtigkeit der Lavaströme ist es möglich, dass Tharsis Tholus bis zu mehreren Kilometern Tiefe in Lava "ertrunken" ist.

  • Topographische Bildkarte des Vulkankomplexes Tharsis Tholus
Topographische Bildkarte des Vulkankomplexes Tharsis Tholus

    Topographische Bildkarte des Vulkankomplexes Tharsis Tholus

    Mit der Stereokamera HRSC auf der ESA-Raumsonde Mars Express ist es möglich, aus mehreren der neun, unter verschiedenen Winkeln auf die Planetenoberfläche gerichteten Aufnahmekanälen so genannte digitale Geländemodelle abzuleiten. Damit lässt sich die Topographie der Landschaft bildhaft darstellen und für topographische Kartenwerke nutzen. Norden ist im Bild rechts. Die Höhenangaben (Farbskala am oberen Bildrand) beziehen sich in Ermangelung eines Meeresspiegels auf das so genannte Areoid, eine modellierte Äquipotentialfläche, auf der überall die gleiche Anziehungskraft in Richtung des Marsmittelpunktes wirkt.

loading
 

Die Vulkane auf dem Mars sind wahre Giganten. Neben dem größten Feuerberg des Sonnensystems, dem 24 Kilometer hohen Olympus Mons, sowie den drei benachbarten Schildvulkanen Arsia, Pavonis und Ascraeus, befinden sich auf der Tharsis-Aufwölbung am Marsäquator einige weniger beachtete Vulkankomplexe von ebenfalls gewaltigen Ausmaßen. Mit einer Grundfläche von 155 Kilometern mal 125 Kilometern ist der 8000 Meter hohe Tharsis Tholus zwar nur ein Vulkan aus dem "Mittelfeld", nach irdischen Maßstäben dennoch ein wahrhaftiger Riese. Die vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) betriebene hochauflösende Stereokamera (HRSC) auf der ESA-Raumsonde Mars Express nahm während mehrerer Orbits Bilddaten von Tharsis Tholus auf, die zu einem Mosaik mit einer Auflösung von etwa 14 Metern pro Bildpunkt (Pixel) zusammengefügt wurden. Die Abbildungen zeigen einen Ausschnitt bei 13 Grad nördlicher Breite und 268 Grad östlicher Länge.

Vulkane spielen, wie auf der Erde, auch auf dem Mars eine wichtige Rolle sowohl in der Klimageschichte als auch in der thermalen Entwicklung im Innern des Planeten. Durch Vulkanausbrüche werden der Atmosphäre "frische" Gase zugeführt und dadurch die Dichte und Zusammensetzung der Gashülle beeinflusst. Ob es beispielsweise auf dem Mars einst aus Wasserdampfwolken geregnet und einen Wasserkreislauf gegeben hat, ist eine der spannenden Fragen der Marsforschung: Nicht zuletzt ist damit auch die Beantwortung der Frage verknüpft, ob es auf unserem heute trockenen Nachbarplaneten jemals Bedingungen gab, die eine Entwicklung von Leben begünstigt hatten.

Eine mehr als zweieinhalb Kilometer tiefe Caldera am Gipfel von Tharsis Tholus

Tharsis Tholus unterscheidet sich von vielen anderen Vulkanen auf dem Mars dadurch, dass das so genannte Vulkangebäude stark in Mitleidenschaft gezogen worden ist. Der Vulkankomplex ist nicht wie sonst üblich ebenmäßig kegel- oder schildförmig über einem Förderzentrum gewachsen. Es weist stattdessen erhebliche Deformationsspuren auf. Mindestens zwei große Kollapse an der West- und Ostflanke ereigneten sich in seiner vier Milliarden Jahre langen Entwicklung. Zeugen dieser Ereignisse sind die noch sichtbaren, teilweise mehrere Kilometer hohen Steilkanten, aber auch ringförmige Störungsstrukturen.

Das Hauptmerkmal von Tharsis Tholus ist allerdings die Dimension seiner zentralen Caldera. Dieser leicht elliptische Einsturzkessel am Gipfel des Vulkans ist mit einer Ausdehnung von ungefähr 32 Kilometern mal 34 Kilometern fast so groß wie Berlin. Der Boden der Caldera befindet sich bis zu 2,7 Kilometer unterhalb der Abbruchkante. Die Bildung des Einsturzkessels kann man sich wie folgt vorstellen: Eine flach unter dem Vulkan lagernde Magmenkammer entleert sich größtenteils infolge vulkanischer Ausbrüche, das Magma tritt vorwiegend als Lava an der Oberfläche aus. Die Entleerung hat zur Folge, dass ein größerer Hohlraum im Inneren des Vulkans entsteht. Das sich darüber befindliche Dachgestein kann die Auflast des Vulkans nicht mehr tragen und es kommt zum Kollaps. Als Resultat entsteht ein großer Einsturzkessel oder Caldera.

Die wahre Größe von Tharsis Tholus ist allerdings verdeckt. Wie in der Nadiraufnahme (der senkrechten Draufsicht auf den Vulkankomplex in Schwarzweiß) zu erkennen ist, ist der Vulkan von zahlreichen erstarrten Lavaströmen umflossen. Dies hat zur Folge, dass der ursprüngliche Fuß des Vulkans nicht mehr erkennbar ist. Gemessen an der Vielzahl und Mächtigkeit der Lavaströme ist es möglich, dass Tharsis Tholus bis zu mehreren Kilometern Tiefe in Lava "ertrunken" ist.

Die dem Mosaik zugrunde liegenden Bildstreifen der hochauflösende Stereokamera (HRSC) wurden zwischen dem 28. Oktober und dem 13. November 2004 während der Orbits 0997, 1019, 1041 und 1052 aufgenommen. Die hier gezeigten Bildprodukte wurden in der Fachrichtung Planetologie und Fernerkundung, am Institut für Geologische Wissenschaften an der Freien Universität Berlin erstellt. Die Schrägansichten wurden aus den Stereokanälen der HRSC berechnet. Die Anaglyphe wurde aus dem Nadirkanal, der von allen Kanälen die höchste Auflösung erzielt, und einem Stereokanal abgeleitet. Die schwarzweißen Detailaufnahmen wurden dem Nadirkanal entnommen. Die in Regenbogenfarben kodierten Falschfarbenbilder beruhen auf digitalen Geländemodellen der Region, aus denen sich die Topographie der Landschaft ableiten lässt.

Im November 2011 steht der Mars im Mittelpunkt des Interesses

Der Mars ist nach wie vor eines der wichtigsten Ziele der Planetenforschung. Am 25. November 2011 wird die NASA mit dem Mars Science Laboratory eine Landesonde mit dem Marsmobil "Curiosity" (Neugierde) auf den Weg zum Roten Planeten bringen, das fünf mal so schwer ist, wie die beiden "Marsveteranen" Spirit und Opportunity, die sich seit 2004 auf der Marsoberfläche befinden. Curiosity wird mit dem bisher umfangreichsten und anspruchsvollsten Paket an Experimenten der Frage nachgehen, ob es auf dem Mars organische Moleküle gab oder gibt.

Auch die russische Raumfahrt wird sich wieder dem Mars widmen und am 8. November 2011 um 22.16 Uhr Mitteleuropäischer Zeit die Mission Phobos Grunt zum größeren der beiden Marsmonde, Phobos, schicken, wo eine kleine Landesonde 2013 Proben sammeln und damit 2014 zur Erde zurückkehren soll. Das DLR ist an dieser Mission beteiligt: Mit digitalen Geländemodellen, die aus HRSC-Bilddaten errechnet wurden, wird die russische Seite bei der Auswahl von potentiellen Landestellen auf Phobos unterstützt. In weiter Ferne steht freilich noch ein bemannter Flug zum Mars: Allerdings werden auch hierfür bereits Erkenntnisse gesammelt wie beim Langzeitexperiment "Mars 500", bei dem sich in Moskau Probanden einem 500-tägigen virtuellen Flug zum Mars in der Isolation eines simulierten Raumschiffs begeben haben - am 4. November werden sie wieder "auf der Erde erwartet".

Das Kameraexperiment HRSC auf der Mission Mars Express der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA wird vom Principal Investigator Prof. Dr. Gerhard Neukum (Freie Universität Berlin), der auch die technische Konzeption der hochauflösenden Stereokamera entworfen hatte, geleitet. Das Wissenschaftsteam besteht aus 40 Co-Investigatoren aus 33 Institutionen und zehn Nationen. Die Kamera wurde am Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) unter der Leitung des Principal Investigators (PI) G. Neukum entwickelt und in Kooperation mit industriellen Partnern gebaut (EADS Astrium, Lewicki Microelectronic GmbH und Jena -Optronik GmbH). Sie wird vom DLR -Institut für Planetenforschung in Berlin-Adlershof betrieben. Die systematische Prozessierung der Daten erfolgt am DLR. Die Darstellungen wurden vom Institut für Geologische Wissenschaften der FU Berlin erstellt.

Zuletzt geändert am:
10.09.2012 10:34:54 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Prof. Dr. Ralf Jaumann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Planetenforschung, Planetengeologie

Tel.: +49 30 67055-400

Fax: +49 30 67055-402
Ulrich Köhler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung

Tel.: +49 30 67055-215

Fax: +49 30 67055-402