Scientific highlights of the Mars Express mission

This success story began eight years ago, with the launch of a Soyuz carrier rocket from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan that sent the Mars Express spacecraft on its journey to our planetary neighbour. Since then, a wealth of information about Mars, its surface, subsurface and atmosphere has led to a completely new view of the Red Planet.

The Infrared Mineralogical Mapping Spectrometer (OMEGA) has identified phyllosilicates (sheet silicates) on the surface of Mars. Such minerals are rich in iron and aluminium and arise as a result of the prolonged effect of water on volcanic rock. This discovery has led to a new view of the history of Mars; in its early days, at least, vast amounts of liquid water shaped its surface.

Using images from the High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) operated by DLR, the HRSC team has determined that volcanism on Mars lasted for a long period of time, until the most recent geological past. Consequently the youngest lava concretions in the summit caldera of Olympus Mons are just 100 million years old. In fact, there may still be residual activity here and at a few volcanoes near the North Pole. Data obtained with the Planetary Fourier Spectrometer (PFS) also indicates that short-lived methane gas has been discovered and its concentrations mapped in the Martian atmosphere above volcanic regions. This leads to the assumption that Mars may still be geologically active today, as the methane might be generated and introduced into the atmosphere by volcanic activity present underneath the surface of Mars.

On HRSC images of areas at low to mid-latitudes - close to the equator - surface features that can only have occurred as a result of the action of glacial ice are recognisable. Evidence indicates three episodes of activity in the last 300 million years, the most recent of which may have taken place just four million years ago. An ice age at mid-latitudes is impossible in today's climatic conditions. Hence scientists presume that dramatic climatic changes must have occurred on Mars, since the inclination of Mars' rotational axis has undergone major fluctuations. This means that different climatic conditions might have been predominant at the equator and in other regions of Mars at other times.

Data from the MARSIS (Mars Advanced Radar for Subsurface and Ionosphere Sounding) radar sounder shows that layered sediments at the Martian North Pole consist of almost pure water ice. Meanwhile the OMEGA spectrometer has produced maps of water and methane ice deposits. Observations by Mars Express have proven that much more water exists beneath the surface of Mars in the form of ice, as was anticipated ten years ago.

The data obtained with ASPERA (Energetic Neutral Atoms Analyser) show that the solar wind penetrates deeper into the Martian atmosphere than was previously assumed (down to 250 kilometres). The loss of energetic ions as a result of this is relatively low. The loss of atmospheric constituents occurs in episodic ‘outbursts’, the cause of which is not yet understood. In the absence of a magnetic field, protons and helium ions in the solar wind penetrate the Martian ionosphere to a depth of 270 kilometres and cause planetary oxygen ions to be accelerated by the energy-rich particles and flow outwards. This occurs at lower altitudes and also with greater efficiency than was previously thought.

For the first time, clouds of methane ice have been discovered, investigated and imaged in the Martian mesosphere using the HRSC, OMEGA, PFS (Planetary Fourier Spectrometer) and SPICAM (Ultraviolet and Infrared Atmospheric Spectrometer) instruments.

The mission has also yielded a wealth of research results; particularly concerning the Martian moon Phobos. These results include the most accurate determination of its mass, its exact path and its volume and density, as well as the discovery of backscattered solar wind protons by the ASPERA instrument. Furthermore, the sharpest images to date of this moon have been captured, with a resolution of 4 metres per pixel. Among other things, these seem to confirm that Phobos is orbiting Mars faster and faster and is slowly getting closer to the planet, before it potentially breaks up as a result of tidal forces in 10-20 million years, colliding with Mars.

Last modified: 05/07/2011 15:42:25

URL for this article

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10463/701_read-882/

Contacts

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Ulrich Köhler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Tel.: +49 30 67055-215

Fax: +49 30 67055-402

Dry riverbed in the Libya Montes highland region

A dry, rocky river bed, in the shape of a narrow channel, lying in a larger valley in the Libya Montes highland region. The elevation is exaggerated by a factor of three (view looking northeast).

Caldera of Olympus Mons

This perspective view shows the impressive volcanic crater, or caldera, of Olympus Mons. Olympus Mons is 22 kilometres high and the largest volcano in the Solar System.

Icefield in polar crater

Water ice at the bottom of a crater near the Martian north pole. In the centre of the crater, which is about 35 kilometres across, white water ice stands out clearly. The impact crater is located in the northern lowland area Vastitas Borealis. Water ice can remain in the centre of the crater throughout the year, as the temperature is low enough and atmospheric pressure is sufficient to prevent sublimation (direct transition from a solid to a gaseous state). At the time of image acquisition (later summer on Mars), carbon dioxide ice had already disappeared from the entire northern polar cap, leaving only water ice. The thickness of the ice is probably only in the decimetre range. This has been confirmed by some earlier measurements.

Martian North Pole - Chasma Boreale

Mars%2dNordpol %2d Chasma Boreale

Water ice in the northern polar region of Mars - perspective colour view.

HRSC image of Phobos

Details der Phobos%2dOberfläche

The DLR-operated High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) on board ESA's Mars Express spacecraft acquired images of Phobos on 9 January 2011. Seven images acquired by the Super Resolution Channel (SRC), with a resolution of about three metres per pixel, are superimposed on the HRSC nadir channel image. The SRC images show greater detail of the surface of Phobos.

Wissenschaftliche Highlights der Mars-Express-Mission

Die Erfolgsstory begann vor acht Jahren mit dem Start einer Sojus-Trägerrakete vom kasachischen Weltraumbahnhof Baikonur: Die Raumsonde Mars Express startete am 2. Juni 2003 zu unserem Nachbarplaneten. Mittlerweile haben die vielfältigen Informationen über den Mars, seine Oberfläche, seinen Untergrund und seine Atmosphäre zu einem ganz neuen Bild des Roten Planeten geführt. 

Das Infrarot-Spektrometer OMEGA identifizierte auf der Marsoberfläche so genannte Phyllosilikate (Schichtsilikate). Solche Minerale sind reich an Eisen und Aluminium und entstehen nur unter längerer Einwirkung von Wasser auf vulkanische Gesteine. Diese Entdeckung führte zu einer ganz neuen Sicht der gesamten Geschichte des Mars: Zumindest in seiner Frühzeit gestalteten riesige Mengen von flüssigem Wasser unseren Nachbarplaneten.

Das HRSC-Team hat aufgrund der Aufnahmen der vom DLR betriebenen High Resolution Stereo Camera herausgefunden, dass der Vulkanismus auf dem Mars sehr langlebig war und bis in die jüngste geologische Vergangenheit andauerte. So sind die jüngsten erstarrten Laven in der Gipfelcaldera des Vulkans Olympus Mons nur 100 Millionen Jahre alt. Es könnte sogar sein, dass es dort und an einigen Vulkanen in der Nähe des Nordpols immer noch eine Restaktivität gibt. Darauf deuten auch Messungen des Spektrometers PFS hin, das in der Atmosphäre des Mars über Vulkanprovinzen das kurzlebige Gas Methan entdeckt und seine Konzentrationen kartiert hat. Dies lässt zumindest vermuten, dass der Mars heute noch geologisch aktiv ist, da das Methan möglicherweise durch einen vulkanischen Wärmeherd unter der Marsoberfläche erzeugt und in die Atmosphäre eingebracht wird.

Auf HRSC-Aufnahmen von Gebieten mittlerer bis niedriger Breiten, also Gebiete unweit des Äquators, sind Oberflächenformen zu erkennen, die so nur durch Aktivitäten von Gletschereis entstanden sein können. Die Spuren weisen drei Episoden der Aktivität innerhalb der letzten 300 Millionen Jahre nach, wobei die jüngste vor vielleicht nur vier Millionen Jahren stattfand. Eine Eiszeit in mittleren Breiten ist unter den heutigen klimatischen Bedingungen unmöglich. Daher vermuten die Wissenschaftler, dass es auf dem Mars zu dramatischen Klimaveränderungen gekommen sein musste, weil die Neigung der Rotationsachse des Mars starken Schwankungen unterworfen ist. So hätten damals andere klimatische Bedingungen am Mars-Äquator und in anderen Gebieten geherrscht.

Daten des MARSIS-Radarinstruments zeigen, dass die geschichteten Ablagerungen am Mars-Nordpol aus fast reinem Wassereis bestehen. Das Spektrometer OMEGA hat mittlerweile Karten von Wasser- und Methaneis-Vorkommen erstellt. Durch die Beobachtungen von Mars Express weiß man heute, dass unter der Oberfläche des Mars viel mehr Wasser in Form von Eis existiert, als noch vor zehn Jahren angenommen wurde.

Untersuchungen des Instruments ASPERA zeigen, dass der Sonnenwind tiefer in die Marsatmosphäre eindringt (bis zu 250 Kilometer) als bisher angenommen. Dabei ist der Verlust von energiereichen Ionen relativ niedrig. Der Verlust von Bestandteilen der Atmosphäre findet in episodischen „Ausbrüchen“ statt, deren Ursache noch nicht geklärt ist. Mangels eines Magnetfeldes dringen die Protonen und Helium-Ionen des Sonnenwindes bis zu einer Höhe von 270 Kilometern in die Ionosphäre des Mars ein und verursachen dort einen Abfluss der durch die energiereichen Teilchen beschleunigten planetaren Sauerstoff-Ionen. Dies geschieht schon bei geringeren Höhen und damit effektiver als bisher vermutet.

Zum ersten Mal wurden Wolken aus Methaneis in der Mesosphäre des Mars entdeckt, untersucht und mit Hilfe der Instrumente HRSC, OMEGA, PFS und SPICAM aufgenommen.

Viele Forschungsergebnisse über den Mars-Mond Phobos sind bei dieser Mission besonders bemerkenswert, darunter die genaueste Bestimmung seiner Masse (durch Radio-Science), seiner exakten Bahn und seines Volumens (durch die HRSC) und Dichte sowie die Entdeckung von zurückgestreuten Sonnenwind-Protonen durch das Instrument ASPERA. Außerdem wurden die bisher schärfsten Bilder dieses Mondes gemacht mit einer Auflösung von 4 Metern pro Pixel. Unter anderem scheint sich zu bestätigen, dass Phobos auf seiner Bahn um den Mars immer schneller wird und sich dem Planeten langsam annähert, ehe er in 10-20 Millionen Jahren durch Gezeitenkräfte vermutlich auseinanderbrechen und auf den Mars stürzen wird.

Zuletzt geändert am: 17.01.2012 12:08:13 Uhr

URL dieses Artikels

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10463/701_read-882/

Kontakte

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Ulrich Köhler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung

Tel.: +49 30 67055-215

Fax: +49 30 67055-402

Trockengefallener Flusslauf in der Hochlandregion Libya Montes

Ein trockengefallener Flusslauf, zu erkennen als schmale Rinne, eingebettet in einem größeren Tal in der Hochlandregion Libya Montes. Die perspektivische Detailansicht (nordöstliche Blickrichtung) ist dreifach überhöht.

Caldera des Olympus Mons

Der Vulkankrater Caldera des Olympus Mons

Diese perspektivische Ansicht zeigt den eindrucksvollen Vulkankrater, die so genannte Caldera, des Olympus Mons. Olympus Mons ist 22 Kilometer hoch und der größte Vulkan unseres Sonnensystems.

Krater mit Wassereis

Eisfeld in polarem Krater

Wassereis am Boden eines Kraters in der Nähe des Mars-Nordpols. Im Zentrum des etwa 35 Kilometer durchmessenden Kraters sticht das weiße Wassereis deutlich hervor. Der Einschlagkrater liegt in der nördlichen Tiefebene Vastitas Borealis. Wassereis kann sich im Zentrum des Kraters ganzjährig halten, da die Temperaturen und der atmosphärische Druck nicht für eine Sublimation (Übergang vom festen in den gasförmigen Zustand) ausreichen. Kohlendioxideis ist zur Zeit der Bildaufnahme (später Mars-Sommer) auch bereits von der gesamten Nordpolkappe verschwunden, so dass nur noch Wassereis vorhanden ist. Die Mächtigkeit des Eises liegt vermutlich nur im Dezimeterbereich. Das belegen einige frühere Messungen.

Mars-Nordpol - Chasma Boreale

Mars%2dNordpol %2d Chasma Boreale

Wassereis und Staub am Nordpol des Mars, perspektivische Farbansicht. Chasma Boreale ist tief in die Schichtabfolge eingeschnitten, die sich unter der Eiskappe des Pols befindet. Die geschichteten polaren Ablagerungen unterhalb der weißen Eiskappe bestehen aus einem Eis-Staub-Gemisch. Jüngere Untersuchungen lassen vermuten, dass einige dieser Schichten das Ausgangsmaterial für Staub und Sand sind, die vom Wind fortgetragen werden.

Details der Phobos-Oberfläche

Details der Phobos%2dOberfläche

Auf dem HRSC-Nadir-Bild sind sieben SRC-Bilder mit einer Auflösung von etwa 3 Metern pro Pixel abgebildet. Die "Super Resolution Channel"-Bilder zeigen mehr Details der Phobos-Oberfläche.