Stade

DLR at JEC World 2016

08 March 2016

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • DLR%2dStand auf der JEC World Composites Show 2016 in Paris
    DLR stand at the JEC World Composites Show 2016

    The DLR stand at JEC 2016 gives an insight into its wide range of expertise along the process chain for the manufacture of high-performance fibre-reinforced structures.

  • Automatisierte Verfahren als ein Forschungsschwerpunkt
    Automated methods as a research priority

    Solutions to automate the manufacturing of fibre-reinforced composite structures are a focus of the DLR institutes represented at JEC.

  • Automatisiertes Aufbringen von Blitzschutz
    Automated application of lightning protection

    At the Center for Lightweight Production Technology, DLR researchers have developed an automated solution to apply a special lightning protection layer on structures made of fibre-reinforced composites.

  • Thermoplastgreifer im Einsatz
    Thermoplastic gripper in action

    One of the research areas for the DLR Institute of Structures and Design is an integrated production chain for components manufactured from thermoplastics.

  • Effiziente Fertigung von Profilbauteilen
    Efficient production of profiled components

    Using COPRO technology developed at the DLR Institute of Composite Structures and Adaptive Systems, fibre reinforced materials can be continuously and gently reshaped to manufacture profiled components.

The German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) is showcasing its current research projects in the field of high-performance fibre-reinforced composites from 8-10 March 2016 at the JEC World Composites Show & Conferences in Paris, the leading specialised world exhibition and conference for composite materials. The DLR Institute of Structures and Design and the DLR Institute of Composite Structures and Adaptive Systems, together with the DLR Center for Lightweight Production Technology (Zentrum für Leichtbauproduktionstechnologie; ZLP) in Augsburg and Stade, will offer insights into their wide range of expertise along the entire process chain at the DLR stand (Hall 5a, Stand D65) – from the development of new manufacturing methods and production technologies to solutions for automated production.

Automated application of lightning protection in aircraft construction

The aviation industry is increasingly turning to fibre-reinforced composite materials for the construction of aircraft fuselages. In contrast to an electrically conductive fuselage made of metal, which protects passengers by acting as a Faraday cage, additional measures are needed when these new materials are used. Until now, a special lightning protection layer has been applied by hand using an expensive process. ZLP in Augsburg has developed and tested a solution, together with industrial partners, to apply this lightning protection in a completely automated way. The special laying head being exhibited at JEC ensures that the protective layer is applied without any creases. At the same time, the automated process is characterised by better material utilisation and tighter tolerances.

Process development for thermoplastic components

The aviation industry is also increasingly using thermoplastic components. Thermoplastics are special high-performance plastics that can be shaped when heated and can also be welded. Production uses hot presses, so these are especially suitable for small to medium-sized components produced in large volumes. The DLR Institute of Structures and Design in Augsburg and Stuttgart is conducting research into the development of high-performance thermoplastic structures. The focus is on a holistic approach to a seamless process chain. At its stand, DLR is showcasing a module that could be used as a crash protection element in a helicopter floor structure.

Counter-rotating rotor blades in a lightweight design

To make the next generation of aircraft engines more efficient and environment friendly, the DLR Institute of Structures and Design, together with the DLR Institutes of Propulsion Technology, and Aeroelasticity and Systemhaus Technik, have developed and tested a counter-rotating fan stage for high bypass ratio engines. The shape of these special rotor blades, exhibited at the DLR stand, improves aerodynamic efficiency and reduces noise. By using a new construction method based on fibre-reinforced composites, it has been possible to reduce the weight at the same time.

Solutions for automated fuselage manufacturing

In the course of the MAAXIMUS Project (more affordable aircraft through extended, integrated and mature numerical sizing), researchers at the DLR site in Stade is working on solutions for high-precision, automated and quality-assured manufacturing of aircraft fuselage skins from high-performance fibre-reinforced materials. Important aspects here include the completely automated application of the skin, manufacturing and integration of stiffening elements, adjustment and optimisation of moulding tools and manufacturing processes, and manufacturing full-scale structures. Researchers will show a new process for advanced inductive bonding of stiffening elements, live on the DLR stand.

In-situ structural evaluation of production variations

High-technology and complex manufacturing processes are used in the development of fibre-reinforced composite components to satisfy the increasing structural requirements. A major effort is also needed in production, to determine the optimal process parameters. Together with its European partners, DLR is working in the context of the EU ECOMISE project (Enabling Next generation Composite Manufacturing by In-Situ Structural Evaluation and Process Adjustment) to reduce production costs, post-processing, and material and energy usage, while at the same time complying with the high standards required for manufacturing processes and structural properties. To that end, technologies have been developed and integrated as prototypes in existing plants for process simulation, online monitoring, in-situ structural evaluation, and process adjustment. In addition to presenting current research results from the ECOMISE project, DLR has on display a robot arm equipped with a system for automated carbon fibre inspection from the company Loop Technology, as well as the associated mechanical evaluation of production variations.

Efficient manufacturing of profile components

Carbon-fibre reinforced profile components are especially suitable for light and rigid structures on aircraft and road vehicles. The patented COPRO technology (Continuous Preforming for Composite Profiles), developed at the DLR Institute of Composite Structures and Adaptive Systems, uses rotating pairs of rollers with variable rotation speeds to continuously and gently shape textile materials into profile components. With the stepless variation of the speed difference and free positioning of the forming rollers, profile components can be produced with adjustable curvature radii and variable profile widths. The automation of this process makes it possible to considerably reduce the costs of the components while improving the quality. The DLR stand will also have this new manufacturing technology on display.

Last modified:
10/03/2016 11:22:29

Contacts

 

Denise Nüssle
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Corporate Communications Stuttgart

Tel.: +49 711 6862-8086

Fax: +49 711 6862-636
Nicole Waibel
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Composite Structures and Adaptive Systems, DLR Center for Lightweight Production Technology (ZLP)

Tel.: +49 711 6862-8182
Jana Hoidis
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Composite Structures and Adaptive Systems

Tel.: +49 531 295-2453

Fax: +49 531 295-2875

Stade

Mehr über das DLR

Das DLR auf der JEC World Composites Show 2016

Dienstag, 8. März 2016

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • DLR%2dStand auf der JEC World Composites Show 2016 in Paris
    DLR-Stand auf der JEC World Composites Show 2016 in Paris

    Der DLR-Stand auf der JEC gibt einen Einblick in das breite Kompetenzspektrum entlang der Prozesskette zur Fertigung faserverstärkter Hochleistungsstrukturen

  • Automatisierte Verfahren als ein Forschungsschwerpunkt
    Automatisierte Verfahren als ein Forschungsschwerpunkt

    Lösungen, um die Fertigung von Strukturen aus Faserverbundwerkstoffen zu automatisieren, sind ein Schwerpunkt der auf der JEC vertretenen DLR-Institute

  • Automatisiertes Aufbringen von Blitzschutz
    Automatisiertes Aufbringen von Blitzschutz

    Am Zentrum für Leichtbauproduktionstechnologie des DLR haben Forscher eine automatisierte Lösung entwickelt, um eine spezielle Blitzschutzschicht auf Strukturen aus Faserverbundwerkstoffen aufzutragen

  • Thermoplastgreifer im Einsatz
    Thermoplastgreifer im Einsatz

    Das DLR-Institut für Bauweisen und Strukturtechnologie forscht unter anderem an einer durchgängigen Prozesskette für die Herstellung von Bauteilen aus Thermoplasten, speziellen Hochleistungskunststoffen

  • Effiziente Fertigung von Profilbauteilen
    Effiziente Fertigung von Profilbauteilen

    Mit Hilfe der im DLR-Institut für Faserverbundleichtbau und Adaptronik entwickelten COPRO-Technologie können textile Materialien kontinuierlich und materialschonend zu Profilbauteilen umgeformt werden

Auf der JEC World Composites Show in Paris, der weltweit führenden Fachmesse für Verbundwerkstoffe, zeigt das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) vom 8. bis 10. März 2016 aktuelle Forschungsprojekte rund um das Thema faserverstärkte Hochleistungskunststoffe. Das Institut für Bauweisen und Strukturtechnologie und das Institut für Faserverbundleichtbau und Adaptronik geben gemeinsam mit dem Zentrum für Leichtbauproduktionstechnologie (ZLP) in Augsburg und Stade am DLR-Stand (Halle 5a, D65) einen Einblick in das breite Kompetenzspektrum entlang der gesamten Prozesskette: von der Entwicklung neuartiger Bauweisen und Fertigungstechnologien bis hin zu Lösungen für die automatisierte Produktion.

Automatisiertes Aufbringen von Blitzschutz im Flugzeugbau

Als Material für den Flugzeugrumpf setzt die Luftfahrt zunehmend auf Faserverbundwerkstoffe. Im Gegensatz zum elektrisch leitenden Metallrumpf, der die Passagiere nach dem Prinzip des Faradayschen Käfigs schützt, sind bei der Verwendung dieser neuen Werkstoffe zusätzliche Maßnahmen notwendig: Bisher wird dazu in einem kostenintensiven Prozess von Hand eine spezielle Blitzschutzschicht aufgetragen. Gemeinsam mit Industriepartnern hat das DLR-Zentrum für Leichtbauproduktionstechnologie in Augsburg eine Lösung entwickelt und getestet, um diesen Blitzschutz vollständig automatisiert aufzubringen: Der auf der JEC ausgestellte spezielle Legekopf sorgt dafür, dass die Schutzschicht faltenfrei aufgebracht wird. Gleichzeitig zeichnet sich das automatisierte Verfahren durch bessere Materialnutzung und engere Toleranzen aus.

Prozessentwicklung für thermoplastische Bauteile

In der Luftfahrt finden zunehmend auch thermoplastische Bauteile Verwendung. Thermoplaste sind spezielle Hochleistungskunststoffe, die sich unter Wärmeeinwirkung umformen lassen und zudem schweißbar sind. Durch die Herstellung mittels Heißpressen lohnt sich deren Einsatz besonders für kleine bis mittelgroße Bauteile mit hohen Stückzahlen. Das DLR‐Institut für Bauweisen und Strukturtechnologie forscht an den Standorten Augsburg und Stuttgart an der Entwicklung thermoplastischer Hochleistungsstrukturen. Im Fokus steht die ganzheitliche Betrachtung einer durchgängigen Prozesskette. Als Demonstrator zeigt das DLR auf dem Messestand eine Baugruppe, die beispielsweise als Crashelement in einer Hubschrauberbodenstruktur zum Einsatz kommen kann.

Gegenläufige Rotorblätter in Leichtbauweise

Um Flugzeugtriebwerke der nächsten Generation effizienter und umweltverträglicher zu machen, hat das DLR-Institut für Bauweisen und Strukturtechnologie gemeinsam mit den DLR-Instituten für Antriebstechnik, Aeroelastik und dem Systemhaus Technik eine gegenläufige Fan-Stufe entwickelt und erprobt. Die Form dieser speziellen, am DLR-Stand ausgestellten Rotorblätter steigert den aerodynamischen Wirkungsgrad und verringert die Lärmabstrahlung. Durch den Einsatz einer neuen Bauweise, die auf faserverstärkten Kunststoffen basiert, konnte gleichzeitig das Gewicht reduziert werden.

Lösungen für automatisierte Rumpfschalenfertigung

Im Zuge des Projekts MAAXIMUS (more affordable aircraft through extended, integrated and mature numerical sizing) arbeitet der DLR-Standort Stade an Lösungen für die hochpräzise, automatisierte und qualitätsgesicherte Fertigung von Flugzeugrumpfschalen aus faserverstärkten Hochleistungswerkstoffen. Wichtige Aspekte sind dabei die vollautomatisierte Hautablage, die Fertigung und Integration von Versteifungselementen, das Anpassen und Optimieren von Formwerkzeugen und Fertigungsverfahren bis hin zur Fertigung von Strukturen im Vollmaßstab. Ein neuartiges Verfahren für die induktive Vorverklebung von Versteifungselementen zeigen die Forscher live auf dem DLR-Stand.

In-situ Strukturbewertung von Fertigungsabweichungen

Bei der Entwicklung von Faserverbundbauteilen kommen hochwertige Materialien und komplexe Fertigungsprozesse zum Einsatz, um den wachsenden strukturmechanischen Anforderungen gerecht zu werden. In der Produktion bedarf es zudem eines großen Aufwands, um die optimalen Prozessparameter zu bestimmen. Gemeinsam mit europäischen Partnern arbeitet das DLR im EU-Projekt ECOMISE (enabling next generation composite manufacturing by in-situ structural evaluation and process adjustment) daran, die Produktionskosten, die Nachbearbeitung sowie den Material- und Energiebedarf zu senken und gleichzeitig die hohen Anforderungen an den Fertigungsprozess und die Struktureigenschaften einzuhalten. Dazu wurden Technologien zur Prozesssimulation, Online-Überwachung, in-situ Strukturbewertung und Prozessanpassung entwickelt und prototypisch in aktuelle Anlagen integriert. Neben der Darstellung aktueller Forschungsergebnisse des Projekts ECOMISE zeigt das DLR einen Roboterarm mit Faservermessung der Firma Loop Technology sowie die angegliederte strukturmechanische Bewertung von Fertigungsabweichungen.

Effiziente Fertigung von Profilbauteilen

Kohlenstofffaserverstärkte Profilbauteile eignen sich insbesondere für leichte und steife Strukturen von Flugzeugen und Automobilen. Die patentierte, im DLR-Institut für Faserverbundleichtbau und Adaptronik entwickelte COPRO-Technologie (Continuous Preforming for Composite Profiles) nutzt rotierende Walzenpaare mit variierbarer Rotationsgeschwindigkeit, um textile Materialien kontinuierlich und materialschonend zu Profilbauteilen umzuformen. Durch die stufenlose Variation der Geschwindigkeitsdifferenz und die freie Positionierbarkeit der Umformwalzen, können Profilbauteile mit einstellbaren Krümmungsradien und variabler Profilbreite realisiert werden. Die Automatisierung dieses Prozesses ermöglicht, die Bauteilkosten erheblich zu senken und die Qualität zu steigern. Am DLR-Stand wird diese neue Fertigungstechnologie ebenfalls vorgestellt.
 

Zuletzt geändert am:
06.01.2017 13:55:39 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Denise Nüssle
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation Stuttgart

Tel.: +49 711 6862-8086

Fax: +49 711 6862-636
Nicole Waibel
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Bauweisen und Strukturtechnologie; Zentrum für Leichtbauproduktionstechnologie (ZLP)

Tel.: +49 711 6862-8182
Jana Hoidis
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Faserverbundleichtbau und Adaptronik

Tel.: +49 531 295-2453

Fax: +49 531 295-2875