Travelling to the dawn of the Solar System

The Dawn spacecraft set off on en route to Vesta and Ceres, the two most massive objects in the main asteroid belt, on 27 September 2007, propelled by its ion engines. Vesta was thoroughly studied in 2011 and 2012; Ceres is now one of the last big 'unknown' bodies in the inner Solar System – only Pallas, which has a diameter of over 500 kilometres, has not yet been visited by an orbiter. Ceres has an average diameter of 950 kilometres, which makes it the largest object in the asteroid belt, prompting its 2006 classification – together with Pluto – as a member of the group of dwarf planets.

The investigation of these two large bodies, which offer valuable information about the earliest period of the Solar System, is of fundamental importance to understanding the origin and evolution of Earth.

Dawn carries a German camera system, developed and constructed under the leadership of the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research (MPS) in Göttingen, in cooperation with the DLR Institute of Planetary Research in Berlin-Adlershof and the University of Braunschweig Institute of Data Technology and Communication Networks. In addition to their designated purpose of mapping and researching the asteroids, the two identical 'Framing Cameras' are indispensable tools for navigating the orbiter. Dawn carries two other experiments besides the cameras – a spectrometer from the Italian space agency ASI, used to analyse the mineralogy on the asteroid surface, and a gamma ray/neutron spectrometer from Los Alamos National Laboratories (USA).

Dawn flew past Mars on its way to the asteroid belt in February 2009, using the planet's gravity to provide an increase in the spacecraft's velocity. The camera had already been operated during the approach to Vesta, the orbiter's first destination, scanning the environment for dust and – unfortunately without success – small moons. The actual investigation of Vesta's surface commenced on 15 July 2011 from a distance of 16,000 kilometres, when Dawn entered orbit around the asteroid. The spacecraft spent the next 18 months examining the second heaviest object in the asteroid belt, descending ever closer towards the surface before returning to a higher altitude orbit in preparation for its onward journey in the direction of Ceres.

A succession of three observation phases

During the first phase of observation, Dawn was in orbit 2420 kilometres above the asteroid's surface. In the 68 hours that it took the orbiter to circle Vesta, it acquired images of the entire surface and conducted spectral analyses. The individual images were used to compile a three-dimensional model of Vesta. The spectral analysis provided information on the mineralogical composition of the outermost layer of dust covering the surface of the asteroid.

In the second phase, Dawn orbited the asteroid at an altitude of 670 kilometres above the surface in 12 hours. Here, high-resolution images were acquired to analyse geological formations. Among other things, this phase involved a thorough investigation of a large double impact crater situated at Vesta's south pole.

Phase three took the orbiter down to just 180 kilometres above the surface. At this altitude, Dawn was able to orbit Vesta in four hours. This phase prioritised measurements using the gamma ray and neutron detector. The data acquired here permitted a detailed examination of the surface properties.

On course for Ceres since September 2012

After completing its investigations of Vesta in September 2012, Dawn set its sights on Ceres, situated a little further from the Sun. Travelling for three years along an outward spiral, Dawn circled three quarters of our central star before reaching the heaviest of all the objects in the asteroid belt in March 2015. It is now entering into orbit to analyse the celestial body. This makes Dawn the first spacecraft to travel in an orbit between two objects located beyond Earth in the Solar System.

Just as it did during its approach to Vesta, Dawn has used its gradually increasing proximity with Ceres to examine the asteroid's immediate environment since the start of 2015. The investigation of Ceres is divided into three phases. Over the course of its mission, Dawn will approach the surface of the celestial body until it reaches a distance of approximately 400 kilometres. At the end of the mission – scheduled for next year – the spacecraft is designed to circle the dwarf planet for at least 50 years, following a stable orbit in a form of 'quarantine'. The purpose of this is to prevent any microbes from Earth that may be adhering to the orbiter from contaminating the surface if the craft crashes onto the surface of Ceres. If traces of simple forms of life are to be discovered there in future, they should on no account originate from an earthly 'import'.

Dawn is the ninth mission in the NASA Discovery Program. This focuses on cost-efficient projects with a comparably small budget of approximately 500 million US dollars. NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) in Pasadena manages the Dawn mission; JPL is a division of the California Institute of Technology. The University of California, Los Angeles, is responsible for overall Dawn mission science. The camera system on the spacecraft was developed and built under the leadership of the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research in Göttingen, Germany, in collaboration with the DLR Institute of Planetary Research in Berlin and the Institute of Computer and Communication Network Engineering in Braunschweig. The Framing Camera project is funded by the Max Planck Society, DLR, and NASA/JPL.

Last modified: 01/04/2015 10:53:07

URL for this article

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10555/962_read-1930/

Contacts

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Ulrich Köhler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Tel.: +49 30 67055-215

Fax: +49 30 67055-402

Dawn spacecraft with a nebula in the background

Die Raumsonde Dawn vor dem Hintergrund des solaren Urnebels

About four and a half billion years ago, the Main Belt asteroids formed from a disk of dust and ice particles over the course of only about 10 million years. They include Ceres (right), the largest dwarf planet in the main asteroid belt – with a diameter of nearly 1000 kilometres, and Vesta (to the left of the Dawn spacecraft), the third largest body. The representations of the two asteroids are based on images acquired by the Hubble Space Telescope, artistically modified in accordance with scientific criteria. The background image is also based on realistic assumptions and was created by the planetary researcher William Hartmann from the Planetary Science Institute in Tucson (Arizona).

Trajectory of the Dawn probe

Flugbahn der Dawn%2dSonde

After being launched from Earth, Dawn flew past Mars to enter orbit around Vesta two years later. The probe is accompanying the asteroid before flying on towards Ceres.

Links

  • DLR Institute of Planetary Research: Dawn - Image of the day
    (http://www.dlr.de/pf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7622/)
  • DLR Space Administration: Dawn
    (http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2448/3635_read-5480/)
  • Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research - Dawn
    (http://www.mps.mpg.de/projects/dawn/)
  • NASA Dawn Mission Homepage
    (http://dawn.jpl.nasa.gov/)
  • Dawn mission video
    (http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-5412000236766165719&hl=en)

Downloads

  • Dawn brochure (1.26 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/2011_1/Broschuere_Dawn.pdf)

Eine Zeitreise zu den Anfängen des Sonnensystems

Am 27. September 2007 startete die Mission Dawn, kontinuierlich beschleunigt von einem Ionentriebwerk, zu Vesta und Ceres. Sie sind die massereichsten Objekte des Asteroidengürtels. Nach der intensiven Erkundung von Vesta in den Jahren 2011 und 2012 ist Ceres nun einer der letzten der großen "unbekannten" Körper des inneren Sonnensystems – nur Pallas (Durchmesser ca. 500 Kilometer und der größte Asteroid im Asteroidenhauptgürtel) wurde noch von keiner Raumsonde besucht. Ceres ist mit einem mittleren Durchmesser von 950 Kilometern der größte Asteroid und ist deshalb 2006 sogar – gemeinsam mit Pluto - in die Gruppe der Zwergplaneten eingestuft worden.

Die Untersuchung dieser beiden großen Körper aus dem Asteroidengürtel, die Spuren der frühesten Zeit des Sonnensystems in sich tragen, ist von fundamentaler Bedeutung für das Verständnis der Entstehung und Entwicklung unserer Planeten.

An Bord von Dawn befindet sich ein deutsches Kamerasystem, das federführend vom Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung (MPS) in Göttingen in Kooperation mit dem DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung in Berlin-Adlershof und dem Institut für Datentechnik und Kommunikationsnetze der Universität Braunschweig entwickelt und gebaut wurde. Die beiden baugleichen "Framing Cameras" dienen nicht nur der Kartierung und Erforschung der Asteroiden, sondern sind unerlässliches Hilfsmittel zur Navigation der Sonde. Neben der Kamera befinden sich zwei weitere Experimente an Bord von Dawn: Ein Spektrometer der italienischen Raumfahrtagentur ASI zur Erfassung der Mineralogie der Asteroidenoberfläche und ein Gammastrahlen-/Neutronenspektrometer der Los Alamos National Laboratories (USA).

Auf dem Weg in den Asteroidengürtel passierte Dawn im Februar 2009 den Mars in geringer Distanz, um die Wechselwirkung mit dem Schwerefeld des Planeten zur weiteren Beschleunigung zu nutzen. Bereits im Anflug auf das erste Missionsziel, Vesta, kam die Kamera zum Einsatz. Sie suchte die Umgebung nach Staub und - erfolglos – nach weiteren kleinen Monden ab. Die eigentliche Erkundung von Vestas Oberfläche begann am 15. Juli 2011 in 16.000 Kilometer Entfernung, als Dawn auf eine Umlaufbahn um den Asteroiden einschwenkte. Eineinhalb Jahre lang untersuchte Dawn das zweitschwerste Objekt des Asteroidengürtels. Die Sonde flog dabei immer tiefer über der Oberfläche, ehe der Orbit in Vorbereitung des Weiterflugs zu Ceres wieder angehoben wurde.

Drei Beobachtungsphasen folgten aufeinander

Während der ersten Beobachtungsphase befand sich Dawn in einem Orbit von 2.420 Kilometern über der Oberfläche von Vesta. Die Umlaufzeit betrug 68 Stunden. Dort wurden Bilder des gesamten Asteroiden aufgenommen sowie eine Spektralanalyse durchgeführt. Aus den Einzelbildern wurde ein erstes dreidimensionales Modell Vestas erstellt. Die Spektralanalyse gab Aufschluss über die mineralogische Zusammensetzung der obersten Staubschicht auf der Asteroidenoberfläche.

In der zweiten Phase umkreiste Dawn den Asteroiden in zwölf Stunden auf einem Orbit in 670 Kilometer Höhe über der Oberfläche. Von dort aus wurden insbesondere hochaufgelöste Bilder für die Analyse der geologischen Formationen gewonnen. Unter anderem wurde ein großes Doppel-Einschlagsbecken am Südpol von Vesta intensiv untersucht.

Phase drei führte die Sonde bis auf 180 Kilometer an die Oberfläche heran. In diesem Orbit umrundete Dawn Vesta in nur vier Stunden. In dieser Phase hatten die Messungen des Gammastrahlen- und Neutronendetektors Priorität. Aus den gewonnen Daten wurde die Beschaffenheit der Oberfläche detailliert bestimmt.

Seit September 2012: Kurs auf Ceres

Nach der Erkundung von Vesta nahm Dawn im September 2012 Kurs auf den noch etwas weiter von der Sonne entfernten Asteroiden Ceres. In knapp drei Jahren umlief die Sonde auf einer Auswärtsspirale zu drei Vierteln unser Zentralgestirn, um im März 2015 den größten und schwersten aller Asteroiden zu erreichen, den sie aus einer Umlaufbahn untersuchen wird: Damit wird Dawn die erste Raumsonde sein, die in einen Orbit an zwei verschiedenen Körpern des Sonnensystems jenseits der Erde eintreten wird.

Wie schon zuvor bei Vesta untersucht Dawn seit Beginn des Jahres 2015 im Anflug die nähere Umgebung von Ceres. Die Erkundung von Ceres unterteilt sich gleichfalls in drei Phasen. Bis hinunter auf etwa 400 Kilometer wird sich Dawn der Oberfläche des Zwergplaneten nähern. Anschließend soll die Sonde mindestens fünfzig Jahre lang auf einer stabilen Bahn in einer Art "Quarantäne" um Ceres kreisen. Die Planetenforscher wollen dadurch verhindern, dass irdische Mikroben, die möglicherweise der Sonde anhaften, bei einem Absturz auf die Oberfläche von Ceres gelangen. Denn wenn dort eines Tages Spuren einfachen Lebens entdeckt werden sollten, sollten diese auf keinen Fall von einem Import von der Erde herrühren.

Dawn ist bereits die neunte Mission im Discovery-Programm der NASA. Es zeichnet sich durch kosteneffiziente Projekte mit einem vergleichsweise geringen Budget von rund 500 Millionen US-Dollar aus. Geleitet wird die Mission vom Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) der amerikanischen Weltraumbehörde. Das JPL ist ebenfalls eine Abteilung des California Institute of Technology in Pasadena. Die University of California in Los Angeles ist für den wissenschaftlichen Teil der Mission verantwortlich. Das Kamerasystem an Bord der Raumsonde wurde unter Leitung des Max-Planck-Instituts für Sonnensystemforschung in Göttingen in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Planetenforschung des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) in Berlin und dem Institut für Datentechnik und Kommunikationsnetze in Braunschweig entwickelt und gebaut. Das Kamera-Projekt wird finanziell von der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, dem DLR und von NASA/JPL unterstützt.

Zuletzt geändert am: 26.03.2015 14:12:16 Uhr

URL dieses Artikels

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10555/962_read-1930/

Kontakte

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Ulrich Köhler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung

Tel.: +49 30 67055-215

Fax: +49 30 67055-402

Die Raumsonde Dawn vor dem Hintergrund des solaren Urnebels

Die Raumsonde Dawn vor dem Hintergrund des solaren Urnebels

Aus einer Scheibe von Staub und Eispartikeln haben sich vor etwas mehr als viereinhalb Milliarden Jahren innerhalb von nur zehn Millionen Jahren die Asteroiden gebildet – so auch der mit knapp tausend Kilometer Durchmesser größte Kleinplanet im Asteroiden-Hauptgürtel, Ceres (rechts), und der drittgrößte Asteroid Vesta (links von der Raumsonde Dawn). Die Darstellung der beiden Kleinplaneten beruht auf künstlerisch (nach wissenschaftlichen Kriterien) angepassten Teleskopaufnahmen mit dem Hubble-Weltraumteleskop. Das Bild des Hintergrunds basiert ebenfalls auf realistischen Annahmen und wurde von dem Planetenforscher William Hartmann vom Planetary Science Institute in Tucson (Arizona) gestaltet.

Flugbahn der Dawn-Sonde

Flugbahn der Dawn%2dSonde

Nach dem Start von der Erde fliegt Dawn am Mars vorbei, um zwei Jahre später in den Orbit um Vesta einzutreten. Die Sonde begleitet den Asteroiden ein Stück auf seinem Weg, um anschließend in Richtung Ceres zu fliegen.

Links

  • DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung: Dawn - Bild des Tages
    (http://www.dlr.de/pf//desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7622)
  • DLR Raumfahrt-Management: Dawn
    (http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2448/3635_read-5480/)
  • Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung - Dawn
    (http://www.mps.mpg.de/projects/dawn/)
  • NASA Dawn Mission Homepage
    (http://dawn.jpl.nasa.gov/)
  • Dawn-Missionsvideo (engl.)
    (http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-5412000236766165719&hl=en)

Downloads

  • Dawn-Broschüre (1,26 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/2011_1/Broschuere_Dawn.pdf)