Asteroids in 3D – data processing at DLR

The Framing Camera on board the Dawn spacecraft will acquire images of the surface of Vesta and Ceres from various perspectives and under changing light conditions. These images will then provide the basis for creating 3D models of the asteroids.

Three-dimensional images allow the scientists to analyse geological formations in detail. The exact three-dimensional survey of numerous craters of an asteroid is also exciting. On the basis of the shape and height of their edges, the scientists can work out the force of the impact, the mass of the projectile and the composition of the impacted area.

Main task of the DLR scientists: assigning precise coordinates to the Dawn image data and preparing high precision maps of Vesta and Ceres

The Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research provides the systematically corrected raw image data from the Framing Camera needed for further processing. From this, the DLR Institute of Planetary Research then creates the three-dimensional image products for the mapping and scientific study of Vesta and Ceres. The stereo software used for this purpose is thoroughly tested. It has been used for years in the three-dimensional mapping of the Moon, Mars and Mercury. All image data from the two 'Dawn asteroids' will be collected and stored at DLR and will subsequently be transferred to NASA's Planetary Data System (PDS).

For the three-dimensional image data processing, the DLR researchers use what is known as stereo photogrammetric methods. Photogrammetry uses information from at least two images of the same region of the asteroid, but taken from different perspectives. This stereo data is processed in such a way that elevation information can be derived for each pixel, which then allows the generation of a highly detailed three-dimensional terrain model. The information produced from these perspectives of the surface, which change with each orbit of the spacecraft, is taken into account and continuously improved during stereo processing. Here, the accuracy of the 3D model being created also depends on the high-precision calibration of the Framing Camera, which was carried out before the launch with great care. In the finished model, details with elevation differences of less then 10 metres can be shown.

The stereo software was subjected to a thorough test before its real-life application on Vesta. This was based on simulations of photos of the asteroid prepared by the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory from earlier blurry images of Vesta acquired by the Hubble Space Telescope. From these, DLR researchers were able to develop a corresponding virtual 3D model of the asteroid before Dawn's arrival at Vesta.

Last modified: 23/02/2012 10:03:26

URL for this article

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10561/967_read-2109/

Contacts

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Ulrich Köhler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Tel.: +49 30 67055-215

Fax: +49 30 67055-402

Global photo mosaic of Vesta

Globales Bildmosaik von Vesta

The first global map of the asteroid Vesta generated from images acquired with the Framing Camera. In July and August 2011, Dawn orbited the third largest object in the asteroid belt initially in a 'mapping orbit' at an altitude of about 2400 kilometres above its surface. In doing so, the camera acquired hundreds of images with a spatial resolution of about 250 metres per pixel. What is referred to as ‘simple cylindrical projection’ was selected for the representation of this global map. In this map projection the south pole is not a point but is extended as a line the length of the equator. Thus, the south pole covers the entire lower edge of the image and all characteristics of this region are represented in distortion. The spatial resolution of the photo is 750 metres per pixel.

'Snowman' crater

"Schneemann"%2dKrater in der nördlichen Hemisphäre Vestas

Three connected craters are found in Vesta's northern hemisphere; for this reason, scientists have named them 'snowman'. NASA's Dawn spacecraft obtained this image with its Framing Camera on 6 August 2011. The image resolution is about 260 metres per pixel.

Perspective view of a part of the edge of the south pole basin on Vesta

Perspective view of the rim of Vesta's south polar depression (Source: NASA/JPL%2dCaltech/UCLA/MPS/DLR/IDA.)

A visitor from Earth would encounter a dramatic landscape at Vesta's south pole: cliffs several kilometres high, deep trenches and craters which have formed the southern tip of this fascinating protoplanet in the asteroid belt, and a mountain massif up to 15 kilometres high. For the scientists working on the Dawn mission, it is not yet clear how this wild landscape was formed – collisions with other asteroids contributed, but also the internal processes that played a role during the asteroid’s early formation phases. This diagonal view was derived from a global digital elevation model of the asteroid created from stereo image data obtained with the German Framing Camera on board NASA's Dawn space probe at an altitude of 2420 kilometres above Vesta's surface. The images, which were acquired during Dawn's observation orbit, have a resolution of about 250 metres per pixel.

Links

  • DLR Institute of Planetary Research: Dawn - Image of the day
    (http://www.dlr.de/pf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7622/)
  • Dawn Image Gallery
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10506/)

Asteroiden in 3D – Datenprozessierung im DLR

Die "Framing Camera" der Raumsonde Dawn wird die Oberflächen von Vesta und Ceres aus verschiedenen Perspektiven und unter wechselnden Lichtverhältnissen aufnehmen. Diese Aufnahmen sind dann die Grundlage für 3D-Modelle der Asteroiden.

Dreidimensionale Bilder ermöglichen den Forschern die detaillierte Analyse geologischer Formen. Spannend ist zudem die exakte dreidimensionale Vermessung der unzähligen Krater eines Asteroiden. Anhand ihrer Form und der Höhe ihrer Ränder können die Wissenschaftler die Wucht des früheren Einschlags, die Masse des Projektils sowie die Beschaffenheit des Zielgebiets nachvollziehen.

Hauptaufgabe der DLR-Wissenschaftler: Den Dawn-Bilddaten exakte Koordinaten zuweisen und hochpräzise Atlanten von Vesta und Ceres erstellen

Das Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung stellt die zur weiteren Verarbeitung benötigten, systematisch korrigierten Rohbilddaten der "Framing Camera" bereit. Am DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung entstehen daraus die dreidimensionalen Bildprodukte zur Kartierung und wissenschaftlichen Untersuchung von Vesta und Ceres. Die dabei verwendete Stereo-Software ist vielfach erprobt. Sie wird bereits seit Jahren bei der dreidimensionalen Kartierung von Mond, Mars und Merkur eingesetzt. Sämtliche Bilddaten der beiden "Dawn-Asteroiden" werden im DLR gesammelt und gespeichert und später ins Planetary Data System (PDS) der NASA überführt.

Für die dreidimensionale Bilddatenprozessierung nutzen die Forscher des DLR sogenannte stereo-photogrammetrische Methoden. Die Photogrammetrie verwendet die Informationen von mindestens zwei Aufnahmen derselben Region des Asteroiden, die aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven gemacht wurden. Diese Stereodaten werden so prozessiert, dass für jedes Pixel eine Höheninformation abgeleitet werden kann, die dann in ein detailliertes dreidimensionales Geländemodell einfließt. Die Information über die mit jedem Orbit der Sonde wechselnden Perspektiven auf die Oberfläche werden während der Stereoverarbeitung jeweils berücksichtigt und weiter verbessert. Dabei hängt die Genauigkeit des entstehenden 3D-Modells auch von der hochpräzisen Kalibrierung der "Framing Camera" ab, die vor dem Start mit großer Sorgfalt durchgeführt wurde. Im fertigen Modell können schließlich Details mit weniger als zehn Meter Höhenunterschied abgebildet werden.

Vor dem ersten realen Vesta-Einsatz wurde die Stereo-Software einem umfassenden Test unterzogen. Grundlage waren Simulationen von Aufnahmen des Asteroiden, die das Jet Propulsion Laboratory der NASA aus früheren "verwaschenen" Bildern des Hubble-Weltraumteleskops von Vesta erstellt hatte. Daraus entwickelten die DLR-Forscher – bereits vor der Ankunft Dawns bei Vesta – ein entsprechendes virtuelles 3D-Modell des Asteroiden.

Zuletzt geändert am: 30.01.2012 13:10:28 Uhr

URL dieses Artikels

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10561/967_read-2109/

Kontakte

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Ulrich Köhler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung

Tel.: +49 30 67055-215

Fax: +49 30 67055-402

Globales Bildmosaik von Vesta

Globales Bildmosaik von Vesta

Erste globale Karte des Asteroiden Vesta, erzeugt aus Bildern der Framing Camera. Im Juli und August 2011 umrundete Dawn dieses drittgrößte Objekt im Asteroidengürtel zunächst in einem "Kartierorbit" von etwa 2.400 Kilometer Höhe. Dabei hat die Kamera hunderte Bilder aufgenommen, die eine räumliche Auflösung von etwa 250 Meter pro Bildpunkt haben. Für die Darstellung dieser globalen Karte wurde die so genannte 'einfache Zylinderprojektion' gewählt. Bei dieser Kartenprojektion wird der Südpol nicht als Punkt, sondern als Linie von der Länge des Äquators ausgedehnt. Somit nimmt der Südpol den gesamten unteren Bildrand ein und alle Merkmale dieser Region werden verzerrt dargestellt. Die räumliche Auflösung des Bildes beträgt 750 Meter pro Bildpunkt (Pixel).

"Schneemann"-Krater

"Schneemann"%2dKrater in der nördlichen Hemisphäre Vestas

In der nördlichen Hemisphäre Vestas befinden sich drei zusammenhängende Krater. Die Anordnung wurde von den Wissenschaftlern "Schneemann" getauft. Die NASA-Raumsonde Dawn hat dieses Bild mit der Framing Camera am 6. August 2011 aufgenommen. Das Bild hat eine Auflösung von etwa 260 Meter pro Bildpunkt.

Perspektivische Ansicht eines Teils des Randes des Südpol-Beckens von Vesta

Perspektivische Ansicht eines Teils des Randes des Südpol%2dBeckens von Vesta (Quelle: NASA/JPL%2dCaltech/UCLA/MPS/DLR/IDA.)

Einen Besucher von der Erde erwartet am Südpol des Asteroiden 4 Vesta eine dramatische Landschaft: Klippen, die mehrere Kilometer hoch sind, tiefe Furchen und Krater, die die Südspitze von diesem faszinierenden „embryonalen“ Planeten im Asteroidengürtel geformt haben, und ein bis zu 15 Kilometer hohes Bergmassiv. Für die an der NASA-Mission Dawn beteiligten Wissenschaftler ist noch nicht klar, wie diese wilde Landschaft gebildet wurde – Kollisionen mit anderen Asteroiden trugen dazu bei, aber auch die internen Prozesse, die während der frühen Phasen des Asteroiden eine Rolle gespielt haben. Diese Schrägansicht wurde aus einem globalen digitalen Höhenmodell des Asteroiden aus Stereo-Bilddaten abgeleitet, die von der deutschen ‚Framing Camera’ an Bord der NASA-Raumsonde Dawn aus einer Höhe von 2.420 Kilometern über Vestas Oberfläche aufgenommen wurden. Die Bilder, die während des Beobachtungsorbits von Dawn aufgezeichnet wurden, haben eine Auflösung von etwa 250 Metern pro Pixel.

Links

  • DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung: Dawn - Bild des Tages
    (http://www.dlr.de/pf//desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7622)
  • Dawn-Bildergalerie
    (desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10506)