Dawn spacecraft enters orbit around Vesta

18 July 2011

DLR scientists create first 3D images

After almost four years traveling through space, the NASA Dawn spacecraft reached its destination and entered orbit around the asteroid Vesta on 16 July 2011. On board Dawn, among other instruments, is a Framing Camera for imaging the surface of the asteroid. Using data from this camera system, scientists at the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) will create detailed maps and elevation models of this celestial body, which is located in the main asteroid belt between Mars and Jupiter, and help shed some light on the history of the Solar System.

A mountain, impact craters, areas with furrows and bulges – the first stereo images from DLR are already revealing excellent views of the surface of the asteroid Vesta in 3D. The data that Dawn is obtaining from its orbit at a distance of 16,000 kilometres from Vesta, is still not adequate for high-precision elevation models, but it is being used to test the data handling process. "We are just getting an initial impression and now know what to look out for when the camera starts surveying the asteroid from lower orbits," says Ralf Jaumann, Head of the Planetary Geology Department at the DLR Institute of Planetary Research in Berlin. In August, the spacecraft will start collecting data at an altitude of 2770 to 2720 kilometres above the asteroid's surface and, over the course of a year, will spiral downwards to an altitude of a little under 200 kilometres. As has been done on missions to Mars, the Moon or Mercury, DLR researchers in Berlin will then map the surface of the still unexplored asteroid and develop a 3D terrain model. "To accomplish this, we are currently familiarising ourselves with the special features on Vesta’s surface and are preparing ourselves for the data processing." So far, the scientists have been generating the first anaglyph images, or stereograms, in which the asteroid can be seen in 3D using red-green glasses, and projecting the images obtained with Dawn's camera system onto a sphere to enable initial orientation on Vesta.

For planetary researchers, Vesta – the first of two destinations for the Dawn mission – is an exciting research object. Discovered on 29 March 1807 by German astronomer Heinrich Olbers, the asteroid underwent a period of melting and cooling following its formation some 4.5 billion years ago. Since then, however, its appearance and composition have hardly changed. Hence, Vesta offers a snapshot of some of the oldest geological processes in the Solar System. At that time, Jupiter's strong gravitational pull prevented other planets from forming in what we know today as the Asteroid Belt, where Vesta is located. "By exploring Vesta, we are learning more about the birth of the planets," explains Jaumann. "We have the opportunity to find out what happened when the first planets were formed from a cloud of gas and dust."

With a mean diameter of 520 kilometres, the irregularly shaped Vesta is one of the larger asteroids. In previous images – for example, those acquired by the Hubble Space Telescope – scientists discovered a large, circular depression with a diameter of roughly 460 kilometres with a vast mountain in the centre at the asteroid's South Pole. This deep 'hole' is probably the result of a collision with another asteroid. The fragments resulting from impacts on Vesta orbit the Sun as meteorites; some have even made their way to Earth.

Vesta is now providing the first opportunity to study an asteroid at close quarters over an extended period of time. Along with the German Framing Camera, Dawn is also carrying the Visible and Infrared Spectrometer, an instrument developed by the Italian National Institute for Astrophysics (Istituto Nazionale di Astrofisica; INAF) and the Gamma Ray and Neutron Detector (GRaND) instrument, built by the Los Alamos National Laboratory. "As a planetary geologist, one question excites me above all: will we discover evidence of early volcanic activity on Vesta, that is, the first signs of geological 'life' on a planet?" says DLR scientist Ralf Jaumann. "With this spacecraft, we are flying into the dawn of the Solar System."

About the mission

The Dawn mission to the asteroids Vesta and Ceres is managed by NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory, a division of the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, for NASA's Science Mission Directorate, Washington. The University of California, Los Angeles, is responsible for overall Dawn mission science. The Dawn Framing Cameras have been developed and built under the leadership of the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research, Katlenburg-Lindau, Germany, with significant contributions by DLR German Aerospace Center, Institute of Planetary Research, Berlin, and in coordination with the Institute of Computer and Communication Network Engineering, Braunschweig. The Framing Camera project is funded by the Max Planck Society, DLR, and NASA/JPL.

Last modified: 19/07/2011 08:57:32

URL for this article

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10565/870_read-961/year-all/

Contacts

Manuela Braun
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Corporate Communications, Editor, Human Space Flight, Space Science, Engineering

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Prof.Dr. Ralf Jaumann
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Planetary Research, Planetary Geology

Tel.: +49 30 67055-400

Fax: +49 30 67055-402

Anaglyph of the south polar region of the asteroid Vesta

This anaglyph image of the south polar region of the asteroid Vesta was put together from two clear filter images, taken on July 9, 2011 by the framing camera instrument aboard NASA's Dawn spacecraft. Each pixel in this image corresponds to roughly 2.2 miles (3.5 kilometers). The anaglyph image shows the rough topography in the south polar area, the large mountain, impact craters, grooves, and steep scarps in three dimensions. The diameter of Vesta is about 330 miles (530 kilometers). Use red-green (or red-blue) glasses to view in 3-D (left eye: red; right eye: green (or blue)).

Vesta's South Pole

This image, taken by the framing camera instrument aboard NASA's Dawn spacecraft, shows the south polar region of this object, which has a diameter of 330 miles (530 kilometers). The image was taken through the clear filter on July 9, 2011, as part of a rotation characterization sequence, and it has a scale of about 2.2 miles (3.5 kilometers) per pixel. To enhance details, the resolution was enlarged to .6 miles (1 kilometer) per pixel. This region is characterized by rough topography, a large mountain, impact craters, grooves and steep scarps. The original image was map-projected, centered at 55 degrees southern latitude and 210 degrees eastern longitude.

Shot of Vesta on 17 July 2011

NASA's Dawn spacecraft obtained this image with its framing camera on July 17, 2011. It was taken from a distance of about 9,500 miles (15,000 kilometers) away from the protoplanet Vesta. Each pixel in the image corresponds to roughly 0.88 miles (1.4 kilometers).

Related Articles

  • Vesta - an asteroid in 3D
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10212/332_read-758/)
  • Surface of asteroid Vesta in sight
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10212/332_read-864/)
  • Dawn – first visual contact with Vesta
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10212/332_read-778/)

Raumsonde Dawn tritt in den Orbit von Vesta ein

Montag, 18. Juli 2011

DLR-Wissenschaftler erstellen erste 3D-Bilder

Nach fast vier Jahren Flug durch das Weltall hat die amerikanische NASA-Sonde Dawn ihr Ziel erreicht und umkreist seit dem 16. Juli 2011 den Asteroiden Vesta. Unter anderem mit an Bord: Eine so genannte Framing Camera, die die Oberfläche des Asteroiden aufzeichnet. Wissenschaftler des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) erstellen mit diesen Daten von nun an detaillierte Karten und Höhenmodelle des Himmelskörpers zwischen Mars und Jupiter – und kommen dabei der Vergangenheit unseres Sonnensystems auf die Spur.

Ein Berg, Einschlagskrater, Gebiete mit Furchen und Aufwölbungen – auf den ersten Stereobildern des DLR erhält man bereits eine sehr gute Vorstellung von der Oberfläche des Asteroiden Vesta in drei Dimensionen. Noch sind die Daten, die Dawn aus einer Umlaufbahn in etwa 16.000 Kilometern Höhe aufzeichnet, nicht für hochpräzise Höhenmodelle ausreichend, sondern dienen dazu, die Bearbeitungsprozesse der Daten zu testen: "Wir erhalten aber einen ersten Eindruck und wissen nun, worauf wir achten müssen, wenn die Kamera aus niedrigeren Umlaufbahnen den Asteroiden vermisst", sagt DLR-Planetenforscher Prof. Ralf Jaumann. Schon im August soll die Sonde in einer Entfernung von nur noch 2770 bis 2720 Kilometern über Vesta fliegen und sich im Laufe eines Jahres bis auf etwas weniger als 200 Kilometer Höhe hinunterschrauben. Wie bei Missionen zu Mars, Mond oder Merkur werden die Berliner DLR-Forscher dann die Oberfläche des bisher noch nicht erforschten Asteroiden kartografieren und ein dreidimensionales Geländemodell berechnen. "Für diese Aufgabe machen wir uns zurzeit mit den Besonderheiten von Vesta vertraut und bereiten uns auf die Verarbeitung der Stereodaten vor." Bisher berechneten die Wissenschaftler unter anderem erste Anaglyphenbilder, so genannte Stereogramme, bei denen der Asteroid mit einer Rot-Grün-Brille plastisch zu sehen ist, und projizierten die Fotoaufnahmen der Dawn-Kamera auf eine Kugelform, um eine erste Orientierung auf Vesta zu ermöglichen

Für die Planetenforscher ist Vesta – das erste von zwei Zielen der Dawn-Mission – ein spannendes Untersuchungsobjekt: Der Asteroid, der am 29. März 1807 von dem Deutschen Heinrich Olbers entdeckt wurde, hat nach seiner Entstehung vor etwa 4,5 Milliarden Jahren eine Phase der Aufschmelzung und Abkühlung durchlaufen, danach aber seine Gestalt und seinen Aufbau nur noch wenig verändert. Somit bietet Vesta eine Art Momentaufnahme der ältesten geologischen Prozesse im Sonnensystem. Zu dieser Zeit verhinderte die starke Anziehungskraft des Planeten Jupiters, dass in der Region des heutigen Asteroidengürtels, in der sich auch Vesta befindet, kein weiterer Planet entstehen konnte: Die einzelnen Fragmente, die bei der Entstehung von Planeten miteinander verschmelzen, brachen hier immer wieder auseinander. Das Ergebnis war der Asteroidengürtel mit seinen nie vollendeten Himmelskörpern. "Mit der Erforschung von Vesta erfahren wir mehr über die Geburtsstunde der Planeten", sagt Jaumann. "Wie haben die Chance zu lernen, was passierte, als sich aus einer Wolke aus Gas und Staub die ersten Planeten bildeten.

Der unregelmäßig geformte Vesta gehört zu den größeren Asteroiden und hat einen Durchmesser von 530 Kilometern. Bei bisherigen Aufnahmen – zum Beispiel des amerikanischen Weltraumteleskops Hubble – konnten die Wissenschaftler am Südpol des Asteroiden eine große, kreisrunde Einsenkung von etwa 460 Kilometern Durchmesser mit einem gewaltigen Gebirge im Zentrum der Struktur entdecken. Das tiefe "Loch" ist vermutlich durch die Kollision mit einem anderen Asteroiden entstanden. Die bei Einschlägen entstandenen Bruchstücke kreisen heute als Meteorite nicht nur um die Sonne, sondern einige von ihnen haben ihren Weg auch bis zur Erde gefunden.

Mit Vesta soll nun zum ersten Mal einen Asteroid über einen längeren Zeitraum aus der Nähe erforscht werden. Neben dem deutschen Kamerasystem (Framing Camera) sind noch ein abbildendes Spektrometer der italienischen Raumfahrtagentur Agencia Spaziale Italia (ASI) und ein vom Los Alamos National Laboratory gebauter Gammastrahlen- und Neutronendetektor an Bord der Raumsonde Dawn. "Für mich als Planetengeologe gibt es aber vor allem eine spannende Frage: Entdecken wir auf Vesta Spuren früher vulkanischer Aktivitäten, sozusagen die ersten geologischen Lebenszeichen eines Planeten?", sagt DLR-Wissenschaftler Ralf Jaumann. "Schließlich fliegen wir in die Morgendämmerung des Sonnensystems."

Die Mission

Die Mission DAWN wird vom Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) der amerikanischen Weltraumbehörde NASA geleitet. JPL ist eine Abteilung des California Institute of Technology in Pasadena. Die University of California in Los Angeles ist für den wissenschaftlichen Teil der Mission verantwortlich. Das Kamerasystem an Bord der Raumsonde wurde unter Leitung des Max-Planck-Instituts für Sonnensystemforschung in Katlenburg-Lindau in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Planetenforschung des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) in Berlin und dem Institut für Datentechnik und Kommunikationsnetze in Braunschweig entwickelt und gebaut. Das Kamera-Projekt wird finanziell von der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, dem DLR und NASA/JPL unterstützt.

Zuletzt geändert am: 20.07.2011 08:30:42 Uhr

URL dieses Artikels

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10565/870_read-961/year-all/

Kontakte

Manuela Braun
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Redaktion Raumfahrt

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Prof. Dr. Ralf Jaumann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Planetenforschung, Planetengeologie

Tel.: +49 30 67055-400

Fax: +49 30 67055-402

Anaglyphenbild der Südpolregion des Asteroiden Vesta

Dieses Anaglyphenbild der Südpolregion des Asteroiden Vesta wurde aus zwei Aufnahmen des panchromatischen Filters zusammengesetzt, aufgenommen von der Kamera an Bord der Raumsonde Dawn am 9. Juli 2011. Beide Aufnahmen weisen einen Maßstab von ungefähr 3.5 km/pxl auf und wurden im Abstand von 18 Minuten nacheinander aufgenommen. Das Anaglyphenbild zeigt die rauhe Topographie der Südpolregion, den großen Berg, Einschlagskrater, Rillen und Steilabbrüche in räumlicher Dimension. Der mittlere Durchmesser von Vesta beträgt 530 km. Der 3-D-Effekt des Anaglyphenbildes ergibt sich bei Betrachtung mit einer Rot-Grün- (oder Rot-Blau-)-Brille (linkes Auge: rot; rechtes Auge: grün (oder blau)).

Blick auf Vestas Südpolregion

Die Kamera an Bord der Dawn-Sonde auf ihrem Weg zum Asteroiden Vesta blickt zur Zeit auf die Südpolregion dieses etwa 530 km großen Objekts. Das Bild wurde am 9. Juli 2011 als Teil einer Sequenz zur Charakterisierung der Rotation durch den panchromatischen Filter aufgenommen und weist einen Maßstab von etwa 3,5 Kilometer pro Bildpunkt auf. Um Details hervorzuheben, wurde die Auflösung für diese Darstellung auf 1 Kilometer pro Bildpunkt vergrößert. Die Südpolregion ist durch eine rauhe Topographie, einen großen Berg, Einschlagskrater, Rillen und Steilabbrüche charakterisiert. Das Originalbild wurde für diese Darstellung kartenprojiziert, zentriert auf 55 Grad südlicher Breite und 210 Grad östlicher Länge.

Dawn-Aufnahme von Vesta vom 17. Juli 2011

Diese Aufnahme des Asteroiden Vesta gelang dem Kamerasystem an Bord der NASA-Raumsonde Dawn am 17. Juli 2011 aus einer Entfernung von etwa 15.000 Kilometern. Ein Pixel entspricht in etwa 1,4 Kilometern.

Artikel zum Thema

  • Vesta - ein Asteroid in 3D
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10212/332_read-758/)
  • Oberfläche von Asteroid Vesta in Sicht
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10212/332_read-864/)
  • Dawn: Erster Blickkontakt mit Vesta
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10212/332_read-778/)