News Archive
A journey to the beginnings of the solar system
The Dawn mission
theme

News Archive

  • <<
  • Page 2 of 2
  • loading with js...

All years

Another step closer to Vesta - a first overview of the asteroid

1. August 2011

NASA’s Dawn spacecraft is another step closer to Vesta; only 5200 kilometres now separate the asteroid and its new ‘neighbour’, Dawn. The images show Vesta from ists south pole to areas in the northern hemisphere.

Dawn spacecraft enters orbit around Vesta

18. July 2011

After almost four years traveling through space, the NASA Dawn spacecraft reached its destination and entered orbit around the asteroid Vesta on 16 July 2011. On board Dawn, among other instruments, is a Framing Camera for imaging the surface of the asteroid. Using data from this camera system, scientists at the German Aerospace Center (DLR) will create detailed maps and elevation models of this celestial body.

Oberfläche von Asteroid Vesta in Sicht

Surface of asteroid Vesta in sight

13. June 2011

The images acquired by the German camera system on the US spacecraft Dawn are currently being used for navigation purposes in its journey to the asteroid Vesta. A film, created by the Dawn team researchers from individual images acquired at a distance of about 481,000 kilometres, already reveals how complex the surface of the asteroid is.

Dawn: Erster Blickkontakt mit Vesta

Dawn – first visual contact with Vesta

11. May 2011

The camera system on board the Dawn spacecraft has acquired its first image of the massive asteroid Vesta. Although the mission's first target is still about 975,000 kilometres away, appearing as just a large white dot, "we now have visual contact with our objective," said Ralf Jaumann of the German Aerospace Center (DLR). In August 2011, the camera will photograph the asteroid from an orbit with a planned survey altitude of 2700 kilometres; the data will then be processed to develop a three-dimensional model.

Vesta %2d ein Asteroid in 3D

Vesta - an asteroid in 3D

10. March 2011

What might asteroid Vesta look like? In a new animation, researchers at the German Aerospace Center (DLR) have recreated the asteroid in 3D. In the animation, the asteroid is irregularly shaped, has a slight indentation at its South Pole and numerous impact craters. In July 2011, after a four year journey, NASA's Dawn spacecraft will reach the asteroid, which circles the Sun in the main asteroid belt between the orbits of Mars and Jupiter. This will be like taking a journey into the past because Vesta is a celestial body that has not changed much since the formation of the Solar System.

 
  • <<
  • Page 2 of 2

News-Archiv
Eine Zeitreise zu den Anfängen des Sonnensystems
Mission Dawn
theme

News-Archiv

  • <<
  • Seite 2 von 2
  • loading with js...

Alle Jahrgänge

Wieder ein Stück näher an Vesta: Ansicht eines Asteroiden

1. August 2011

Die NASA-Raumsonde Dawn befindet sich jetzt in einer Umlaufbahn von 5200 Kilometern über der Oberfläche von Vesta. Die Bilder zeigen Vesta vom Südpol bis weit in den Norden und erlauben erste geologische Analysen.

Raumsonde Dawn tritt in den Orbit von Vesta ein

18. Juli 2011

Nach fast vier Jahren Flug durch das Weltall hat die amerikanische NASA-Sonde Dawn ihr Ziel erreicht und umkreist seit dem 16. Juli 2011 den Asteroiden Vesta. Unter anderem mit an Bord: Eine so genannte Framing Camera, die die Oberfläche des Asteroiden aufzeichnet.

Oberfläche von Asteroid Vesta in Sicht

Oberfläche von Asteroid Vesta in Sicht

13. Juni 2011

Eigentlich dienen die Aufnahmen des deutschen Kamerasystems auf der amerikanischen Sonde Dawn zurzeit der Navigation auf dem Weg zum Asteroiden Vesta. Ein Film, den Wissenschaftler des Dawn-Teams jetzt aus einzelnen Bildern aus 481.000 Kilometern erstellten, zeigt allerdings bereits, wie komplex die Oberfläche des Asteroiden ist.

Dawn: Erster Blickkontakt mit Vesta

Dawn: Erster Blickkontakt mit Vesta

11. Mai 2011

Zum ersten Mal hat die Dawn-Sonde mit ihrer Kamera den Asteroiden Vesta aufgenommen. Noch ist das erste Ziel der Sonde fast 975.000 Kilometer entfernt und somit nur ein weißer großer Punkt - "aber wir fliegen ab jetzt mit Sichtkontakt auf unser Ziel zu", sagt Prof. Ralf Jaumann vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR). Im August 2011 soll die Kamera dann aus einer Umlaufbahn in 2700 Kilometern Höhe auf den Asteroiden blicken und ihre Daten zu einem 3D-Modell verarbeitet werden.

Vesta %2d ein Asteroid in 3D

Vesta - ein Asteroid in 3D

10. März 2011

Unregelmäßig geformt, mit einer leichten Delle am Südpol und sehr vielen Einschlagskratern - in einer neuen Animation zeigen Wissenschaftler des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), wie der Asteroid Vesta in 3D aussehen könnte. Im Juli 2011 soll die Sonde Dawn nach fast vier Jahren Flug im Weltall den Asteroiden zwischen den Bahnen von Mars und Jupiter erreichen. Für die Planetenforscher ist es eine Reise in die Vergangenheit – denn Vesta ist ein Himmelskörper, der sich nach der Entstehung des Sonnensystems kaum verändert hat.

 
  • <<
  • Seite 2 von 2