HALO - the project

New dimensions in atmospheric research and Earth observation

HALO's excellent performance, the new operating concept and broad user community open up new dimensions in environmental and climate research using aircraft in Germany and Europe. But HALO also offers new possibilities for Earth observation:

  • With its unique capabilities and features, HALO makes new experiments and larger payloads possible.
  • The new operating model particularly encourages the participation of universities in atmospheric research using aircraft.
  • HALO is embedded in the European research landscape and completes European capabilities in this area.
  • HALO will be available for appropriate research programmes anywhere in Europe.
  • Its long range makes HALO a global tool; hence, it contributes to closer international collaboration in the global network of comparable projects.
  • HALO reinforces Germany‘s leading position in atmospheric research and Earth observation.

Last modified: 23/08/2012 09:46:51

URL for this article

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10631/1092_read-3820/

The HALO research aircraft

The new High Altitude and LOng Range Research Aircraft (HALO) research aircraft heralds a new chapter in the history of German atmospheric research and Earth observation. HALO is based on a Gulfstream G 550 ultra long range business jet. The combination of range, cruising altitude, payload and comprehensive instrumentation make the aircraft a globally unique research platform.

HALO's engine

The new High Altitude and LOng Range Research Aircraft (HALO) research aircraft heralds a new chapter in the history of German atmospheric research and Earth observation. HALO is based on a Gulfstream G 550 ultra long range business jet. The combination of range, cruising altitude, payload and comprehensive instrumentation make the aircraft a globally unique research platform.

View from the HALO cockpit

The HALO (High Altitude and LOng Range) research aircraft is based on the ultra-long-range G 550 business jet produced by Gulfstream Aerospace. With a range of more than 8000 kilometres, measurements on the scale of continents are possible; the research aircraft can reach all regions, from the poles to the tropics and remote areas of the Pacific Ocean. Its maximum flight altitude of about 15 kilometres also allows for measurements in the lower stratosphere, outside the tropics.

Das Projekt HALO

Dienstag, 5. Juni 2012

Neue Dimensionen in der Atmosphärenforschung und Erdbeobachtung

HALOs herausragende Eigenschaften, das neue Betriebskonzept sowie die breite Nutzergemeinschaft eröffnen neue Dimensionen in der Umwelt- und Klimaforschung mit Flugzeugen in Deutschland und Europa. Aber auch für die Erdbeobachtung erschließt HALO neue Möglichkeiten:

  • HALO ermöglicht durch seine Leistungsfähigkeit und einzigartige Ausstattung neuartige Experimente und größere Nutzlasten
  • Das neue Betriebsmodell fördert insbesondere die Beteiligung der Hochschulen an der Atmosphärenforschung mit Flugzeugen
  • HALO ist eingebettet in die europäische Forschungslandschaft und vervollständigt die europäische Kompetenz auf diesem Gebiet
  • HALO wird europaweit über entsprechende Forschungsprogramme zur Verfügung stehen
  • Die großen Reichweiten machen HALO zu einem globalen Werkzeug. Dadurch trägt HALO zu einer engeren internationalen Zusammenarbeit im weltweiten Netzwerk mit vergleichbaren Projekten bei
  • HALO baut die deutsche Spitzenposition in der Atmosphärenforschung und Erdbeobachtung aus
     

Zuletzt geändert am: 05.06.2012 14:22:03 Uhr

URL dieses Artikels

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10631/1092_read-3820/

Forschungsflugzeug HALO

Mit dem neuen Forschungsflugzeug HALO (High Altitude and Long Range Research Aircraft) beginnt ein neues Kapitel in der Geschichte der deutschen Atmosphärenforschung und Erdbeobachtung. HALO basiert auf einem Ultra Long Range Business Jet G 550 der Firma Gulfstream. Die Kombination aus Reichweite, Flughöhe, Nutzlast und umfangreicher Instrumentierung macht das Flugzeug zu einer weltweit einzigartigen Forschungsplattform.

Triebwerk von HALO

Mit dem neuen Forschungsflugzeug HALO (High Altitude and Long Range Research Aircraft) beginnt ein neues Kapitel in der Geschichte der deutschen Atmosphärenforschung und Erdbeobachtung. HALO basiert auf einem Ultra Long Range Business Jet G 550 der Firma Gulfstream. Die Kombination aus Reichweite, Flughöhe, Nutzlast und umfangreicher Instrumentierung macht das Flugzeug zu einer weltweit einzigartigen Forschungsplattform.

Blick aus dem Cockpit von HALO

HALO basiert auf dem Ultra-Long Range Business Jet G 550 der Firma Gulfstream Aerospace. Mit einer Reichweite von weit mehr als 8.000 Kilometern sind mit HALO erstmals Messungen auf der Skala von Kontinenten möglich: alle Regionen von den Polen bis zu den Tropen und den abgelegenen Gebieten des Pazifiks kann das Forschungsflugzeug erreichen. Die maximale Flughöhe von über 15 Kilometern ermöglicht auch Messungen in der unteren Stratosphäre, außerhalb der Tropen.