Asimov, the autonomous Lunar Rover

In 2008, a group of German researchers better known as Part-Time Scientists (PTS) joined efforts to build their own lunar rover as a competition entry for the 'Google Lunar X PRIZE'. The award offered to the winning entry - a safe landing on the Moon by the end of 2015. This competition contributes to the development of space missions by private companies and groups. The latest example of this is the successful flights of the SpaceX Dragon spacecraft; in May and in October this year, their spacecraft reached the International Space Station, ISS.

Asimov Jr. R3 was developed in collaboration with DLR. Its dimensions - 60 centimetres in length, 40 centimetres in width, 50 centimetres in height and a weight of roughly 29 kilograms. DLR contributed the propulsion technology that was successfully demonstrated between 2005 and 2010 on ROKVISS, a robot arm mounted on the exterior of the ISS.

Its autonomous navigation, based on semi-global matching (SGM) environmental perception technology, was exhibited at ILA 2012. All the human operator must do is indicate a few target points in the camera image; the rover then finds its way to these target points safely, autonomously and without prior knowledge of the surrounding terrain. This technology, developed by DLR, is needed because the long signal transmission times when controlling space robots remotely can be very cumbersome and entail a high risk of the rover getting stranded in relatively impenetrable terrain. In contrast to the NASA Mars rovers 'Spirit', 'Opportunity' and 'Curiosity', DLR is placing its faith in the implementation of modern processes directly inside the logic unit of a microchip (FPGA), an environment capable of withstanding the harsh radiation condition of outer space, possessing far more computing power and therefore, having faster reaction times, the key to a safer 'drive' for the rover. With regard to terrestrial applications of autonomous navigation, DLR is developing robots capable of working in groups to provide rescue personnel in disaster-struck areas with an up-to-the-minute overview and other useful information.

Last modified: 08/10/2012 12:06:31

URL for this article

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10664/1151_read-4808/

Lunar Rover Asimov

Mondrover Asimov

Asimov perfectly manages driving through loose material. So it shouldn't be a big challenge to cope with smaller crater slopes on the Moon.

Links

  • DLR Institute of Robotics and Mechatronics
    (http://www.dlr.de/rm/en/desktopdefault.aspx/)
  • Part-Time Scientists
    (http://www.ptscientists.com/)
  • Google Lunar X Prize
    (http://www.googlelunarxprize.org/)

Der autonome Mondrover Asimov

Im Jahr 2008 schloss sich eine Gruppe deutscher Forscher unter dem Namen "Part-Time Scientists (PTS)" zusammen, um einen eigenen Mondrover zu bauen, der im Rahmen des Wettbewerbs "Google Lunar X Prize" bis Ende 2015 auf dem Mond gelandet sein soll. Dieser Wettbewerb trägt der Entwicklung Rechnung, dass auch private Unternehmen und Gruppen eigene Raumfahrt-Missionen auf die Beine stellen. Aktuellstes Beispiel hierfür ist der erfolgreiche Flug der Dragon-Raumkapsel der Firma SpaceX zur Internationalen Raumstation (ISS) im Mai diesen Jahres.

In Kooperation mit dem DLR wurde der "Asimov Jr. R3" entwickelt, der 60 Zentimeter lang, 40 Zentimeter breit, 50 Zentimeter hoch ist und etwa 29 Kilogramm wiegt. Vom DLR stammt auch die Antriebstechnologie, die bereits von 2005 bis 2010 im Projekt ROKVISS ihre Weltraumtauglichkeit in einem Roboterarm auf der Außenhülle der ISS bewiesen hat.

Gezeigt wird auf der ILA 2012 die autonome Navigation auf Basis der Umgebungswahrnehmung mittels Semi-Global Matching (SGM). Hierbei gibt der Mensch lediglich Zielpunkte im Kamerabild vor, woraufhin sich der Rover selbständig einen sicheren Weg zu diesen Zielpunkten sucht, ohne die Umgebung vorab zu kennen. Diese am DLR entwickelte Technologie ist nötig, da eine direkte Fernsteuerung von Weltraumrobotern aufgrund langer Signallaufzeiten sehr umständlich und langsam ist und damit eine sehr hohe Gefahr besteht, mit dem Rover in unwegsamem Gelände stecken zu bleiben. Im Vergleich zu den NASA-Marsrovern "Spirit", "Opportunity" und "Curiosity" setzt das DLR hierbei auf die Implementierung moderner Verfahren direkt in der Logik eines Chip (FPGA), womit selbst unter den harten Strahlungsbedingungen, die im Weltraum herrschen, deutlich mehr Rechenleistung und damit viel schnellere Reaktionen für ein sichereres Fahren möglich sind. Für die irdische Anwendung der autonomen Navigation arbeitet das DLR an kooperierenden Roboterteams, die beispielsweise in Katastrophengebieten Rettungskräfte mit einem aktuellen Überblick und anderen Informationen versorgen sollen.

Zuletzt geändert am: 24.09.2012 09:47:25 Uhr

URL dieses Artikels

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10664/1151_read-4808/

Der Mondrover Asimov wird getestet

Der Mondrover Asimov wird getestet

Im lockeren Schüttmaterial kommt Asimov erstaunlich gut zurecht. Damit sollten auch kleinere Kraterabhänge auf dem Mond kein Problem darstellen.

Links

  • DLR-Institut für Robotik und Mechatronik
    (http://www.dlr.de/rm/)
  • Homepage Part-Time Scientists
    (http://www.ptscientists.com/)
  • Homepage Google Lunar X Prize
    (http://www.googlelunarxprize.org/)