ATV - On the way to the launch pad

As early as 1987, the European Space Agency (ESA) was carrying out research into the feasibility of an ATV-like vehicle. Once the ESA Council of Ministers in Granada in 1992 had decided to abandon the programme for HERMES, the manned European space shuttle, there was a significant rethink of the European contribution to the International Space Station (ISS). Under the 'politically-correct' name FREEDOM, this project was to be a collaborative venture between the USA, Europe and Japan. Freed from the issue of an independent manned European shuttle, experts were as one on the need for independent key capacities for the space station - so-called 'servicing elements'.

1995: The ATV space truck is a 'done deal'

Automated Rendezvous and Capturing, the ability to control space craft independently and dock with them, was one of the key capacities. Closely related to this was the idea of an Automated Transfer Vehicle for transportation of goods to and from the ISS. Due to the logistical demands of the FREEDOM space station made at the time, ESA was aiming for up to two ATV launches per year. At least five ATV launches are planned up to 2013, to supply the International Space Station, which has been continuously modified (with the collaboration of Russia since 1993).

Once the operating costs of the ISS had been revealed, a 'barter' accord was struck with NASA. The object of this was to govern the off-setting of operating costs with payments in kind to prevent foreign exchange gains or losses between the parties. In the wake of the decision of the ESA Council of Ministers conference in Toulouse, in 1995, on European co-operation with the ISS programme, the ATV went into the development and construction phases.

Wide-ranging test programme completed

Since mid-2004, the 'Jules Verne' prototype has been subjected to wide-ranging tests at the European Technology Centre (ESTEC) test centre in Noordwijk (NL). Everything has to run smoothly if international space missions are to be successful: repairs are not possible after launch. Thus all manoeuvres, procedures and functions have to be tested in extensive campaigns in which no expense is spared. The tests simulate the extreme ambient conditions in orbit in the 'thermal-vacuum test'. Xenon high-intensity discharge lamps are used to achieve the required solar radiation in an otherwise empty room under vacuum conditions. Engineers can test the ATV and its various components in circumstances approaching those in space. In the electromagnetic compatibility test, carried out in the Faraday cage, engineers can test how well the various electrical and electronic components work with each other. Malfunctions which could cause one of the electrical components to fail can thus be traced.

Shaken (but not stirred) before launch

The ATV will also be subjected to a mechanical stress test on an instrument called a shaker. This is where the space craft will be put through all the stresses and strains of launch and thrust phase on the payload. Apart from vibrations occasioned by the engines, this includes the process of jettisoning stages and the payload fairing, or other forces, such as gusts or a steering manoeuvre.

Docking manoeuvres on Earth

The docking tests at the French Délégation Générale pour l'Armement (a French Ministry of Defence agency), near Versailles were a spectacular sight. In a long hall normally used by the Navy, the final 300 metres of the ATV's docking procedure with the ISS were successfully tested several times over. The tests involved fitting ATV proximity sensors to a robot arm. On the other side was a simulation of the docking port of the Russian service module Zvezda for the robot arm to aim at.

Arrival in Kourou

In mid-July 2007, ATV-1 Jules Verne was shipped off to French Guyana from Rotterdam. On 31 July, the cargo vessel MS Toucan reached the port of Kourou with the carefully packaged ATV-1. From there, the container with its precious cargo continued its journey to the European space centre by semi-trailer.

In the halls at the launch pad site, the containers were unloaded by the engineers. In the clean rooms, they firstly reassembled the ATV. Outstanding tests were also carried out in Kourou. In December 2007, the countdown to the launch could begin: the payload was loaded into ATV-1 Jules Verne and, in January 2008, the ATV was fuelled. At the same time, the carrier rocket, Ariane 5, was put together with the ATV and prepared for launch.

Last modified: 23/06/2011 16:39:02

URL for this article

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10696/1227_read-475/

Arriving at Bremen

2003 %2d Ankunft von ATV in Bremen

The Integrated Cargo Carrier (ICC) Pressurized Module, the cylinder section where astronauts will be able to work when the ATV is docked to the ISS, has arrived in its container at the EADS SPACE Transportation facility in Bremen on board the Beluga Airbus aircraft in Oktober 2003. The Jules Verne ICC Pressurized Module flight hardware was integrated in Turin (I) by Alenia Spazio.

ATV thermal vacuum test

ATV im Thermal Vakuum Test

The thermal-vacuum test simulates the extreme conditions the ATV will experience in orbit. Xenon high-intensity discharge lamps (the blue honeycomb structures in the picture) are used to achieve the required solar radiation in an otherwise empty room under vacuum conditions. The ATV and its components can thus be tested in circumstances approaching those in space.

Reassembly at Kourou

Wiederaufbau am Raumfahrtbahnhof Kourou

The ATV, which consists of the Equipped Propulsion Bay and the Equipped Avionics Bay also had to be reassembled at Kourou space centre.

ATV Sensortest

Test der ATV%2dFlugsensoren

On the 120-tonne mobile platform (to the right), a set of passive rendezvous targets (retroreflectors), identical to the ones installed on the ISS, are facing the sensors mounted on an articulated industrial robotic arm (left). The relative motion achieved between the two is identical to the one expected 2008 rendezvous between Jules Verne and ISS.

Related Articles

  • From the Cold War to international cooperation - the story of the ISS
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10302/461_read-533/)

Links

  • ESA - Automated Transfer Vehicle
    (http://www.esa.int/esaMI/ATV/index.html)
  • ESA's ATV blog
    (http://webservices.esa.int/blog/blog/1)
  • Astrium-ATV Blog
    (http://www.astrium.eads.net/en/)

Downloads

  • Europe's first resupply and reboost vehicle, ATV Jules Verne, docks to the ISS (5.88 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/Portaldata/1/Resources/videos/2011/atv_docking_va_wmp_high.wmv)
  • ESA: ATV orbital rehearsals for ISS docking (27.3 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/Portaldata/1/Resources/videos/2011/ATV_ORBITAL_POD_27-03-08_wmphigh.wmv)
  • ESA: ATV docking trials (14.72 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/Portaldata/1/Resources/videos/2011/ATV_TRIALS_qthigh_wmp_high.wmv)

Geschichte: Auf dem Weg zur Startrampe

Bereits 1987 führte die Europäische Weltraumorganisation ESA erste Untersuchungen zu einem ATV-ähnlichen Fahrzeug durch. Nachdem die ESA-Ministerratskonferenz 1992 in Granada beschlossen hatte, das Programm des europäischen Raumgleiters HERMES nicht fortzuführen, erfolgte eine inhaltliche Neuausrichtung der europäischen Beiträge zu einer internationalen Raumstation. Unter dem politischen Namen FREEDOM wurde diese seinerzeit als Kooperation zwischen den USA, Europa und Japan geplant. Losgelöst von der Frage eines eigenen bemannten europäischen Transportsystems, bestand unter den Fachleuten kein Zweifel an der Notwendigkeit, in Europa über bestimmte eigene Schlüsselkapazitäten für die geplante Raumstation, sogenannte Servicing-Elemente, zu verfügen.

1995: Der Raumtransporter ATV ist beschlossene Sache

Zu diesen Schlüsselkompetenzen zählte unter anderem das Automated Rendezvous and Capturing, also die Fähigkeit, selbstständig einen anderen Raumflugkörper im All anzusteuern und an ihm andocken zu können. Eng verbunden hiermit war die Idee eines Automated Transfer Vehicles für den automatischen Frachtverkehr zur Station. Aufgrund der seinerzeit definierten logistischen Anforderungen der Raumstation FREEDOM strebte die ESA bis zu zwei ATV-Flüge pro Jahr an. Für das mit Russland ab 1993 kontinuierlich neu angepasste, in Internationale Raumstation ISS umbenannte Projekt sind bis zum Jahr 2014 fünf ATV-Flüge vorgesehen.

Nachdem die ISS-Betriebskosten ausgemacht worden waren, wurde ein sogenanntes Barter-Abkommen mit der NASA verhandelt. Dieses regelt den Ausgleich der Betriebskosten durch Sachleistungen, sodass die Raumstationspartner möglichst keine Geldmittel untereinander austauschen müssen. Nach dem Beschluss der ESA-Ministerratskonferenz 1995 in Toulouse über die europäische Beteiligung an der ISS ging ATV in die Entwicklungs- und Konstruktionsphase.

Umfangreiches Testprogramm absolviert

Seit Mitte 2004 wurde der Prototyp "Jules Verne" umfangreichen Tests in den Hallen des europäischen Technologiezentrums ESTEC im niederländischen Noordwijk unterzogen. Bei Weltraummissionen muss alles glatt laufen, denn eine Reparatur im All ist nicht möglich. Daher werden alle Manöver, Prozeduren und Funktionen in aufwändigen und teils langwierigen Kampagnen getestet. Dabei werden die extremen Umgebungsbedingungen in der Erdumlaufbahn mit dem sogenannten Thermal Vakuum Test simuliert. Xenon-Hochdruck-Lampen erzeugen bei diesen Tests die entsprechende Solarstrahlung in einer evakuierten und tiefgekühlten Testkammer. Ingenieure testen das ATV und seine Komponenten so unter annähernd realen Weltraumbedingungen. Beim elektromagnetischen Verträglichkeitstest prüfen sie das Zusammenspiel aller elektrischen und elektronischen Komponenten. Unerwartete Störungen, die ein elektrisches Bauteil bei anderen verursachen könnte, lassen sich dadurch aufspüren.

Durchgeschüttelt vor dem Flug ins All

Weiterhin wird ATV einem mechanischen Belastungstest auf einem Rütteltisch, dem sogenannten Shaker, unterzogen. Hier erfährt das Raumfahrzeug alle mechanischen Belastungen, die während der Start- und Aufstiegsphase auf die Raketennutzlast einwirken. Dazu gehören neben den Vibrationen, die von den Raketentriebwerken erzeugt werden, auch die Abwurfvorgänge von Stufen oder der Nutzlastverkleidungen ebenso wie zufällig auftretende Windböen oder Steuermanöver.

Andockmanöver am Boden

Spektakulär waren die Andocktests auf dem Testgelände der französischen Behörde für Wehrtechnik und Beschaffung DGA (Délégation Générale pour l'Armement) nahe Versailles. In einer normalerweise von der Marine genutzten, langen Halle wurden die letzten 300 Meter des autonomen ATV-Anflugs an die ISS mehrfach erfolgreich getestet. Hierfür wurden die Annäherungssensoren des ATV auf einen Roboterarm angebracht. Auf der anderen Seite wurde die Andockstelle des russischen Servicemoduls Swesda als Anflugziel für den Roboterarm nachgebildet.

Ankunft in Kourou

Mitte Juli 2007 wurde ATV-1 Jules Verne in Rotterdam in Richtung Französisch Guyana verschifft. Am 31. Juli  erreichte das Frachtschiff MS Toucan mit dem sorgfältig verpackten ATV-1 den Hafen von Kourou. Von dort aus gelangten die Frachtcontainer per Sattelschlepper zum europäischen Weltraumbahnhof.
In den Hallen des Startgeländes wurden die Container von den Ingenieuren entladen. In den Reinräumen bauten sie das ATV zunächst wieder zusammen. Noch ausstehende Tests wurden ebenfalls in Kourou durchgeführt. Im Dezember 2007 begann dann die Startkampagne, das heißt ATV-1 Jules Verne wurde mit der Nutzlast beladen und im Januar 2008 betankt. Gleichzeitig wurde die Trägerrakete Ariane-5 samt der Oberstufe für das ATV integriert und bereitgestellt.

Erfolgreicher erster Start

ATV-1 startete am 9. März 2008 erfolgreich vom europäischen Weltraumbahnhof in Kourou und dockte nach knapp einem Monat an der Internationalen Raumstation ISS an. Während der Andockphase wurde die Nutzlast in die ISS befördert und das ATV anschließend mit circa zwei Tonnen Abfällen der Raumstation und 260 Liter Abwasser befüllt. Am 5. September 2008 löste sich das ATV wieder von der ISS und trat wenige Wochen später kontrolliert in die Erdatmosphäre ein, wo es verglühte.

Auf das ATV-1 folgte am 16. Februar 2011 ATV-2 "Johannes Kepler". ATV-3 mit dem Namen "Edoardo Amaldi" startete am 23. März 2012, das nach dem deutschen Physiker Albert Einstein benannte ATV-4 brach am 5. Juni 2013 zur ISS auf. Der Start von ATV-5 "George Lemaître" ist für Juni 2014 vorgesehen.

Zuletzt geändert am: 24.03.2014 11:30:37 Uhr

URL dieses Artikels

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10696/1227_read-475/

2003 - Ankunft von ATV in Bremen

2003 %2d Ankunft von ATV in Bremen

Der Cargo Carrier des ATV Jules Verne kam im Oktober 2003 aus Turin bei EADS Space in Bremen an.

ATV im Thermal Vakuum Test

ATV im Thermal Vakuum Test

Beim Thermal Vakuum Test werden die extremen Umgebungsbedingungen in der Erdumlaufbahn simuliert. Dabei erzeugen Xenon-Hochdruck-Lampen (blaue Wabenstrukturen im Bild) die entsprechende Solarstrahlung in einer evakuierten und tiefgekühlten Testkammer. Das ATV und seine Komponenten werden dadurch unter annähernd realen Weltraumbedingungen getestet.

Wiederaufbau am Raumfahrtbahnhof Kourou

Wiederaufbau am Raumfahrtbahnhof Kourou

Das ATV, bestehend aus Antriebssegment (Equipped Propulsion Bay EPB) und Avioniksegment (Equipped Avionics Bay EAB), musste nach dem Transport zum Raumfahrtbahnhof Kourou wieder zusammengebaut werden.

Test der ATV-Flugsensoren

Test der ATV%2dFlugsensoren

Auf der 120 Tonnen schweren mobilen Plattform (rechts) ist die ATV-Andockstelle auf der ISS nachgebaut. Gegenüber, auf der linken Seite sind die Flugsensoren auf den Arm eines Industrie-Roboters montiert. Die Relativgeschwindigkeit zwischen den beiden Geräten ist genau so hoch, wie sie beim Andockmanöver zwischen Jules Verne und der ISS erwartet wird.

Artikel zum Thema

  • Vom Kalten Krieg zur internationalen Kooperation - die Geschichte der ISS
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10302/461_read-533/)

Links

  • ESA - Automated Transfer Vehicle
    (http://www.esa.int/esaCP/SEMLU3K26DF_Germany_0.html)
  • ATV bei der DLR Raumfahrt-Agentur
    (http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2277/3405_read-5097/)
  • ATV-Blog der ESA
    (http://webservices.esa.int/blog/blog/3)
  • Astrium-ATV Blog (engl.)
    (http://www.astrium.eads.net/en/)

Downloads

  • Europas erstes automatisches Transportmodul ATV "Jules Verne" beim Andocken an die ISS im Februar 2008 (5,88 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/Portaldata/1/Resources/videos/2011/atv_docking_va_wmp_high.wmv)
  • ESA: ATV 1 - Orbitale Generalprobe für das ISS-Docking (27,3 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/Portaldata/1/Resources/videos/2011/ATV_ORBITAL_POD_27-03-08_wmphigh.wmv)
  • ESA: ATV 1-Docking - Probeläufe (14,72 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/Portaldata/1/Resources/videos/2011/ATV_TRIALS_qthigh_wmp_high.wmv)