Cross-topic Activities

Our Programme Topics are characterized by strong work-sharing and close collaboration. This ensures that existing knowledge is used in a goal-oriented way and synergetic potentials within the Programme are exploited in the best possible manner. This is particularly true for our research on electromobility and urban mobility. For, in all three Programme Topics questions are addressed, which are directly connected with these two cross-cutting topics.

The high complexity of electromobility calls for a systemic approach, that also integrates relevant aspects of energy storage, power industry, and energy specific system analysis. We, above all, take this into account through our close collaboration with the Research Fields Energy and Key Technologies of the Helmholtz Association, which, not least, has found a formal framework in the Helmholtz Cross-programme Activity Electromobility.

Consequently, questions of electromobility are examined cross-topically within the Transport Program. In so doing, we clearly extend the object of research which often is reduced to pure vehicle technologies. Because, in addition to the further development of vehicle components, such as the battery system, the car body, thermal management, range extenders, or intelligent assistance systems, we work, inter alia, on suitable traffic management strategies. These are necessary, on the one hand, to integrate electric vehicles with their specific characteristics best into the existing transport system, and on the other, to make the most out of their local, environmentally-specific advantages for aspects of traffic control. Furthermore, we see in the analysis of user requirements, both in passenger and commercial transport, a key component for a successful market penetration of electric vehicles. To support and advance the internal collaboration we have established a research cluster on electromobility. Its main tasks lie in the further improved coordination and quicker integration of competencies existing in the Programme Topics and the institutes, as well as in the direct and transparent communication of information.

Just as with electromobility, all the Programme Topics of the Transport Programme conduct research on the many questions of urban mobility aiming at convincing answers. For us, three aspects, in particular, are at the heart of our research. Against the background of demographic change, we intensify our examination of the already emerging changes of needs and requirements for mobility and transport in urban agglomerations. Thereby, we not only analyze questions of passenger transport, but also include increasingly urgent problems of commercial and goods transport in our research work. For, with the ongoing development of cities into servicing and trading centers these means of transport will increase accordingly.

Moreover, we have increasingly dedicated ourselves to the conditions and potentials of intermodal transport concepts, in order to raise the efficiency of the overall system, while at the same time reducing burdens on humans and the environment. To improve the currently still low acceptance levels and appeal for intermodal transport offerings, we are working on user-compliant solutions. These not only consider the specific attributes of the demand side, but also include, among other, technical, informational, tariff-specific or infrastructural aspects. We also address the fundamental question of how an urban transport system of the future has to be shaped to allow for successful implementation of intermodal concepts. The third core area in our studies on urban mobility is the development of goal-oriented solutions for the operational control of urban transport systems. Here, we focus on simulation-based studies of suitable control and management procedures to support intermodality, while at the same time minimizing emissions.

Last modified: 18/10/2013 14:57:54

URL for this article

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10719/1265_read-8507/

Themenübergreifende Arbeiten

Unsere Programmthemen sind durch eine starke arbeitsteilige Vernetzung gekennzeichnet. Dies stellt sicher, dass bereits vorhandenes Wissen zielgerichtet genutzt wird, um programmimmanente Synergiepotenziale optimal zu erschließen. In besonderem Maß gilt dies für unsere Forschung zu Elektromobilität und Urbaner Mobilität. Denn in allen drei Programmthemen werden Fragestellungen adressiert, die in direkter Verbindung zu diesen beiden querschnittlichen Themen stehen.

Die hohe Komplexität des Themas Elektromobilität erfordert eine systemische Bearbeitung, die auch relevante Aspekte der Energiespeicherung, der Energiewirtschaft und der energiespezifischen Systemanalyse integriert. Dem tragen wir vor allem Rechnung durch unsere enge Zusammenarbeit mit den Forschungsbereichen Energie und Schlüsseltechnologien der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft, die nicht zuletzt im Helmholtz-Querschnittsthema Elektromobilität einen formalen Rahmen gefunden hat.

Konsequenterweise wird innerhalb des Programms Verkehr themenübergreifend an Fragen der Elektromobilität geforscht. Dabei erfolgt eine deutliche Erweiterung des oftmals allein auf Fahrzeugtechnologien reduzierten Forschungsgegenstands. Denn neben der Weiterentwicklung von Fahrzeugkomponenten, wie etwa dem Batteriesystem, der Karosserie, dem Thermomanagement, Range Extendern oder intelligenten Assistenzsystemen, arbeiten wir unter anderem an geeigneten Verkehrsmanagementstrategien. Diese sind notwendig, um Elektrofahrzeuge mit ihren spezifischen Eigenschaften zum einen in das bestehende Verkehrssystem optimal zu integrieren und zum anderen ihre lokalen umweltspezifischen Vorteile unter Verkehrssteuerungsaspekten auszuschöpfen. Zudem sehen wir in der Analyse der Nutzeranforderungen, sowohl im Personen- als auch im Wirtschaftsverkehr, einen zentralen Baustein für die erfolgreiche Marktdurchdringung mit Elektrofahrzeugen. Zur Unterstützung und Beförderung der internen Zusammenarbeit haben wir das Cluster Elektromobilitätsforschung implementiert. Seine wesentlichen Aufgaben liegen in einer weiter verbesserten Koordination und schnelleren Integration der in den Programmthemen und Instituten vorhandenen Kompetenzen sowie einer durchlässigen und transparenten Informationskommunikation.

Wie bei der Elektromobilität forschen auch zu den vielfältigen Fragen der Urbanen Mobilität alle Programmthemen des Verkehrs an überzeugenden Antworten. Für uns stehen insbesondere drei Aspekte im Forschungsfokus. So untersuchen wir vor dem Hintergrund des demographischen Wandels verstärkt die sich bereits heute abzeichnenden Änderungen der Bedarfe und Anforderungen an Mobilität sowie Transport in Agglomerationsräumen. Dabei analysieren wir nicht nur Fragen des Personenverkehrs, sondern inkludieren auch die zunehmend drängenderen Probleme der Wirtschafts- und Güterverkehre in unsere Forschungsarbeiten. Denn mit der weiteren Entwicklung der Städte zu Dienstleistungs- und Handelszentren werden auch diese Verkehre zunehmen.

Darüber hinaus widmen wir uns verstärkt den Bedingungen und Potenzialen intermodaler Verkehrskonzepte, um die Effizienz des Gesamtsystems zu steigern und zugleich die Belastungen für Mensch und Umwelt zu reduzieren. Zur Verbesserung der derzeit noch geringen Akzeptanz und Attraktivität intermodaler Verkehrsangebote arbeiten wir an nutzergerechten Lösungen. Diese berücksichtigen neben den spezifischen Attributen der Nachfrager unter anderem technische, informationelle, tarifliche oder infrastrukturelle Aspekte. Wir greifen dabei auch die Grundfrage auf, wie ein urbanes Verkehrssystem der Zukunft ausgestaltet sein muss, damit intermodale Konzepte erfolgreich umgesetzt werden können. Der dritte Schwerpunkt unserer Untersuchungen zur Urbanen Mobilität liegt auf der Entwicklung von zielorientierten Lösungen für die operative Steuerung urbaner Verkehrssysteme. Unser Fokus liegt dabei auf simulationsbasierten Untersuchungen von geeigneten Steuerungs- und Managementverfahren zur Unterstützung der Intermodalität bei gleichzeitiger Emissionsminimierung.

Zuletzt geändert am: 18.10.2013 14:58:09 Uhr

URL dieses Artikels

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10719/1265_read-8507/