Ariane – Europe' s gateway to space

To enable independent access to space, the nations of Europe agreed on the Ariane programme back in 1973; it has since become one of the most successful European technology programmes. Germany has been an important partner from the outset. Launch vehicles remain a key element in European and German space strategy. The overall objective is to create a reliable, flexible and competitive European launch system. The Ariane programme has fulfilled this purpose for 35 years, providing in Ariane 5 a truly high-performance launch vehicle. The Vega small launcher and Russian Soyuz rockets, which like Ariane lift off from the Europe's spaceport in French Guiana, complete the range of launch vehicles.

Ariane 5 – the most reliable launcher in the world

Ariane 5 has the best track record of any launch vehicle in regular use around the world. In service since 1996, Ariane 5 is specifically designed for dual launches, and is capable of transporting over 10 tons of payload into Geostationary Transfer Orbit (GTO). The European launch vehicle currently holds a 50 percent market share of launch services for telecommunications satellites. Not only has it transported over 100 satellites and other craft into space, it has also been responsible for dispatching the European Automated Transfer Vehicles (ATVs) to the International Space Station (ISS). Ariane has also been selected for one of the most prestigious space missions of all time, launching the James Webb Space Telescope (JWST) that is being developed by NASA, ESA and CSA. The successor to the famous Hubble Space Telescope, JWST is scheduled for launch on an Ariane 5 in 2018.

The Ariane 6 programme – Europe's independent access to space secured for the future

At the ESA Ministerial Council Meeting in December 2014, the Member States agreed to develop a new launch vehicle, Ariane 6. This decision was a crucial milestone. To remain successful against international competition, the Ariane launch vehicle not only requires development in line with technical progress, it must also operate economically. The aspect of the European system' s economic efficiency has become increasingly important in recent years – as things stand, Ariane cannot cover its costs without state support.

Developing the current Ariane as a new Ariane 5ME version was seen as a way out of this predicament; the 'Midlife Evolution' programme proposed an increase in Ariane 5’s GTO payload capacity to 12 tons with unchanged launch costs. Intended as an interim measure before the development of Ariane 6, this plan has now been discontinued. Instead, the intention is to start directly with the development of Ariane 6.

Studies conducted prior to the Ministerial Council Meeting demonstrated that experience already acquired with the existing Ariane 5, combined with initial development work on Ariane 5 ME, means that many of the subsystems needed to create a sustainable launch vehicle, equipped to meet the challenges of tougher competition in global markets, are already available. By combining these elements with some additional subsystems, development of Ariane 6 could be completed within five years.

The new Ariane 6 will use a propellant combination of liquid hydrogen and liquid oxygen in both the main and upper stages. The new main stage will be based on the Ariane 5 design, streamlined to optimise cost effectiveness. The upper stage will use a modification of the system originally conceived for Ariane 5ME, using the re-ignitable 'Vinci' rocket engine.

The solid-fuel boosters will provide greater flexibility compared to Ariane 5. Depending on the configuration, with two or four boosters, Ariane 6 will be able to transport a five or 11-ton payload to GTO. The 70-metre rocket's maiden flight is planned for 2020. It will be built by Airbus Safran Launchers, a joint venture between the companies Airbus Defence and Space and the French engine manufacturer Safran.

Last modified: 31/03/2015 10:20:12

URL for this article

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10738/1287_read-9040/

Contacts

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Denis Regenbrecht
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Space Administration, Launchers

Tel.: +49 228 447-565

Fax: +49 228 447-706

65 Ariane mission

65. Ariane%2dMission

65 Launch of Ariane 5 on 28.09.2012 from the European Spaceport in French Guiana.

Artist's view of the Ariane 6 four boosters configuration (A64)

Ariane 6 mit vier Boostern

Artist's view of the Ariane 6 four boosters configuration (A64). The solid-fuel boosters will provide greater flexibility compared to Ariane 5. Depending on the configuration, with two or four boosters, Ariane 6 will be able to transport a five or 11-ton payload into Geostationary Transfer Orbit (GTO).

Downloads

  • Brochure: Launchers – Europe's Gateway to Space (16.01 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/2014/Broschuere_Launcher_hires.pdf)

Ariane - Europas Zugang zum All

Um Europa einen eigenen Zugang zum Weltraum zu ermöglichen, beschlossen die europäischen Staaten 1973 das Ariane-Programm, eines der insgesamt erfolgreichsten europäischen Technologieprogramme. Deutschland war von Anfang an ein wichtiger Partner. Im Rahmen der europäischen wie der deutschen Weltraumstrategie spielt der Raumtransport auch heute eine zentrale Rolle. Übergeordnetes Ziel ist die Bereitstellung eines zuverlässigen, flexiblen und wettbewerbsfähigen europäischen Trägersystems. Das Ariane-Programm erfüllt diesen Zweck seit 35 Jahren und stellt mit der Ariane 5 eine leistungsstarke Trägerrakete zur Verfügung. Flankiert wird das Angebot heute durch den Vega-Kleinträger und die russischen Sojus-Raketen, die wie Ariane ebenfalls von Europas Raumflughafen in Französisch-Guayana aus starten.

Ariane 5 - die zuverlässigste Trägerrakete der Welt

Die Ariane 5 verbucht die weltweit beste Bilanz aller regelmäßig eingesetzten Trägersysteme. Seit 1996 im Einsatz, ist Ariane 5 speziell darauf ausgelegt, im Doppelstart schwere Nutzlasten mit bis zu zehn Tonnen Gewicht in eine geostationäre Erdumlaufbahn zu transportieren. In diesem Marktsegment der Startdienstleistungen für Telekommunikationssatelliten hat das europäische Trägersystem heute einen Anteil von über 50 Prozent. Sie brachte nicht nur über 100 Satelliten und Raumsonden ins Weltall, sondern befördert auch die europäischen Raumfrachter ATV (Automated Transfer Vehicle) zur Internationalen Raumstation ISS. Und sogar für eine der prestigeträchtigsten Weltraummissionen aller Zeiten, das James Webb Space Telescope von NASA, ESA und CSA, ist die Ariane vorgesehen: 2018 soll der Nachfolger des berühmten Hubble-Weltraumteleskops mit der europäischen Ariane 5 starten.

Das Ariane-6-Programm: Zukünftiger autonomer Zugang Europas zum All gesichert

Im Rahmen der ESA-Ministerratskonferenz im Dezember 2014 beschlossen die Mitgliedsstaaten die Entwicklung der neuen Trägerrakete Ariane 6. Diese Entscheidung stellt einen wichtigen Meilenstein dar. Denn, damit das Ariane-Trägersystem im internationalen Wettbewerb dauerhaft erfolgreich bleibt, muss es nicht nur technisch weiterentwickelt, sondern auch wirtschaftlich betrieben werden können. Der Aspekt der Wirtschaftlichkeit der europäischen Träger ist in den letzten Jahren immer wichtiger geworden - momentan ist eine kostendeckende Vermarktung der Ariane ohne staatliche Unterstützung nicht mehr möglich.

Ein Weg aus dieser Situation sollte die Weiterentwicklung der aktuellen Ariane zur Ariane 5ME sein: Dieses "Midlife Evolution"-Programm hatte eine Anhebung der Nutzlastkapazität der Ariane 5 auf zwölf Tonnen bei gleichen Startkosten zum Ziel. Diese, als Zwischenlösung bis zur Ariane 6 gedachte Weiterentwicklung der Ariane 5 wird nun nicht weiterverfolgt. Stattdessen wird nun direkt mit der Entwicklung der Ariane 6 begonnen.

Studien im Vorfeld der Ministerratskonferenz hatten ergeben, dass auf der Grundlage der bisherigen Erfahrungen mit der existierenden Ariane 5 und den Entwicklungsarbeiten zur Ariane 5ME die Bausteine verfügbar sind, um ein zukunftsfähiges Trägerkonzept umzusetzen, welches den verschärften Wettbewerbsbedingungen auf dem Weltmarkt gerecht wird. Durch die Kombination dieser bereits vorhandenen Bausteine sowie der Entwicklung weiterer Elemente ist es möglich, die Ariane 6 in nur fünf Jahren fertig zu entwickeln.

Die Trägerkonfiguration der neuen Ariane 6 nutzt sowohl in der Unter- als auch der Oberstufe, die Treibstoffkombination Flüssigwasserstoff und Flüssigsauerstoff. Die neue Unterstufe basiert technologisch auf der "alten" Unterstufe der Ariane 5, ist jedoch kostenoptimiert ausgelegt. Als Oberstufe kommt eine Abwandlung der bereits für die Ariane 5ME gedachten neuen Oberstufe mit dem wiederzündbaren "Vinci"-Triebwerk zum Einsatz.

Für mehr Flexibilität im Vergleich zur Ariane 5 sorgen die gleichartigen Booster-Motoren auf Feststoffbasis. Die Ariane 6 kann, je nach Konfiguration, fünf oder elf Tonnen Nutzlast in den Weltraum transportieren; dafür ist sie dann entweder mit zwei oder vier Boostern ausgestattet. Der Erstflug der 70 Meter langen Rakete ist für 2020 geplant. Gebaut wird sie von "Airbus Safran Launchers", einem Joint Venture der Unternehmen "Airbus Defence and Space" und des französischen Triebwerksherstellers "Safran".

Zuletzt geändert am: 04.03.2015 11:44:42 Uhr

URL dieses Artikels

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10738/1287_read-9040/

Kontakte

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Denis Regenbrecht
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement, Trägersysteme

Tel.: +49 228 447-565

Fax: +49 228 447-706

65. Ariane-Mission

65. Ariane%2dMission

65. Start der Ariane 5 am 28.09.2012 vom Europäischen Raumflughafen in Kourou.

Ariane 6 mit vier Boostern

Ariane 6 mit vier Boostern

Darstellung der Ariane 6 mit vier Booster-Motoren. Die Ariane 6 kann, je nach Konfiguration, fünf oder elf Tonnen Nutzlast in den Weltraum transportieren; dafür ist sie dann entweder mit zwei (A62) oder vier Boostern (A64) ausgestattet.

Downloads

  • Broschüre: Trägerraketen - Europas Tor zum Weltraum (16,01 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/2014/Broschuere_Launcher_hires.pdf)