DLR involvement in the Rosetta Mission

Germany has played a key role in the Rosetta mission, contributing to the construction of instruments and also industrial contributions to the orbiter, which itself was constructed by the Prime Contractor EADS Astrium (now Airbus) in Friedrichshafen. The Philae lander was developed and built by an international consortium under the leadership of the German Aerospace Center (DLR).

DLR contributed three of the 10 experiments on the Philae lander: the ROLIS camera used during the landing phase; the SESAME experiment for seismic analysis of the comet core; and the MUPUS system, designed to measure the thermal and material properties of the comet.

The Max Planck Society was the most important DLR partner in building the landing module. Among other things, the Institute for Solar System Research developed the landing gear, the ejection mechanism and the mechanical analysis instrument COSAC. The Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics in Garching built the harpoons to anchor the craft to the comet, while the Max Planck Institute for Chemistry in Mainz contributed a material analysis device (APXS). Additionally, the universities of Munster, Mainz and Braunschweig in Germany were involved alongside international partners.

The European Space Operations Centre (ESOC) in Darmstadt controls the Rosetta orbiter, while MUSC (Microgravity User Support Center) in Cologne monitors the Philae landing craft. As soon as the launch was complete, MUSC set about conducting tests and calibrating the payload. These tests were repeated at regular intervals to test the module's operational readiness before Rosetta and Philae went into 'hibernation'.

DLR also contributed to several instruments on board the orbiter, delivering electronic components and software for the spectrometer VIRTIS, used to determine the chemical composition of the comet core surface and the coma as well as to determine the surface temperature. Furthermore, the DLR Institute of Planetary Research in Berlin is involved in the scientific teams of the instruments OSIRIS, RPC and ROSINA.

Last modified: 20/01/2014 10:16:54

URL for this article

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10742/1299_read-9274/

Contacts

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr Stephan Ulamec
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Space Operations and Astronaut Training

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4567
Dr.rer.nat. Ekkehard Kührt
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Planetary Research, Asteroids and Comets

Tel.: +49 30 67055-514

Fax: +49 30 67055-340

Philae landing on comet

Philae landet auf dem Kometen

Artist’s impression of the Rosetta orbiter deploying the Philae lander to comet 67P/Churyumov–Gerasimenko (not to scale).

Rosetta orbiter - Overview of the instruments

Übersicht über die Instrumente an Bord der Raumsonde Rosetta.

Overview of the instruments on board the Rosetta orbiter.

Philae landing craft - Overview of the instruments

Übersicht über die Instrumente an Bord der Landesonde Philae

Overview of the instruments on board the Philae landing craft in the Rosetta Mission.

Related Articles

  • Video: Chasing a Comet – the Rosetta Mission
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10212/332_read-9218/)

Links

  • DLR Institute of Planetary Research
    (http://www.dlr.de/pf/en/desktopdefault.aspx)
  • DLR Institute of Material Physics in Space
    (http://www.dlr.de/mp/en/)
  • Microgravity User Support Center (MUSC)
    (http://www.dlr.de/rb/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4535/)
  • DLR Rosetta Lander Project Homepage
    (http://www.dlr.de/rb/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4538/7439_read-11269/)
  • ESA Rosetta Special
    (http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Science/Rosetta)

Beteiligungen des DLR an der Rosetta-Mission

Deutschland hat sich maßgeblich an der Rosetta-Mission beteiligt; sowohl beim Bau von Instrumenten als auch bei industriellen Beiträgen für den Orbiter. Dieser wurde von dem Hauptauftragnehmer EADS Astrium (heute Airbus) in Friedrichshafen hergestellt. Die Landeeinheit Philae wurde von einem internationalen Konsortium unter Leitung des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) entwickelt und gebaut.

Das DLR stellt auf der Landeeinheit Philae drei der insgesamt zehn Experimente: Die ROLIS-Kamera zur Beobachtung der Kometenoberfläche während der Landephase, das SESAME-Experiment zur seismischen Untersuchung des Kometenkerns und das Gerät MUPUS, mit dem thermische Eigenschaften und die Festigkeit des Kometen gemessen werden.

Wichtigster DLR-Partner beim Bau des Landemoduls war die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft. Deren Institut für Sonnensystemforschung in Katlenburg-Lindau hat unter anderem das Landegestell, den Abstoßmechanismus für die Trennung von der Sonde und das chemische Analyseinstrument COSAC entwickelt. Die Harpunen zur Verankerung im Eis des Kometen sowie ein Plasmainstrument wurden vom Max-Planck-Institut für Extraterrestrik in Garching gebaut, ein Materialanalysegerät (APXS) stammt aus dem Max-Planck-Institut für Chemie in Mainz. Außerdem waren, neben internationalen Partnern, aus Deutschland die Universitäten Münster, Mainz und Braunschweig beteiligt.

Die Rosettasonde wird vom European Space Operations Centre (ESOC) in Darmstadt gesteuert, der Lander Philae vom DLR-Nutzerzentrum für Weltraumexperimente MUSC (Microgravity User Support Center) in Köln. Bereits kurz nach dem Start wurden vom MUSC Tests und Kalibrationen der Nutzlast durchgeführt. Diese Tests wurden bis zum "Winterschlaf" von Rosetta und Philae regelmäßig wiederholt, um die Einsatzbereitschaft des Moduls sicherzustellen.

Außerdem ist das DLR an mehreren Instrumenten auf dem Orbiter beteiligt. Für das Spektrometer VIRTIS zur Bestimmung der chemischen Zusammensetzung der Oberfläche des Kometenkerns und der Koma sowie zur Kartierung der Oberflächentemperatur wurden elektronische Komponenten und Software geliefert. Außerdem ist das Berliner DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung wissenschaftlich in die Instrumente OSIRIS, RPC und ROSINA involviert.
 

Zuletzt geändert am: 20.01.2014 10:16:54 Uhr

URL dieses Artikels

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10742/1299_read-9274/

Kontakte

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr. Stephan Ulamec
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Nutzerzentrum für Weltraumexperimente (MUSC) Raumflugbetrieb und Astronautentraining

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4567
Dr. Ekkehard Kührt
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Planetenforschung

Tel.: +49 30 67055-514

Fax: +49 30 67055-340

Philae landet auf dem Kometen

Philae landet auf dem Kometen

Die Landesonde Philae der Mission Rosetta landet auf dem Kometen 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko, künstlerische Darstellung.

Rosetta-Raumsonde: Übersicht über die Instrumente

Übersicht über die Instrumente an Bord der Raumsonde Rosetta.

Übersicht über die Instrumente an Bord der Raumsonde Rosetta.

Philae-Landesonde: Übersicht über die Instrumente

Übersicht über die Instrumente an Bord der Landesonde Philae

Übersicht der Instrumente an Bord der Landesonde Philae der Kometenmission Rosetta.

Artikel zum Thema

  • Video: Mission ins Ungewisse - Der Kometenjäger Rosetta
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10212/332_read-9218/)

Links

  • DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung
    (http://www.dlr.de/pf/)
  • DLR-Institut für Materialphysik im Weltraum
    (http://www.dlr.de/mp)
  • Nutzerzentrum für Weltraumexperimente (MUSC)
    (http://www.dlr.de/musc)
  • DLR Rosetta Lander Projekt Homepage
    (http://www.dlr.de/rb/de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4538/7439_read-11269/)
  • ESA Rosetta Sonderseiten (engl.)
    (http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Science/Rosetta)