'Space for Earth' – the Space Pavilion at ILA 2014

One of the highlights at the ILA Berlin Air Show is the Space Pavilion, organised jointly by DLR, the European Space Agency (ESA) and the German Aviation and Aerospace Industry Association, (Bundesverband der Deutschen Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie; BDLI). Under the theme 'Space for Earth', a special focus is being placed on space projects with practical relevance to Earth.

  • Galileo Control Center
    Satellites in the Galileo navigation system are controlled and monitored from the Galileo Control Center run by the DLR GfR. Four satellites are currently in flight operation and initial geo-locations have been successfully conducted; the system will eventually consist of 30 satellites.

  • Galileo Service GATE, railGATE, SEA GATE, aviationGATE
    Galileo satellite signals are simulated in different environments and across different applications to test use of the Galileo navigation system. This currently permits testing of applications in the automobile, rail, shipping and air transport sectors under real conditions.

  • EDRS (European Data Relay System)
    EDRS will be based on a network of geostationary 'relay' satellites; they will be used to transmit the ever-increasing volumes of data from Earth observation satellites to the ground without any time delay. The system uses an optical laser communication technology developed in Germany.

  • Heinrich Hertz satellite mission
    The Heinrich Hertz satellite mission is designed to test innovative satellite communications technology under real conditions in space. This will involve exposing the hardware to the extreme stresses caused by intense radiation and frequent temperature changes. The data acquired in this way will permit quality assessment and progressive development of new technologies and transmission methods.

  • Alphasat
    Launched in 2013, the European satellite Alphasat I-XL offers space to test technologies for the first time under the special conditions of geostationary orbit, in addition to carrying a commercial payload. A star tracker developed by Jena Optronik GmbH delivers highly precise orbit and attitude information and hence assists in the precise alignment of the optical laser communication terminal (LCT).

  • Laser communication terminal (LCT)
    The next generation of satellite communication systems will require inter-satellite link (ISL) data transmission capacities of between one and 10 gigabits per second, and the microwave technology available at the moment will prove inadequate. Funded by DLR and the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), a research and development project was conducted under the auspices of Tesat-Spacecom GmbH and in cooperation with Astrium and Zeiss Optronik to develop the technology required for small, high-performance, reliable laser terminals.

  • HEMP ion propulsion
    The High Efficiency Multi Stage Plasma (HEMP) thruster uses ionised xenon gas as its propellant and achieves a fivefold increase in specific impulse compared with the best chemically fuelled thrusters. This means that faster journeys through outer space will be possible using electric propulsion. Four HEMP thrusters are scheduled to set off for space on a small geostationary satellite (SmallGEO) in 2014.

  • Remote sensing data for research and applications
    The purpose of the TanDEM-X (TerraSAR-X add-on for Digital Elevation Measurement) mission is to produce a highly precise, three-dimensional image of Earth in uniform quality and unprecedented accuracy. TanDEM-X is delivering a homogeneous elevation model as the indispensable foundation for many commercial applications and to answer a multitude of scientific questions. A variety of possible applications, including tectonic and climatic research, are illustrated based on front projection onto three terrain models (river valley, mountain landscape, island).

  • Ariane 5 ME
    The purpose of the current Ariane 5 Midlife Evolution (ME) programme at ESA is to increase Ariane 5’s payload capacity to 12 tons. The new Vinci upper stage engine, which DLR is testing in Lampoldshausen, together with a greater fuel load in the upper stage, will equip Ariane 5 with increased performance and greater mission flexibility.

  • Engine test stand P4.1
    The P4 test stand at the DLR site in Lampoldshausen consists of two test positions, P4.1 and P4.2. Both systems have seen multiple modifications since their first use to meet the requirements of a variety of development programmes. The latest upgrade permits tests under high-altitude conditions. The P4.1 test stand is currently in use for tests on the new European cryogenic upper stage engine, Vinci.

  • Combustion chamber technology
    The Vinci upper stage engine is the most powerful and advanced in Europe. Designed for future generations of European Ariane launchers, it is scheduled to become operational in 2017. With its re-ignition capability, the engine can deliver satellites directly into geostationary transfer orbit or transport them to a variety of other orbits. Additionally, its active de-orbit capability will contribute to reducing space debris.

  • The German Space Operations Center
    The German Space Operations Center (GSOC) has managed space missions since 1969, controlling both satellites and manned flights. The space laboratory Columbus, Europe’s largest contribution to the International Space Station (ISS), was brought into operation in February 2008. This also marked the start of work for the Columbus Control Center (Col-CC).

  • Alexander Gerst – the next German ESA astronaut
    Alexander Gerst is scheduled to depart for the International Space Station (ISS) from the spaceport in Baikonur on 28 May 2014. Gerst will be the Senior Flight Engineer for the European Automated Transfer Vehicle (ATV). He will monitor the arrival of the space transporter as part of the 'Blue Dot' mission and is responsible for distributing the 2600-kilogram payload. Additionally, his duty roster involves the commissioning of the materials science laboratory for electromagnetic levitation.

  • Space medicine
    Astronauts carry dosimeters on their bodies to measure their exposure to radiation in space. They are used to log exposure outside the body, directly on the skin. The Dosis 3D experiment records exposure inside the Space Station. The aim is to use this data to produce a three-dimensional map of radiation exposure within the International Space Station. The results will be particularly relevant for future manned missions, in order to design effective shielding.

  • Automated Transfer Vehicle (ATV)
    he last scheduled flight of an Automated Transfer Vehicle (ATV), George Lemaître, is set to take place in June 2014. The ATV programme has provided Europe with access to the International Space Station since 2008. ATV, the most complex space vehicle ever constructed in Western Europe, is an outstanding milestone in the history of European spaceflight. DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen coordinates communications between the ATV Control Centres spread across the world. DLR in Lampoldshausen also tested the German re-ignitable upper stage engines for the Ariane 5.

  • The European space laboratory Columbus
    Columbus, Europe's contribution to the ISS, is a multipurpose laboratory for interdisciplinary research under microgravity conditions. It was installed permanently on the ISS on 11 February 2008. The European Columbus Control Centre within DLR's German Space Operations Center in Oberpfaffenhofen is in charge of laboratory operations.

  • DLR Robot TORO
    Whereas the purpose of other robots is to move as planned within familiar terrain, TORO is chiefly designed to cope independently, flexibly and safely with a new and unfamiliar environment. To do this, researchers at the DLR Robotics and Mechatronics Center draw on knowledge they already possess: TORO's arms and legs are based on the DLR lightweight robots already used in car manufacturing.

  • DLR Moon Rover
    The DLR Moon Rover by the DLR Robotics and Mechatronics Center uses Semi-Global Matching (SGM) to develop an awareness of its environment. In this, only the destination coordinates are added to the camera image by human hand. The rover then sets off independently to negotiate a safe path to the specified destination. This technology, developed at DLR, is necessary as long signal transit times make direct remote control of space robots slow and cumbersome, leading to a risk that the rover might get stuck in impassable terrain.

  • The German service satellite DEOS
    DEOS is designed to grasp and then dock with inactive satellites in space. It will be able to conduct maintenance or manoeuvre an uncontrollable or defective satellite into a controlled descent and burn-up in Earth's atmosphere. DEOS is planned to consist of a target and a service satellite and is intended to demonstrate the feasibility of this technology.

  • Mars in 3D
    The European Mars Express mission that set off on 2 June 2003 is providing important new data on the geology, meteorology and atmosphere of Mars. Mars Express will permit drawing conclusions on the climate history of the Red Planet as well as clarify the role and presence of water. The High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) developed by the DLR Institute of Planetary Research is mapping Mars at an unprecedented resolution, in three-dimensions and in colour.

  • Asteroid landing craft MASCOT
    MASCOT (Mobile Asteroid Surface Scout) will set off with the Japanese orbiter Hayabusa-2 in December 2014. The landing craft will be ejected above the asteroid 1999 JU 3. Upon arrival on the surface, it will deploy a variety of instruments to conduct measurements, using a flywheel mechanism to 'hop' from measuring point to measuring point.

  • Rosetta – Europe's comet chaser
    After a flight lasting over 10 years, ESA's Rosetta spacecraft is scheduled to reach Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko in August 2014. The Philae lander will then touch down on the surface of the comet in November. Together, Rosetta and Philae are carrying 21 instruments designed to analyse the comet. DLR played a lead role in the development of the lander and is responsible for operating the lander control centre that will supervise the daring and previously unattempted comet landing.

  • Orion
    Orion is the US multipurpose space capsule (Multi-Purpose Crew Vehicle, MPCV) being developed by Lockheed Martin for NASA and ESA. Its purpose is to enable manned flights with between two and six astronauts into low Earth orbit or to the Moon, Mars and asteroids. The MPCV is also suitable for transporting cargo and astronauts to the International Space Station.

 

Last modified: 20/05/2014 21:46:11

URL for this article

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10759/1326_read-10011/

Space Pavilion at ILA 2014

Space Pavilion at ILA 2014

The Space Pavilion is organised jointly by DLR, the European Space Agency (ESA) and the German Aviation and Aerospace Industry Association, (Bundesverband der Deutschen Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie; BDLI).

Alexander Gerst during training in Star City near Moscow

Alexander Gerst beim Training im Sternenstädtchen nahe Moskau

The training of German ESA astronaut Alexander Gerst includes instruction in the use of special spacesuits. The image shows Gerst trying on the Russian Sokol space suit that he will wear during his six-hour flight to the ISS in a Soyuz spacecraft.

Rosetta at the comet

Rosetta am Kometen

Artist's impression of the Rosetta spacecraft at its destination, Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko. The picture is not to scale; the spacecraft's solar arrays have a span of 32 metres; the diameter of the nucleus is about four kilometres.

Oblique view of 'Mound C' in Juventae Chasma

Schrägansicht von "Hügel C" in Juventae Chasma

The stereo image data delivered by the DLR-operated HRSC camera system on board Mars Express enables to present the landscape from different perspectives. This image shows what scientists have named 'Mound C', a mountain in Juventae Chasma with a width of 53 kilometres and a height of 3300 metres, and whose dimensions naturally have more in common with an alpine mountain range than a heap of soil. Lighter layers are seen here on the eastern flank, close to the base, consisting of gypsum and similar sulphate minerals. Relatively soft material, stretching for several kilometres in line with the prevalent winds, has been eroded to form sharp ridges that look almost like a sand blaster has been at work.

Artist's impression of Alphasat I-XL

The European telecommunications satellite Alphasat I-XL was launched on 25 July 2013 with the intention of revolutionising mobile telecommunications. From geostationary orbit at an altitude of about 36,000 kilometres, it will be testing new technologies such as the German Laser Communication Terminal (LCT).

The TORO robot from head to toe

TORO

The German Aerospace Center's (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) TORO robot began as a walking machine – just legs with a camera. With an upper body, arms and hands, TORO is now complete.

65 Ariane mission

65. Ariane%2dMission

65 Launch of Ariane 5 on 28.09.2012 from the European Spaceport in French Guiana.

TanDEM-X and TerraSAR-X orbiting in formation

TanDEM%2dX und TerraSAR%2dX im Formationsflug

TanDEM-X and TerraSAR-X orbit in formation to acquire data for a highly accurate global digital elevation model.

Galileo test satellites in their orbits

Das Bild zeigt alle vier Galileo In Orbit Validation%2dSatelliten auf ihren Umlaufbahnen. Die ersten beiden Satelliten sind am 21. Oktober 2011 ins All gebracht worden.

The image depicts all four Galileo In Orbit Validation satellites in their orbits. The first two satellites were launched on 21 October 2011.

High-efficiency multi-stage plasma (HEMP)

Das High Efficiency Multi Stage Plasma (HEMP)%2dTriebwerk

In 2014, a small geostationary satellite (SmallGEO) will be launched to demonstrate in orbit for the first time that new technologies are capable of significantly reducing the operating cost of telecommunication satellites. The HEMP thrusters, their power supply, the xenon gas flow controller, and other components will form a HEMP thruster assembly (HTA) that will be integrated in the SmallGeo satellite. The HTA project was commissioned by DLR's Space Administration.

Artist's impression of Heinrich Hertz satellite

Künstlerische Darstellung des Heinrich%2dHertz%2dSatelliten

In the Heinrich Hertz satellite mission, new satellite payload, ground station, antenna, and satellite platform technologies will be tested for up to 15 years under the extreme conditions prevailing in a geostationary orbit, such as high radiation levels and extreme temperature fluctuations.

Links

  • DLR Rosetta webspecial
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10394/)
  • DLR Web special: 10 years HRSC camera on board Mars Express
    (http://www.mex10.dlr.de/index-en.html)
  • DLR Mars Express Webspecial
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10333/)

Downloads

  • Booklet: DLR exhibits at ILA 2014 (3.54 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/2014/ILA14_standfuehrer_web.pdf)
  • Mission brochure: Blue Dot - Alexander Gerst shapes our future on the International Space Station (9.54 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/2014/23675_Gerst_Web_high.pdf)
  • GATEs brochure (7.98 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/2011_1/21540_DLR_GATEs_web_max.pdf)
  • ATV brochure (2.54 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/atv_dlr_de_en.pdf)
  • TanDEM-X brochure (8.05 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/TanDEM-X_web.pdf)
  • Earth Observation - Discovering, Surveying, and Understanding Our Planet (7.12 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/2013/Erdbeobachtung_280313_web_72dpi.pdf)
  • Mars Express brochure (1.78 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/en/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/mex_folder_0908.pdf)

Forschung für die Erde - Der Space Pavilion auf der ILA 2014

Eines der Highlights der ILA Berlin Air Show ist der gemeinsame Space Pavilion von DLR, der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA und dem Bundesverband der Deutschen Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie (BDLI). Unter dem Motto "Space for Earth" stehen insbesondere Raumfahrtprojekte mit irdischem Anwendungsbezug im Fokus.

  • Galileo Control Center
    Im Galileo-Kontrollzentrum der DLR-Gesellschaft für Raumfahrtanwendungen werden die Satelliten des Galileo-Navigationssystems gesteuert und überwacht. Zurzeit fliegen vier Satelliten, mit denen erste Ortungen erfolgreich durchgeführt wurden. Im Endausbau soll das System aus 30 Satelliten bestehen.

  • Galileo-Service GATE, railGATE, seaGATE, aviatonGATE
    Um die Nutzung des Galileo-Navigationssystems testen zu können, werden in unterschiedlichen Umgebungen für unterschiedliche Anwendungen Signale der Galileo-Satelliten simuliert. Derzeit können Anwendungen in den Bereichen Auto-, Bahn-, Schiffs- und Luftverkehr unter realen Umgebungsbedingungen getestet werden.

  • EDRS (European Data Relay System)
    EDRS basiert auf einem Netz von geostationären "Verteiler"-Satelliten, welche künftig die immer größer werdenden Datenmengen niedrig fliegender Erdbeobachtungssatelliten ohne zeitliche Verzögerung zur Erde weiterleiten sollen. Dabei wird in Deutschland entwickelte optische Laserkommunikations-Technologie eingesetzt.

  • Die Satellitenmission "Heinrich Hertz"
    Mit der Satellitenmission "Heinrich Hertz" sollen neuartige Satellitenkommunikations-Techniken unter Weltraumbedingungen getestet werden. Dabei wird die Hardware extremen Belastungen durch intensive Bestrahlung und häufige Temperaturwechsel ausgesetzt. Die so gewonnenen Daten ermöglichen es, die Qualität neuer Technologien und Übertragungswege zu beurteilen und diese weiterzuentwickeln.

  • Alphasat
    Der 2013 gestartete europäische Satellit Alphasat I-XL bietet neben Raum für kommerzielle Nutzlast Platz für Technologien, die erstmals unter den besonderen Bedingungen des Weltalls im geostationären Orbit getestet werden: Ein Sternsensor der Firma Jena Optronik liefert hochgenaue Bahn- und Lageinformationen und unterstützt damit auch die präzise Ausrichtung des optischen Laser-Kommunikationsterminals (LCT).

  • Laser-Kommunikationsterminal (LCT)
    Satellitenkommunikationssysteme der nächsten Generationen werden ISL-Datenübertragungskapazitäten von ein bis zehn Gigabit pro Sekunde erfordern, die mit der verfügbaren Hochfrequenztechnik nicht realisierbar sind. Unter Leitung der Tesat-Spacecom GmbH wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit Astrium und Zeiss Optronik ein über das DLR geförderte BMBF-Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekt durchgeführt, um die Technologien für kleine, leistungsstarke und zuverlässige Laser-Terminals zu entwickeln.

  • HEMP-Ionen-Antrieb
    Das High Efficiency Multi Stage Plasma (HEMP)-Triebwerk wird mit ionisiertem Xenon-Gas betrieben und erreicht so einen fünfmal höheren Spezifischen Impuls als die besten chemischen Triebwerke. Auch schnellere Reisen durch das Weltall werden mit elektrischen Antrieben möglich. 2014 sollen vier HEMP-Triebwerke erstmals mit einem kleinen geostationären Satelliten (SmallGEO) ins All starten.

  • Fernerkundungsdaten für Forschung und Anwendung
    Das Ziel der Mission TanDEM-X (TerraSAR-X add-on for Digital Elevation Measurement) ist ein hochgenaues, dreidimensionales Abbild unserer Erde in einheitlicher Qualität und von bislang unerreichter Genauigkeit. TanDEM-X liefert ein homogenes Höhenmodell als Grundlage für viele kommerzielle Anwendungen und wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen. Anhand von Aufprojektionen auf drei Geländemodelle (Flußtal, Berglandschaft, Insel) werden unterschiedliche Anwendungsbereiche von TDX, wie beispielsweise in der Tektonik- und Klimaforschung, illustriert.

  • Ariane 5 ME
    Ziel des aktuellen Ariane 5 Midlife Evolution-Programms der ESA ist es, die Nutzlast der Ariane 5 auf zwölf Tonnen zu erhöhen. Mit dem vom DLR in Lampoldshausen getesteten neuen VINCI-Oberstufentriebwerk und einer höheren Treibstoffzuladung in der Oberstufe soll die Ariane 5 mit mehr Leistung und größerer Missionsflexibilität ausgestattet werden.

  • Triebwerk-Teststand P4.1
    Der Prüfstand P4 am DLR-Standort Lampoldshausen besteht aus zwei Testpositionen, dem P4.1 und P4.2. Beide Anlagen wurden seit ihrer ersten Nutzung mehrfach modifiziert, um den Anforderungen der verschiedenen Entwicklungsprogramme gerecht zu werden. In der heutigen Ausbaustufe können Tests unter Höhenbedingungen durchgeführt werden. Der Prüfstand P4.1 wird derzeit für Tests des neuen europäischen kryogenen Oberstufentriebwerks VINCI genutzt.

  • Schubkammertechnologie
    VINCI ist das leistungsstärkste und modernste Oberstufentriebwerk Europas. Es ist für zukünftige Generationen der europäischen Trägerrakete Ariane vorgesehen und soll 2017 einsatzbereit sein. Das Triebwerk kann mit seiner Wiederzündbarkeit Satelliten direkt in den Geostationären Orbit einschießen oder sie auf verschiedene Umlaufbahnen bringen. Zusätzlich kann es durch seine aktive De-Orbit-Kapazität zur Schrottvermeidung im Weltraum beitragen.

  • Das Deutsche Raumfahrtkontrollzentrum
    Das Deutsche Raumfahrtkontrollzentrum (German Space Operations Center, GSOC) führt seit 1969 Raumflugmissionen durch: Es steuert sowohl Satellitenmissionen als auch bemannte Missionen. Im Februar 2008 wurde das Raumlabor "Columbus" als größter europäischer Beitrag zur Internationalen Raumstation ISS in Betrieb genommen. Damit nahm das Columbus-Kontrollzentrum (Col-CC) seine Arbeit auf.

  • Alexander Gerst - der nächste deutsche ESA-Astronaut
    Am 28. Mai 2014 soll Alexander Gerst vom Weltraumbahnhof in Baikonur zur Internationalen Raumstation ISS aufbrechen. Gerst ist leitender Bordingenieur für das europäische Automated Transfer Vehicle (ATV). Im Rahmen der Mission "Blue Dot" überwacht er die Ankunft des Raumtransporters und übernimmt die Verantwortung für die Verteilung der 2.600 Kilogramm schweren Nutzlast. Sein Dienstplan sieht des Weiteren die erste Inbetriebnahme des materialwissenschaftlichen Labors zur Elektromagnetischen Levitation vor.

  • Raumfahrtmedizin
    Um die Strahlenbelastung der Astronauten im Weltall zu erfassen, führen sie am Körper Dosimeter mit sich. Damit können die Belastungen außerhalb des Körpers, also direkt auf der Haut, gemessen werden. Mit dem Experiment Dosis 3D wird die Strahlung innerhalb der Raumstation gemessen. Ziel ist es, aus den Daten eine dreidimensionale Karte der Strahlenbelastung in der Internationalen Raumstation ISS zu erzeugen. Wichtig sind die Ergebnisse vor allem für eine gute Abschirmung beispäteren bemannten Raumfahrtmissionen.

  • Automated Transfer Vehicle (ATV)
    Der Start des vorläufig letzten ISS-Versorgungraumschiffes ATV,  "George Lemaître", ist für Juni 2014 vorgesehen. Mit dem ATV-Programm hatte Europa seit 2008 einen eigenen Zugang zur Internationalen Raumstation. Als komplexestes, jemals in Westeuropa gebautes Raumfahrzeug ist ATV ein bedeutender Meilenstein in der europäischen Raumfahrtgeschichte. Das DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen koordiniert dabei die Kommunikation zwischen den weltweit verteilten Kontrollzentren von ATV. Beim DLR in Lampoldshausen wurden außerdem die deutschen, wiederzündbaren Oberstufentriebwerke der Ariane 5 getestet.

  • Das europäische Weltraumlabor Columbus
    Columbus, Europas Beitrag zur ISS, ist ein Mehrzwecklabor für die multidisziplinäre Forschung unter Schwerelosigkeit und wurde am 11. Februar 2008 dauerhaft an die ISS montiert. Den Betrieb des Labors leitet das europäische Columbus-Kontrollzentrum innerhalb des Deutschen Raumfahrtkontrollzentrums des DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen.

  • DLR-Roboter TORO
    Während andere Roboter sich vor allem in bekannter Umgebung geplant bewegen sollen, soll TORO sich selbstständig, flexibel und sicher in einer neuen, unbekannten Umgebung bewähren. Dabei greifen die Wissenschaftler des DLR-Zentrums für Robotik und Mechatronik auf bereits erworbenes Wissen zurück: Arme und Beine von TORO basieren auf den Leichtbaurobotern des DLR, die schon für Arbeitsschritte in der Autoproduktion eingesetzt werden.

  • DLR-Mondrover
    Der DLR-Mondrover des DLR-Instituts für Robotik und Mechatronik nimmt seine Umgebung mittels Semi-Global Matching (SGM) wahr. Hierbei gibt der Mensch lediglich Zielpunkte im Kamerabild vor, woraufhin sich der Rover selbständig einen sicheren Weg zu diesen Zielpunkten sucht. Diese am DLR entwickelte Technologie ist nötig, da eine direkte Fernsteuerung von Weltraumrobotern aufgrund langer Signallaufzeiten umständlich und langsam ist und damit eine sehr hohe Gefahr besteht, mit dem Rover in unwegsamem Gelände stecken zu bleiben.

  • Der deutsche Servicesatellit DEOS
    DEOS soll inaktive Satelliten im Weltall greifen und sich ankoppeln. Anschließend könnten dann entweder Wartungsarbeiten durchgeführt werden oder der steuerlose, defekte Satellit gezielt zum Absturz und Verglühen in der Atmosphäre gebracht werden. DEOS soll aus einem Ziel- und einem Service-Satelliten bestehen und die Machbarkeit demonstrieren. 

  • Der Mars in 3D
    Die am 2. Juni 2003 gestartete, europäische Mission Mars Express liefert wichtige neue Daten zur Geologie, Mineralogie und Atmosphäre des Mars. Mars Express wird Aufschluss über die Klimageschichte des Roten Planeten geben und die Rolle und den Verbleib von Wasser klären. Mit der im DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung entwickelten, hochauflösenden Stereokamera HRSC wird der Mars in nie da gewesener Auflösung dreidimensional und in Farbe kartiert.

  • Asteroidenlander MASCOT
    MASCOT (Mobile Asteroid Surface Scout) wird im Dezember 2014 mit der japanischen Sonde Hayabusa-2 starten. Über dem  Asteroiden 1999 JU 3 wird das Landegerät abgeworfen. Auf der Oberfläche soll es mit mehreren Instrumenten Messungen vornehmen und sich mit einem Schwungradmechanismus "hüpfend" von Messstelle zu Messstelle bewegen.

  • Rosetta - Europas Kometenjäger
    Im August 2014 soll die ESA-Raumsonde Rosetta nach über zehn Jahren Flugzeit den Kometen Churyumov-Gerasimenko erreichen. Im November wird dann der Lander Philae auf der Kometenoberfläche aufsetzen. Insgesamt fliegen 21 Instrumente mit, um den Kometen zu untersuchen. Das DLR hatte wesentliche Anteile am Bau des Landegeräts und betreibt das Lander-Kontrollzentrum, das die schwierige und bisher noch nie gewagte Landung auf dem Kometen vorbereitet und betreuen wird.

  • Orion
    Orion, die US-amerikanische Mehrzweck-Raumkapsel (Multi-Purpose Crew Vehicle, MPCV), ist eine Entwicklung von Lokheed Martin für NASA und ESA. Sie soll bemannte Flüge von zwei bis sechs Astronauten über den niedrigen Erdorbit hinaus bis hin zu Mond, Mars und Asteroiden ermöglichen. Auch als Cargo- und Astronauten-Transporter zur Internationalen Raumstation ISS kann das MPCV zum Einsatz kommen. 

Zuletzt geändert am: 20.05.2014 21:44:17 Uhr

URL dieses Artikels

  • http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10759/1326_read-10011/

Eingang in den Space Pavilion der ILA 2014

Eingang in den Space Pavilion der ILA 2014

Der gemeinsame Space Pavilion von DLR, der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA und dem Bundesverband der Deutschen Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie (BDLI) steht unter dem Motto "Space for Earth".

Alexander Gerst beim Training im Sternenstädtchen nahe Moskau

Alexander Gerst beim Training im Sternenstädtchen nahe Moskau

Zur Ausbildung des deutschen ESA-Astronauten Alexander Gerst gehört auch das Training in speziellen Raumanzügen. Das Bild zeigt Alexander Gerst beim "Anziehen" des russischen Sokol-Raumanzugs, den er auch während seines sechsstündigen Fluges in einer Sojus-Kapsel zur ISS tragen wird.

Rosetta am Kometen

Rosetta am Kometen

Künstlerische Darstellung der Rosetta-Sonde, die an ihrem Ziel, dem Kometen 67P/Churyumov–Gerasimenko, angekommen ist. Das Bild ist nicht maßstabsgerecht: Die Sonde hat einen Durchmesser von 32 Metern inklusiver der Solarpanele, der Durchmesser des Kometenkerns beträgt etwa vier Kilometer.

Schrägansicht von "Hügel C" in Juventae Chasma

Schrägansicht von "Hügel C" in Juventae Chasma

Mit den Stereobilddaten des vom DLR betriebenen Kamerasystems HRSC auf Mars Express ist es möglich, die Landschaft unter verschiedenen Blickwinkeln darzustellen. Das Bild zeigt eine Ansicht des 53 Kilometer breiten und 3300 Meter hohen, von den Wissenschaftlern "Hügel C" getauften Bergrückens in Juventae Chasma - dessen Dimensionen freilich eher einem alpinen Gebirgszug als einem Hügel (engl. "Mound") ähneln. Nahe seinem Sockel sind an der hier sichtbaren Ostflanke helle Schichten zu sehen, die aus Gips und ähnlichen Sulfatmineralen bestehen. Auf dem gratförmigen Rücken wurde relativ weiches, leicht zu erodierendes Material entlang der vorherrschenden Windrichtung wie von einem Sandstrahlgebläse zu vielen Kilometern langen Felsgraten geschliffen.

Künstlerische Darstellung von Alphasat I-XL

Der europäische Kommunikationssatellit Alphasat I-XL ist am 25. Juli 2013 ins All gestartet, um die Mobilfunktechnologie zu revolutionieren. Im geostationären Orbit in rund 36.000 Kilometern über der Erde wird er auch neue Technologien wie das deutsche Laser Communication Terminal (LCT) im Weltall testen.

Roboter TORO von Kopf bis Fuß

TORO

TORO, der Roboter des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), hat als Gehmaschine - also als Beine samt Kamera - begonnen. Jetzt ist TORO mit Oberkörper, Armen und Händen komplett.

65. Ariane-Mission

65. Ariane%2dMission

65. Start der Ariane 5 am 28.09.2012 vom Europäischen Raumflughafen in Kourou.

TanDEM-X und TerraSAR-X im Formationsflug

TanDEM%2dX und TerraSAR%2dX im Formationsflug

TanDEM-X und TerraSAR-X fliegen in Formation im Weltall und erstellen ein hochgenaues globales Höhenmodell

Umlaufbahnen der Galileo-Testsatelliten

Das Bild zeigt alle vier Galileo In Orbit Validation%2dSatelliten auf ihren Umlaufbahnen.

Das Bild zeigt alle vier Galileo In Orbit Validation-Satelliten auf ihren Umlaufbahnen. Die ersten beiden Satelliten sind am 21. Oktober 2011 ins All gebracht worden. Das zweite Satellitenpaar folgte am 12. Oktober 2012.

Das High Efficiency Multi Stage Plasma (HEMP)-Triebwerk

Das High Efficiency Multi Stage Plasma (HEMP)%2dTriebwerk

Die neuartigen HEMP-Triebwerke sind wirkungsvoller, leichter und folglich wirtschaftlicher als bisher verwendete Antriebe. Die geringe Komplexität, die kompakte und zuverlässige Bauweise der HEMP-Triebwerke sowie die damit erreichbare Einsparung an Treibstoff führen zu signifikanten Kosteneinsparungen im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Antriebssystemen.

Künstlerische Darstellung des Heinrich-Hertz-Satelliten

Künstlerische Darstellung des Heinrich%2dHertz%2dSatelliten

Der deutsche Kommunikationssatellit Heinrich Hertz soll im Jahr 2016 ins All starten und dort neue Technologien unter realen Bedingungen testen.

Links

  • DLR-Sonderseite zur Rosetta-Mission
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10394/)
  • DLR-Webspecial: 10 Jahre HRSC-Kamera auf Mars Express
    (http://www.mex10.dlr.de/index.html)
  • Mars Express-Sonderseite des DLR
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10333/)

Downloads

  • Booklet: DLR-Exponate auf der ILA 2014 (3,54 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/2014/ILA14_standfuehrer_web.pdf)
  • Broschüre: Blue Dot - Alexander Gerst gestaltet unsere Zukunft auf der Internationalen Raumstation (9,54 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/2014/23675_Gerst_Web_high.pdf)
  • Broschüre: Deutsche Forschung auf der Internationalen Raumstation (8,34 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/2014/ISS-Nutzungsbroschuere.pdf)
  • GATEs-Broschüre (7,98 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/2011_1/21540_DLR_GATEs_web_max.pdf)
  • ATV-Broschüre des DLR (2,54 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/atv_dlr_de_en.pdf)
  • TanDEM-X-Broschüre (8,05 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/TanDEM-X_web.pdf)
  • Erdbeobachtung - Unseren Planeten erkunden, vermessen und verstehen (7,12 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/2013/Erdbeobachtung_280313_web_72dpi.pdf)
  • Mars Express-Broschüre (1,78 MB)
    (http://www.dlr.de/dlr/Portaldata/1/Resources/documents/mex_folder_0908.pdf)