German delegation completes marathon rounds of talks in Japan

Strengthening relationships

05 July 2017

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • GruppeOkumura_sn.JPG
    Meeting with JAXA President

    Gerd Gruppe, Executive Board Member responsible for the Space
    Administration at DLR, meets Naoki Okumura, President of the Japanese
    Space Agency JAXA.

  • GruppeTsuruho_sn.jpg
    Gerd Gruppe meets Japanese minister Yosuke Tsuruho

    Gerd Gruppe, right, Executive Board Member responsible for the Space
    Administration at DLR, met with Yosuke Tsuruho, Japanese Minister of
    State for Science, Technology and Space Policy, center. Gruppe demonstrated the German TanDEM-X mission on the basis of a model in the presence of Niklas Reinke, Head of the DLR Tokyo Office. Yosuke Tsuruho and Gert Gruppe agreed on a more intensive cooperation between Japan and Germany in the area of space travel. Yosuke Tsuruho supports in particular bilateral industrial cooperation.

  • GruppeShimomura_sn.JPG
    Meeting with the Chair of Keidanren

    Gerd Gruppe, Executive Board Member responsible for the Space
    Administration at DLR, meets Setsuhiro Shimomura, Chair of the Japanese
    Business Federation Keidanren.

  • GruppeKeidanren_sn.jpg
    Speech to the Space Industry Business Federation

    Gerd Gruppe, Executive Board Member responsible for the Space
    Administration at DLR, speaks before the Keidanren Business Federation.

  • A large German industrial delegation headed by the DLR Space Administration is visiting Japan from 3 to 7 July 2017.
  • A marathon of talks with high-ranking partners from politics and industry will take place.
  • Focus: Space, digitalisation, Industry 4.0

People from Japan and Germany are frequently said to possess very similar character traits: dedication, discipline, thoroughness, reliability, conscientiousness and technology-driven. These attributes are important prerequisites for success in the space sector. So, while around 9000 kilometres may lie between the two countries, Germany and Japan have very similar goals: "The space industry is strategically important in both countries, and although smaller compared to the United States or Russia, it represents a steadily growing sector. Germany and Japan can benefit from numerous synergies by cooperating closely," emphasised Gerd Gruppe, Executive Board Member responsible for the Space Administration at the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR). A delegation of representatives from the German space industry is visiting Japan from 3 to 7 July 2017 under the auspices of DLR, which is using this trip to continue strengthening its already positive relationship with Japan. Indeed, Gruppe  already travelled to Tokyo with delegations from industry in 2014 and 2015.

Japan and Germany – equal partners

"Japan and Germany appear to be predestined for a partnership of equals. They are both technologically advanced nations and have similar economic situations. As is the case everywhere else in the world, their space sectors are facing increasing competition. This is a good reason to search for programmatic similarities," explained Gruppe. Driven by strong economic policies, the Japanese space sector is focusing on achieving better commercial exploitation. Like Germany, Japan is increasingly placing its trust in space applications, such as Earth observation, satellite-based navigation and telecommunications, in addition to innovative technologies and manufacturing systems in accordance with Industry 4.0 standards. The economic potential inherent in these areas in the digital age is apparent in the stronger commitment of the Japanese Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI), which now shares responsibility for the space sector with the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT). In Germany, the space sector is part of the portfolio of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) – fertile ground for a meeting between representatives of the German and Japanese space industries.

Marathon talks at the highest level

The German delegation consists of DLR staff members and representatives of the following companies: Active Space Technologies, Airbus Defence and Space, Astro- und Feinwerktechnik Adlershof GmbH, DSI Informationstechnik GmbH, ECM – Engineered Ceramic Materials GmbH, von Hoerner & Sulger GmbH, Jena-Optronik GmbH, JKIC, Kastanienbaum / Franka GmbH, OHB System AG, Rostock System-Technik GmbH and ViaLight Communications GmbH. They are completing exhaustive rounds of talks with their high-level hosts against this backdrop. Among others, the DLR delegation will meet with Yosuke Tsuruho, Japan Minister of State for Science, Technology and Space Policy, Naoki Okumura, President of the Japan Space Agency JAXA, Masanori Tsuruda, Director of the Space Industry Office at MEXT, as well as senior representatives of the important Japan Business Federation Keidanren and the Society of Japanese Aerospace Companies (SJAC). The German space industry delegates will also meet with their Japanese counterparts to discuss areas of potential cooperation, on the initiative of DLR and JAXA.

Last modified:
08/08/2017 14:52:01

Contacts

 

Martin Fleischmann
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Space Administration

Tel.: +49 228 447-120

Fax: +49 228 447-386
Dr. Hendrik Fischer
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Space Administration, Strategy and Communication

Tel.: +49 228 447-390

Fax: +49 228 447-386
Dr. Niklas Reinke
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Tel.: +49 228 447-394

Fax: +49 228 447-386

Mehr über das DLR

Deutsche Delegation absolviert Gesprächsmarathon in Japan

Beziehungen vertiefen

Mittwoch, 5. Juli 2017

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • GruppeOkumura_sn.JPG
    Treffen mit dem JAXA-Präsidenten

    DLR-Vorstand Dr. Gerd Gruppe (rechts) trifft den JAXA-Präsidenten Dr. Naoki Okumura.

  • GruppeTsuruho_sn.jpg
    Dr. Gerd Gruppe trifft Minister Yosuke Tsuruho

    Dr. Gerd Gruppe (rechts) traf Yosuke Tsuruho, den japanischen Minister für Raumfahrtpolitik (Mitte), im Cabinet Office und erklärte die deutsche Satellitenmission TanDEM-X anhand eines Modells im Beisein von Dr. Niklas Reinke, Leiter des DLR Tokio Büro. Minister Tsuruho und Dr. Gruppe verabredeten eine intensivere Zusammenarbeit von Japan und Deutschland in der Raumfahrt. Minister Tsuruho unterstützt insbesondere bilaterale Industriekooperationen.

  • GruppeShimomura_sn.JPG
    Treffen mit Keidanren

    DLR-Vorstand Dr. Gerd Gruppe (rechts) trifft Setsuhiro Shimomura, Vorsitzender des Keidanren Ausschusses für Raumfahrtindustrie.

  • GruppeKeidanren_sn.jpg
    Rede vor dem Ausschuss für Raumfahrtindustrie

    DLR-Vorstand Dr. Gerd Gruppe spricht vor dem Keidanren Ausschuss für Raumfahrtindustrie.

Japaner und Deutschen werden häufig sehr ähnliche Eigenschaften zugeschrieben: zielstrebig, diszipliniert, gründlich, zuverlässig, pflichtbewusst und technologieverliebt. Diese Attribute sind eine wichtige Voraussetzung dafür, erfolgreich Raumfahrt zu betreiben. Zwar liegen zwischen den beiden Ländern rund 9.000 Kilometer Distanz, dennoch haben Deutschland und Japan sehr ähnliche Ziele: "Die Raumfahrtindustrie ist in beiden Ländern strategisch wichtig, jedoch im Vergleich zu den USA oder Russland ein relativ kleiner, aber stetig wachsender Sektor. Für Deutschland und Japan ergeben sich deshalb in enger Kooperation vielfältige Möglichkeiten für Synergien", betonte Dr. Gerd Gruppe, Vorstand im Deutschen Zentrum für Luft und Raumfahrt (DLR) zuständig für das Raumfahrtmanagement. Um diese Perspektiven zu erörtern, ist eine Delegation der deutschen Raumfahrtindustrie unter DLR-Leitung vom 3. bis zum 7. Juli 2017 in Japan unterwegs. Mit dieser Reise vertieft das DLR die bereits bestehende gute Beziehung zu Japan - auch 2014 und 2015 reiste Dr. Gruppe bereits mit Industriedelegationen nach Tokio.

Japan und Deutschland - Partner auf Augenhöhe

"Japan und Deutschland erscheinen als geborene Partner auf Augenhöhe. Beide Nationen sind technologisch sehr weit entwickelt. Auch die wirtschaftliche Situation ist ähnlich: In beiden Ländern ist die Raumfahrt zunehmend wie überall auf der Welt einem immer stärker werdenden Wettbewerb ausgesetzt. Daraus erwachsen programmatische Gemeinsamkeiten", erklärte Dr. Gruppe. Getrieben von einer starken Wirtschaftspolitik versucht die japanische Raumfahrt massiv, bessere wirtschaftliche Ergebnisse zu erzielen und setzt dabei ähnlich wie Deutschland neben innovativen Technologien und Fertigungstechniken nach Industrie 4.0-Maßstäben verstärkt auf Raumfahrtanwendungen - also Erdbeobachtung, Satellitennavigation und -kommunikation. Die Bedeutung ihres Wirtschaftspotenzials in Zeiten von Digitalisierung zeigt sich durch das gesteigerte Engagement des japanischen Ministeriums für Wirtschaft, Handel und Industrie (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry, METI), das neben das bislang für Raumfahrt zuständige Wissenschaftsministerium (Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, MEXT) getreten ist. In Deutschland gehört der Raumfahrtbereich zur Ressortverantwortung des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) - ideale Voraussetzungen für ein Treffen zwischen der deutschen und der japanischen Raumfahrtindustrie.

Gesprächsmarathon auf höchster Ebene

Vor diesem Hintergrund absolviert die deutsche Delegation bestehend aus DLR-Mitarbeitern und Vertreter der Firmen Activespacetech, Airbus Defence & Space, Astro-Feinwerktechnik GmbH, DSI Informationstechnik GmbH, ECM - Engineered Ceramic Materials GmbH, von Hoerner & Sulger GmbH, Jena-Optronik GmbH, JKIC, Kastanienbaum/ Franka GmbH, OHB System AG, RST-Rostock GmbH, ViaLight Communications GmbH einen wahren Gesprächsmarathon mit ihren hochrangigen Gastgebern. Die DLR-Delegation trifft unter anderem mit Yosuke Tsuruho, dem Minister für Wissenschaft, Technologie und Raumfahrtpolitik in der japanischen Regierung, Dr. Naoki Okumura, Präsident der japanischen Raumfahrtagentur JAXA, Masanori Tsuruda, Direktorin des Raumfahrtindustrie-Büros im METI, Mami Oyama, stellvertretende Direktorin des Raumfahrtprogramm-Büros im MEXT, sowie weiteren hochrangigen Vertretern des bedeutendsten japanischen Wirtschaftsverbandes Keidanren und der Society of Japanese Aerospace Companies (SJAC) zusammen. Initiiert durch das DLR und JAXA trifft die deutsche Raumfahrtindustrie zudem ihre japanischen Partner, um neue Kooperationsfelder zu erörtern.

Zuletzt geändert am:
05.07.2017 15:09:33 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Martin Fleischmann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement, Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 228 447-120

Fax: +49 228 447-386
Dr. Hendrik Fischer
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement, Strategie und Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 228 447-390

Fax: +49 228 447-386
Dr. Niklas Reinke
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Leiter des DLR-Büros Tokio

Tel.: +81 35276 8129

Fax: +81 35276 8733