BIROS
Fire detection from space
FireBIRD mission
theme

BIROS

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • BIROS%2dNutzlastkomponenten in schematischer Darstellung
    Schematic representation of BIROS payload components

    In addition to the HSRS infrared camera system, the BIROS small satellite also has other devices for experiments on further developing on-board technology.

  • BIROS und TET%2d1: The fire magnifiers
    The BIROS and TET-1 satellites: Fire magnifiers for the FireBIRD mission

    BIROS is the second satellite of the FireBIRD mission. The main payload is a highly sensitive infrared camera system equipped with 'fire magnifiers' that, like its 'brother' satellite TET-1, can be used as an early fire warning system and for climate research from space.

The BIROS satellite (Bispectral InfraRed Optical System) is the second of the FireBIRD satellites launched in July 2016. It is not a straightforward replica of its four-year-old 'brother' TET-1, but rather represents a new stage in the process of continuous development. Small satellites not only serve the purpose of Earth observation, but also the progress being made in this kind of technology.

BIROS has a greater payload than its counterpart when comparing the total mass of the satellites. While TET-1 components made up 42 percent the satellite, BIROS components have been increased to 46 percent. More payload means the acquisition of more scientific data, allowing for the early detection of fires for instance and, with that, higher economic efficiency in Earth observation missions from space, as well as the development of a system that improves remote sensing from space that can also be used in climate research.

BIROS has also been equipped with a new cold gas propulsion system that it will test. This system enables manoeuvres to be carried out whilst in orbit, so that the satellite's orbital position can be actively changed. Newly designed reaction wheels (High Torque Wheels) built into the satellites allow for the infrared cameras to be quickly and accurately positioned. These two capabilities make it possible to repeatedly capture data from the same region or area of Earth's surface, but from different angles.

Internal data processing and communication with Earth have also been greatly improved. A completely new on-board computer allows BIROS to process data at a speed that was unimaginable for former small satellites. The orbiter can then send its data to Earth via an optical (laser) downlink at a speed of up to one gigabyte per second. A separate modem can be used to send text messages about the parameters of detected fires directly to mobile devices in almost real time.

Further technology experiments on BIROS

In addition to cold gas propulsion, a laser communication system, and High Torque Wheels, BIROS is equipped with other experiments:

  • BEESAT-4, a pico-satellite (cubesat); a tiny 'high-tech die' with an edge length of just 10 centimetres. It will be separated from BIROS and communicate with it during formation flight via an inter-satellite link.
  • AVANTI, an experiment for researching formation flight
  • VAMOS and VIMOS: Software experiments, researching autonomous on-board mission planning and analysis

BIROS successfully released BEESAT-4 on 9th September 2016. The first one on earth who received the beacon signal from the picosatellite was an amateur radio operator in Brasil:

Operation and finance

BIROS, just like TET-1, will also be operated and monitored from the German Space Operations Center (GSOC) in Oberpfaffenhofen, and the German Remote Sensing Data Center (DFD) with its antenna facilities in Neustrelitz. The development, construction and operation will be funded by DLR. The German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) will also support construction by contributing 5 million Euros.

Overview of important system parameters in BIROS
Type of orbit LEO (Low Earth Orbit)
Average orbital altitude 510 kilometres
Orbital inclination (angle between the equator and the orbit) 97.4 degrees
Potential alignments of the payload Sun, earth, nadir (vertical direction to Earth), zenith (extended vertical direction), direction of flight, deep space
Frequency range for communication S-band / UHF
Position and orbit control three-axle stabilisation
Propulsion based on cold gas (relative speed: approx. 3 metres/second)
Average power 70 watts
Maximum power 200 watts
Temperature range -10 to +30 degrees Celsius
Nominal battery voltage  20 to 24 volts
Maximum current 12 amperes
Payload data rate 2.2 megabytes/second per S-Band,
1 gigabyte/second - optical transfer
Data storage 40 gigabytes
BIROS dimensions LxWxH
('gross')
58 x 115 x 65 centimetres

Payload dimensions LxWxH

('net')

46 x 66 x 42 centimetres
TET gross mass of payload 60 kilograms
TET total mass 130 Kilogramm

Last modified:
13/09/2017 10:47:34

Contacts

 

Philipp Burtscheidt
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Public Affairs and Communications

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2323

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Stephanie Kaufhold
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Optical Sensor Systems, Department Public Relations

Tel.: +49 30 67055-636

BIROS
Feuerfernerkundung aus dem Weltraum
Mission FireBIRD
theme

BIROS

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • BIROS%2dNutzlastkomponenten in schematischer Darstellung
    BIROS-Nutzlastkomponenten in schematischer Darstellung

    Der Kleinsatellit BIROS hat neben dem Infrarot-Kamerasystem HSRS weitere Experimente zur Weiterentwicklung der Satellitentechnik an Bord.

  • Kleinsatellit BIROS und TET%2d1: Die "Feuerlupen" der FireBIRD%2dMission
    Kleinsatellit BIROS und TET-1: Die "Feuerlupen" der FireBIRD-Mission

    BIROS ist der zweite Satellit der Mission FireBIRD. Die Hauptnutzlast ist ein hochsensibles Infrarot-Kamerasystem, mit dem der "Fire Magnifier" - genau wie sein "Bruder" TET-1 - als Feuerfrühwarnsystem und zur Klimaforschung aus dem Weltraum im Einsatz ist.

Der Kleinsatellit BIROS (Bispectral InfraRed Optical System) komplettierte das FireBIRD-Duo im Juni 2016. Er ist keine einfache Kopie seines vier Jahre älteren "Bruders" TET-1, sondern eine weitere Stufe im Prozess kontinuierlicher Weiterentwicklung. Denn zusätzlich zur Feuer­fern­erkundung dienen die Satelliten auch dem steten Fortschriitt in der Kleinsatellitentechnik.

BIROS verfügt über einen größeren Nutzlastanteil an der Gesamtmasse des Satelliten. Lag er bei TET-1 noch bei 42 Prozent, so stieg er für BIROS auf 46 Prozent. Mehr Nutzlast heißt mehr Daten für die Feuer­früh­erkundung, mehr wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisgewinn und damit eine höhere ökonomische Effizienz in der Erdbeobachtung aus dem Weltraum - sowohl als System zur besseren Fernerkundung aus dem Weltraum sowie im Einsatz für die Klimaforschung.

Auf BIROS wird ein neuer Antrieb getestet, ein Kaltgasantriebssystem. Er erlaubt es dem Orbiter, in begrenztem Umfang Orbitmanöver durchzuführen, also seine Lage auf der Umlaufbahn aktiv zu verändern. Innerhalb des Satelliten erlauben es neukonzipierte Reaktionsräder, sogenannte High-Torque-Wheels, die Infrarotkamera schnell und präzise zu schwenken. Beide Fähigkeiten zusammen machen die wiederholte Aufnahme einer Region und verschiedene Blickwinkel auf einen Punkt an der Erdoberfläche möglich.

Auch die Leistung der internen Prozessierung von Daten sowie die Kommunikation zur Erde wurden stetig erhöht: Ein völlig neuer Bordcomputer lässt BIROS Daten in einer Geschwindigkeit verarbeiten, die auf älteren Kleinsatelliten nicht denkbar war. Der Orbiter kann seine Daten über einen optischen (Laser-) Downlink mit Datenraten bis zu einem Gigabit-pro-Sekunde zur Erde schicken. Zusätzlich können die Parameter entdeckter Brände nahezu in Echtzeit über ein separates Modem direkt per SMS an Mobilgeräte gesendet werden.

Weitere Technologieexperimente auf BIROS

Neben Kaltgasantrieb, Laser-Kommunikationssystem und High-Torque-Wheels hat BIROS weitere Experimente an Bord:

  • BEESAT-4, einen Picosatelliten; das ist ein winziger „Hightech-Würfel“ mit einer Kantenlänge von gerade einmal 10 Zentimetern - er wird von BIROS separiert und kommuniziert mit ihm im Formationsflug über einen InterSatellite-Link
  • AVANTI, ein Experiment zur Erforschung von Formationsflügen
  • VAMOS und VIMOS: Software-Experimente für eine autonome An-Bord-Missionsplanung und -analyse

BIROS hat BEESAT-4 am 09. September 2016 erfolgreich ins All entlassen. Das erste Lebenszeichen des Picosatelliten empfingen Amateurfunker in Brasilien. Dieses Signal zeichneten sie auf:

Betrieb und Finanzierung

Wie TET-1 wird auch BIROS vom Raumfahrtkontrollzentrum (GSOC) in Oberpfaffenhofen und dem Deutschen Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum (DFD) mit seinen Antennenanlagen in Neustrelitz betrieben und überwacht. Entwicklung, Bau und Betrieb wurden aus Mitteln des DLR finanziert. Der Bau wurde zusätzlich vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) mit 5 Millionen Euro gefördert.

 

Wichtige Systemparameter von BIROS im Überblick
Orbittyp LEO (Low Earth Orbit)
Mittlere Orbithöhe 510 Kilometer
Orbitinklination (Winkel zwischen Äquator und Orbit) 97,4 Grad
Mögliche Ausrichtungen der Nutzlast Sonne, Erde, Nadir (Lotrichtung zur Erde), Zenit (verlängerte Lotrichtung), Flugrichtung, Deep Space
Frequenzbereich Kommunikation S-Band / UHF
Lageregelung / Bahnkontrolle drei-Achsen-stabilisiert
Antrieb auf Kaltgasbasis (relative Geschwindigkeit: circa 3 Meter/Sekunde)
Mittlere Leistung 70 Watt
Spitzenleistung 200 Watt
Temperaturbereich -10 bis +30 Grad Celsius
Nominale Batteriespannung 20 bis 24 Volt
Maximaler Strom 12 Ampere
Nutzlast-Datenrate 2,2 Megabit/Sekunde per S-Band,
1 Gigabit/Sekunde bei optischer Übertragung
Datenspeicher 40 Gigabyte
BIROS-Abmessungen LxBxH
("brutto")
58 x 115 x 65 Zentimeter
Abmessungen der Nutzlast LxBxH ("netto") 46 x 66 x 42 Zentimeter
TET-Brutto-Nutzlastmasse 60 Kilogramm
TET-Gesamtmasse 130 Kilogramm

Zuletzt geändert am:
13.09.2017 10:46:40 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Philipp Burtscheidt
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Politikbeziehungen und Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2323

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Stephanie Kaufhold
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kontaktstelle Öffentlichkeitsarbeit am Institut für Optische Sensorsysteme

Tel.: +49 30 67055-636