Transport research

Transport research

Research that moves

How will society move from point A to point B in the future? How can we possibly have a world without accidents, traffic jams, delays and detours? How can we bring our mobility into harmony with mother nature? And how might an environmentally friendly traffic system of the future that supports a growing economy look?

Credit: DLR / Markus Steur

 

We need substantive answers that will bring concrete solutions for our increasingly mobile society and globalized economy.

The path to a future-oriented traffic system

German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) is with its Transport Programme Europe’s second largest institutionally funded transport research center. Tomorrow’s mobility challenges are identified here and provided with jointly developed solutions. These solutions contribute to a future-oriented traffic system from which both the general public and industry in Germany and Europe profit in equal measure.

Seven research topics are currently in focus:

 

Fewer accidents, traffic jams, delays, detours und reduced environmental pollution are the overriding goals of our research.

 

Credit: DLR

 

Concerted traffic research at DLR

The research projects are fundamentally interdisciplinary and follow a systemic approach. Traffic research greatly benefits from this fact, especially since 25 DLR research institutes spanning areas such as energy, transport, aerospace and space research all participate in the research effort. Not only are interdisciplinary synergies created as a result, exciting scientific exchanges take place since each and every project is approached from various perspectives. The use of large DLR research facilities including wind tunnels, crashing units and simulators all contribute towards finding innovative solutions.

Credit: Deutsch-Niederländische Windkanäle (DNW)

 

The traffic research program is based on an excellent network existing amongst the research landscape. In the same manner, DLR also has excellent relationships with its European counterparts such as IFSTTAR in France, AIT in Austria and TNO in the Netherlands. Active information exchanges are also carried out with other German organisations such as KIT, BASt and the Fraunhofer Institute.

Excellent relations are cultivated with Institutes of higher learning as well as with universities and different industrial sectors, all with the aim to promote research within any given project.

DLR’s communication with all relevant ministries at the federal and state levels guarantees an optimal coordination of different research programs with politics.

Read more about the topics that drive us, also about the projects that we are driving (GER)

Core Research Topics

Verkehrsforschung

Verkehrsforschung

Forschung, die bewegt

Wie werden wir uns in Zukunft von A nach B bewegen? Wie ist eine Welt ohne Unfälle, Staus, Verspätungen und Umwege möglich? Wie kann unsere Mobilität in Einklang mit der Natur gebracht werden? Und wie muss das Verkehrssystem der Zukunft aussehen, damit es zugleich eine wachsende Industrie unterstützt?

Credit: DLR / Markus Steur

 

Für unsere immer mobiler werdende Gesellschaft und eine immer globaler tätige Wirtschaft brauchen wir stichhaltige Antworten und konkrete Lösungen.

Auf dem Weg zu einem zukunftsfähigen Verkehrssystem

Mit seinem Programm Verkehr ist das DLR die zweitgrößte institutionell geförderte Verkehrsforschungseinrichtung in Europa. Hier werden die Herausforderungen für die Mobilität von morgen identifiziert und interdisziplinär konkrete Lösungen entwickelt. Die Ergebnisse tragen zu einem zukunftsfähigen Verkehrssystem in Deutschland und Europa bei, von dem Wirtschaft wie Gesellschaft gleichermaßen profitieren.

Sieben Forschungsthemen stehen derzeit im Fokus:

 

Weniger Unfälle, weniger Staus, weniger Verspätungen, weniger Umwege und weniger Umweltbelastung sind übergeordnete Ziele unserer Forschung.

Credit: DLR

 

Konzertierte Verkehrsforschung im DLR

Die Forschungsprojekte sind grundsätzlich interdisziplinär angelegt und folgen einem systemischen Ansatz. Dabei kommt der Verkehrsforschung ihre Verortung im DLR überaus zugute. Das Programm Verkehr greift derzeit auf das Know-how von 25 DLR-Instituten aus Verkehr, Energie, Luftfahrt und Raumfahrt zu. Hierdurch werden nicht nur Synergien bestmöglich ausgeschöpft, durch die unterschiedlichen Perspektiven auf das jeweilige Forschungsthema entsteht zudem ein spannender wissenschaftlicher Diskurs. Die Nutzung von DLR-Großforschungsanlagen wie Windkanälen, Crashanlagen und Simulatoren trägt zur Lösungsfindung bei.

Credit: Deutsch-Niederländische Windkanäle (DNW)

 

Das Programm Verkehr baut auf seine gute Vernetzung innerhalb der Forschungslandschaft. So pflegt es bewährte Kooperationen mit vergleichbaren Institutionen in Europa, wie etwa IFSTTAR in Frankreich, AIT in Österreich und TNO in den Niederlanden. Auch der intensive Austausch mit KIT, BASt und Fraunhofer in Deutschland, mit Hochschulen und Universitäten sowie mit Wirtschaft und Industrie befördert die ganzheitliche Forschung innerhalb der Projekte.

Der Dialog mit den Ministerien auf Bundes- und Länderebene sorgt für eine optimale Abstimmung der Forschungsprogramme mit der Politik.

Lesen Sie mehr über die Themen, die uns bewegen, und über die Projekte, die wir vorantreiben ...

Zentrale Forschungsthemen

Aktuelles