ROSAT

ROSAT

The launch of the ROentgen SATellite (ROSAT) into space on 1 June 1990 marked the start of a mission that would allow researchers to perform an all-sky survey of X-ray sources with an imaging telescope for the first time. X-rays arise in the Universe in response to unusually hot, high-energy processes, which often entail extreme states of matter such as black holes or neutron stars.

ROSAT - latest news

Last update: 25 October 2011, 08:00 UTC (10:00 CEST)

ROSAT re-entered Earth’s atmosphere over the Bay of Bengal

On 23 October 2011 at 01:50 UTC (03:50 CEST), the German research satellite ROSAT re entered the atmosphere over the Bay of Bengal; it is not known whether any parts of the satellite reached Earth’s surface. Determination of the time and location of re-entry was based on the evaluation of data provided by international partners, particularly the USA. Read more

ROSAT - FAQ & Webcast