Inhaltsbereich

Longest glacier in Antarctica has 'calved'

New iceberg in the Antarctic Ocean
plus
09 July 2013

Ice researchers use data from the DLR-operated TerraSAR-X Earth observation satellite 

Two gigantic cracks have formed in Pine Island Glacier, the longest and fastest-flowing glacier in the Antarctic. A new iceberg with an area of over 720 square kilometres and its smaller 'brother' separated from the glacier on  8 July 2013 and have 'calved' into the Amundsen Sea, off the west coast of Antarctica. Images acquired by the TerraSAR-X Earth observation satellite, operated by the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR), documented the gradual propagation of the first crack over a period of several months. On 11 May 2012, a second crack was discovered. Glaciologists can use this data to better understand the processes involved in the calving of icebergs.

A large iceberg, and a 'little brother'

NASA researchers discovered the crack in the glacier during an aircraft overflight on 14 October 2011. At that time, the crack was about 24 kilometres long and 50 metres wide. "The main iceberg that calved from the flowing part of the glacier is almost as big as Hamburg," says Angelika Humbert, an ice researcher at the Alfred Wegener Institute in Bremerhaven. The glaciologist and her team have used high-resolution radar images obtained with the TerraSAR-X Earth observation satellite operated by DLR to monitor the propagation of the crack and gain a better understanding of what was happening. Dana Floricioiu, from the DLR Remote Sensing Technology Institute, has been monitoring this crack on the Pine Island Glacier since the very beginning, and has derived valuable data such as the velocity field of the glacier. "Above this crack, the glacier was most recently flowing at a rate of 12 metres per day," reports Floricioiu. "The second crack was discovered in May, and this gave rise to an additional, 30-square-kilometre iceberg that has moved into the polar ocean along with its 'big brother'," continues Humbert.

Glaciers are constantly moving, flowing and cracking

Because glaciers are constantly in motion and have their own flow dynamics and highly complex geometry that is subject to continuous stress, the calving process is to a large extent still unexplored. "We are dealing with a material that is capable of both flowing and cracking. The interaction of these processes ultimately caused the floating icebergs to break loose," explains Humbert. The researchers have fed data from TerraSAR-X into computer simulations in which the flow and fracture mechanics of ice sheets can be modelled using numerical techniques. "We are incorporating the crack into our virtual ice shelf and then calculating the flow characteristics of the glacier. We pass these results to our partners at the Technical University of Kaiserslautern, who then simulate the crack propagation," explains Humbert.

A comparison with the latest satellite imagery shows researchers the extent to which their simulation reflects the real situation. Shortly before the 'birth' of the new iceberg, the crack on Pine Island Glacier was 28 kilometres long and 540 metres wide.

  • Ice shelves

    Ice shelves develop where glaciers flow into the sea. Glaciers are fast-moving masses of ice. An ice shelf is still connected to its ice sheet, but floats on the surface of the sea. With a thickness of several hundred metres, an ice shelf is much 'thinner' than the ice sheet that formed it, large sections of which are frozen to the rocky ground and can be up to four kilometres thick. The unusual feature of western Antarctica is that large areas of this ground lie below sea level. 

Warm ocean water moves under the ice shelf

Angelika Humbert does not see a direct link to global warming. Instead, she believes that the formation of cracks in ice shelves and the resulting creation of new icebergs are natural processes. Pine Island Glacier is the fastest flowing glacier in the western Antarctic, but the polar researcher believes that this is due not so much to rising air temperatures as to changes in prevailing wind directions over the Amundsen Sea. These winds cause warm ocean water to move under the shelf ice which, in time, causes melting of the critical transition point between floating and grounded ice. "It is therefore possible that the western Antarctic could become unstable," suggests Humbert.

On 14 December 1911 a team led by the Norwegian Roald Amundsen was the first to reach the geographic South Pole. The Amundsen Sea, part of the South Polar Sea, bears the name of this pioneer of polar exploration. Pine Island Glacier flows from the Hudson Mountains into the Amundsen Sea; it calved for the first time in 2007.

up

Inhaltsbereich

Gigantischer Gletscher "kalbt" in die Antarktis

Neuer Eisberg im Südpolarmeer
plus
Dienstag, 9. Juli 2013

Eisforscher nutzen die Daten des vom DLR betriebenen Erdbeobachtungssatelliten TerraSAR-X 

Am Pine-Island-Gletscher, dem längsten und am schnellsten fließenden Gletscher der Antarktis, haben sich gigantische Risse gebildet. Der mehr als 720 Quadratkilometer große neue Eisberg und kleinere Bruchstücke haben sich von dem Gletscher getrennt und sind in die Amundsen-See  an der Westküste der Antarktis "gekalbt". Aufnahmen des vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) betriebenen Erdbeobachtungssatelliten TerraSAR-X dokumentieren den über mehrere Jahre entstandenen ersten Riss und den finalen Abbruch in einer Aufnahme vom 8. Juli 2013. Glaziologen können mit diesen Daten den rätselhaften Prozessen des Kalbens von Eisbergen auf den Grund gehen.

Wissenschaftler der amerikanischen Raumfahrtbehörde NASA haben den anfangs rund 24 Kilometer langen und 50 Meter breiten ersten Riss schon am 14. Oktober 2011 bei einem Überflug vom Flugzeug aus beobachtet. "Der Eisberg, der sich vom fließenden Teil des Gletschers getrennt hat, ist fast so groß wie Hamburg", berichtet Prof. Angelika Humbert, Eisforscherin vom Alfred-Wegener-Institut Helmholtz Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung in Bremerhaven. Die Glaziologin und ihr Team haben die hoch auflösenden Radaraufnahmen des vom DLR betriebenen Erdbeobachtungssatelliten Terra-SAR-X genutzt, um das Fortschreiten des Risses zu beobachten und besser zu verstehen. So observierte die Wissenschaftlerin Dr. Dana Floricioiu vom DLR-Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung den Riss am Pine Island-Gletscher von Anfang an und berechnet wertvolle Datensätze, zum Beispiel das Geschwindigkeitsfeld des Gletschers. "Oberhalb des Risses ist der Gletscher zuletzt mit einem Tempo von zwölf Metern pro Tag geflossen", berichtet Floricioiu.

Gletscher sind ständig in Bewegung, können fließen und brechen

Denn Gletscher sind ständig in Bewegung und haben ihre ganz eigene Fließdynamik; eine komplizierte Geometrie, die permanenten Spannungen ausgesetzt ist und deren Kalben noch weithin unerforscht ist. "Wir haben es hier mit einem Material zu tun, das sowohl Fließen als auch Brechen kann. Das Zusammenwirken von beidem hat schließlich zum Abbruch der schwimmenden Zunge geführt", erklärt Angelika Humbert. Die Forscher lassen deshalb die Terra-SAR-X-Satellitendaten in Computersimulationen einfließen, in denen sie die Bruch- und Fließmechanik der Eismassen mithilfe numerischer Verfahren modellieren. "Wir arbeiten den Riss in unser virtuelles Schelfeis ein und berechnen daraus das Fließen des Gletschers. Diese Ergebnisse gehen an unsere Partner an der Technischen Universität Kaiserslautern, die dann die Riss-Ausbreitung simulieren", erklärt Eismodelliererin Humbert.

Ein Vergleich mit aktuellen Satellitenbildern zeigt den Forschern, ob sie mit ihrer Simulation richtig liegen. Der Riss am Pine-Island-Gletscher war kurz vor der "Geburt" des neuen Eisbergs 28 Kilometer lang und 540 Meter breit. Zu Beginn der Aufzeichnungen am 13. Oktober 2011 verlief der Riss über eine Länge von 24 Kilometern und war 50 Meter breit.

  • Schelfeis

    Schelfeis entsteht durch das Abgleiten von Gletschern ins Meer. Gletscher sind sich schnell bewegende Eismassen. Das Schelfeis ist noch mit dem Eisschild verbunden, schwimmt aber bereits auf dem Meer. Es ist mit einigen hundert Metern Dicke wesentlich dünner als der so genannte Eisschild, der in großen Teilen am Felsboden festgefroren ist und bis zu vier Kilometer  dick sein kann. Die Besonderheit der Westantarktis ist dabei, dass  weite Teile des Felsbodens unter dem Meeresspiegel liegen. 

Warme Ozeanmassen gelangen unter das Schelfeis

Einen direkten Zusammenhang zur Klimaerwärmung erkennt Angelika Humbert jedoch nicht. Die Bildung von Rissen im Schelfeis und damit auch die Entstehung neuer Eisberge sei ein natürlicher Vorgang. Allerdings ist der Pine-Island-Gletscher der am stärksten abfließende Gletscher der westlichen Antarktis. Dies liegt für die Polarforscherin aber weniger an steigenden Lufttemperaturen, sondern eher daran, dass sich die Windrichtungen in der Amundsen-See ändern:  Diese bringen warme Ozeanmassen unter das Schelfeis, was mit der Zeit zum Abschmelzen am kritischen Übergang zum Inlandeis führt. "Die Westantarktis könnte also durchaus instabil werden", sagt Angelika Humbert.

Der Pine-Island-Gletscher fließt vom Hudson-Gebirge in die Amundsen-See im Südpolarmeer. Er hatte zuletzt 2001 und 2007 ähnlich große Eisberge produziert.

TerraSAR-X ist Deutschlands erster nationaler Fernerkundungssatellit, der in öffentlich-privater Partnerschaft zwischen dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und der EADS Astrium GmbH realisiert wurde. Er liefert seit 2007 hochwertige Radardaten für die wissenschaftliche Erdbeobachtung.