Inhaltsbereich

A 'radiant' beauty – sulphurous sediments in Becquerel Crater

A mountain of sulphurous sediments in Becquerel Crater
plus
Schwefelhaltige Sedimente im Krater Becquerel
05 September 2013

The images presented in this mosaic and acquired with the High Resolution Stereo Camera operated by the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) on board ESA's Mars Express spacecraft show Becquerel Crater. Inside it, a mountain almost 1000 metres high consisting of layers of sulphurous deposits, is evidence of the eventful climatic history of the Red Planet. The crater is 167 kilometres in diameter, almost 4000 metres deep and is located in the Arabia Terra region, which marks the transition from the Martian highlands to the northern lowland.

In recent years, ESA's Mars Express spacecraft has flown over this region on numerous occasions. Four of the HRSC camera images acquired during these flybys have been combined into an image mosaic, enabling details down to 17 metres in size to be seen (Image 2).

The crater was named after French physicist Antoine Henry Becquerel (1852-1908), who, together with Marie and Pierre Curie, was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1903 for the discovery of radioactivity, and after whom the physical unit for radioactivity is named.

Unusual sedimentary structures – bright, layered deposits – cover the surface of Becquerel Crater. Similar deposits are present in Gale Crater, where NASA's Curiosity rover landed on 6 August 2012. Research has shown that the bright deposits in this region consist of sulphurous rock that is hydrated in places. Sulphates are sulphuric acid salts such as gypsum and, on Earth, are formed when water evaporates. In Becquerel Crater, these sedimentary stacks have formed a mountain almost 1000 metres high, with gently inclined slopes and a flat summit.

Tracking down the processes that generate sulphate deposits

The relative frequency with which the sulphates are present in the Arabia Terra region indicate that a large-scale process is responsible for their creation. It is thought that these sediments have been formed by an interaction of emerging ground water in low-lying regions (impact craters, for example) and dust transported by the wind, possibly in conjunction with ash deposits. The sequence of layers can thus be traced back to seasonal climate fluctuations or changes in the Martian climate over greater periods, caused by the periodic variation of the planet's rotational axis. This and other theories have been intensely debated by experts, as there is still no substantive argument or information from the ground to offer a conclusive answer. The Curiosity rover, in its investigation of Gale Crater, might provide important knowledge in this regard.

The wind has eroded the sediments over the course of time

The layering within the bright sedimentary mountain is clearly visible in images 1, 3 and 4. It is thought that the entire floor of the crater was once covered with these deposits. Sulphurous rocks are relatively susceptible to weathering; consequently, over the course of perhaps more than three billion years, a large part of the layered sediments has been stripped away by the force of the wind, leaving behind an abraded and rounded mountain.

The dark areas in the images are areas covered with a layer of basaltic sands, which probably originated from volcanic ashes and form imposing dune fields in various places on Mars.

Image processing and the HRSC experiment on the Mars Express mission

The colour image (Image 2) was captured using the nadir channel, which is directed vertically down onto the surface of Mars, and the colour channels of the HRSC; the perspective oblique views (Images 1 and 3) were computed from the HRSC stereo channels. The anaglyph image (Image 4), which creates a three-dimensional impression of the landscape when viewed with red/blue or red/green glasses, was derived from the nadir channel and one stereo channel. The view encoded in rainbow colours (Image 5) is based on a digital terrain model of the region, from which the topography of the landscape can be derived.

The High Resolution Stereo Camera was developed at the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) and built in collaboration with partners in industry (EADS Astrium, Lewicki Microelectronic GmbH and Jena-Optronik GmbH). The science team, which is headed by principal investigator (PI) Prof. Ralf Jaumann, consists of over 40 co-investigators from 33 institutions and ten countries. The camera is operated by the DLR Institute of Planetary Research in Berlin-Adlershof. The images shown here were generated by the Institute of Geological Sciences at FU Berlin in conjunction with the DLR Institute of Planetary Research in Berlin.

up

Inhaltsbereich

Eine "strahlende" Schönheit - schwefelhaltige Sedimente im Krater Becquerel

Ein Berg aus sulfathaltigen Sedimenten im Krater Becquerel
plus
Schwefelhaltige Sedimente im Krater Becquerel
Donnerstag, 5. September 2013

Die aktuellen Bilder der vom DLR betriebenen hochauflösenden Stereokamera (HRSC) an Bord der ESA-Raumsonde Mars Express zeigen den Krater Becquerel, in dem sich ein fast 1000 Meter hoher Berg aus schwefelhaltigen Sedimentschichten befindet. Er zeugt von der bewegten Klimageschichte des Roten Planeten. Der Krater hat einen Durchmesser von 167 Kilometern, ist fast 4000 Meter tief und liegt in der Region Arabia Terra, die den Übergang vom Marshochland zum nördlichen Tiefland markiert.

In den letzten Jahren überflog Mars Express mehrmals diese Region. Vier dieser Überflugsaufnahmen der HRSC-Kamera wurden zu einem Bildmosaik zusammengesetzt, das Details von bis zu 17 Meter Größe erkennen lässt (Bild 2).

Benannt wurde der Krater nach dem französischen Physiker Antoine Henry Becquerel (1852-1908), der 1903 gemeinsam mit dem Ehepaar Marie und Pierre Curie für die Entdeckung der Radioaktivität mit dem Nobelpreis ausgezeichnet wurde und nach dem die physikalische Einheit für die radioaktive Aktivität benannt ist.

Auf dem Boden des Becquerel-Kraters befinden sich ungewöhnliche Sedimentstrukturen. Hierbei handelt es sich um geschichtete, helle Ablagerungen. Ganz ähnliche Ablagerungen gibt es auch im Krater Gale, in dem der NASA-Rover Curiosity am 6. August 2012 gelandet ist. Untersuchungen haben ergeben, dass die hellen Ablagerungen in dieser Region aus sulfathaltigen Gesteinen bestehen, die zum Teil wasserhaltig sind. Sulfate sind Salze der Schwefelsäure wie zum Beispiel Gips und entstehen auf der Erde bei der Verdunstung von Wasser. Im Krater Becquerel bilden diese Sedimentstapel einen fast 1000 Meter hohen Berg mit sanft geneigten Hängen und einer flachen Kuppe.

Auf der Suche nach dem Prozess, der die Sulfatablagerungen erzeugt

Die in der Region Arabia Terra relativ häufig anzutreffenden Sulfate lassen vermuten, dass ein großräumig agierender Prozess für ihre Entstehung verantwortlich ist. Es wird angenommen, dass sich diese Sedimente durch ein Zusammenspiel von austretendem Grundwasser in tief liegenden Gebieten (zum Beispiel in Einschlagskratern) und von Wind transportiertem Staub, möglicherweise in Kombination mit Ascheablagerungen, gebildet haben. Die Schichtenabfolge wird dabei auf jahreszeitliche Klimaschwankungen oder Änderungen des Klimas des Mars über größere Zeiträume durch die periodische Schwankung der Rotationsachse des Planeten zurückgeführt. Diese und andere Theorien werden in der Fachwelt intensiv debattiert, da für eine abschließende Antwort noch immer stichhaltige Argumente und Informationen vom Boden fehlen. Hier könnte auch der Rover Curiosity durch seine Untersuchung des Gale-Kraters wichtige Erkenntnisse liefern.

Der Wind erodiert die Sedimente im Laufe der Zeit

Auf den Bildern 1, 3 und 4 sieht man sehr deutlich die Schichtung innerhalb des hellen Sedimentbergs. Vermutlich war einst der gesamte Kraterboden von diesen Sedimenten bedeckt. Sulfathaltige Gesteine sind relativ anfällig für Verwitterung, so dass im Laufe von möglicherweise mehr als drei Milliarden Jahren ein Großteil der geschichteten Sedimentlagen durch die Kraft des Windes abgetragen wurde und ein abgeschliffener und abgerundeter Berg zurückblieb.

Die dunklen Flächen in den Bildern sind Oberflächen, die von einer Schicht aus basaltischen Sanden bedeckt sind. Diese Sande haben wahrscheinlich ihren Ursprung in vulkanischer Asche und bilden auf dem Mars vielerorts imposante Dünenfelder.

Bildverarbeitung und das HRSC-Experiment der Mars Express-Mission

Die Farbdraufsicht (Bild 2) wurde aus dem senkrecht auf die Marsoberfläche gerichteten Nadirkanal und den Farbkanälen der HRSC erstellt; die perspektivischen Schrägansichten (Bilder 1 und 3) wurden aus den Stereokanälen der HRSC berechnet. Das Anaglyphenbild (Bild 4), das bei Betrachtung mit einer Rot-Blau- oder Rot-Grün-Brille einen dreidimensionalen Eindruck der Landschaft vermittelt, wurde aus dem Nadirkanal und einem Stereokanal abgeleitet. Die in Regenbogenfarben kodierte Aufsicht (Bild 5) beruht auf einem digitalen Geländemodell der Region, von dem sich die Topographie der Landschaft ableiten lässt.

Die High Resolution Stereo Kamera wurde am Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) entwickelt und in Kooperation mit industriellen Partnern gebaut (EADS Astrium, Lewicki Microelectronic GmbH und Jena-Optronik GmbH). Das Wissenschaftsteam unter Leitung des Principal Investigator (PI) Prof. Dr. Ralf Jaumann besteht aus 40 Co-Investigatoren, die aus 33 Institutionen und zehn Nationen stammen. Die Kamera wird vom DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung in Berlin-Adlershof betrieben. Die hier gezeigten Darstellungen wurden vom Institut für Geologische Wissenschaften der FU Berlin in Zusammenarbeit mit dem DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung in Berlin erstellt.